BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Artistic Concrete & Masonry?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specialize in decorative concrete & stone work
Brick, block, stone, scoring, stamped concrete, overlays, foundations, pavers, hardscapes, retaining walls

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Artistic Concrete & Masonry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Artistic Concrete & Masonry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artistic Concrete & Masonry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 10, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2006 Business started locally: 11/01/2006 Business incorporated: 06/08/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Berdych, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Berdych, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio Builder Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Concrete Products Concrete Reinforcements Mason Contractors Equipment & Supplies Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Building Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Charge
Alternate Business Names
Texas Artistic Concrete & Masonry, LLC
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a disagreement about the work that was performed at our home. Repair was to take one week. Repair has gone into 4 weeks and we are not satisfied with the outcome and asked owner to come to our home to discuss the work. The estimates that are trying to bill us for work that was not done and double billing of work from 1st estimate to 2nd estimate. 1st estimate had saw cut control joints as well as second estimate has the same thing on it. Owner did not have 1st estimate in hand when he wrote the second estimate that we did not sign. I came home and put the two together and noticed that there were things that were being double billed on. Also pressure washing was on second estimate and was not performed. Work is not finished and we had to haul away material and mess, as well as they used our deck brush and broke it. The concrete edges were not finished, the tape and concrete was not removed from drain as well as the skimmer lid was only half painted. The colors it turned out was not what we picked. We picked a light brown coping with a grey deck. It is all terra cota brown. VERY BRIGHT We also tape recorded the foreman discussing what we would be doing to the deck. In it you hear me tell him " I told owner I hate this spray deck stuff, I thought you would be staining our deck not painting it." He then went on to say the spray deck if removed would leave scuff marks. That he would spray the deck with stain after painting it a second coat ( never got painted a second coat) broom finish it and them add charcoal for dimension. All they did was paint it once spray it once and put a sealer on. This proves that on the original invoice we were told that the deck would be done. Owner is now claiming that the color was only for the coping. That is not what we were told. I was at work when the owner wrote the second estimate and gave it to my husband who was home sick with the flu and strep throat. Once I got home and looked at both estimates I was like, this guy is trying to rip us off. We waited to say anything until they asked for more money fearing they would not come back. Owner is harassing us by calling my husband and work making excuses instead of coming to our home to discuss this.

Desired Settlement: We have asked for the bill to be fixed as it should to dismiss the pressure washing, the saw cut control joints as well as the deck color. This was what we understood was in the original bid. The only thing that they did in the second bid that we did NOT SIGN was repair a few cracks (trying to charge 1800 for that). We have already given this guy $3450.00. All they did was remove flagstone, put new concrete around pool, added a small new area, painted my deck with paint, sprayed some stuff on it and sealed it. They did repair some small cracks but it is very visible where it was done, edges of deck aren't painted and sides as well. Didn't even do it how we wanted it done or the color we wanted. We were scared to say anything fear they would not show up as they would only show up and work a few hours. Then they also wouldn't show up when they told us they were going to. When we would call them they would not answer or return our calls for days. Myself or my husband was at home throughout the entire process and they never pressure washed our deck. Owner claims they did as well as sawed out control joints from flagstone they removed? Didn't happen. The paint that they claim cost 500 that is added into bill was 175 the workers left the receipt in my yard and they are marking up the paint 286%. We offered to pay 1000 more and call it done but owner refuses and makes excuses about coming to look at the work. We will not pay any more money until he comes over looks at the work and we agree on the final payment.

Business Response: All work performed at the home of ***** & ****** ******* was performed according to the contracts (1 signed and 1 they refused to sign) and at approval
of the home owners.  Claims that pressure washing was not completed are untrue. This is a process that is part of the color and stain work performed at
their home.  Color choice samples were made on-site and were approved by the homeowner prior to application.  We have photos of the before and after of
their new pool deck that they say wasn’t done.
 
