Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Discount Electronics?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Discount Electronics

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 459-0026 1011 W Anderson Ln, Austin, TX 78757 http://www.discountelectronics.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers refurbished Dell computers, laptops, parts, and accessories as well as repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 36

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Discount Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 1999 Business started: 11/15/1997 in TX Business started locally: 11/15/1997 Business incorporated: 12/29/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Greene, Store Manager Mr. Eugene Terrell, Manager Mr. Rick Culleton, Owner Ms. Leanne Orr, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Greene, Store Manager
Principal: Mr. Eugene Terrell, Manager
Related Businesses
Mr. Notebook
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Discount Electronics sells the following brand(s): Apple, Dell, IBM, Lenovo, Samsung, Sony, Toshiba

Discount Electronics offers the following product(s): Computer Parts, Computers, Laptops, LCD Monitors, Tablets

Method(s) of Payment
Credit cards, cash and check.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Items may be returned for exchange or store credit for 7 days from purchase. All items are warranted between 90 days and one year. No cash refunds.
Alternate Business Names
Discount Electronics.com First E-Commerce, Inc PC Outlet

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discount Electronics has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1001 S Ih 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 637-7051

  • 1011 W Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 459-0026

  • 2206 NW Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (210) 348-7614

  • 434 SW Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78221 (210) 447-6108

  • 9355 Culebra Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78251 (210) 702-3611

  • 9711 Manchaca Rd

    Austin, TX 78748 (512) 458-8612

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased laptop from online store. Had less than 10 days and it began to make noises like the fan was failing and then it froze with a virus. Attempted several phone calls to number on website. Was able to leave message one time requesting call back. Sent email to address provided on website for call back. Called local store in Round Rock and was told I would have to continue to call number on website.

Desired Settlement: At bare minimum a phone call would have been great. I was using this laptop for work. They might could have exchanged it.

Business Response: Discount Electronics apologizes both for the improper handling of this customer's issue at our Round Rock retail location as well as the delay in responding to this complaint. A number of internal changes have resulted in some mis-communication over the last several weeks. These issues have been resolved. Regarding the complaint: this customer is correct, the Round Rock location should have offered more assistance than a simple referral to the online sales phone number. Any warranty or hardware related issues can be handled through any of our retail stores in Texas, regardless of whether or not the computer was purchased via the website or in one of those stores. Any additional assistance this customer requires will be gladly provided via our stores and all store managers have been reminded of their commitment to support our online sales customers.

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 3rd I visited this (******************************************************************************) site after a google search for Dell Insspiron 580s replacement motherboard. The page clearly stated the item was in stock for same day shipping, so I ordered the part for priority shipping (2 to 3 days), I have a customer who needs their pc repaired. On Feb. 5th after not hearing from the company on shipping I was greeted by a very rude condescending employee who told me the is Not in stock and has not been in stock since December, 2014. I asked if that is true, then why am I currently on their online site looking at the product and t clearly says the item is In Stock and ready for same day shipping? He replied that the website is never updated, they May get the item in some time next week, when they get item they could overnight it to me for an extra $50. At hat point I stated that that is considered false advertisement and deceiving the customer and I questioned if they were a reputable company. Then I asked to speak with his boss/manager, he replied he was his boss. Then I asked for his name, he said **** like the bird, I replied that is not true it sounds like a made up name, what is your last name. He said ********, I said your name is **** ********, that sounds like a made up ***** name. He said, he did not if there was a pornstar with that name but it is the name he uses for customers but it is Not he real name, No One ever gives their real name. At that point I said if Discount Electronics allows you to use a false name when talking to customers then may opinion is that they are not a reputable company to do business with. So I asked to have he order cancelled and stated that I bet the BBB would think giving false infomation to customers was a good thing. He hung up the phone. In addition I want to point out that your site shows a different address for Discount Electronics, but he website and phone number is the same. Your site gives them an A+ rating, how could that be when clearly they are falsely deceiving possible customers and seem to me to be not honest and shady. The conversion with aka **** ******** as a customer service representative I would give them a less than favorable rating. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Be Honest

Business Response: This order has been refunded in it's entirety. Discount Electronics sincerely apologizes for any frustration that may have arisen from this transaction.

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refurbished laptop from Discount Electronic. Upon receiving the item, it was defective. The battery does not hold a charge, not to mention the computer was not cleaned. Several virus popped up along with previous owner's information. I have been unable to use the computer. I have made several calls to the customer service center only to not have the call answered. I finally got a hold of a female representative, who said the computer should have been cleaned and refused to let me speak with management. I was advised to take the computer to a San Antonio location, which I did. They were unable to fix the computer, I was told to mail back to Austin. As of today, the computer is in the mail, I refuse to pay a 15.00 restocking fee, I do not want store credit, I want a full refund. I have went out of my way for something that was sent to me that I was unable to use. Not to mention coming out the pocket 25.00 for shipping and 19.99 to purchase a software virus protection program I could not use. Extremely frustrated.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund to the credit card I used.

Business Response: The laptop in question was received by our Internet Sales department and examined. There was malicious software present on the unit, based upon time stamps in the Windows Add / Remove programs feature this software was installed by the end user and was not present when the unit was shipped. The battery as a hardware failure would have been covered by the system warranty (batteries carry a 90-day warranty from the date of purchase) and would have been replaced. As the unit has been returned, however, an online credit has been issued less shipping and restocking fees per our Terms of Service.

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my computer to Discount Electronics, located at **** ******** *** ** ******* **. I asked the Service Department to clean all the Malware from my computer as it had "crashed". I also asked that they stop all unnecessary Windows programs and any other unnecessary programs that could slow the boot up time for my computer. They did not do this, all they did was remove Malqware. They also kept my computer for (3) days to do Malware removal which can be done within an hour! The person who worked on my computer also removed some programs from my desk top without my approval and I had to re-install all that were removed. I was charged $53.04 to run a program to clean up the Malware and nothing else I requested was done! I called the store and complained aboth this and got the run around! I also sent an email from the stores web site where the work was done and they played games by "asking me what store I was writing about"! After I complied with their request for store location they ignored my email! I sent another one and I was ignored a second time. This store has over charged me, did not do all the work requested by me both verbally and written, and ignored my complaints that their work was not completed for the money I was charged!

Desired Settlement: I wish to suggest that this store location be monitored and that potential customers of Discount Electronics "be warned of doing business with them in the future and look for a reputable, computer repair business"!

Business Response: The programs removed from this customer's computer while it was in the repair shop were programs known to be vectors for maleware entry, totally superfluous or potentially harmful to the operation of the computer. It is very likely that at least one of the programs removed was a contributing factor to the failure of this customer's PC and this was communicated to the customer on several different occasions. None of the non-critical applications loaded in the Startup group on this machine contributed to more than 3-5 seconds of boot time and the vast majority of startup items were things that can only be intentionally installed by the user. It is not Discount Electronic's policy to second-guess the customer's desire for certain pieces of software if they do not present a clear threat to the safe or continuing operation of the machine. The primary purpose of the majority of software installed by this customer to "speed up" his computer is advertising and, again, to provide vectors for entry of malware and ad injectors. Driver updating software is a prime example - as manufacturers of enterprise-class hardware generally revise driver software on a quarterly or yearly basis, there is no need to check the status of driver software on every boot of the machine. Doing so is completely unnecessary and the net result is actually a reduction in performance of the machine.

