BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Grande Communications?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Grande Communications is a telecommunications company providing residential and business customers with high speed internet, local and long distance telephone and digital cable services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grande Communications meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grande Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 20
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 47

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grande Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 04, 2000 Business started: 11/01/1999 Business started locally: 11/01/1999 Business incorporated: 04/12/2000 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Marie Lew, RCN
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marie Lew, RCN
Business Category

Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service

Products & Services

Grande Communications sells the following brand(s): Tivo

Grande Communications offers the following product(s): Digital Cable Services, Enterprise/Commercial Products, High Speed Internet, Local and long-distance telephone

Method(s) of Payment
Grande has multiple options for our customers to make payments that are easy and convenient. Customers may make a payment online for no charge at billing.mygrande.com, use our toll-free Express Payment system at 877-654-1414, at one of our local offices, or by mailing in payments. Customers may also make payments over the phone with one of our friendly staff for a $3.50 convenience fee.  HEB and Speedy Cash are also recognized as payment centers for our
Grande customers, but please keep in mind it can take up to 3 business days for a payment at a third party location to process through Grande. (There may also be a convenience fee charged at the pay station which is not Grande related.)
Refund and Exchange Policy
Grande Communications’ residential service does not have contract terms so customers can cancel at any time. Grande also offers a 30-day risk free trial.  This trial must be stated before the installation of services
Alternate Business Names
ClearSource Grande Communications Networks, LLC
Additional Information

This company's corporate offices are located at 1825-B Kramer Lane, Suite 100, Austin, TX 78758.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grande Communications continues to provide inferior services and uses a busy signal when dialing their customer service number so as to not have to speak with customers. Customers need to be reimbursed for time when service is not provided and they should stop making deals with apartment complexes resulting in tenants not able to choose their own providers when their service continues to be inferior.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement.

Business Response: Grande attempted to reach the customer via phone on numerous occasions, but was unsuccessful.  Grande was finally able to reach the customer via e-mail, and will be working with her to resolve her service issues.

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grande communications will not remove their hardware and power lines running from the street to my home.

Desired Settlement: For them to remove their hardware from my home.

Business Response: The equipment and wire were removed on 11/11/14.  The customer confirmed that she was satisfied with the results.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 3rd of September I called to put my account on seasonal stand by for a period of two months starting at the end of my billing cycle on te 21st. On the 22nd I called to cancel my wireless internet and to turn back on the cable. The employee I spoke to said that they had just put the account on standby on this same day and there was nothing she could do and I would have to call back the next day in 24 hours to change anything. I took no action. I did not call back and request any changes. My account stayed on standby. I received NO cable service during this time. My box would not work at all and since we work a lot we didn't really care. I pay my bill one month in advance and since I was on standby and wasn't going to use the services I only paid a portion of the upcoming months bill. At this point I would have only owed about $42 of services I haven't yet received. On October 18th I decided to call an pay the remaining $42 so that by the time the seasonal standby was up I would be paid in full for my next month only to find that I am being charged for another months service. I called customer service and they informed me that my cable was in fact turned on. I explained that when I called to turn it back on the employee informed me that there was absolutely nothing she could do. I even asked her several times and she reinforced that I would have to call a minimum of 24 hours before any action could be taken. i also stated that my cable to this day still does not work and my cable box is NOT working and has not since I put the account on standby. She informed me that my cable was hooked back up on the 22nd and I must be having technical difficulties. I asked to speak to a manager because I had been receiving absolutely no service during this time. The manager informed me that my service was on and he could transfer me to technical department. the point is that I was told that my services would not be turned back on and they were not. I received absolutely no cable service through this cable box while my account was on standby but yet I am being billed for them and being told that a technical difficulty is to blame.

Desired Settlement: I ask for Grande to decide on an outcome that suits both the provider and the customer. If in fact my services were turned back on after I was told no action could be taken and the reason I am still without service is due to technical difficulties I would like to be treated fairly as I did not receive any service and have paid $60 for services I did not receive and being billed for an additional $43.

Business Response: A review of the call made by the customer to Grande confirmed that he called to remove the standby and to disconnect the internet service, The standby was removed, but the internet representative advised the customer to call back the next day to set up the disconnection, and the customer understood.  There is no record that the customer called in to disconnect the internet service nor inform us of any cable issues.  Given these findings, the customer was offered a courtesy credit of $48.33 to meet him half way as Grande was not notified of nor given the opportunity to fix the technicial issues.  The customer accepted the offer of credit.





Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I called to remove the cable from standby and she said that this was the first day it had been on standby and I would have to call back before ANYTHING could be done including the account being taken of seasonal standby. Grande is trying to justify STEALING my money as a technical difficulty and does not want to accept the responsibility of their employees telling their custom.  I accepted a partial credit and it seems like they only want to admit to being $48 in the wrong instead of the whole amount.  Grande has still taken $60 of my mkney for services I never received. 
Regards,

******* *****

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since being forced to get Grande service at this location I have not received what I was promised. Not only did Grande fail in every way, they continue to. This started in June when I was to port a number over to a new address. Since Grande has a "legal" monopoly I was forced to get their service. I knew it was going to be bad when they failed to bother porting a number and failed to inform me at all about this issue. I work from home and Grande knew this. I needed the same number ported and grande knew this. Why they decided to not tell me they couldn't port the number is beyond me. I had to call the day before I got service to find out they dropped the ball and I hate to wait longer to even get service because of this. Now, ever since getting the service I have had packet loss issues and bad latency. It's so terrible they make Time Warner Cable look like saints. When I first called up, they came out to "fix" the issue (which they blamed on being in my home when my entire building was down.) Grande's professionalism includes not giving a crap about downtime, blaming customers for issues that is actually their equipment, and leaving hard equipment completely open and vulnerable to the elements. The first day they came to "fix" this issue they left the top of the hub outside off. We called them after the tech left to let them know that the sprinklers come on around 3am and they absolutely NEED someone to come out to put the top back on. I was told to turn the sprinklers off. When I said this was an apartment complex I was told they would be back out. They never came back out and my internet dropped at 3am when the sprinklers came on and was out the rest of the morning until Grande decided it was worth their time to fix it. So currently I keep getting packet loss and disconnects multiple times a day. I have replaced the router I bought with grande's because I was told to and it fixed nothing. So now I have the luxury of paying more for the same terrible service I have gotten since the beginning. I was told today that if this does not get resolved I will need to move out of my apartment or find another ISP. Since Grande forces all of us into their service, and I have a lease I can not get out of, I basically just moved to an area that will force me to lose my job and I will not have another way to pay my rent. Thanks Grande. I need that stress in my life on top of the constant downtime I have to take. Getting business class is not an option, the same exact hub is used and I can not deal with the disconnects regardless if you "come out to fix it" now or in a day. Not to mention that telecommunication was ruled to be a residential service in the 1990's. Being told to pay more for the same level of terrible internet is a horrible way to attempt to extort more money from me, and not at all an attempt to fix the issues outside. The issue is your equipment and it needs to be fixed. I think the cherry on top to this is I get told too bad when I ask about any credits to my account. Time Warner, as terrible as they are, would NEVER have done that to me. They ALWAYS credited their downtime and then some. Grande does not want to take responsibility for this issue they have caused.

Desired Settlement: I want Grande to spend their money to fix their hardware that they are not maintaining enough. I want a working internet service that has consistent speeds. I want to be able to use a phone that actually works when their internet goes down. Since this happens so often, I am left without a phone. I think at this point that Grande should honor my requests for credits as I have not had one day of reliable service yet and I think that the company should be ashamed that I have had to spend so much of my own time and money to attempt to make Grande accountable for this service I am being provided. I do not think this is much to ask, as I was told by many grande representatives that I will love this service and it has turned into a nightmare that may end up with me having no place to live. I regret ever moving to this location and I regret this service entirely. I just want it fixed ASAP. Not whenever Grande decides I am worth bothering with, which may be never.

Business Response: The original install order was set up by an outside sales rep. The rep initially didn’t get all the information required to bring over the phone number from AT&T. The customer called in to Customer Service to confirm his order and the rep advised him that his port was rejected by AT&T because there was information missing. Once this was addressed, the port order was rejected again because the customer had a pending disconnect order with AT&T. The customer eventually took a Grande number instead of porting his AT&T number to establish phone service.

The customer was contacted regarding his service issues and he stated that he believed he found the issue and stated it didn't appear to be a Grande problem.  The customer stated that if he had any additional questions, he would call.

10/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were sent to collections for a bill we never received and less than 30 days after we cancelled services with Grande. They also claimed we never returned their wireless router. We did not have a router and the person that was sent to pick up our cable box and modem tried to take my husbands wireless router that he purchased years before at Best Buy. We never received a receipt for the items he picked up and then we were charged $35.00 for a router that we did not have or need since we bought our own.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of the $35.00, a copy of our final bill mailed to us and a receipt for the items that were returned.

