BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Checks In The Mail, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Checks In The Mail, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Checks In The Mail, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1993 Business started locally: 05/01/1993 Business incorporated: 08/08/1995 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Terri Dodd, Quality Coordinator Mr. Don Dolan, CEO Mr. Robert Jones, Operations Manager Mr. Bob Madrid, Director of E-Commerce Gloriane Quintanilla, Senior Admin Asst
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Terri Dodd, Quality Coordinator
Business Category

Checks - Printing


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Checks In The Mail, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2435 Goodwin Ln

    New Braunfels, TX 78135 (800) 733-4443

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (830) 609-5500(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Delivery Issues
8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried repeatedly to remove the emails that come from this company. I have unsubscribed and I have complained to them directly to know avail. I get emails more than twice a day. How many checks can someone use? IF you order from the company they will hound you via email and not respond to your requests. There is no email or phone number to contact them directly that I could find on the email they send me.

Desired Settlement: STOP sending me emails

Business Response: Hello ****, 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to my attention. 

In researching *** ******'s complaint, I found that he has two profiles set up in our system,  The more recent file under his name shows that we had set him up NOT to receive any emails and even removed his email address.  However, I also found a second profile that is under ***** and ******** ****** which was not updated.  Therefore, I have set it up for NO communications, as well as removed the email address.  I have also forwarded his information to our Marketing Department to double check their records. 

I contacted *** ****** today to let him know my findings.  He did say that he has not received any promotions for a few weeks.  The email address he had provided for his orderwas to his business and we understand why he would not want that used for informing him of our promotions.  I appreciated his input and asked that he contact me if he has any future emails so that I can research the problem immediately. 

My direct phone number for his reference is ************. 



Regards, 
***** ****
**** ****** ******* **********
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************

 

Business Response: Hello ****, 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to my attention. 

In researching *** ******'s complaint, I found that he has two profiles set up in our system,  The more recent file under his name shows that we had set him up NOT to receive any emails and even removed his email address.  However, I also found a second profile that is under ***** and ******** ****** which was not updated.  Therefore, I have set it up for NO communications, as well as removed the email address.  I have also forwarded his information to our Marketing Department to double check their records. 

I contacted *** ****** today to let him know my findings.  He did say that he has not received any promotions for a few weeks.  The email address he had provided for his orderwas to his business and we understand why he would not want that used for informing him of our promotions.  I appreciated his input and asked that he contact me if he has any future emails so that I can research the problem immediately. 

My direct phone number for his reference is ************. 



Regards, 
***** ****
**** ****** ******* **********
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 8 boxes of checks from Check In Mail on April 07, 2014 and sent in a money order for $47 dollars. My checks were never sent, and I went to the post office to have them look into the money order that I had sent. I was informed that Heartland Corporation had in fact cashed the money order on April 15, 2014. When I contacted them, they said that they do not accept money orders and I had to pay them $51.32 dollars over the phone on May 13, 2014 for the same product. I still have not received any checks, and they are refusing to refund the $47 from the money order that they cashed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the 8 boxes of checks that I paid for, and also a refund of the original $47 dollars that I paid them and the $6.10 that I had to pay the post office to investigate the situation, since I had to pay them an additional $51.32 dollars for the same 8 boxes of checks over the phone.

Business Response: ******* & **** ****,

I have contacted ****** ******** today and we are working on getting the records together to get her a refund for the cashed money order of $47 & the $6.10 that the post office charged her  for an inquiry.  She did receive a complete order from us and I am going to follow up with a resolution on Monday.  I will contact the customer and send a follow-up email.

Thank you

***** ****
Call Center Support Specialist
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They displayed a SPECIAL on their website.: "Reorder today & save 20% plus free S&H". (May 16, 2014 about noon Los Angeles time.) I placed a reorder and was charged for shipping and handling. I was told by representatives that the free S&H only applies to the normal everyday free shipping and handling. I have printed copies of their website with two specials. The second special states ;New customer special offer......PLUS free standard shipping and handling. If I was new to their website and saw reorder special for today I would not be aware of their tiered pricing.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement is for them to stop the misleading advertising.

