Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GreatAuPair.com

Phone: (800) 935-6303 Fax: (800) 935-0683 6836 Bee Cave Road, West Lake Hills, TX 78746 http://www.greataupairusa.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description


GreatAuPair is an international job matching and placement service providing families with caregivers. We are designated by the US Department of State as a US Au Pair Program Sponsor, authorized to administer the US Exchange Visitor Program that provides affordable live-in childcare to American families through carefully screened international au pairs.  We also provide: Child Care Referral, House Cleaning, Pet Sitting Services, Senior Home Care & Tutoring.




BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GreatAuPair.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Prior to relocating to Austin, TX in November 2013, GreatAuPair.com was BBB Accredited with BBB serving Northern Nevada effective January 11, 2006.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GreatAuPair.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on GreatAuPair.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 11, 2013 Business started: 12/05/2001 in TX Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/16/2012 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Shannon Pitts, CEO Jamie Pitts, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jamie Pitts, Vice President
Principal: Shannon Pitts, CEO
Business Category

Child Care Referral Pet Sitting Services House Cleaning Tutoring Senior Home Care

Products & Services

GreatAuPair.com sells the following brand(s): GreatAuPair.com, GreatAuPairUSA.com

GreatAuPair.com offers the following product(s): Childcare, Housekeepers, J-1 Au Pair Program, Nannies, Personal Assistants, Senior Care, Sitters, Tutors

Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts Visa and Mastercard.
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company has two separate Refund Policies depending on the service you may have purchased as noted below. They will address any questions or concerns related to their services, your purchases and their refund policies. You may contact the company at 800-935-6303.

1) GreatAuPair self-service hiring and job matching:
There are no refunds on membership subscriptions. Once GreatAuPair has received payment for a subscription term, you are granted full access to either the Family or Candidate contact database, based on your selection and term. Paid subscriptions cannot be put on hold and "banked" for use at a later time. If you deactivate your profile or cancel your account, your subscription term will still expire based on the number of consecutive calendar days from the date your most recent subscription or renewal term took effect. GreatAuPair does not provide a pro-rated refund for unused subscription terms. Membership subscription sales are final.

2) GreatAuPair USA, our US J-1 Au Pair Program
Even after thoroughly evaluating and interviewing multiple au pair candidates, they recognize that on rare occasions some au pair matches may not be a good fit with your family. They offer a 6-Month Guarantee:

If your match ends during the first 6 months of your 12-month program, they will provide you with a new au pair at their cost.

If you need help locating interim childcare, they will give you a free one-month subscription to our GreatAuPair.com site. You’ll have access to hundreds of care providers who may be able to help you cover any gaps in childcare until your new au pair arrives.


Alternate Business Names
GreatAuPair, LLC GreatAuPairUSA.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

GreatAuPair.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6836 Bee Cave Road

    West Lake Hills, TX 78746 (800) 935-6303

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Greataupair does not answer at my request sent by mail 2 weeks ago At their suport site. Greataupair has published for almost one year and without telling me on google first Search under my name That i was a slaver and other insults, I have not been able to get an answer from them on how to erase this When i phone them, they say i just have to email them, but they donot answer my mail, Anyone writing my name with google search will see as first or second rank this message insulting me and my family

Desired Settlement: Erase insulting message

Business Response: Dear *********,

Please review the attached document for GreatAuPair's response to your complaint.

I hope this response provides an acceptable resolution.

Sincerely,

*****

GreatAuPair, LLC




7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not provide 32 hours of au pair training prior to placement of au pair. Au pair committed a crime when she crossed rail road tracks when gates were down and train was coming with my children. Putting their lives in danger! Au pair left my children at play ground, did not perform any of the chores assigned and was a complete disaster. In only 6 weeks my family was involved with a woman who committed moral turpitude on a daily basis. Would not refund full amount of fees involved.

