BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Chips 4 Children Foundation

Phone: (210) 639-1116 999 E Basse Rd Ste 180, San Antonio, TX 78209 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Poker supplies, poker tables, room design, and charity fund raising..

anything for charity and poker

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chips 4 Children Foundation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Chips 4 Children Foundation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 26, 2011 Business started: 01/22/2007 Business started locally: 01/22/2007 Business incorporated: 01/22/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pete Altman, Co-owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Pete Altman, Co-owner
Business Category

Charity - Local Party Planning Party Supplies - Renting

Method(s) of Payment
All
Refund and Exchange Policy
Please be sure to contact Pete. 2106391116
Industry Tips
Donating to Police and Firefighter Organizations

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    999 E Basse Rd Ste 180

    San Antonio, TX 78209

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.alamocitypokerclub.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 4th 2013 I was sent the following unsolicited text message. "Tomorrow Weds, Thurs, Fri, Sat, 7pm sharp. 1-3/$50 min 1st 3 to arrive get a ping. 6HDTV'a all sports all the time. Free food and full bar. 100% free we appreciate your donations. all money goes back to the players. Play Strong... "The Turn" players pls txt ur RSVP too *** *** ****" I sent back the following message. "I have asked 7 times to be removed from these mass text blast. Please for the love of god remove me without giving me excuses. Thank You!" Two hours later I received another text of the same nature and I responded the following, "Please for the love if (SIC) god REMOVE me from your text list. Since I now live 1,900 miles away I will not be making it to any game! I have asked nicely 8 times now to be removed!!!!!". Now let me remind you I have all the text saved. Here is what I got in response, "Dude I told you there is nothing I csan (SIC) do! Don't know whyu (SIC) now block the ***** number or kjiss (SIC) my ***** ****! Text #2 " ***** off!" Text #3"You can kiss my ***** Now I won't even try to find you!" Text #4 "Deal with it or block it! Now go away!" Text #5 "Good you ***** ***** (SIC) I don't care! You gave us your number voluntarily. Have fun *****." Text #6 " ***** off!" Number one I never gave ***** ******** my phone number to put me on any list. All these texts are unsolicited. I do not want text messages to a poker game run in the State of Texas because it is an illegal enterprise. If I choose to block the text messages it will cost me $4.99 per month. If Mr. ******** does not apologize and remove me from his list I will have no choice but to file a complaint with the ******* ***** **********, and take legal action in a California Court to recover cost associated with Mr. *******'s illegal actions. In further text messages I received verbal harassment and terrorist threats of violence. I will be filling a Police report with the copy of the messages with the *** ******* Police so that I can obtain a civil restraining order against Mr. ******* or anyone working under his control. Mr. ******* is violating my civil rights and bending the gaming rules of the state of Texas. Please help me put a stop to this harassing behavior.

Desired Settlement: Plase have my information removed from all data bases controlled by ******* and a letter of appology.

Business Response: Greetings,
  I am sorry to hear of your complaint. I believe I have explained we cannot find you or your name is coming up something different that explained.
  I would never want to bother you or annoy you.

we have 17k numbers as soon as I know exactly what number you are refering too I will fix it immediately.

Please feel free to contact me personally anytime.

***** *******
************
****************************

I am sorry to hear of your complaint. I will strive to fix your problem..

I never was given your request or did not recognize..


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I received the following text from Mr. ******* on June 7, 2013. Here is a screen shot of his offensive text message. That is Mr. ******* making an obscene gesture. I would also note that there are three current *** complaints about Mr. *******.

He needs to remove my number from further texts messages by sending me a confirmation letter and address me (Mr. ******) a direct apology. I am having to pay $4.99 per month to block this person from sending me messages.

Regards,

******* ******





























Business Response: Greetings Sir/Madam,

#1.
This is a terrible spot it has
escalated to this point. Blocking a number is free through your network
sir. Especially if it is bothering you this much.
However,

I don't know who you are. I need to have your name, The phone number
you are referring too and any other info that would help me find your
info in a database of 17k numbers.

