BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells and manufactures industrial cleaning supplies including but not limited to air movers, dehumidifiers, carpet cleaning machines, pressure washers, vapor steam units, air duct cleaning units, air purification equipment, floor cleaning equipment, chemicals and cleaning compounds.  This company also provides services in loans, leasing, and rental equipment. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steam Brite Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steam Brite Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steam Brite Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1981 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 07/25/1994 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Cook, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Cook, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaning Equipment& Supplies Chemical Cleaning - Industrial Farm Equipment Escalators Tile & Grout Cleaning Carpet & Rug Cleaners Water Damage Restoration Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment

Products & Services

Steam Brite Supply sells the following brand(s): Over 500 manufactures

Steam Brite Supply offers the following product(s): Over 100,000 items.

Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts Visa, MC, Discover, and cash.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Please see the company's website to reference their refund and exchange policy:  http://www.steam-brite.com/conditions.php
Alternate Business Names
Steambrite, Incorporated
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a carpet cleaning company

Additional Locations

  • 11104 Osgood St

    Live Oak, TX 78233 (210) 662-9000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on July 17th I placed an order on the Steambrite Web-site After about 3 days They informed me by email that they had received my order. they charged my credit card on the twentieth of july this had me under the assumption that my product was on the way. after three more days no product , no email, no phone call, no tracking number, nothing. i waited two more days and finally called. someone said that it was sent to the Hypro-dealer and was being shipped the next day this was july 25th I am writing now on august 4th 2014. with no information and no product. This is the by far the worst service i have ever received from any Company.

Desired Settlement: i am so confused and upset I don't really know what I want my Van has been down since 7-17-14 and today is 8-04-14 in a few more days I may be out of bussiness.

Business Response: Sorry about the delay.  I wanted to let you know that this item is manufactured by Hypro Pumps a division of Pentair.  I do not have any control over production, assembly, or even Pentair distribution.  I did contact Pentair and they informed me that the 2230B-P model pump will start shipping off the assembly line today and tomorrow and tracking will be available after Thursday Aug 7th.  Please note that if you placed your order with any other dealer the delivery response time would still be the same.  If you want to contact the factory to discuss their production issues, you can call them at ###-###-####.   As I side note, please consider designing a back up plan so if or when your pump goes out, you are not out of business.  Since you are a carpet cleaning company, you might want to have the parts available for "high flow extraction."  For most portables and truckmount carpet cleaning machines only require a few parts for the conversion.  For most machines it is very easy to toggle back and forth between high pressure cleaning and high flow cleaning.   High flow extraction is the ability to force feed the garden hose building pressure into your cleaning machine. On the cleaning tools you change out the water spray jets to a water flow size of about 4 times it current flow rate.   You will still be able to use the same water heating system you are currently using and you will never be out of business again.   I like installing all my high flow extraction brass parts on quick couplers so in the event you need to service your pump, after a 60 second change out, you just snap in the garden hose hook up kit and change the jets on your cleaning tools.   In summary you are filling your complaint against the wrong company.  We are here to help you in any way that is within our power.  Normally, this pump would be here along with 100's of other models. Regrettably, in this industry it is not unusual for the factory to be out of stock on the more popular pumps which this one is.  Again, it's good to have a back up plan when you are depending on this unit to make a living.  The manufacturers are not concerned with whether or not you have that back up plan in place so you should always be sure that YOU do that.  We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience.  Naturally, we want you to be a happy customer so that you come back and shop with us again. There are some things that are out of our control and this is one of those things.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a truck mount carpet cleaning machine in October of 2011. It had many many issues and eventually had to be returned to the manufacturer for repair. I was more than patient and understanding during this trying time. I was supplying parts and labor to try to repair the unit. I was told I would be reimbursed for parts and welding charges. They have had the receipts for approximately 5 months and have yet to pay them. Now they won't take my calls or return them.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like for them to do what they promised.

Business Response:

I am sorry that you had a problem with your machine. I want to remind you that our website is quite clear that all warranty issues are handled though email only.  This way we have a written record of your issues.  I check out email records and I have one request for a hose replacement from many months ago that is it.  I see that issue was resolved.  If you would please email me a summary of your case with receipts I am sure we can get the factory to take care of this right away.  We have 5 people taking orders on the phone full time and we take all calls from all customers but again the phone is not the correct avenue to attain copies of receipts.  If you call the catalogue order taking department with a question, warranty issue, you will have no way of knowing if that person is going on vacation, calling in sick, changing jobs, has a family emergency and leaves the office right after your phone call.  Again please submit this issue in writing to *******************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I just forwarded them 18 emails I sent regarding my issues -- not 1 like they claim.  And that's not counting phone calls and text messages.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: I am in recipt of the emails from the customer about his issues.  I have confirmed with the factory that they send a US Postal money order # *********** in the amount of $275 overnight to the PO Box provided by the customer to reimbuse the customer for his expenses.  US Postal tracking *********** US today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.   I did receive the payment on 9/**.  I acknowledge that was the amount agreed upon however I feel the way this situation was handled over the past year is poor business practice.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 15th 2013 I purchased online, one Goliath carpet cleaning machine with a warranty. With in a few days a problem arose, which I reported and was told someone would get back to me...it is now the end of May and after numerous phone calls which each time I was told , " someone will get back to me "...it has not happened.. I call back and I am told.... this person or that person will get back to me...I spent 4174.90...I was told by someone, they will not pay shipping to repair my so called new equipment...and will not help me rectify the situation...they seem to be hiding until I quit trying to find a solution ...I will not... If you do not get some sort of resolution I will fly out to Texas and start litigation for the product and my time and costs. ******* ****** **** Enterprises

Desired Settlement: Get this item fixed...This is the first step I take ...after BBB...it gets personal....it will cost them so much more than fixing item

Business Response: 5/27/13


Dear ************@aol.com

I performed an email
search of the above email address and not an single email has ever been sent to
our office to start any type of warranty claim. 
I had no idea that any issue needed to be addressed until the BBB sent
an email to us.  The machine does come
with a one year manufactures parts warranty.