Business Response:

Hello ****,

The images from our web-site at checksinthemail.com for the two identified specials are below.  Both show that Shipping & Handling is free for "standard" shipping.  The reason Mr. ****** was charged is because standard delivery was not chosen.  His online reorder shows the upgraded "trackable" delivery method.   On 5/30/14, our Call Center Supervisor, Stephanie, spoke with Mr. ****** regarding his concerns which were addressed at that time; however, he informed us that he had already filed the complaint pertaining to the offer not specifying which shipping is free.

In this case, we feel because Mr. ****** obviously wanted the special, we processed a refund for the trackable delivery method plus tax for a total of $8.67 to his Paypal account.  This credit transaction should show in the next 5 to 7 business days.   The order indicates he was not charged for handling ($2.95 a box) and that it was actually discounted $6.00.  We are forwarding Mr. ******'s comments and this order as an example to our E-Commerce Team for consideration.

We hope this information helps clarify any questions and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to any inquiry or concern.

  •  
  • Special #1





  • Special #2






Regards,


***** ****
Customer Quality Coordinator

Checks In The Mail
###-###-####



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks and a check book cover from this company. I received my checks but I did not receive my check book cover that I paid for. I went to their website and complained three times and have never received a response even though they say they will respond within 48 hours.

Desired Settlement: I just want my check book cover I ordered and paid for.

Business Response:

***** ****** emailed Checks In The Mail stating that she did not receive her checkbook cover with her check order.  On 2/5 our representative emailed asking whether she wanted a refund or a replacement sent.  On 2/6 we were notified to send her a replacement cover.  Our Quality Department contacted her on 3/7 and she confirmed receipt of the checkbook cover.  We are sorry for the inconvenience and have provided feedback to the departments that contributed to her service issues. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks on 02/04/14 order # ********. I still have not received my checks. Calls for assistance have very long hold time. I sent an email 3 days ago and have had no response. I not only need my checks I am concerned where they might be.

Desired Settlement: delivery of orders ASAP or refund.

Business Response: Checks in the Mail researched the order for ******* ******** and found the order shipped standard USPS mail on 2/11.  When we contacted her on 2/25, she had stated she never received the package.  We have replaced her order and sent it *** ******** to ensure receipt.  We printed her checks at the next sequence in case the original order arrives as well as she can monitor the check series for security reasons.

UPS tracking showed her replacement order was delivered on 3/4.  We contacted ******* to confirm she did indeed get the 2nd order of checks.  She stated she received them but has still not received her original order.  We told her to please let us know if there is anything else that she needs in regards to the missing shipment.  We also took the opportunity to research and present training feedback to our call center referencing the complaints on prompt service responses.  We thank her for her patience while we resolved her concerns.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered and paid for checks in May 2013. No checks arrived. We tried to contact Checks in the Mail by phone. no answer even when waiting on hold for more than 20 minutes several times. Contacted by email and told them we had not received our checks as ordered. Their web pages says that they will get back to us in 48 hours with a reply. The responded asking us to verify our name, address, etc. We thought that they would get back to us but no reply even when we contacted them by email

Desired Settlement: They can either refund our money or provide the checks as ordered.

Business Response:

Checks In The Mail has attempted to research our records to determine what exactly occurred with the order for *** * **** ********* and any service requests during that time.  However, due to the original date being in May of 2013 we are unable to obtain all the details.