The email this customer sent from our website was sent through a contact form designed for web sales and as a general portal for all 10 of our retail stores in Austin and San Antonio. Asking the location the customer's service was performed at is simply the first step in determining which store manager the email should be routed to. It is also notable that no request for assistance was made with either email to the web portal, rather both emails were framed as informational. Had any desire for a response been expressed, one would have been provided.

During the time the unit was in the repair shop at the Manchaca location, this customer made a number of requests that ran directly contrary to the experience and expertise of the technicians working on the unit. Just as an auto mechanic is not going to fit the wrong part on a car just because they are asked to do so, our technicians are not going to incorrectly configure or actively harm the operation of a machine because the customer has asked them to do so. This customer was informed by more than one party at the Manchaca location that his requests would not have the net effect he desired and most likely would have the opposite.

It is the position of Discount Electronics that service was provided in accordance with the technical knowledge and expertise of the repair technicians and any changes NOT made the computer (regardless of customer request) were not made because they would have been detrimental to operation. It is also the position of Discount Electronics that any applications removed from this computer were removed as a part of our anti-malware process or because they are known to be harmful either by nature or circumstance.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: The reply to my complaint was a TOTAL COVER UP & FALSEHOOD!! Discount Electronics never told me any information at all regarding my computer! They took off one of my browsers that I did NOT ask to be taken off and this browser was not infected with Malware as they stated! This browser had been on my computer for about ( 3 ) years with no problem what so ever! I also had to call every few days to see if my computer was ready to pick up. I always got a reply like" we are working on it" or some sort of lame reply! On the  fourth day I called and asked if my computer was ready and if not I was coming to pick it up. The clerk said" oh we were waiting to hear from you about your computer"! Discount Electronics promised me they would call me when my computer was ready and did not, I had to do all the "leg work" just to get a reply! Their attempt to cover up their lack of promptness, mistakes and lack of interest in me as a customer and the attempt to try and make themselves look good when in fact they only prove they are as untrustworthy and incompetent as they certainly appear. I am in hopes my comments and complaint will be posted to the BBB site for all potential customers who might be considering using Discount Electronics to reconsider their decision and use a computer repair service more reliable! I know I certainly have made my last purchase there and will pass it on to all my friends and hope it will have a "Domino Effect" for the future! On a final note, the browser mentioned that was removed had been thoroughly checked for Malware when installed and re-checked, there was none and as stated before the program had been running perfectly for about (3) years with no problems. The fact is, Discount Electronics tech/repair "dropped the ball", made the mistake of removing a program that did not require removal and refused to admit and tried to cover everything up by trying to make me look like the one who was at fault! Nice try but no cigar!!

Regards, ****** ****

Business Response: Discount Electronics stands by all statements made in the original response to this complaint. No software was removed unless it was identified as a potential threat and no changes were made unless there was an identifiable benefit and no harmful side effects.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: The statements made by Discount Electronics are a complete and total lie! Not one
person at that business discussed my computer. I turned it in for a Malware service and to stop any Windows programs that were
loading that might potentially slow the start up time or boot time. I made a list of this and left it with the clerk and was told these things would be done and they were not! They kept my computer at that store for (3) days, Malware removal doesn't take (3) days, usually within an hour Malware can be removed. I had to call each day to see what was going on with my computer and the day it was ready for pick up, I had no idea that it was ready, the clerk says to me , over the phone, "oh we were waiting to hear from you"!! What kind of  "Customer Service" is this? "Waiting for me"!! Discount Electronics is supposed to contact the customer when their computer is ready for pick up. They can "stand by their reply ", to my complaint all they want to , as they know they over charged me and did nothing for the money but make mistakes and excuses and try to make me look like the one at fault in this whole ordeal! I as a senior, do not appreciate getting cheated as I am on a fixed income. I have since had a competent programmer work on my computer to adjust the boot time/start up time and the system is much better now. As I stated before hand, the Browser that was removed, was on my computer for (3) years and was never infected with Malware. The Browser worked perfectly and should not have been removed. All they had to do was admit this was done and should not have been! I have re-installed the Browser as I had files on it that were important but I did not lose them after re-installing the program. This business has some dishonest employees that just can't admit their mistakes and this is too bad because they have lost a repeat customer with their dishonest replies! I am in hopes that you, the BBB, will post this on your site as a business " TO USE CAUTION IN CONSIDERING TO DO BUSINESS WITH AT ANY TIME"!! It's just too bad that I was cheated out of my funds and Discount Electronics has no conscience concerning this at all!! I thank the BBB for their help in this matter and I am in hopes, as stated before, that you will post a "NEGATIVE" listing on Discount Electronics at your site. Thank you for you kind assistance.
 

Regards,
****** ****

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late November 2014, My daughter put a minor crack in the screen of her iPhone 5. The display was operating normally, and there was no problem with touchscreen response. I took the phone to the Culebra Discount Electronics Store, and paid $129 to have the display replaced. Within a few days, the repaired screen developed an intermittent problem in which it randomly displayed vertical lines of static on the display. There was no problem with touchscreen response. On January 13, 2015, I returned the phone to the Culebra store to get the display repaired. The technician opened the phone while I was there, stated that there was "water damage" which voided the parts warranty (please note that this is highly unlikely, as the phone is normally enclosed in a "Lifeproof" brand protective case). I paid an additional $85.52 and had the display replaced. Within a few hours, the iPhone display developed a problem in which pressing on an icon or specific area such as a keyboard would bring up a random response. On Jan 15 at about 4 P.M., I went to the Culebra store. The young lady at the counter told me the tech was not in, and she couldn't help me. On Jan 16, I again took the phone to the Culebra store. I showed the young man at the counter what the problem was, and left the phone there for repairs. On Jan 16 I called the Culebra store to see if my phone was fixed, and was told that there was "water damage", and that no repairs would be made. I was also told that the tech was not there, but was at the 410 store. I went and picked the phone up, and am reasonably sure that no one worked on it or performed any diagnostics since I dropped it off. As I had already wasted over $200 on shoddy parts, equally shoddy "repairs", and at best, inconsistent troubleshooting, I decided to take the phone to a Sprint repair center and have the phone diagnosed. The Sprint technician checked the phone using a test rig that ran diagnostics on the phone. The result: The display returned an error. The diagnostic did not report any damage to the system board, and they didn't see any sign of "water damage" After paying to have the phone repaired by Sprint, the phone is now operating normally. Discount Electronics provided sub-standard parts and repairs, and their technicians apparently have little to no knowledge regarding troubleshooting and repair.

Desired Settlement: Discount Electronics needs to actually provide the repairs and service that are paid for.

Business Response: This customer was contacted via email and offered a resolution via our 410 location. The customer specifically refused that offer. The offer has never been rescinded and is still available if the customer would like to take advantage of it. Has the customer changed their mind regarding the offer for service via the 410 location?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I took the phone to a reputable repair facility and paid them full price to repair the phone.  The cell phone is now working perfectly, and no longer needs the "repairs" I paid Discount Electronics for.