We went the extra-mile to please this customer.  Many attempts have been made to make restitution as well as to collect monies owed for the completion of the job. 
 
Balance due for all work completed is $1,850.00.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On 9/5 We called a lady in the office after speaking with *******. We asked for the owner to come out and look at the work. Owner yelled at us and threatened us. Finally after speaking to the office lady it was agreed that we would pay the 1575.00 that we have a receipt for as the final settlement. They asked that in return we let the BBB know it was settled. Complaint has not come back to us until now.

We received a threatening voice mail message from ******* on 9/21 saying we still owe 1850.00. He was acting belligerent calling my family alcoholics, he called the BBB alcoholics and said he was putting a lien on my home and was going to sue us.

Please see the receipt for final payment. Also see the concrete work that was done and has lifted out of the ground and looks terrible.

We have also called ***** today to see why this owner is calling us to make threats.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

**** - I spoke with ******* this morning re: the above referenced complaint by the *******s...I am attaching the before and after photos of this job.  At this point, he is standing behind the fact that the *******s owe the remaining payment for the completed job ($1,850.00) and all details written in the response dated 9-21-14 (that the *******'s rejected).

 

I am the only "lady" in the office that the *******'s refer to in their rebuttal.  As a matter of fact, I do not work at the actual office or answer phones....I work from my home for ******* and go to his office one time per week to pick up mail....I did not take any payment over the phone from the *******s nor am I authorized to do so (Square payment of $1,575.00 which they refer to).   I have not spoken with either ***** or ****** ******* at any time, except for September 22, 2014 when I spoke with Mr. *******, as I happened to be at the office when they called.  

 

******* has a customer, who is an attorney, that offered his services to contact the *******s re: this situation.  I am in the process of contacting him, per *******'s direction.

 

I am not sure of the process with the BBB at this point...we obviously do not want a "mark" against us.  I am the conduit to *******, as he is in the field working, most days. The best way to contact me is via email - I monitor daily.  If you need to contact me via telephone, the best days to reach me are Mondays and Thursdays at my  home # ************. 

 

Thank you for your guidance in this situation.

 

***** (office assistant) 

 

for ******* *******

Artistic Concrete & Masonry************  ******** ************  ***** ************  ****** **********************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On 9/3/2014 I sent an email to artistic concrete asking for owner to come to the work site to discuss the billing and work. We were upset with the color and the finish as well as other items listed. Please see attachment. Owner once receiving this email refused to come to our house and started cussing and threatening to kick my husbands butt. My husband was at work and kept hanging up on ******* because he would not listen. Mr. ******* then called the office and explained what was happening and the lady who answered had just received the complaint from the BBB. She apologized and asked what she could do to make it right. We told her to look at the two invoices and that we were being billed for duplicate work as well as we had not signed the second work order. We tried to talk to ******* but he was irrational,  combative and belligerent. He even threatened to come over and bust up the concrete around our pool. Luckily my next door neighbor is a police officer and his wife stays at home so we know she would call the police if she saw anyone trespassing on our property. 

We told office lady her we would pay for the original work and what we owed was the balance of 1575 paid on 09/05/14. She agreed and charged our card. ******* then called my husband the next day and told him I hope you are happy, I don't need anymore of your money and that I have other customers. It was my impression that we were done. Then two weeks later we get a call from ******* (we have it recorded) of him stating crazy things and calling us alcoholics and that he would sue us and put a lien on my house. It was a very disturbing call and upset my entire family. If he tries any further contact with us we will call the police. This is harassment, extortion and slander. 

So once we received the BBB complaint response from ******* we called and spoke with office manager. She had no prior knowledge of speaking to us, we do not know who we spoke with but it was whoever ran our debit card for 1575.00.

In addition we paid for 1450 worth of new concrete to be poured and it has popped out of the ground and is a trip hazard for my kids. We paid 2500 down another 925 and 1575 for a total of 5000.  That is 100 more than the original quote. 






 



Regards,

****** *******