Desired Settlement: Full refund a fees paid to agency.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

GreatAuPair acted in accordance with Department of State regulations and within the terms and conditions set forth in the Host Family Agreement, a legally binding contractual agreement entered into between the Host (Ms. *******) and GreatAuPair. If Ms. ******* at any point in time felt that a "crime" was committed it would have behooved her to contact the proper authorities. Additionally, all au pairs are required to complete training prior to their arrival in the U.S. Ms. *******'s au pair completed the necessary training in accordance with regulations. A complete report has been submitted to the Department of State. Attached is the letter presented to Ms. ******* in response to her claims in addition to a copy of the Host Family Agreement. 

Please feel free to contact GreatAuPair should further documentation or information be required.

Best regards,

******** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The Au Pair was not trained Pursuant to the Department of States Requirements.  Per Department of State 32 hours of training in child safety and development is required.  I have proof that on May 11 at 11:44 AM she was only 50% complete in training.  This means that she would have to complete 16 hours of training to complete the requirement.  I have requested three times to provide proof of required training, and Great Au Pair has ignored my requests.  ******** and Great Au Pair are in breach of contract.  Great Au Pair for failure to perform obligations under contract and ******** for posting my children's photos and photos of my vehicle with license plate exposed on Facebook.  I have completed all my obligations under the contract and have requested a full refund of the fees paid to the Agency, but they have refused.  

The 4 weeks prior to me firing ******** and then forced to keep her in my home for 2 weeks, was disastrous.  She left my children on the playground, she crossed train tracks while the gates were down, committing a crime and putting all lives in danger.  She lied to my family about her ability to drive, she did not cook, clean or help with homework, she took pornographic photos on the phone I provided for work purposes.  She had strange men come to the house to pick her up (she was involved with three men during the short period of time).  She considered fleeing my home to become an illegal immigrant, a friend skyped her to talk her out of it.  

My children were put through extreme trauma and danger under her care, I have had to resign from my position I accepted in April, and planned on having dependable childcare for a year.  The emotional and monetary damage is far beyond the entire fee I am requesting to be refunded.  If this is not done in good faith, I will proceed to with legal action to sue for damages.

The Agency is a sham, and not following regulations.  Upon research all other Agencies bring the Au Pair to the US and require 4 days of training before the Host Family is allowed to pick them up!  

They failed to obtain required references for the Host Family.  The failed to confirm that Au Pair had a private enclosed bedroom before arrival of Au Pair.  The list of negligence on the Au Pair's part and the Agency's part is extensive.  

I will forward documentation, and if any of you are parents, you will understand that what my family had to endure to their incompetence and negligence should be corrected based on good faith and plan correct moral action! 

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:


The au pair was provided with the requisite training and completed it prior to arrival pursuant to Department of State regulations. As mentioned earlier, the Department of State has been made aware of Ms. ******* and her allegations and has not found GreatAuPair to be noncompliant. Ms. ******* has been given a refund and has been provided evidence of the au pair's completion of training. 

Ms. ******* is using the Better Business Bureau in efforts to get a full refund. She has threatened GreatAuPair numerous times with "legal action." GreatAuPair has conducted business in good faith with this customer and has acted in accordance with regulations as well as within the terms and conditions presented within the GreatAuPair Host Family Agreement. 

Sincerely,

******** *****

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently was on vacation in the U.S., and when I got home I always check my credit card statement to ensure its accuracy. I had a charge on my credit card from greataupair.com. I didn't even know what an Au Pair was until I googled the web page, which I got in the description of the transaction along with their 1-800 phone number. I contacted my bank, who in turn contacted this business. I was a victim of fraud. Whoever contacted this business set up a full online profile with all of my personal information! They had my full name and address, they even had the 3 digit security number from the back of my card! The woman who settled the situation over the phone with myself and my bank representative was rude and actually chuckled in her response in regards to credit card fraud. I naturally was already upset that my personal life had been invaded, I did not need this woman laughing on the phone. She promised a refund, because who ever created the profile in my name said she and her husband were a canadian family with two sons aged 5 & 7. Luckily these fraudsters didn't know me well enough to know I have never been married, and I do not have two children.