Regards,
********* *******

12/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Deal of the Day: $79 Dell Latitude D600 Laptop PC 14.1" refurbished from them, My Order # ******** (placed on November 29, 2014 12:07 PM CDT). Received it today 12/8/2014. I opened the box, plugged it in and within minutes the Lap Top shut down power wise, also indicating a low battery. I have had it plugged in all day. It is now 12/9/14 12:33AM. Still no battery power and Lap Top is totally useless. Can't even load up the Operating System. Total rip off artists in my book, especially on their returns. Re-shelf fees and no refund, including dishonesty from day one, with absolutely terrible and lousy business ethics. If I ran a business like that I couldn't put my head on a pillow and sleep at night.

Desired Settlement: A replacement battery immediately and I'm not shipping this battery back or the Lap Top back at my cost to any degree, plus I want a Total Refund to my Credit Card as Credit. The item I purchased I thought was through an honest business regarding consumers, and found out they are not honest and are ripping the consumer off in every direction possible regarding money, their products, re-shelving fees, consumer having to ship back at consumers cost and no refunds and I could go on and on. Make it right Discount Electronics or I will keep the complaints coming and go public if I am forced to by your actions. Thank you, Have a nice day! As you have made mine!!

Business Response: We can send a replacement battery asap or grant a full refund which ever you prefer no cost to you. Please let me know what options works best for you. 

Thank You,

****** *******
Discount Electronics

11/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is both an advertising and a customer service related complaint. I recently purchased a Dell Latitude E553o Docking Station E-Port Replicator from this company. I knew exactly what I wanted and so when I saw the picture of this unit, I clicked "Add to Cart" and purchased it.When I received the unit, it did not have a power cord with it. This piece of equipment must have a power cord to be useful. So I called customer service to let them know I had not gotten one. They informed me the unit did not come with a power cord but that I had to buy that separately. I have never had to order a power cord separately for an electronic product that requires one. So I said I would return it, thinking I would get a refund. They responded they do not give refunds, only store credit. They pointed me to the page on the site where it says the power cord was sold separately, which is in fine print way down the page AFTER you've clicked on product details. I told them I felt this was misleading advertising at best. But they stood by their no refund policy.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: We have 2 listings one with the power adapter and one without which the customer purchased. We issued a returns form on November 13th, once the customer returns the item will grant a refund.

Dell Latitude E5530 Port Replicator 
This Dell Latitude E5530 Port Replicator was tested by Discount Electronics and is completely functional.Dell Part PR03X, XX066.
Unit requires a Laptop Power Adapter PA-13 or PA-4e
To purchase a PA-13, click here.
Ports/Jacks Include:

Power jack
eSATA
Ethernet: 10/100/1000 Mbps
DVI-D out (does not support DVI-A or DVI-I)
VGA analog out
Display port
2 rear USB ports
3 side USB ports
1 side line-out/headphone jack
1 side mic jack

  

Business Response: I will grant a full refund once the item is returned with no restocking fees. Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****

7/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 3, 2014, I had placed an order for a couple of pc components that were required for a pc repair. Upon receiving the product, the products failed to function with disbelief. I had contacted the seller to initiate a refund. After requiring to pay for shipping again, I was soon provided an unexpected site credit. This has been the most bitter distasteful experience I have experienced in years. Nowhere during the site purchase process nor checkout did this company advise its clients with clarity and transparency of its refund process ethics. I had no concern for paying shipping and product costs if the product functioned as described. I do have a concern when I am penalized with restocking fees resulting in a direct loss on dysfunctional product.In addition, lack of advisement's prior to purchase, causing hardship through unethical practices, that forces undesired returned buyers to continue to shop with them or lose everything including all shipping fees. I was forced to buy same parts from another site in efforts to minimize my lost time and pc works fine now.

Desired Settlement: Im hoping their future buyers will be afforded a change to this sites unethical practices and are provided the deserved clarity to refund policies prior to checking out and making commitment, not after. I'm expecting full amount charged to my account as service provided (defective product) failed to work and have no desire of other products or services offered from site. In addition, shipping costs I was forced to pay to send back their defective products of both orders, $120.82 Order 1- 29.78 Order 2- 63.35 Shipping return of non functioning product- 27.69

Business Response: Our terms of service for warranty and returns are linked on every page of the website for review and we also offer a link to the terms of service during the beginning of the checkout process.  Additionally, according to the correspondence from the customer, the incorrect parts were ordered and I have attached that correspondence.  As such, I will be unable to accommodate the request for a refund of purchase price or any additional shipping costs.

7/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that all changes to the business should be updated on the website as well. I was trying to recycle my computers. On the website it reads: Recycle Your Computers, Laptops, Monitors, Tablets Phones and More Businesses - Don't sit on your retired IT equipment! We pay as much as $600 for laptops and as much as $200 for iPhones. We buy your unwanted electronics working or not. Broken Screen no problem. We'll buy just one item or your entire office. Get paid ON THE SPOT. Call us today! Austin: ###-###-#### San Antonio: ###-###-#### Round Rock: ###-###-#### Cedar Park: ###-###-#### We Purchase: iMacs Mackbooks iPhones - (broken screens are OK) Laptops Desktops Tablets - Android or iPad LCDs Monitors TVs - LCD or Plasma Cell Phones Game Consoles - Wii, XBox, PS2 Laser Printers RAM - 2GB and up Hard Drives Musical instruments - We Love Old Electric Guitars Video Cards Projectors ...and much more. Get Cash by Recycling Equipment Clean out your IT closet, free up some valuable space, add some $$$ to your bottom line and do the planet some good all at the same time. Discount Electronics will pick up your company's retired Dell equipment and drop off a check as soon as today. We will give you a price (and pay you) right on the spot. No consignments, just cash. Valid EIN required. Whether you've upgraded one department or your entire company, we can help. There is no deinstallation too big for Discount Electronics. Insured - Serving Austin Since 1997 1011 W. ******** Lane Austin, Texas 78757 We Provide: Deinstallation/Pickup DOD Level Data Destruction Recycling/Reuse Proper Destruction Outright Purchase I go to the Round Rock location and they said they do not recycle anymore and to go to the ******** location. I went to the ******** location and they nice young man said yes we recycle. I had 4 computers and an xbox 360 console that was broken. I drove way out my way to this location thinking I was going to get cash. It clearly states on the website "We will give

Desired Settlement: I would like a cash refund like it says on the website. I took out the time and effort to drive to the location when I typically do not drive in that area. I work from home.

Business Response: Not all old hardware or equipment has resale value. Much equipment actually has a negative value in that processing, sorting and rendering the equipment for recycling costs more than can be recovered when sold for weight. As such, not all items will be purchased. In cases where the customer disputes the value of their goods it is appropriate to not leave the items and return when or if further negotiation is possible. As the equipment left by this customer holds a negative value, no payment was offered for the equipment. The items in question were voluntarily surrendered by the customer with no payment offered.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
That was not mentioned on the website.  That is false advertising.  

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: Discount Electronics agrees to include verbiage on our website indicating that some items will carry a zero or negative value and as such no payment will be offered for them. Unfortunately no offer of payment can be made for items previously surrendered voluntarily.

