Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Creative Child Learning Arts Academy #1

Phone: (254) 699-5550 Fax: (254) 699-5503 5515 E Central Texas Expy, Killeen, TX 76543 http://www.creativechild91.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers private school and day care for infants through second grade.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Creative Child Learning Arts Academy #1 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Creative Child Learning Arts Academy #1 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Creative Child Learning Arts Academy #1
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 2006 Business started: 08/28/2002 Business started locally: 08/28/2002 Business incorporated 09/19/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
P.O. Box 149030, Austin TX 78714
www.dfps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 438-4800

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jeannie Herring, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeannie Herring, Owner
Related Businesses
Creative Child Learning Arts Academy #2
Business Category

Child Care Centers Schools - Academic - Pre & Kindergarten


Additional Locations

  • 5515 E Central Texas Expy

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-5550

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in the Army and my spouse is deployed and we have to have child care for our daughter because of our work schedule. Our daughter attends a daycare where many other Military parents take their children and have also had these problems. The daycare charges $80.00 a week-which is a common price for child care. We have to pay for the upcoming week. During Spring Break my daughter attended they charged $125.00 for one week and additional $35 if they were going to attend field trips. Because of the different schedule it slipped my mind to pay the $80 for the next week-I ALWAYS PAY ON TIME. Wednesday of the following week they stopped me at the entrance and told me I forgot to pay and charged me $60.00 which is $20.00 a day as a late fee. I had to pay a total of $160.00 for that week. I asked them why they hadn't called or reminded me that Monday. The lady at the desk said she had called me Three different days. She LIED to me because I had no missed calls and the lady sees me everyday when I Pick Up/Drop off my daughter and never said anything to me. I know ultimately that its my responsibility to pay but they lied to collect an extra $60. I later found out they have done this Many times to other parents! Because of this issue I took my daughter out of this daycare, I am in the military and do not tolerate dishonesty! When I withdrew my child they also made me pay for two weeks extra which was a total of $160.00 even though I dis-enrolled her and she would no longer be attending and they wouldn't be providing care! When I made a complaint they told me it was my fault so I need to pay.

Desired Settlement: I would like this business to be investigated for fraud. I would like them to pay back all parents they have done this to. -Military is only supposed to be charged low interest rate. and $20 a day is over 60% interest. -They have done this to many other parents -They will continue to do this -The government gives money to this child care not knowing their practices -Child Care rates in America is currently a big issue and business practices such as these need to be STOPPED

Business Response: First of all, this particular parent has been late in the past paying tuition.  We do have documentation of her "no charge" the first time she paid late.  We also have documentation of the other time that she did have to pay a late fee.  We call as a courtesy to our customers.  Unfortunately we can not always get a hold of the parents.  

It is stated in our handbook what our late fee is.  We set our fee at $20 per day so that parents WILL NOT be late.  We had rather parents be ON TIME paying than to collect the late fee.  When parents pay late, it pushes us to close out our books late for that particular week.  We hardly EVER have to collect a late fee from any parent.

Also stated in our handbook, we do require a paid two week notice.  The child is allowed to attend during that two week period.  If a parent choose to not allow the student to stay for the two weeks, then we can do nothing about that.

As for honesty...we have call logs from our call log on the phone to show where we called this parent to remind her of her late payment.  We also have documentation in receipts where she has paid late and where she was given a "free" late charge on her first time of being late.

This is a business, just like Wal-Mart or the electric company... you can't buy a loaf of bread on Monday and ask to pay it on Wednesday. For some reason SOME parents do not understand that concept when it comes to childcare.  We try our very best to work with parents to come to an agreement and understanding of our rules.  We go over the handbook at the time of enrollment and we have the parents initial everything of great importance in our handbook.  This particular parent DID initial the part where we discuss the late fee, stating that she understood our policy. If needed, documentation can be submitted.  Thank you!





Thank you!
?

12/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues