Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers all types of flooring products sales and installation for the consumer and commercial users.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that O'Krent FloorCovering Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for O'Krent FloorCovering Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on O'Krent FloorCovering Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1965 Business started: 01/01/1915 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1915 Business incorporated 12/31/1956 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Samuel O'Krent, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Samuel O'Krent, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail

Alternate Business Names
O'Krent's Abbey Flooring Center

Additional Locations

  • 2075 N Loop 1604 E

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 227-7387 (800) 369-7387

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman, after coming to our home and understanding what we were looking for, a blue tile similar to our existing, presented us with an acceptable blue tile at O'Krent's. It was the only blue tile in the display. He took it to a table, where we picked a blue grout. We purchased 1589 square feet of Marazzi Archaeology 12x24 Crystal River (Silver). The removal, installation, supplies, etc. came to $20,441.63. We had to pay 50% then with the remainder the day the demo crew showed up. When the tile crew had finished their first day of laying, I couldn't find a single blue tile. When we went in to San Antonio to question the salesman, he said he would have the local Marazzi representative come out. He brought the blue display board with him. He could not find a single match, not even close. He took lots of pictures and said his boss would be getting back with us shortly. O'Krent said they would make it right. We were staying in a motel for the duration. We had all our belongings in storage. The demo crew had not done what the salesman said they would do. As I found out much later, there was no way that O'Krent or Marazzi could supply a tile like we had paid for. It never existed. I told the installers to keep going. I have contacted O'Krent, SA's Marazzi, Marazzi's HQ, and Mohawk, who recently purchased Marazzi. The tile people have all said I should have never expected to have blue tiles. O'Krent has changed the Crystal River display board at least three times. The blue went first, then one that didn't show the notched edges and dimples on each tiles surface. This was after I pointed out that neither of the above let us know we were not getting what we originally assumed that we were paying for. I believe the salesman was at fault by not telling us about the major, major color difference and that every tile would have chips holes.. O'krent and Marazzi, I believe, were misrepresenting the tile. If not, why did they remove the display sample twice?

Desired Settlement: After talking at length with ****** (O'Krent's Customer Relations), *** *******, **** (SA's Marazzi's manager), ***** *****, Mohawk Consumer Affairs Specialist,, and a ****** representing American Marazzi, I would have at least expected an apology. At this point, since we were not informed as to what we were really buying, I would expect in the very least a reimbursement of $5864.00 plus tax.

Business Response:

As always, we are disappointed when we are unable to please a client. This customer is correct in stating that the tile installed in their home does not match the sample they selected. The sample selected was designed to mimic natural stone and was an earth tone tile with a slight faint blue vein running through the one tile on the sample board. None of the tile delivered on the job had this blue veining. This fact was noted on the first day of the project after approximately 100 of the 1,589 square feet were installed.  We tried to pull the installer off of the job while we researched why the tile did not match the sample. The customer questioned why we were pulling off and they instructed the installer to “keep installing, we love the tile” or in their words from the complaint “I told the installers to keep going”.   By asking us to proceed with the installation, the customer was accepting the tile “as is” knowing that it did not match the sample they had selected.  If the customer would have allowed us to stop the installation at this point in time we would have had numerous options on how to proceed.  The customer told us that his main concern was whether the tile would look good against their blue shower and they asked us to replace their shower for them at no charge. An offer of new tile at no charge for the shower was made by the tile manufacturer if the customer would pay for the labor to install the new shower. The customer refused this offer from the manufacturer.

After the entire project was complete, and despite the fact that the customer accepted the tile on the first day of installation when it was noted as not matching the sample, we still offered the customer our 60 Day Satisfaction full replacement AT NO CHARGE FOR MATERIAL OR LABOR…of which they refused.

(The sample board has since been pulled from our showroom by the manufacturer, Marazzi, because it did not represent the actual product currently being manufactured.)

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My complaint all along has been that ******* *******, O'Krent's sales representative , unknowingly was not aware that the tile he had found in the Marazzi display for us would not be anywhere near the color tile delivered to our home.  *** ******* perhaps also unknowingly says "with a slight faint blue" is like saying the San Antonio Spurs may be slightly a mediocre NBA team.  In fact the tile was mostly blue with some grays.  There were no other tiles in that display or for that matter, anywhere in the area.  If the tile had a "slight faint blue," then why would we have selected the only blue grout in *******'s color select box of grouts?  As it turned out we had to come in to pick another grout.