We would like to inform the Better Business Bureau that we did replace the check order for **** * ****** ********* as was requested on 1/20/2014.  We shipped the order trackable at our expense to ensure receipt.  I reached out to confirm this and ****** ********* stated she received the package on 1/28/2014.  She appreciated the follow-up call and is satisfied.  We discussed our new packaging which she was originally unaware of.  We look forward to serving them in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered from checks in the mail some address labels and they can not find my order but charged my *** *** account for 23.20 im requesting a refund

Desired Settlement: refund and make them fix there phones all they do is ring and hang up on you for weeks now

Business Response: Our records show that both labels Ms. ***** ordered had shipped on 9/24/13.  We confirmed that the address is the same that was provided in the BBB complaint.  We attempted to speak with her on 10/2/13 but had to leave a message with her father.  We called her again today since we had not had a response yet, but again had to leave a message with her father.   We regret not being able to speak with her directly, so this time we provided a direct line that she could call to eliminate any hold time and she can leave a message.  We stated that we wanted to know if she eventually received her labels.  Because we were unable to determine the outcome, we have submitted a refund request through her ****** account for the total amount of the order $23.20.

We have forwarded her complaint regarding the phone lines to our technical support team.  We were unaware of any issues other than a possible hold time a bit longer than normal due to the time of year. 

We hope this information reaches Ms. ***** and that should she have any other questions, she would please contact us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks online on 10/5/13 (internet order number ***********). When I checked on the order status on 10/14/13, the order was not found. I sent an e-mail questioning my order & got an e-mail response that a Customer Service representative would respond to me within 24 hours. Did not happen. I sent another e-mail on 10/15/13 with the same results. I finally called today & talked to *****. He told me my order was cancelled because the design that I ordered was discontinued & I would have to pick a different one. Why didn't someone let me know that I needed to change my order. I ordered from this company because of the reviews I read online before I placed my order. I will not order from this company. I ordered checks from another company.

Desired Settlement: Improve customer service.

Business Response:

***** ***** had ordered online and it went on hold for the design no longer in stock.  We sent email notifications every other day.  However, when reviewing the BBB complaint we noticed that the email address we have on file from the online order has a letter missing.  This may be the reason she was unaware of the situation.  We have updated her email in our records. 

Although, she had originally cancelled the order, one of our Supervisors offered to process her order on another design with a courtesy discount for the delay and inconvenience.  Her original web order total was $36.25 and the discounted order total was $12.83.

Our records show her order has shipped today 10/25/13 and she will receive it through our Secure-Trackable delivery.  We hope this is satisfactory to *** ***** and if she needs any assistance, she can contact me, ***** ****, directly at ************.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

After review, I did leave a number out of my e-mail address on the original online order on 10/5, but they did have my telephone number if they wanted to contact me. Also, they did have my corrected e-mail address when I contacted them by e-mail on 10/14 and 10/15 with a reply from them that someone would contact me within 24 hours, which did not happen.

Everything is okay now.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company printed the wrong account number. Therefore, checks that were written were returned and there are fees involved with that.

Desired Settlement: Returned fees involved paid for by the company.

Business Response: Our records indicate that ***** ******* ******* placed an order on our web-site 8/7/13.  We were informed that the account number was incorrect and had caused a check to be returned and that she incurred a fee as a result of that error.  Although, the order was done online, we processed a refund to the credit card for the amount of 10.84 for the order on 9/4/13.  We then contacted our customer to obtain the documentation for the returned check fee.  We received a scan by email which confirmed the fee was actually $12 not the higher amount she originally thought.  We have mailed the refund check #***** to her address we have on file.  We hope that this experience does not deter her from giving us another opportunity in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON AUGUST 16, 2013, I ORDERED TWO BOXES OF CHECKS. I PAID AN EXTRA $25 TO HAVE THE CHECKS DELIVERED BY THE 23. CHECKS IN THE MAIL GAVE UPS THE WRONG ADDRESS. AFTER THE CHECKS BEING LATE, I CONTACTED CITM ON THE 25TH TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. I WAS E MAILED, BECAUSE NO ONE ANSWERS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE, THAT THE CORRECT ADDRESS WAS NEEDED. CITM HAD THE CORRECT ADDRESS ALL ALONG. AFTER COUNTLESS UNANSWERED E-MAILS AND PHONE CALLS, I FINALLY REACHED SOMEONE THROUGH A LIVE CHAT ON SEPTEMBER 3, 2013. I WAS PROMISED THE CHECKS WOULD BE RE-SHIPPED THAT DAY. I REQUESTED A UPS TRACKING NUMBER. I CHECKED MY E-MAIL SEPTEMBER 4, 2013 AT 8 AM. NO TRACKING NUMBER. I SPOKE WITH RONI ON A LIVE CHAT WHO CONFIRMED THAT THE CHECKS STILL HADN'T BEEN MAILED OUT, BUT PROMISED THEY WOULD BE OVERNIGHTED TO ME AND I WOULD RECEIVE THEM ON SEPTEMBER 5, 2013. IT'S ALMOST NOON AND I STILL HAVEN'T RECEIVED ANY TRACKING NUMBERS OR ANY CORRESPONDENCE REGARDING THE "RE-SHIPPING" OF MY ORDER. I HAVE BEEN PROMISED THREE TIMES THAT THE CHECKS WOULD BE SHIPPED. STILL WAITING.