Desired Settlement: I have yet to receive my refund, however the bank did say it could take up to 14 days to see on my account. However, if one is to be hired in a customer service position I would suggest they treat their customers with respect and understanding. I was beyond unimpressed that she thought my situation was funny. If she doesn't like her job, there's always someone else out there that needs a job and would do a better job because they actually care! I also don't understand why the person who committed the fraud in the first place did this? To what benefit? I'm very curious to know if there is an inside scam that would have refunded this fraud but use a different method so the fraud would be gaining $60US, and I'd be out $75CDN?

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. We are sorry that you were a victim of credit card fraud. I want to confirm that your $60 credit was processed while you were on the phone with one of our customer support representatives on April 29th at 1:11 pm. I certainly hope that the credit is showing up in your account by now. I don't know why it would be held up because we processed it right away on our end. If you still don't see it, please let us know. 

I spoke with the customer support representative who assisted you on the phone and she said that she thought you were very upset about what had happened and she may have been trying to bring some levity to the heavy situation with a giggle, but she certainly was not laughing at you. I am very sorry if that was how you experienced it. I completely understand how being a victim of credit card fraud is very unsettling and frustrating. We would certainly want our representatives to be sympathetic and as helpful as possible. If you received anything less than that type of service, we apologize. 

Please let us know if there is anything more that we can do to assist you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, hopefully the employee has learned a lesson, probably not a good idea to laugh/giggle when dealing with someone who is upset. She genuinely made me feel condescended.

I confirm I received the refund to my account, however, due to the difference in the exchange rate in the few days that had passed since the original transaction was made, has left me money out of pocket, which I feel adds further insult to my situation.

Regards,

***** ******

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were sent a defective au pair, that wanted to go back to Spain before she even arrived (things did not work out with her previous family and she was forced upon us so the agency could still make money on her, which they wouldn't if she went straight back to Spain). She worked less than 20 hours total and we were charged a total of $1,547.35 ($996 from great au pair.com, $351.10 for her plane ticket and $200 to the au pair herself) which is exorbitant. We also spent huge time commitments making her accommodations comfortable (moving furniture, opening bank accounts, buying her groceries and products to try to make her feel at home, teaching her to drive etc) for no quality child care in return. We received nothing for the $1,547.35 except hassle, arguments and harrassment. The facts: - The AuPair had a horrible temper/attitude towards my family - The AuPair neglected my children (eye witness and nanny cam) - The AuPair lied about her ability to drive (and put myself and 2 children in danger) -2 employees at greataupair.com told me there was a full refund if it didn't work out within 30 days - The AuPair left with no notice leaving us scrambling for back up care - during her interview, the au pair told us she didn't drink (another lie) -The greataupair.com website says repeatedly that total cost is $7.75 an hour for an au pair which is ****misleading and fraudulent*** because the agency is charging us $1547.35 for approximately 20 hours of (substandard neglectful) "care" - The AuPair wanted to return to Spain before she even arrived at our home - The AuPair was not as advertised (we were told she could drive and that she was willing to live in our town, both were lies) --VP of Operations at Great Au Pair.com was degrading and threatening on phone conversations with me when I inquired about a refund (she kept referring to her "legal background" and said i had no rights

Desired Settlement: A refund of $1,547.35 and an apology.

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that ******** *****, the host mom, is dissatisfied with the 
program. While GreatAuPair does everything within its power to ensure the 
participants’ satisfaction, there are certain things that are beyond our control. 
We understand from the host mom’s complaint, that she feels that she received 
a defective au pair. We were surprised to hear this because when coordinating 
with her to schedule an arrival orientation meeting, she shared with our team 
that her au pair was doing great. There were no problems reported by the au 
pair’s previous family. In fact, they were very pleased with the au pair. The only 
reason the au pair’s previous host family had to let her go was because they had 
a change in their living situation and could no longer host an au pair. 