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today at approximately 5:30pm the ******* of this location, *** ******, verbally abused me in front of at least 3 employees & 5+ customers in the store. After my computers had been in their possession since Saturday, with a promise of completion date of Tuesday. Today is Thursday, 2 days after the fact. He told me he was ready to toss both of my computers out into the street, that he hoped I got run over by a bus, that I was a ***** and that he was going to call the police if I didn't leave "his" store. Not only is the behavior unacceptable, but my computers still don't operate as per my original request. he only demonstrated this behavior after they had run my credit card and received payment. I was not only humiliated, but left without a 100% working product after payment. I have no desire to return to this business for further repair, or warranty issues after his blatant unprofessional & uncivilized acts.

Desired Settlement: I was told to call the *****, ****, at the Anderson store for resolution. When I called the store they told me to email him as they have no direct contact information with him. I did so hours ago, still no response. I want my computer(s) fixed, an apology, and/or my money back. Nobody has the right to scream, cuss out a paying customer just because they couldn't figure out how to resolve the issue. I invite the BBB to review any in house videos, etc to view ***'s rant. He was cautious to be professional in his emails but in person he Lost it.

Business Response:

A significant and unacceptable customer service failure did take place during the named employee's interaction with this customer. This complaint and in-store camera footage have been reviewed by the company owner, ******* ******* and **** ***** *******. Prompt disciplinary action has been taken per company policy regarding customer service standards and workplace environment standards. Additionally, a sincere apology is offered to this customer on the part of Discount Electronics senior management as whole. Discount Electronics values our accredited rating with the BBB and will make every effort to ensure that the situation encountered by this customer never occurs in any other instance, at any location.

Regarding the service performed by the repair shop and independent of the specific employee's behavior described in this complaint, work was completed as initially described. Additional configuration of secondary programs is a no-charge offering made by individual employees, can only be completed to the best of their ability and is in no way guaranteed. Although the configuration requested by the customer was impossible for the repair technicians to accomplish, the data transfer service was completed as well as the installation and testing of a replacement keyboard. As the data was transferred successfully and completely, configuration of additional software is the responsibility of the customer. As the services were complete at the time the units were picked up and the employee behavior that is the subject of this complaint was unrelated to the actual repair service, no refund of service charges rendered will be offered.

 

***** ***********************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******** ********

Business Response: The email string submitted is incomplete and the "call" that the ******* was being asked to make was regarding the actual service performed by the repair shop, not his interaction with the customer. The ******* in question had no input regarding the latter and has (as previously submitted) been disciplined in accordance with company policy. This was an objective request to determine whether or not service had been performed as agreed. The customer's data transfer and keyboard replacement were found to be complete, the employee in question has been disciplined and Discount Electronics has no additional information to add to this complaint.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The email string I provided is indeed a the complete conversation I had with the *****, **** ********, and the ******* *******, *** *******.  As you can clearly see from attached email comments from ****, the *****, to ***, the offending employee... nothing has really been done to penalize him for his egregious treatment of me (female/minority client).  It's clearly a "good old boys club" mentality.

Furthermore, my Dell Inspiron was misdiagnosed by Discount Electronics as having a “fried motherboard”.  When in actuality it only needed a keyboard replacement as you can see by the attached Square Trades warranty repair report.  

The only reason I authorized a data transfer from my Inspiron to my Dell Studio is because Discount Electronics told me the motherboard was fried.  They also told me that my Studio needed a new keyboard, even though a new one had been installed in December 2013.  In hindsight, I question that repair as well in light of the fact that they misdiagnosed the Inspiron motherboard issue.  Unfortunately I’m unable to have the keyboard they removed from my Studio tested since *** ****** failed to return it to me during his rant and threats to leave his store. Keep in mind the part was originally returned to me the night before with both of my laptops – when I didn’t see all of my ******* contacts & information transferred from Inspiron to Studio, I left all 3 parts (2 laptops & keyboard) with tech to have the transfer completed.   

Therefore, I’m requesting a full refund of $119 as a small compensation for the blatant misconduct by their employee, in addition to the misdiagnosis of their techs and the loss of
my keyboard.


Regards, ******** ********

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative of PC Outlet gave me a price over the phone for an imaging/cloning of a 10gb hard drive and after making the trip to your **** ** *** shop in San Antonio, Texas, the personnel there tried to pull a bait and switch and/or different price and story on me to basically take advantage of a captive customer who was now there and had made the trip there by giving a new higher price than what was quoted and assured earlier over the phone to get me there.

Desired Settlement: Honor the price originally given and assured and apologize for bad practices and for making customer come only to find that you misled him/me and made him/me make a worthless trip and then make him/me make another trip to have the promised service and price honored. FYI, the trip I made was in very rainy and dangerously bad weather conditions only to find I had been had and scammed. Not very honorable or very commendable business practices or of ant kind of practices. You can't feel too proud of your people to be represented that way.

Business Response: Hello,

My apologies for any confusion regarding the hard drive clone.  We can offer to clone the hard drive for $15 or we can provide a data backup for $49.  With either of these services we will need the hard drive for 24 hours.  If you choose to utilize one of these services, please speak directly with the manager ****** and inform her this is in reference to the BBB complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a computer repair on my Dell Desktop related to Computer Viruses. I called Discounts Electronics and was quoted $99 to clean my computer and restore the system. I agreed and bought my computer to the ***** **** location. They took my computer, generated a repair order and I left. Discount Electronics sent me a email stating that I needed to contact the store technician. I called and they advised my old hard was failing and needed to be replaced. I asked how much it would cost to replace my hard drive. The store employee quoted me $200 for the service. I questioned what this cost entailed. They stated the new hard drive was $99.00 and the install was another $99.00. This seemed high but they were giving me a new hard drive. I hung up and did some research. I found a 1TB online for $69.99 not $99.00 as they quoted. I checked and this drive was comparable to the one originally installed on the computer. I called back and asked if they could install the new drive if I provided a new one and restore my computer with ******* *. The technician said yes, they could install the new drive and restore the computer with no warranty for $49.00. I was told this covered installation of hardware and re-installation of my ******* * operating system. Today 2-**-2013 I went to the location to pick up my computer after providing the drive on Friday. The staff told me that they installed the drive and uploaded ******* * all I had to do was put my software back on the computer. Needless to say after paying $49.00 ($52.07 after taxes) I got home and ******* * was not re-installed, and all I had was a blank hard drive. I called and spoke with the manger and requested the job be completed as agreed. The manager stated that they did not re-install ******* *, because it was not included and if I wanted it done, they would charge another $49.00. Bottom line, they did not restore my computer as agreed, they were not willing to work with me and complete the repair as agreed or refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded for services not rendered properly as agreed. I have already started a stop payment on the transaction through my bank because discount electronics misrepresented the service which they were going to provide. After talking to the manager they were not willing to refund my $52.07 and had the gall to ask for another $49.00 to re-install ******* *, which was suppose to be done with the first $49.00 already paid.

Business Response: At no point was a ******* * installation offered for $49.00 on this unit in conjunction with the installation of replacement hardware provided by the customer. The customer specifically requested to bring in his own hard drive for physical installation into the unit and was quoted $99 for the installation of ****** * on the drive he provided with no charge for the physical installation of the drive, which is normally $49. The customer subsequently decided that $99 was an unacceptable charge for the installation of the hard drive and ******* *, instead agreeing to physical installation of the hard drive with no Operating System install for a total of $49.00. That service was performed as agreed.