I am really apologetic that
your having such a hard time with this situation. If it costs to block
send me details and I will send you a Money order. Tell me what to do
sir!

Option #1.
The only thing that I can think of is a
former member had your number and it has gotten into several groups and
in several of our phones.

Unfortunately, until you brought
this to our attention we did not know we are txting the wrong person.
And obviously you were upset before you spoke to anyone about this.


I believe **** & ***** explained that to you and was nice even after
you were calling her names and cursing at her. And all we had was a
phone in our records. No name. To me and to a phone list no-name means
no-member in the list. One has to fill out information to place in
address book. We don't have any information on you.
We always appreciate and love our members. Even when they are upset at the game,
us, or other players. We wish that wasn't apart of what we do.
We don't want to txt anyone that isn't going to join our charity events. Wastes our time.

I really hope your not saying one of the ladies that work here sent you those txt's?!
If we can prove that I will gladly make sure it doesn't happen again. I found the conversation.
To be honest sir;

you were way out of line sir. Calling this 22yr old girl Fat, ****,
and a bunch of other things and according to record she remained
professional and nice.

Sir, is all this trouble worth it? This is a lot of effort and stress when the solution is to block the numbers sir.


#1.

As soon as I know your full name, phone number, Date of membership,
and/or any other info that will help. I will search diligently to find
you and get you off any list you may be on sir.


I am ***** ******* the owner. I will also extend to you a chance to pay any
extra charges you have suffered from, and pay you blocking fees if any.

Pls send me the receipt of payment along with anything else we are responsible for.


I wish you the best and apologize for all your stress over this. I really
wish I could help you. I would have done so before writing this long
letter to the you through the BBB.

We are the first and only legal charity poker club in the State. We hold a lot of pride in that fact.

We have never been robbed, or had even a fight at our events. We pray
to keep our members happy and safe. While raising money to some good
for inner city San Antonio.
If you are a member? We apologize
we failed with you. And hope to be able to make any wrong doings right.
In order to make this a Win-Win situation for all of us.

3 yrs with the BBB no problems.. I hope to continue our A++ rating.


Respectfully,
***** *******
*** ** ***** **** **** *****
*** *** ****
****************************

Please feel free to contact us and work it out at anytime.

"Making a Million KiDs Smile"



(Excuse the mistakes. I did this from my phone while parked on the side of the road.)

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. ******** last reponse is full of lies and is just trying to keep a good reputation with the BBB.



#1 Mr. ******* knows who I am. Here is the text message that
proves nothing but lies.

 

Apr 19, 2013, 12:05 PM

*****: "Going to make it tonight?"

June 4, 2013, 9:37 PM

ME: “Please for the love of god REMOVE me from your texting
list. Since I now live 1,900 miles away I will not be making it any game! I
have asked nicely 8 times now to be removed!!!!!!"

*****: "Dude I told you there is nothing I csan do!
Don't know whyu now block the ******* number or kjiss my *** ****!

*****: "**** off!

 

As you can see in the text message you clearly know my name
so please stop lying and dragging this on.

 

#2 **** ***** or whomever texted me was clearly way out of
line as this text message proves.

 

*****: "Your mom was dumb *****." "She didn't
abort you and could not work a coat hanger right"

 

That was very professional on her part don't you think?

 

#3 this is direct from the *** website:

 

Unwanted Texts and Email under the CAN-SPAM Act the CAN-SPAM
Act supplements the consumer protections provided by the TCPA. The CAN-SPAM law
bans unwanted email messages sent to your mobile phone if they are “commercial
messages.” (Email messages can sometimes appear as texts on your mobile phone,
depending on how they’re addressed.) The CAN-SPAM Act defines commercial
messages as those that primarily advertise or promote a commercial product or
service. The ***’s ban does not cover “transactional or relationship” messages
-- that is, notices to facilitate a transaction you have already agreed to --
for example, messages that provide information about your existing account or
warranty information about a product you’ve purchased. The ***’s ban also does
not cover non-commercial messages, such as messages about candidates for public
office, or email messages that you have forwarded from your computer to your
wireless device (but read below about the ***’s rules that may restrict such
messages). Federal rules require the following for commercial email sent to
your mobile phone: Identification – The email must be clearly identified as a
solicitation or advertisement for products or services; Opt-Out – The email
must provide easily-accessible, legitimate, and free ways for you to reject
future messages from that sender; Return Address – The email must contain
legitimate return email addresses, as well as the sender’s postal address.