Every single email that is
sent out is signed “Please
Note: **Tracking, Returns, and Warranty Issues by Email Only** 

When you call the
order line to place and order, then that is what the operator is going to do, take
your order.   Calling the order line to
start a warranty process does not leave a written record of what has
transpired.  Sending emails back and
forth on the BBB site is certainly not the most efficient way to start the
warranty process.   Now that you started
down this road, you will have to email us photos of the broken part and or tell
us what test you performed on the machine to determine what part needs to be
replaced.  

SteamBrite Supply

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We placed an order for couples of parts in 11/11/2012. Order number *******. But half of the items has not been delivered as of 4/12/2013. Because this order is 5 months old and we don't think they can fulfil this order in timely manner, I asked for cancellation and refund for non-delivered items. But the sales rep who handles my order does not take my call nor reply to my email.

Desired Settlement: Refund for these items, total of $610.00 1 x ******: Diamabrush Hardwood Prep Tool For Floor Buffers & Auto Scrubbers 15" 50 Grit (*********) = $397.00 1 x ******: Diamabrush Replacement Hard Wood Prep Tool Replacement Kit---Blades Only---50 Grit (Quantity 6) (*********) = $213.00

Business Response: ******,
On 11/18/13 customer placed his order on line.  When I tried to run his cc, it was declined.  I emailed him on 11/20/13 to let him know that it wouldn't go through.
On 12/12/13 he called in to change the billing and ship to address so the cc would go through.  I charged his card, wrote up his invoice (#*****).  The 3 items he ordered were not normal stock items so I sent the POs to the vendors.  One of the items (TZ-2 x 2 units) was filled and shipped to customer.  On the remaining two items which are:
1 X part #********* ***********
1 X part #***********
Both items come from ****** Corporation.  I sent the PO for these items on the same day his card was charged (12/12/12, PO #****).  ****** stated that the needed to know what the hole size was that the customer needed since these parts come in different sizes.  I emailed customer several times requesting the hole size.  He sent me a picture with a tape measure on the hole but I had no idea if it was inches, centimeters, etc.  I asked him to please just give me the size that they needed which he never would do.  I asked him if he wanted me to just add a universal clutch plate to it since we didn't have the exact measurement...he said no.  The manufacturer requires specific information in order to fill this order.  I didn't want to send out the right part.  We forwarded the email that the customer provided to us to the manufacturer and they wouldn't fill it from the picture either. 

From: **** **** (Streamline) ***********************
To: "******************** *********************
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 4:02 PM
Subject: Re: Order Update for Online Order: *******

Thank you ****** for your reply.
I did sent all the information to her,and she forwarded it to your vendor.
The last email from her was as below.
On Apr 3, 2013, at 10:46 AM, "Steambrite: ***** ****" <********************> wrote:
Hi ****,
I have resent the email with the picture with a tape measure...I asked them if that's enough info.  I have also asked if it's possible to send a universal clutch plate if we cannot determine the measurement of the hole in the picture you sent.  If I had to guess, they probably don't want to take the chance of sending it out with the wrong size hole.  It would be awesome if you could just say the one i need has a ----" hole in it...I have asked her to try again to determine what you need and if sending a universal clutch plate would lessen the chance of it being the wrong tool for you.  I will let you know as soon as I hear back from here.
thanks,

***** ****

The very first time the customer emailed SteamBrite Corporate about this issue was on 
To: "*******************" <*******************> 
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:44 PM 
Customer wrote: "******Please respond to my email asap.
Thank you
Streamline 
**** *****
My response was "I have never received an email from you until now.  *****'s email is ********************"
Next email was From: **** **** (Streamline) ***********************
To: ********************* *********************
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 2:12 PM
Subject: Re: Order Update for Online Order: *******
"******,Thank you for your reply.
I have been trying to get a hold of ***** last 2 weeks,
sending several emails and phone calls,but never successful.Would you have her call me?
I have been waiting for parts I ordered 5 months ago,and it is still not here.I need to talk with her regarding this order.Thanks for your help.
Streamline 
**** *****
My Response was "I know that see is waiting on a measurement from you on the size of hole if any that is needed on the ****** items.If you have the answer to this, you can email it to me and I will forward it to her."




The customer never provided measurements to ***** or to me.  The bottom line is after repeated attempt for us to contact the customer and find out how big of a hole to drill in the brush and if we can install a standard NP-4200 clutch plate, the customer never provided and answer.    The photo the customer sent did not mean anything to the factory.  Instead the customer needs to be more specific, like "I want a 5" hole with a standard clutch plate."  Even when I asked for the measurements, he referred me to the photo that he sent ***** and never once told us to what size to cut the hole or what brand or style clutch plate should be installed.   I cannot fill orders if the customer is not specific unless they sign a statement giving us permission to the order with our best guess. At this time the customer has a credit memo (17962) with us in the amount of $614.49 and needs to email in his next order. 
****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Delivery Issues
1