2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As indicated below, I purchased a SATA hard drive for a **** ******** E1505 from Discount Electronics. The hard drive failed during installation. I contacted Discount Electronics and I received a RMA #. I returned the product at my expense and requested full refund. I was then informed all the hard drives they supply are refurbished. I was charged for testing. My complaint is I would not have purchased a refurbished hard drive and the refurbished hard drive should be tested prior to be shipment and not charged to the customer because it is refurbished. Additionally, I should not be charged 15% for restocking because due to false advisement. I did not willing purchase a refurbished hard drive and nor should I have to pay to restock an item I didn’t request. Thank you for your time. Product Name SKU Unit Price Qty Subtotal Continue Shopping Update Shopping CartClear Shopping Cart **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 750GB SATA 2.5" LTHDD-SATA-750G $109.00 $109.00 Remove item ESTIMATE SHIPPING AND TAX Enter your destination to get a shipping estimate. • *Country • Shipping Method • Zip/Postal Code Get a Shipping Estimate • **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 500GB SATA 2.5" This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $89.00Add to Cart • **** ******** E1505 SATA 250GB 2.5 Laptop Notebook Hard Drive This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $65.00Add to Cart • **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 640GB SATA 2.5" This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $99.00Add to Cart • **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 750GB SATA 2.5" This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $109.00Add to Cart

Desired Settlement: My complaint is I would not have purchased a refurbished hard drive and the refurbished hard drive should be tested prior to be shipment and not charged to the customer because it is refurbished. Additionally, I should not be charged 15% for restocking because due to false advisement. I did not willing purchase a refurbished hard drive and nor should I have to pay to restock an item I didn’t request. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: The listing information provided by the customer regarding this complaint specifically describes a refurbished or pulled drive. All drives listed on *********************** are described as refurbished, at no time was the item purchased described as new. Fees charged for returned merchandise or restocking are described in our Terms of Service. No refund will be offered, also per our Terms of Service all returns are issued in the form of online credit only.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have received the correspondence from BBB

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: on the website, it not disclosed the harddrive was refurbished or the not tested. Otherwised, the customer shouldn't be tested for testing.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: The listing on Discountelectronics.com for the drive in question (******** e1505 750GB Hard drive) specifically states the following:

"Refurbished with a 90 day warranty."
"We test all of our drives with the **** HDD Diagnostics."
"This **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive was tested by Discount Electronics and is completely functional."

A screenshot taken directly from Discountelectronics.com of the listing for this item is attached, with the above-mentioned specific items highlighted in red. All drives listed on Discountelectronics.com are described in an identical fashion, this is not a change made to the site after this customer's purchase was made. The listing as shown in the attached image is the listing that was in use on the website the day this purchase was completed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* ******

8/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a desktop computer, and a month later the fan starts making noise as if it is under strain. So I take to Discount Electronics for any necessary repairs. They tell me nothing is wrong with it. A week later, it is still making the noise. I take back to them. They keep for diagnosis, and repair. A couple of days later, they tell me it is ready. I picked it up. Now, a couple of months later...you guessed it...the fan still sounds to be under strain. The desktop is still under warranty as I type this. I believe they saw me as weak, and because it is still under warranty, they would not do anything to help.

Desired Settlement: My money back (no store credit, which is their store policy), and for them to stop doing customers that way. They need to understand that not everyone has money falling from their pockets.

Business Response: This PC has been returned to Discount Electronics for service on two occasions for the fan noise complaint specified by the customer. Each time airways blocked by debris and dust were thoroughly cleaned, the thermal transfer assembly was removed and fresh thermal compound applied to the processor and mating surface before re-assembly. The power supply (which contains one of two system fans) was replaced during one service as well. Subsequent diagnostics resulted in no abnormal fan behavior and system temperatures well within (or below) expected ranges. If this customer would return the unit to the ***** **** Discount Electronics location the store manager has authorized an exchange for an identical unit but per policy communicated to customer both at the time of sale and on subsequent visits, no refund will be offered.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
If they had done their job, my computer's fan would not sound as if it is under strain. They supposedly changed the fan...but the new fan makes the same noise. 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: As noted in the prior response, the store manager is willing to exchange the entire computer for a replacement. This is well outside of our usual policy regarding service of PCs under warranty, normally in this circumstance only additional no-cost service would be offered, which of course remains an option to be exercised at the customer's discretion. If the customer rejects the initial offer, warranty service will still be available for the remainder of the warranty period but no further opportunity to exchange the unit will be presented.

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found this business through a ****** search for replacement fans for a **** laptop computer. They had the parts listed on their web site so I placed the order. The parts arrived and appeared to be correct so I then spent an hour disassembling the laptop to get to the defective fan only to find that the replacement fans were physically smaller in size than the fan inside the computer. This was on a weekend and the business was not open to contact about the issue, so I found another online store and ordered a fan from the other store. On Monday, I contacted Discount Electronics and explained that they had shipped be an incorrect fan for this computer model. They checked the order and acknowledged that they had made a mistake and had sent the wrong part. I explained that I had already ordered a replacement from someone else and that I would like to return the incorrect fans for a refund. They told me that I could only receive a store credit. This is not acceptable because I don't foresee needing to order anything else from this store. Since the error was on their end and I was damaged by loss of time and inconvenience I believe that this is a bad business practice to expect me to donate the cost of these fans to this company.

Desired Settlement: I have returned the fans using the return UPS shipment label that Discount Electronics provided. I now expect to receive a full refund for the cost of the two incorrect fans plus shipping applied back to the credit card that I used to make the online purchase

Business Response: The incorrect fans were received by Discount Electronics following return by the customer and a refund in the original form of payment in the amount of $30.00 was processed. Store / Online credit was not issued. No tax was applied to the original order, thus no tax was refunded. Shipping cost to return the part to Discount Electronics was paid by Discount Electronics and initial shipping is a non-refundable cost.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Mac laptop in because the screen was not working correctly. A young male employee, after conferring with a technician, told me that in addition to the diagnostic fee that I had to pay up front, the cost of replacing the screen would be $100. When I went to pick up the computer they said the cost wa $150. I told them of the $100 price i was told and they told me if I had gotten an estimate it would be in the notes made by the employee. Apparently the employee forgot to make these notes. I had to pay an additional $50 because of the the employee's mistake. The manager refused to honor the price I was quoted. As I was leaving town the next day I had no choice but to pay the overcharge. I completed reviews on **** and other review sites letting others know of the overcharge.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $50 that I overpaid.

Business Response: There may be some confusion regarding the actual cost of the part used in this repair or there may have been an initial estimate of cost made by an employee not qualified to make such an estimate. The amount charged was the actual cost of the part used to repair the unit plus $49 to for labor. If the customer wishes to dispute the cost they may speak directly with the store manager of the location that affected the repair, as they will be the only party able to make or grant any adjustment in the amount charged for the service.