Desired Settlement: I REALLY JUST WANT THE CHECKS. AN APOLOGY WOULD BE NICE, OR AN EXPLANATION, BUT OVERALL, I AM IN DESPERATE NEED OF MY CHECKS I ORDERED THREE WEEKS AGO!

Business Response: We had fulfilled the order for Ms. ****** correctly; however, when UPS had the package out for delivery they noted there was no house number and returned the package to our facility on 9/4/13. The package was reshipped to her on that same day.  Unfortunately, reshipped packages are manually processed and our system does not update the tracking information to be available to the customer.

We contacted Ms. ****** by phone and she confirmed receipt of her order.  We also informed her that we have processed a refund for the extra charge she paid to Overnite her checks.  She should see the credit of $25.93 post to her credit card in the next few days.

We are very sorry for the confusion with our delivery carrier and have made note of the complaint with UPS as well.   We hope the delay did not  cause inconvenience with her personal finances.  Checks In the Mail hopes that we are given another opportunity in the future.

Thank you 


***** ****
Call Center Support Specialist
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/10/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two boxes of checks on 7/9/13 and paid the extra fee for a track-able order. My order # is: ***********. I paid with check #**** in the amount of $41.83 (cleared the bank on 7/11/13). I immediately received a confirmation e-mail explaining that my order was being prepared for processing and that I would receive another e-mail with a tracking number once the order shipped. I never received this e-mail, but after about a week I received box #2 of 2 with an explanation that the other part of the order may take several business days to arrive. I waited a full week, and did not receive the other 1/2 of the order. On 7/20/13, I sent an e-mail explaining that I hadn't received part of my order and that I was worried that the checks had been misdirected, and possibly delivered to someone else. I explained that I had paid for tracking, but had never been given access to a tracking number. I asked that someone let me know how I can track the order. On about 07/23/13, I received another e-mail that my order was being prepared for processing and that I would receive an e-mail with a tracking number when the order was complete. Again, I never received any e-mail with the tracking number, but on 7/24/13 I received an e-mail from the customer service agent that said the issue had been taken care of and thanks for my business. I responded that I was surprised to hear that the issue was handled, since my question hadn't been answered. I asked again for the tracking information, and in response I received tracking information on the re-print order, not the original order. The CSR explained that there had been a manufacturing issue, so the checks were re-printed. I asked for confirmation that the missing checks had never left the manufacturing facility, but didn't get a response. On 8/5/13, I called the customer service number. After 27 minutes on hold waiting to speak to someone, I finally reached a woman whose name I cannot recall. I explained the situation and told her I wanted to know what happened to the original checks that were not delivered. Three times her response to my question was with regard to the re-print order (that it had been delivered on 7/25 and 7/29). I explained that I had received the re-print order, but that I still needed to know what happened to the original box of checks that didn't get delivered. I wanted to know if they had ever left the facility, and if they had been tracked as "delivered." After several tries, the answer I received was that track-able orders are packed as one order, so the tracking information they have is for the entire order as a whole, which indicated that it was delivered. She said that the box I never received MAY have been left out of the order on accident. So, essentially, I paid for tracking, but no tracking is actually available. The best that can be done is "it MAY have never left the manufacturing facility." Her advice was to contact my bank and ask them to "watch" for the checks to ensure that I am the one that passed them. I contacted my bank and the only remedy is to stop payment on the range of checks that was originally missing. This will cost me an additional $20.00 to ensure that my checking account is not emptied by people who MAY have several books of my checks.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund for 1/2 of my order (about $20.00) since I only received 1/2 of the original order and the re-print I received is useless. I would also like to receive a reimbursement for the $20.00 fee that I am being charged by my bank so that I can secure my checking account. Finally, and most importantly, I would like the company to honor their promise of "tracking" when they sell a "track-able" delivery. This means, that there should be a record of every step in the process of manufacturing and shipping merchandise, as well as dealing with manufacturing issues and returned items. This information should be available to the customer without the customer having to ask for it, and certainly it should be available once the customer does ask for it.