After this point, the Childcare Coordinator was having a hard time reaching the 
host mom in order to schedule the arrival orientation, so she contacted the host 
dad and this caught him off guard. He passed the phone to his wife, and the 
coordinator explained that in order to be in compliance with regulations, an 
arrival orientation would need to be scheduled within the first two weeks of the 
au pair’s arrival. The coordinator also asked about a schedule for the au pair and 
inquired about how long the host mom would be in a wheelchair. The host mom 
told her that it was between her and the au pair and basically insinuated that it 
was not the coordinator’s business to be asking. However, it is the job of the 
coordinator to support the match and to ensure that all parties are abiding by 
program regulations, in particular that the au pair is not being overworked or 
doing work not in her scope of responsibilities. The host mom became very 
annoyed and she no longer wanted to speak with the coordinator. However, she 
did report that the au pair, ****** was doing great. See her email below. 

The host mom stated that the au pair was forced upon her. 
This is simply not true. GreatAuPair presents candidates for the family to 
consider, and the family makes their decision based on several interviews with a 
candidate and an evaluation of the candidate’s profile and documents on file. 
The family then extends an offer to the au pair. For this reason, an au pair could 
never be forced onto a family. The family is required to conduct at least two 
interviews and then must offer the position to the au pair. The family then 
informs the agency that they have made a selection. 

*On page one of the Host Family agreement that this host family signed on 
9/16/2014, regarding the selection of the au pair, it states: 

Selection of Au Pair Candidates requires the Host Family agree as follows: 

We understand that it is our responsibility to choose an au pair from the 
candidates presented to us and that GreatAuPair cannot guarantee our 
satisfaction with our selected au pair. We understand that GreatAuPair shall 
not be liable for the performance of the au pair and that the au pair is not an 
employee or agent of GreatAuPair. We understand that GreatAuPair is not 
liable for any act or omission on the part of our au pair. 

The host mom’s expectations were not in alignment with the au pair 
program regulations. 

The host mom’s mother came out to help before the au pair arrived since the 
host mom just had a C-section delivery and was also in a wheelchair due to a 
broken leg. The au pair arrived and then two days later, the host mom’s mother 
departed. The host dad was due to return to work as a medical resident where 
he works approximately 80 hours a week and the family had no other back-up 
care. The au pair reported that since the host mom had a broken leg, the au pair 
was asked to do almost everything for the host mom, including driving her 
around and taking her to physical therapy appointments, and lifting a heavy 
wheelchair out of the trunk as needed. Such duties as requested of the au pair 
are prohibited by GreatAuPair and the Department of State. The host mom was 
aware of this fact, having signed an agreement stating she understood that au 
pairs are only allowed to care for the children and perform tasks related to the 
children. The host mom’s requests were in clear violation of the au pair program 
regulations. GreatAuPair instructed the au pair to only do tasks that are in her 
scope of work. Finally, things came to a head one day when the host mom again 
asked the au pair to take her to physical therapy and the au pair reminded her 
that she was not supposed to be doing this, yet she would take her one last 
time, but couldn’t continue to do this. They got into a heated discussion and the 
au pair locked herself in the bathroom and wouldn't come out. According to the 
au pair, the host dad banged on the door asking her to come out and finally told 
her to just pack her things and leave. So she left and stayed at a friend’s house. 
The family reported a different story, saying that the au pair didn’t want to be 
there any more and just left. The host mom also refused to set up the required 
meetings with GreatAuPair representatives. We later found out that the host 
mom and dad were leaving their 2-week-old baby with the au pair as well, in 
addition to the toddler. An au pair is not allowed by Department of State 
regulations to be the sole care provider for an infant less than three months of 
age. The au pair reported that the host parents would leave her with both 
children, and not tell her where they were going or when they would be back. In 
initial meetings with the host parents the program requirements and stipulations 
were discussed and they agreed to abide by these regulations. However, it 
appears that the family needed a more comprehensive solution to address their 
needs than the au pair program provides. 