6/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Discount Electronics seeking a used laptop. Prior to purchase I asked the Discount Electronics salesman to confirm that offered pricing was competitive. Salesman assured me the retail price was extremely reasonable and I purchased a 5 year old used laptop $349.00. That evening I went online to confirm retail pricing for the exact same item at **********. To my shock, I Discovered the retail price I was presented as competitive by the Discount Electronics salesman was actually double the price I could purchase anywhere online. I returned to Discount Electronics within 24 hours of purchase to request a refund. Upon confronting the salesman of this fact, I was referred to the manager. I told the manager, that I wanted a refund as I was promised competitive pricing, that I made the purchase based upon information provided by his salesperson. The manager refused to offer a refund for misrepresenting the product and told me that all sales were final, that I was advised prior to purchase of the no-refund policy. To add insult to injury, he attempted to make me believe that ******'s offerings are not retail offerings.

Desired Settlement: Consumers rely on the integrity of retailers of disclosure in order to make informed decisions. I) I accuse Discount Electronics of willful misrepresentation of product pricing, and withholding store policies from the consumer until after the purchase is made. Consumers are used to retailers having a refund policies. II) I propose that Discount Electronics should BE REQUIRED to place MANY SIGNS throughout the store at eye level, ESPECIALLY above high ticket items which say boldly - ALL SALES FINAL! - ALL SALES FINAL! - ALL SALES FINAL! If they refuse to give me a refund and install signs boldly, I strongly suggest you lower their rating crediting rating for conspiracy to misrepresent consumers.

Business Response: The price paid for the unit in the possession of this customer is fair for a physically delivered and fully warranted retail product and was not misrepresented in any way. Discount Electronics does not deny that similar products are and will continue to be available online at wholesale prices, or lower. This is true of nearly all retail goods, no brick and mortar retailer will attempt to price match online-only wholesale pricing. The return policies enforced by Discount Electronics are verbally disclosed at the time of sale with no exceptions and the policy is already posted in 7 different locations throughout the store on signs titled "RETURN POLICY", none of which are smaller than 8x10. All are visible from the point of sale counter. No refund will be offered.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

A CAUTIONARY TALE:  I am rejecting Vendors response.  The salesman assured me prior to purchase that prices were competitive.  Based on that TRUST, I proceeded with purchase.  As a consumer, I relied on the claims MADE BY the sales associate to make an informed decision.  I WAS DECEIVED!  This store's name is Discount Electronics.  It should consider changing it's DBA to "Overly Priced Electronics" and warning signs should be placed in clear site advising: WARNING :: WE CHARGE DOUBLE OF WHAT YOU CAN PAY ELSEWHERE FOR USED COMPUTERS.  Discount Electronics claims Amazon.com offers "wholesale" prices online.  Does Best Buy?  Does Office Depot Online?  No these companies offer retail pricing.  "WHOLESALE" occurs when A QUANTITY of items are sold in order to obtain a realized per unit discount for "RESALE", hence the term "WHOLESALE". 


THIS COMPANY IS DEVIOUS!  Consumers MUST be warned of the UNFAIR BUSINESS PRACTICES of this company.  DO NOT LISTEN TO STAFF.  THEY WILL INTENTIONALLY MISLEAD YOU.  DO NOT TRUST THE STAFF OR MANAGERS OF DISCOUNT ELECTRONICS.  Do your own research PRIOR to stepping into the store! 

Sincerely,

*** ******, Austin Texas

Business Response: Attached is a screenshot of a Latitude e6400 available through **** ***'s website via a 3rd party vendor. The product is refurbished and includes a 60 day warranty. Our product, PRICED IDENTICALLY, carries a 1 year warranty. One could argue that this indicates a better value from Discount Electronics than from **** *** for the same price. It is also important to note that the product in question is not sold or warranty by Best Buy, they merely provide the advertising platform. ****** ***** does not sell this model of computer at all.

The term "wholesale pricing" as used in the previous response to this customer's complaint does refer specifically to volume pricing but rather the actual price itself being equivalent to volume pricing. The prices offered by ****** individual sellers are best described as "wholesale" prices because that is the price one would expect to pay when buying the item in volume. The fact that individual ****** sellers can and do offer items at or below actual wholesale pricing is why no major brick and mortar retailer in operation today will offer to price match **********. Disputing the usage of the term "wholesale pricing" in this event is a purely semantic argument and has no bearing whatsoever on the actual issue at hand.

We again assert that our retail price is fair and again state that no refund will be offered in this circumstance.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

Vendor's commentary is ridiculous.  My complaint has nothing to do with vendor's nonsensical self-justification of hyper-inflated pricing practices. He can charge WHATEVER HE WANTS! HIS PRICES ARE NOT MY COMPLAINT!!!!  HIS DECEITFUL SELLING PRACTICES ARE. WHEN I DIRECTLY ASK A DISCOUNT ELECTRONIC'S SALESPERSON PRIOR TO PURCHASE IF I"M GETTING A GOOD DEAL, AND THE SALESMAN SAYS YES I AM!  Then, I go home, go onlne to discover 40 of these laptops featuring equal features, some better condition, some with even better software packages being sold by 27 different vendors on ****** with prices ranging from $125.00-$150.00 bucks, how would you feel if you just PAID Discount Electronics $349.00!!!!!  MORE THAN DOUBLE THE STREET PRICE!  Would you feel abused?  Would you feel TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF?  OF COURSE YOU WOULD!  If Discount Electronics desires to DECEIVE THEIR CUSTOMERS, than the AUSTIN COMMUNITY should be WARNED ABOUT THE ETHICS OF THESE PEOPLE!

I'M COMPLAINING ABOUT DECEIT!  I WAS LIED TO IN ORDER TO CLOSE A SALEPERIOD!  THIS IS MY CAUTIONARY TALE!  FURTHER, I PROPOSE THAT BASED UPON THE STORE MANAGERS RESPONSE TO ME, THAT WAS NOT MERELY A MISUNDERSTANDING OR ISOLATED INCIDENT, BUT OBVIOUSLY A STRATEGIC, PLANNED OUT, STANDARD OF ETHICS, AND OPERATING PROCEEDURE APPLIED AGGRESSIVELY BY THIS COMPANY TO ABUSE UNWARY, RETAIL CONSUMERS!  I PROPOSE CONSUMERS SHOULD BE WARNED IN ADVANCE OF SUCH ABUSIVE TACTICS.  BUYER BEWARE!!!  I TRUSTED DISCOUNT ELECTRONICS.  THAT WAS MY MISTAKE.  BBB PLEASE POST THIS ABUSE WARNING TO THE AUSTIN COMMUNITY!

PLEASE POST MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE!!!

With all Sincerity,
*** ****** - Austin Texas
* ******** *********** ********** *********

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is with an overflowing abundance of contempt and disdain that I'm compelled to write this complaint. I had taken my daughters P.C. Dell Inspiron 531S desktop in to be serviced and my daughter picked it up on 03/25/2013. Upon my inspection of the computer I noticed a resale tag on the back of the P.C. in the amount of $149.00 dollars, upon further inspection I observed it was not our P.C. but a refurbished floor model Dell Optiplex 210L. There had obviously been some mistake! Upon calling the business manager ****** stated that I was raising a red flag and that I was mistaken, that their invoice clearly showed that I had brought in that model. Of course I was not satisfied with this response and asked to speak with the senior manager ***. ***, later called me and assured me that the problem would be rectified! It has NOT, they have dragged this out now for over two months and will NOT return my phone calls or e-mails. I have original sales receipts from ******** for my daughters Dell Inspiron 531S in the amount of $744.73 and furthermore they charged me an additional $311.74 for the piece of junk refurbished Dell Optiplex 210L, that wasn't even mine to begin with! They, being *** and ****** have been rude, uncooperative and insulting, accusing me of being the liar! The evidence clearly shows who is being untrustworthy in this matter. I have photos of the refurbished P.C. and the sales receipt and their forged invoices! It is my request that you investigate this matter with due diligence and you will conclude in my favor. Most Sincerely; **** ** ******

Desired Settlement: Refund for my alleged stolen Dell Inspiron 531S and all fees and related charges that were completely unjustified. Total amount of refund $1000.00 dollars and a formal apology. I will return their piece of junk P.C. Dell Optiplex210L! Thank You; Jack K. Rogers

Business Response: Attached is a copy of the work order for the unit in question, clearly showing an Optiplex 210L previously purchased from Discount Electronics being checked in to our repair shop and the same unit being returned to the customer upon pickup.

The unit that was checked in for repair at our Loop 410 location on 3/25/2013 was a Dell Optiplex 210L (Dell Service Tag GV4L7B1) and was subsequently picked up on 4/02/2013. The unit picked up was the same unit dropped off. An Inspiron 531s and an Optiplex 210L bear absolutely no physical similarities whatsoever. The size, shape, color and design of the chassis are entirely different and it is impossible to mistake one for the other even if the prominently displayed model number and attached serial numbers are entirely disregarded. The unit was picked up without complaint by the customer, if Discount Electronics had checked in a white and silver slimline desktop and replaced it with an all-gray tower or all-black desktop it would stand to reason that the customer would have noticed this difference at the time the unit was picked up and not upon investigating the presence of a sticker placed on the back of the unit.

The unit checked in by this customer is the unit that was returned to him following service.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
Of course they deny my claim!!!  They are lying to cover their theft.  In fact I dropped off the P.C. and my daughter picked it up thus it wasn't until the P.C. was back home that I immediately recognized that there had been a switch.  Also why haven't Managers *** or ****** returned any of my 3 three attempts to discuss the matter and why did *** acknowledge to me that something was wrong and that he would investigate?  My paperwork and invoices are completely supportive of my allegations of theft!  What proof has Discount Electronics offered other than their false verbal statements?  These managers *** and ****** are protecting their positions, their jobs...it should be no surprise to you that their standing behind their fabricated story.  Someone at that store replaced my Dell Inspiron 531S desktop with a refurbished Dell Optiplex 210L.  I'm quite sure that you are accustomed to dealing with unscupulous business people...these two managers *** and ****** quantify that personality...I strongly swear and make the truthful allegation that this establishment has in fact committed a theft against me.  I will proceed with this matter with the Bexar County Sheriffs Department and file a written statement to these stated facts and bring charges of criminal THEFT, against *** and ****** ********.  I'm a retired law enforcement officer and I'm not going to let this go, I'm totally resolved in taking this matter to the fullest extent of the judicial system...no matter what cost that financially entails!  I greatly appreciate your efforts in this matter.  Hopefully justice will be served with your due diligence and investigative powers.  Most Sincerely; **** ** ******, Complaint: *******.
I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Contrary to the customer's claim, *** ******* has spoken to the customer regarding this situation and at no time was the customer able to provide any evidence that an Inspiron 5xx series unit was checked into our repair shop. He did provide an original purchase receipt for an Inspiron 5xx but this does not indicate in any way that Discount Electronics ever had possession of said unit. Discount Electronics once again asserts that the unit checked in for repair at the North Loop 410 location was the same unit returned to the customer following service, as evidenced by the time-stamped work order accompanying our initial response to this complaint. Discount Electronics does not engage in fraudulent or deceptive business practices.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
Since I've never purchased any computer of any kind from Discount Electronics, alias A.K.A., PC Outlet...how do they account for me having their stores identified Dell Optiplex 210L modem(by photos, price tag, UPC bar code) in my possession at this time? There is only one way...my Dell Inspiron 531S modem was switched out, replaced with, substituted with, they're identified product!  There is no other rational explanation!  How is it that I have in my possession they're Dell Optiplex 210L?  If, I purchased it from them they would have a record of that purchase...DO THEY HAVE THAT RECORD OF PURCHASE?  NO, because I've never bought any computer of any sort from them at any time!!!  This entire defense on their part is a fabrication to point the finger at me, instead of the owner taking responsibility for his inept managers *** and ******.  I have provided you with my *******t invoice showing the purchase of my Dell Inspiron 531S, so where is the evidence from Discount Electronics showing that I ever purchased a Dell Optiplex 210L from their store?  Since there is no such evidence to support their claim then they should be held responsible for the theft or loss of my Dell Inspiron 531S and I should have all my fees refunded for the charges they billed me on the alleged repairs of the Dell Optiplex 210L, that wasn't even mine to begin with!  Please review the photo's and invoices that I've already e-mailed to your office.  This newly stated fact of the complaint should leave absolutely no doubt in any one's mind.  Where is the Dell Inspiron 531S?  How can Discount Electronics explain how I came in possession of the Dell Optiplex 210L, since it is from their store and there is no proof that it was ever sold to me?  The only obvious answer is that at some point during the repair of my Dell Inspiron 531S the modems were switched out!  It is time for the CEO, to take responsibilty and make fair restitution for all my cost and losses.  On this date 05/23/2013, I have made the following sworn statement.  Sincerely; **** ** ******
Complaint: *******

6/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my girlfriends tablet here to be repaired. They told me it would cost $200 to fix and that I would have to pay $50 before they would start. I paid them the 50 dollars and then a few days after they had it they told me it was going to cost $400 to fix! That is much more than the cost of a brand new unit! I talked to manager *** (via phone on 5/18/13 3:20pm) thinking that any company who cared about customer satisfaction / retention at all would offer me a refund or store credit or something. he didn't even offer an apology. The guy could care less. He told me, "you can't take the estimates that the sales people give you because their not accurate." I was told, "too bad." Offered no refund, reimbursement or remedy to my issue. After talking to a few friends, this seems to be a widespread issue for customers who bring items to be repaired to discount electronics. They tell you one price when you drop pit off and then jack it up. Seems like a scam.

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response: The estimated cost of any replacement part is just that, an estimate. Sales associates are often willing offer estimates but until a unit has been disassembled or each individual component requiring replacement has been researched and priced the charges for a given repair can change from the initial estimate. The price quoted is the cost of the individual parts required and the labor required to complete the repair. Consumer goods are frequently sold for a retail price lower than the retail cost of the individual components used to produce them, it is not entirely uncommon for the repair of a damaged electronic device to cost more than the item did new.

This customer is welcome to return to the ***** **** ******** with the credit card used to pay for the initial diagnostic charge so that he may be refunded the full amount charged. The store manager of the ***** **** ******** is aware of this offer and will ensure his staff is prepared to handle the refund.