Business Response: Checks In The Mail takes great pride in our service and products.  We researched he issue that caused confusion with ********* ******** order and went over the process in detail with her by telephone today.  There are training opportunities for improving our communications and we are forwarding to our Call Center Supervisors and Manufacturing Managers to assist in distributing these to our associates.  We appreciate Mrs. ******** willilngness to understand what happened with her order and apologize for the worry and inconvenience she experienced.  She did confirm receiving her full order.  However, she had already paid for a stop payment of $20 on her delayed box of checks through her bank.  As a result, she cannot use the sequential numbers in her first box.  We have processed an electronic refund for the full amount of her order of $41.83.  We have also processed a complimentary box of checks in order to make amends for her experience.  We look forward to her satisfactory resolution in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from CITM with an offer for business checks at a discount. My order was placed online, which included my company's financial information. I was then repeatedly contacted by CITM asking for the check format. I called to discuss & was told they don't have the format for the product they offered (laser business checks) & I would have to provide the format for my particular software, which is Peachtree Accounting , a popular software. (I believe a "key condition" of the offer is that the customer has to provide the formatting!) I discovered the call center was in the Philippines & asked to speak to someone in Texas. The Texas rep explained the same thing, whereupon I faxed a void check. Over a period of several days, I rec'd daily emails that they still needed the check format. After holding for 15 minutes for the call center in the Philippines, I again asked to speak to someone in Texas. The next person said the fax was never rec'd, although I have confirmation from ** ***** of the email's successful transmission. I, therefore, cancelled the order. My complaint is that CITM offered a product they had no way of producing on their own, my financial data has been sent to them twice & I have no idea if it is in someone's hands overseas. I am highly concerned.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by CITM with assurance that the financial data was received in Texas, not the Philippines, and that it has been purged from their system for security purposes. I initially gave them authorization to debit the account for the checks & would like additional assurance that there will be no attempt to charge the account for a product that was not delivered. Further, I believe they should discontinue the practice of soliciting business for a product they have no way of producing. I have dealt for years with other companies that have these formats in their system.

Business Response: We have reviewed the
full customer experience that prompted **** ******* to file a complaint with
the Better Business Bureau.  We, therefore, contacted her to discuss our
findings and to ensure that we have addressed her concerns.



First, her concern
regarding the security of her financial information was addressed because she
was uneasy with our overseas call center handling her order.  We did
inform her at any time our customers can request to be transferred to our US
location for service.  We understand there are many different reasons why
our customers would want this option.  Her fax containing a a check sample
was located and received by the appropriate department in Texas.  We also
confirmed that the cancelled order did not bill her bank account that she
provided to us online.  We take the privacy of our customer information
seriously and have security measures in place to protect their confidential and
financial records.  