 

#4 under the law you must have a privacy policy in place for
your business that includes an "OPT-OUT" for the people at which you
are sending messages to. You have grossly failed to do this.

 

#5 I did not give you consent to contact me! Under Federal
Law after 18 months has passed without any communication you must get my consent
to send me messages. YOU HAVE NEVER GOTTEN THIS FROM ME since it was 20 months
between contacts.

 

 Giving Your Consent

Under the ***’s rules, texts and commercial email messages may be sent to your
mobile phone if you previously agreed to receive them. For texts that are
commercial, your consent must be in writing (for example, in an email or
letter); for non-commercial, informational texts (such as such as those by or
on behalf of tax-exempt non-profit organizations, those for political purposes,
and other noncommercial purposes, such as school closings) your consent may be
oral.For commercial email, your consent may be oral or written. Senders must
tell you the name of the entity that will be sending the messages and, if
different, the name of the entity advertising products or services. All
commercial email messages sent to you after you’ve given your authorization must
allow you to revoke your authorization, or “opt out” of receiving future
messages. You must be allowed to opt out the same way you “opted in,” including
by dialing a short code. Senders have 10 days to honor requests to opt out.

 

#6 You have all my information to take me of your list and
are fighting me on it. My next step is a law suit to protect my privacy which
you feel is not your duty to uphold as an honest business man. What you do in
Texas is your business where it is legal or not but when you violate my privacy
and federal law that is a different story.

 

#7 **** Charges $4.99 per month to block numbers. If you
want me to block your number I will send a bill for the following: $4.99 + Tax
$0.39 = $5.38 per month times 360 months = $1,936.80 plus on time convenience
charge for me having to block your number $25,000.00 for a grand total of
$26,936.80. If this is what you want to do rather than stop sending me text
than that is what we can do. Should I have to continue to pay to block you I
will name a Defendant in a California Superior Court.

 

#8 This simple thing to do from the begining would have
been. "I'm sorry you want to opt-out of our free service but we at Alamo
City Poker Club respect your privacy. You are always welcome back."
Instead you sent me a derogatory message. That in my option is not someone
worthy of an A+ BBB rating. You failed at customer service and are now fighting
me through the BBB when you could have just removed me from your list.

 

#9 Please send me in writing confirmation that you have
removed my number ************* or face a lawsuit. Please govern your actions accordingly
and give this matter the attention it deserves.

 

 

Regards,

 


******* ******





























Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

#1 Mr. ******* knows who I am. Here is the text message that
proves nothing but lies.

 

Apr 19, 2013, 12:05 PM

*****: "Going to make it tonight?"

June 4, 2013, 9:37 PM

ME: “Please for the love of god REMOVE me from your texting
list. Since I now live 1,900 miles away I will not be making it any game! I
have asked nicely 8 times now to be removed!!!!!!"

*****: "Dude I told you there is nothing I csan do!
Don't know whyu now block the ******* number or kjiss my *** ****!

*****: "**** off!

 

As you can see in the text message you clearly know my name
so please stop lying and dragging this on.

 

#2 **** ***** or whomever texted me was clearly way out of
line as this text message proves.

 

*****: "Your mom was dumb *****." "She didn't
abort you and could not work a coat hanger right"

 

That was very professional on her part don't you think?