Discount Electronics apologizes for any frustration this situation may have caused.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I met with *** today and he facilitated the refund for me.  He was nice and respectful and courteous and I really appreciated that, as well. I appreciate this and have since removed the negative posts I posted about your business and posted a positive post on yelp.com

Regards,

******* *******

5/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 4/19/13, I went to Discount Electronics, to seek information regarding their services. I stated that I had a Laptop that needed servicing. They told me that they could have it ready within 24 hrs. I told them the important that I get the laptop back within that time frame. They assured me that they could do it and it would be ready 6 p.m. Saturday 4/20/13. I paid them in full at that time. On Saturday just prior to 6 p.m., I called and talked to Asst. Manager to find out what the status was since I did not receive a call regarding my laptop. I was told that the laptop was not finished due to tech did not show up. I stated to them, first they should called me regarding this issue. Second, they could sent it another store where there was a tech to finish the job (as they knew of the importance of me getting this Laptop). Third, I should be refunded a portion the cost. The Asst. Manager told that she was very sorry and she would get another tech in on Sunday 4/21/13 to complete the repair and would call me around noon Sunday with a status update. On Sunday, she called and again she was sorry, but she could not get another to come to finish my repair. Upset, I told her that i was coming down to pick up my laptop, want a refund and I was somewhere else that was more professional. She replied that the laptop was in the backroom and could not get access to the laptop and that I would have to wait til Monday 4/22/13 to pickup the laptop. Also she was going talk to the Manager regarding a refund my laptop. On Monday, the Asst. manager called around 11 a.m. and stated the Laptop was repaired and ready for pickup. I explain to her, that I didn't want it repair and wanted a full refund. her only reply was that it was repaired and for pickup. When I arrived, I asked for both the Asst. Manager or Manager. The clerk said that neither one was there. I ask for my laptop for my refund, He said he had no knowledge of a refund or discount and that would have to talk to the Manager. I told him to have Manager call me. As of today, I am still waiting for that phone call and refund......

Desired Settlement: A phone call with an apology would be great for starters and a refund of some type.....

Business Response: Discount Electronics apologizes for any inconvenience as a result of miscommunication and unexpected scheduling issues which resulted in a delay of service for this customer. As a result of these issues, our store manager at the Round Rock location has contacted the customer and offered a full refund for the service. We hope this will serve as an indication of our willingness to perform services accurately and as described to the customer and also hope that this customer will allow us another chance to serve him in the future.

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 19, 2013 I ordered the battery for my **** laptop, the description on http://www.discountelectronics.com was:- item is New- **** ****** *** 1340 Battery 56Wh ***** On March 23, 2013 I received the package and when I opened I found USED **** battery, with scratches and dirt on it. I sent my complain to Discount Electronics customer service, and they promise to send out a replacement if they do have the new item in stock. I send back the received item.On April 12, 2013 I got replacement, the item I got:- NOT **** brand- it's replacement (** ****) which I didn't order and it's made in China (original **** brand battery is made in Japan)- and it's USED, I can observe few scratches on it.On April 12, 2013 I sent my complain again to Discount Electronic customer service, and they replied:- that item is new, but if I want I can sent a picture- or return item and return information states: shipping will be at my expense and they will issued online store credit. I disagree with this statement because Discount Electronics is not able to to fulfill obligations under Order ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive full refund which is $46.45and the return process of the second item that I've received from Discount Electronics must to be Discount Electronics expense which is $7.45 (this amount according Discount Electronics invoice ).

Business Response: The initial delivery of a used **** OEM battery was in error. Discount Electronics apologizes for any inconvenience as a result of the incorrect item delivery and has already replaced the used OEM battery with a new replacement part. If there is any sign of wear on the replacement battery received by the customer it is the result of additional testing by Discount Electronics following receipt of the battery from the vendor or storage and transport prior to and following that process. All batteries sold by Discount Electronics, new or used, are handled when being tested and all batteries, new or used, are tested before shipment to the customer. The battery delivered on the second order is in fact NEW and un-used by any consumer. The listing for the battery (attached - *************.jpg) does not specify that the battery is in fact a new **** OEM battery, only that the battery is a new replacement for **** Part *****. New OEM parts are only available from the manufacturer, if at all, and this particular part is available new from **** for $109.99. All parts sold as new replacements by online vendors are aftermarket or 3rd-party components that are manufactured in a variety of countries. Regarding the country of origin, original **** batteries are manufactured in several different countries including China, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and Mexico. The same part number (new OEM or 3rd party) can be sourced from any of those locations. Despite an initial error made by Discount Electronics shipping department when pulling the part for the original order, a replacement has been provided at no additional cost that is as-advertised and as such no refund or additional replacement can be offered.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was planing to buy **** brand battery as on the **** battery from my laptop label says: "Replace only with **** battery module type ***** or *****. Failure to follow those instructions may present risk of explosion, fire or high temperatures.." On Discount Electronics website the description was saying <**** *** **** Battery>and I was expected **** brand battery. The one that was sent to me is not **** brand battery and I will not use it and put myself and my family in danger by using the battery from Discount Electronics. I don't want any store credit from Discount Electronics as I'm not going to buy anything from this website. The fact they may damaged items during the testing doesn't make me feel safe by using these items. 


Regards,

******** **************

Business Response: The listing for the battery on the Discount Electronics website does not specify a **** OEM battery. Aftermarket (3rd party) replacement batteries are extremely common and extremely widely used. Discount Electronics has sold thousands of non-OEM batteries without a single report of malfunction beyond expected deterioration through normal use, as with any battery. Battery malfunctions are extremely rare as a whole and to date the only reported cases of fire caused by batteries were caused by the manufacturer's own batteries, not aftermarket or 3rd party parts. As the battery delivered is in fact new, correct for the unit specified at the time of order and as-listed on our website no additional exchange or refund will be offered.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: If seller in the item description mentioned **** brand then **** brand has to be delivered to buyer. If Discount Electronics  is not able to deliver item that was described as **** brand on Discount Electronics website then refund should be processed.

Regards,

******** **************

5/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: took my computer in to see why my speakers would not work and why the sound was off. they offered to have me leave for thier technichian to look at the following day. I was contacted two days later and told i would need to have my computer cleared and backed up to correct the problem. i asked would i be able to use it as before they said yes except would have to reload any programs cause may not be able to save those. agreed to have them do the work. they called and said it was ready the next day. when i picked it up i asked if all was working and April the store manager said yes, I asked her again to verify all was working and speakers too she answered again yes its like new and all is working fine. so took it home and set it up but the computer would not turn on or do any thing called them back next day, they asked me to bring it in under warrenty they would look at it. I was now told that i had a bad mother board and would need to replace it at a cost of 2-300 dollars. when i asked why if only my speakers were bad she stated that this just happens and that i could do that or purchase another computer. i then asked for a refund and was told only store credit could be offered

Desired Settlement: I have decided to just cut my losses with the computer, but do want the money i payed into this so called repair refunded back to me in full, no store credit i just do not have faith in this company

Business Response: Discount Electronics sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience or misunderstanding that may have arisen as a result of this repair. The store manager of the location this customer's computer was repaired at is willing to offer a refund in the original form of payment for any money collected during the initial repair. If the customer will stop by at her convenience Discount Electronics will be glad to process the refund with no further delay and looks forward to doing business with this customer again in the future.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* **********

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service