Second, ****
*******'s frustration with the ordering process for her business checks was
also a contributing factor for her decision to cancel the order.  The
product she ordered required a format sample and she stated this "key
condition" was not clear prior to placing the order.  This issue was
brought to the attention of our E-Commerce Team to identify a better way of
relaying this on our web-site.  We do see where this could be an
inconvenience to our customer and we understand their time is valuable.
 Our hope is to make improvements for our business customers.



Third, we had some
training opportunities that were identified during our research of all of her
calls with our customer service representatives.  Our Training Department
and Call Center Director were involved for follow-up sessions with these
particular representatives.



Overall, we want to
take advantage of this feedback as it helps us determine our areas of
improvement.  Our customers' satisfaction with our products and service is
important to us at Checks In The Mail.  **** ******* was very gracious to
take the time to contact us back and discuss these concerns and we appreciate
it sincerely.  We wish her the best in all her business endeavors.
 Should she need any future assistance, my contact number is ************
and I would be happy to help her personally.



Regards

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The party I spoke with was professional, courteous & helpful.  I very much appreciate the positive response from CITM & am satisfied with their follow through & attention to detail. 

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 400 checks from this place on June 1, 2013. Never received these checks after waiting one month. E mailed the company to inquire about order and they never responded. Called the company and they said they would research the problem and call back. They never called back. Called again and put on hold for over 30 minutes. Very difficult communicating with their employee as a language barrier existed. Have requested a refund but have yet to receive it.

Desired Settlement: Want a refund to my *** *** account.

Business Response:

Checks in the Mail was contacted on 7/3/13 by Ms. ***** informing that she had not received her checks.  Our service representative contacted our manufacturing department to research as to why we did not have a tracking number associated with the order as it had shown shipped on 6/3.  On 7/6 a refund was submitted for the full amount of the order for $158.61 through Ms. *****'s ****** account.  We have confirmed with ****** that the refund ID # ***************** was processed for our mutual customer.  We have also been notified by our manufacturing department that the reason she did not receive her check order, was that there was a problem with a quality check on the order and as a result, the package never shipped.  We have called and left a message to follow up with Ms. ***** and provided a direct contact number to myself in the Quality Department at ************.  We would be happy to offer a complimentary box of checks as a way to make amends for the inconvenience and worry that this situation may have caused.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****





BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/7/13 I mailed Checks in the Mail an order for checks. (I placed this order on behalf of my husband, who is the trustee for this estate trust account.) On the check order form I provided my husband's phone number as well as his e-mail address. However, he never did receive an email with notification or a tracking # showing that the check order had been received and processed. We never did receive the checks. I reviewed our order on the company website; it showed that the checks had shipped on 5/10/13 and that the estimated arrival date should have been 5/29/13. So on 6/6/13 I went to the company's website and sent them an e-mail, using my husband's email address, to inquire about the order. But on 6/10/13 he had not received an email response from the company, so I called the company at ###-###-####. I waited on hold for at least 30 minutes before I was transferred to a company rep. (I was on that phone call for at least 45 minutes before I was cut off; the company rep. had just come back on the line and was about to inform me what he had learned about our order. When I was cut off, I called my husband to ask whether he had received a call on his phone from the company rep. I felt that once we were cut off the rep. definitely should have immediately called my husband at his provided phone number because the rep knew there was a problem with the order and also was aware he had just been cut off from explaining the problem to me. My husband said he did not receive a call.) So I had to call back and talk to another company rep. I was then informed that the checks had been shipped on 5/13/13 via UPS and then transferred to my local U.S. post office for final delivery. The UPS website showed that my local post office had attempted delivery but the package was undeliverable as addressed. The checks were then returned to sender by my local post office, and the 2nd company rep said that when Checks in the Mail received the checks back they were then shredded for security purposes. It was at this time that I asked for a tracking # on the shipment. (What happened once the checks were transferred to our local post office makes no sense, because my husband and I have lived at this address for over 20 years and regularly receive mail delivered to our house.) At any rate I asked the check company rep what would happen now; he said he would replace the order and that we should receive the checks by 6/26/13. (My husband had issued a check as payment for the check order, which was sent with the check order form, and that check has already cleared the estate trust bank account.) I did have the company rep quote our home address back to me to be sure they had the correct address. I realize that mistakes happen, but I am upset with the check company for several reasons: 1) They never emailed my husband to notify him that the order had ever been received or shipped, along with providing a tracking #; 2) They did not respond to my 6/6/13 email inquiry on their company's website; and, most importantly, 3) When the checks were returned to them, they did not call or email my husband to notify him that there was a problem and determine what they needed to do to correct the problem so that they could ship a replacement check order to us.