The O'krent company wants it to sound like it has all been my fault.  This is not so.  All these acts of kindness would have come with an expense that we should not or could not afford to cover.  All our belongs were carefully stored in our garage.  We were living in a motel room.  This reminded us very much of the four times we had to evacuate from our home of 35 years on Lake McQueeney.  ******* had also not been aware of the length of time the two crews would take.  *** was not aware that his company could not produce the blue tile or one anywhere near its color.  So the offer to "pull the installers" would hold water. 

 

 

 

 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:   

The facts regarding this complaint are simple:

1) At the very beginning of this project (100 feet installed of the 1600 feet) it was determined that the material did not match the sample and we attempted to pull the installer off of the job while we researched the situation.  At that point in time we would have discovered if the sample tile was actually available, and if not, the consumer could have either selected another tile to install or have their money refunded.

2) Instead of allowing this to happen, the customer told the installer that he LOVED the tile and to keep going.  He also told us that he wanted the installation to continue.  This was "accepting" the tile on the project “as is” (with full manufacturer and installation warranties) and without any conversations about compensation.

3) As the project continued he made the comment that the least we (or the manufacturer of the tile) should do is completely re-do his master shower at no cost.  This was an unreasonable request given the fact that the tile was accepted.  Regardless, we spoke to the manufacturer on his behalf and they agreed to give him the tile for a new shower if he would pay for the labor.  He declined this offer.

4)  Once the job was complete he pressed on regarding how we installed the wrong tile and what were we going to do about it.  During my personal conversations with him we discussed that he had accepted the tile when we tried to pull off the job and no compensation was due.  Regardless of this fact I offered him a full replacement at NO COST to him under the terms and conditions of our 60 Day Satisfaction warranty.  He declined this offer stating that they did not want to move out of their house again.  Having tile replaced in your home IS a major undertaking and unfortunately disruptive.  That being said though, it is very rare that a customer actually moves out of their home while the work is being completed.  We are skilled in working around a homeowners schedule and always giving them access to “live” in their home while we complete their project.

5)  As you can see from the attached photo and description of the tile from the Marazzi website (http://www.marazziusa.com/search?keys=archaeology&field_size_value=&field_product_type_taxonomy_tid=All&field_search_color_tid=All&field_icons_target_id=), the pattern selected Archaeology, Color: Crystal River is not a BLUE tile, it is a tile designed to look like natural stone and the sample we had in our store had a faint blue vein running through it.  The tile installed in the home is a color match to the sample supplied with the exception of the blue veining. 

6)  The question of compensation for accepting a tile that did not match the sample should have been discussed prior to telling us to proceed with the installation.  We attempted to stop the installation and investigate; the consumer knowingly accepted the tile on the project and asked us to proceed with the installation. Cash will not change the color of the tile.             

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because we have hashed over my concerns in this area with BBB, over the phone, and with representatives from O'Krent's, Marazzi, and Mohawk,  and they continue to sound more and more like the great political circus of 2016 .  I am not in the flooring business.  I know very little about the tile industry.  I do not handle customer's problems.  I can't twist what really happened to make it sound like it was all our fault, that they were just doing their job, the job I paid them to do.  What I do know, after O'krent's last explanation, it is
a fact that the blue tile ******* ******* had waiting for our approval was, in fact, not available at the time, was never available as we understood it would be.  What do you call that,  false advertising, misrepresentation of a product, selling something that doesn't even exist?

Since I am not gifted, nor have had the years of experience in trying to make someone appeared to be what they are not, I won't even give it a try.  I will say that I am very disappointed in the way O'Krent has handled the whole matter  They apparently made or are making no effort whatsoever to see that their representatives have the knowledge, training, correct & up-to-date information on their products.  Had we been informed, not only about the whimsical color,  but the notched edges and the indents of every single tile, we would have definitely gone a different route.

 

Since O'Krent has brought up the subject of "staying in our home" while the work is being done, shows that he needs to get out of his office more often.  Both the demo and the installers were utilizing all 1600+ square feet of our home every day.  That means no range, refrigerator, commodes, furniture, closets, etc.  The doors and windows were closed by me evary day after the crews left.  It took the installers five days to complete their work.  If O'Krent would have "pulled his crew," had us to agree on a different "blue" tile, ordered it, re-scheduled the crew, that would have cost us no telling how many more days in a motel, at our expense.  To put it in perspective we paid O'Krent's 50% the day we okayed the blue tile $10,220.81.  That was October 14, 2015.  After numerous hold ups they finished on November 20, 20015.  Then they had to come back for touch-ups.

 

I will never be satisfied with what O'Krent's did to us, and to this point have gotten away with.


Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on O'Krent FloorCovering Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)