*Costs and Refunds 

Regarding the cost of the program, the family understood and agreed under 
contract to pay for the au pair’s stipend and the au pair program fee that covers 
ongoing support, the au pair’s screening, the au pair’s 32-hour training program, 
the au pair’s accident insurance, and the au pair’s airfare. The signed Host 
Family Agreement details the program requirenents, terms and refund policy. 
Also, the host mom, Mrs. ***** said the au pair only worked a total of 20 hours, 
but that is not true. In fact, on October 23, 2014 the au pair contacted us 
because she said the previous day she had worked 12 hours and wanted the 
family to provide her with a proper schedule. This was rectified right away, as an 
au pair is not allowed to work more than 10 hours a day and no more than 45 
hours a week. However, the au pair arrived on October 20, 2014 and worked 
until she left the family’s house on November 1, 2014. She worked in excess of 
20 hours, within the first 2-3 days. The fact is that the host family violated the 
terms of their agreement on several counts and did not abide by the 
Department of State regulations governing the Au Pair Program. 

*Outlined below is a description of the refund and how it is calculated based on the Host Family Agreement.

The total program fee for your family was $5688. As per the contract, host families
are refunded at the rate of $500 per month for the remaining service, of which you
have 8.5 months. Therefore, 8.5 months x $500 = $4250. ****** is owed a stipend
amount for her last week of service in the amount of $195.75, which will be
deducted from the refund amount of $4250 leaving a total due you of $4054.25.

You will receive your refund within the next 10 business days. We are processing
the refund now.

Again, we are sorry to see you leave the program, but understand that you must
do what is best for you and your family. Please let me know if you have any
questions.

Best Regards,

*****
Manager of Host Family Services

GreatAuPair’s VP of Program Operations, ********, also made herself 
available to talk to the family. 

GreatAuPair’s VP of Program Operations responds, explaining the refund 
and offering a larger refund than we were contractually obligated to offer 
in an effort to demonstrate our appreciation for her participation in the 
program and as a gesture of goodwill: 

We will increase your refund amount from $500 per month of unused service to $575,
splitting the difference as the monthly program fee is $650. Therefore, 8.5 months x
$575 = 4,887.50 less the stipend owed (cannot be withheld per the Department of
State) leaving a final refund of $4,691.75. We hope this demonstrates our appreciation
for your program participation.

We thank you and wish you and your family the best!

Sincerely,

********
Vice President of Program Operations

Mrs. ***** also initiated two chargeback disputes with American Express, and 
both times, the cases were settled in GreatAuPair’s favor. 

We have never received complaints about the VP of Program Operations. After 
reviewing all communications from the VP of Operations to the host family, 
there is no evidence regarding any kind of language or spite that the host mom 
stated in her complaint. The VP of Program Operations was professional, 
responsive, accommodating and fair in all her dealings with this family. 
We cannot provide further refunds to the family as we have already refunded 
$637.50 more than our contractual obligation as a gesture of goodwill. We are 
sorry that this program was not a good fit for Mrs. *****’s needs. 



Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1)  I did not receive a voicemail from the business -- they either did not call or called someone else
2)  We paid close to $1600 for less than a week of childcare which is unacceptable 
3) American Express did not rule in the businesses favor, it is a clerical error
4)  Two employees of the business verbally told me their would be a refund if it did not work out within 30 days
5) The business sent an Au Pair to our home without a Local Childcare Coordinator in our area
6) The Au Pair was outside of J-1 visa regulations when she arrived on October 20.  The last day for her to arrive legally at my home from the prior families home was October 18, so the Au Pair contract should be void as she was not a legal Au Pair.
7) I will settle for a refund from the business of $988 --  which excludes my sunk costs of the Au Pair plane ticket $391 and the pay to the Au Pair that I paid directly of $200 and certainly does not cover my time wasted, hassle and scrambling to find a back up childcare provider when the Au Pair left with no notice.
Regards,

******** *****

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service