Desired Settlement: We just want to receive the check order. However, Checks in the Mail needs work on fulfilling their customer service obligations! So that is why I am reporting this unsatisfactory customer service experience to you.

Business Response: We regret that the order for ****** * ***** ******** was returned to us by USPS. Although many items are returned daily, we are aware of the inconvenience this may cause to the receiving customer. Multiple variables may affect a package in transit. We take pride in being proactive to avoid any delivery issues that may arise.

I called **** ******** on June 17th upon receiving the Better Business Bureau complaint. We discussed the returned order and her customer service concerns. We have taken this feedback and provided it to our Call Center Director for service improvement and training opportunities. We have also contacted our Technical Team to research why our automated email notifications that are generated when an order status changes were not received by *** *** **** ********.

Nevertheless, **** ******** was gracious and accepted a replacement order that we Overnited to her through UPS and the tracking # ****************** shows the package was delivered on June 20th. We also processed an electronic refund to her account for the $24.75 trackable delivery they had originally paid for.  This should post within the next 3-5 business days.  We appreciate their patience in this matter and look forward to serving them in the future.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks from the company on May 1, 2013. I received an email that day stating that my checks were ready for production & I would receive another email when they were ready to ship. I didn't receive an email again & called to check on the status of my order on May 20, 2013. I was told that since I had not paid to have it tracked they could not give me information & that if my checks had not arrived by May 22, 2013 to call back. I emailed the company on May 23, 2013 when I still had not received my checks. They replied & stated they had been shipped on May 2, 2013 & I should have gotten them by now. They offered to replace them for free & I replied back via email I would like that. I got no response back so I emailed again, no response. I finally called & was hung up on twice. Finally when I got through they said they were trying to track my replacement order & would call me back shortly. 24 hours later and still no call. I called them, AGAIN & found out they had put a hold on my replacement order because I asked them to ship it to my work address instead of my apartment. They said I needed to send them a bank statment showing my address. Nothing of this was mentioned when I placed the order via phone with them on May 1. Nor was it ever mentioned in the other communications. I was told to call my bank to get a point of contact & they would contact her to verify my address. It's now over a month later and I still have no checks & have spent hours on the phone trying to get this taken care of.

Desired Settlement: I want my checks expidited to me & my account refunded the amount of $25.

Business Response: ****** ******* placed an order on 5/1 for 4 boxes of checks with standard **** delivery. She had the shipping address as her place of employment. The order shipped on 5/2. She contacted Checks In The Mail stating she had not received her order and was informed that we were unable to track it for her but we offered to provide a replacement if she did not receive them.

Our Distribution Department received her original order "returned to sender" thru **** as unable to deliver. A replacement order was keyed; however, due to conflicting information and the returned delivery, her order was placed for security review. Once we elevated her situation, we were able to coordinate with Ms. ******* and her financial institution to complete the order and ship her replacement Overnite delivery to her home address.

Checks in the Mail processed an electronic refund for the full amount of $25.67 on 6/8 as she requested. Also, *** records indicate that her replacement with tracking# ******** ********** was delivered on 6/12 @ 9:48 am. We believe we have resolved this complaint to Ms. *******'s satisfaction and look forward to serving her in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/10/2012 Delivery Issues
3/30/2012 Delivery Issues
3/5/2012 Delivery Issues
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service