 

#3 this is direct from the *** website:

 

Unwanted Texts and Email under the CAN-SPAM Act the CAN-SPAM
Act supplements the consumer protections provided by the TCPA. The CAN-SPAM law
bans unwanted email messages sent to your mobile phone if they are “commercial
messages.” (Email messages can sometimes appear as texts on your mobile phone,
depending on how they’re addressed.) The CAN-SPAM Act defines commercial
messages as those that primarily advertise or promote a commercial product or
service. The ***’s ban does not cover “transactional or relationship” messages
-- that is, notices to facilitate a transaction you have already agreed to --
for example, messages that provide information about your existing account or
warranty information about a product you’ve purchased. The ***’s ban also does
not cover non-commercial messages, such as messages about candidates for public
office, or email messages that you have forwarded from your computer to your
wireless device (but read below about the ***’s rules that may restrict such
messages). Federal rules require the following for commercial email sent to
your mobile phone: Identification – The email must be clearly identified as a
solicitation or advertisement for products or services; Opt-Out – The email
must provide easily-accessible, legitimate, and free ways for you to reject
future messages from that sender; Return Address – The email must contain
legitimate return email addresses, as well as the sender’s postal address. 

 

#4 under the law you must have a privacy policy in place for
your business that includes an "OPT-OUT" for the people at which you
are sending messages to. You have grossly failed to do this. 

 

#5 I did not give you consent to contact me! Under Federal
Law after 18 months has passed without any communication you must get my consent
to send me messages. YOU HAVE NEVER GOTTEN THIS FROM ME since it was 20 months
between contacts.

 

 Giving Your Consent

Under the ***’s rules, texts and commercial email messages may be sent to your
mobile phone if you previously agreed to receive them. For texts that are
commercial, your consent must be in writing (for example, in an email or
letter); for non-commercial, informational texts (such as such as those by or
on behalf of tax-exempt non-profit organizations, those for political purposes,
and other noncommercial purposes, such as school closings) your consent may be
oral.For commercial email, your consent may be oral or written. Senders must
tell you the name of the entity that will be sending the messages and, if
different, the name of the entity advertising products or services. All
commercial email messages sent to you after you’ve given your authorization must
allow you to revoke your authorization, or “opt out” of receiving future
messages. You must be allowed to opt out the same way you “opted in,” including
by dialing a short code. Senders have 10 days to honor requests to opt out. 

 

#6 You have all my information to take me of your list and
are fighting me on it. My next step is a law suit to protect my privacy which
you feel is not your duty to uphold as an honest business man. What you do in
Texas is your business where it is legal or not but when you violate my privacy
and federal law that is a different story. 

 

#7 **** Charges $4.99 per month to block numbers. If you
want me to block your number I will send a bill for the following: $4.99 + Tax
$0.39 = $5.38 per month times 360 months = $1,936.80 plus on time convenience
charge for me having to block your number $25,000.00 for a grand total of
$26,936.80. If this is what you want to do rather than stop sending me text
than that is what we can do. Should I have to continue to pay to block you I
will name a Defendant in a California Superior Court.

 

#8 This simple thing to do from the begining would have
been. "I'm sorry you want to opt-out of our free service but we at Alamo
City Poker Club respect your privacy. You are always welcome back."
Instead you sent me a derogatory message. That in my option is not someone
worthy of an A+ BBB rating. You failed at customer service and are now fighting
me through the BBB when you could have just removed me from your list.

 

#9 Please send me in writing confirmation that you have
removed my number ************* or face a lawsuit. Please govern your actions accordingly
and give this matter the attention it deserves.

 


Regards,

******* ******





























Business Response: Greetings,
  I am unable to find any number or name matching that Phone Number in any of my 35 groups.

   We have searched and don't understand how we could possibly be txting you any longer.
 
  What phone number is txting or contacting you?

  I really don't want to make anyone mad or bother anyone. I wish I could find the problem.

  Please be sure to provide me with any names you might have signed up with or any information that could help us track down the accurate information or number in the database.

  In the meantime. I would be glad to pay for you to block the number. If I need to send your phone company $20 to block our number I will gladly do so.

  Pls send me any information I will need to accomplish for you.

All apologies for any inconvenience.





Fantasy Poker Club.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have given you the number three times now. Since this will have no real outcome my attorney has decided we will move forward through the CA legal system to put an end to your games. We have filled an *** complaint, *** complaint, and a harassment/stalking order with the *** ******* Police Department. We have hired a San Antonio based process server to get the California Court Summons to you. What address do you accept personal service?

Regards,

******* ******





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1