Business Response: The router has since been marked as "purchased" and the charges have been removed.  The account is paid in full.  Grande apologizes for the error.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 23rd, went to **** ** *** **. Austin, Texas to pick up cable boxes that were need to restore channels that Grande Communications took away. The individual at that location state that installation of the boxes was easy and instructions were provided. Not the case. Was unable to get cable to work after installing boxes. Contacted technical support they were unable to help me. Was transfered to customer services to try and schedule appointment for technician to come to my home. Both the individual that I spoke with and a supervisor tried to schedule an appointment for Wednesday, August 27th. Repeatedly told both of them that was not a good day. Finally got an appointment for Saturday, August 30th between 8:00 am and 12:00 pm. On the 30th, the technician did not show up. When I returned home on Friday, August 29th, I had a message from Grande Comm that I had missed my appointment for August 27th and to call and reschedule. I never made that appointment. After multiple calls to the technical support area to find out what happened, I was first told the technician had been to my apartment and that he had knocked on the door and no one answered. That didn't happen. Then I was told that dispatch had canceled my appointment because the technician who had come to my house on the 27th had shown the problem had been resolved so dispatch took it upon themselves to cancel the appointment without making contact with me. I demanded that they honor my appointment for Saturday, August 30th but they wouldn't. I now have an appointment scheduled for Friday, September 5th between 8:00 am and 9:00 pm which is inconvenient for me but is the only appointment they have. The incompetency of Grande Communication employees is reprehensible.

Desired Settlement: Remedial training of all employees that handle their customers to make them understand that it's all about customer service. To give better instructions on how to attach the cable boxes.

Business Response: An error was made in the scheduling of the customer's appointment. Grande could not honor the customer's request for an appointment for August 30 as there were no availability.  The customer was scheduled for September 5 when the equipment was connected.  We apologize for the customer's inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  None of the issues have been addressed.  I had an appointment for August 30th that was cancel by Grande Communications.  I did not cancel that appointment.  Obviously they did not read my complaint.  I want to know why my appointment was canceled without my permission and why was there an appointment scheduled for August 27th that I did approve or want.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: The customer ??originally called in because she was having some trouble hooking up her receivers she picked up in the local office and requested someone come out and hook them up for her. The representative set up an order and told her the next available date would be 8/27 and she requested a supervisor. The customer spoke with a supervisor who told her we would send a tech out on 8/30.  Somehow, the order didn’t get rescheduled and Grande sent a tech on 8/27. The customer was upset and requested we honor the date of 8/30 but we didn’t have any availability. Another order was set up for 9/5, and this is when the receiver was connected.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They have not responded to my complaint that I mailed to them in writing and by this venue. None of the issues have been addressed.
.
Regards,

***** *****

7/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was out of country from 12 June to 30 June. I lived in 2005 Willow creek drive for 1 year. Before leaving the apartment, I was to turn on the modem and pay the dues. I called Grande communication and paid all the dues. They asked me to turn the modem and cables to apartment office. I turn on the modem to the office on 3/29/2014. Also, I contact them about the modem and gave my new apt address to them. Today, I got a mail from collection agency about the money. This includes remaining service dues, model charge and collection fees. I called Grande communication and told them that there was no charge left when I called them last time in March. Also, they told me that they send the mail to the wrong address. This was an mistake from Grande communication. There are three things which are mishandles very poorly and this was to handles with care before sending it to collection agency. There business practices are unethical and there business cannot survive longer. 1. They should have told me the money left when I called them in March. They didn't told me service balance when I called them. 2. I turn on the modem equipment as per Grande customer care to apartment's office in March. I informed them on phone. However, they failed to take it from office. 3. They send the initial mail to wrong apartment address (apt **** instead of apt ****). I gave the right address when I called last time.

Desired Settlement: They should have to change there business practices because customer has to bear all the pain. The customer care mishandles the whole thing and now I have to go through this whole mess. I will be glad if BBB can handler this issues.

Business Response: The customer paid his final balance on 7/3/14.  The equipment was picked up from the apartment's office on 7/9/14.  A Grande agent spoke to the customer on 7/10/14 to advise that the equipment was picked up and the account reflected a zero ending balance.  A letter confirming the account zero balance will be sent to the customer.

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perhaps this is standard operating procedure for many telecommunications companies, but Grande continues to increase my bill every year without warning. I see this as a misuse of the customer's trust. Loyal customers who pay on time should not be penalized for their trust in the business. What is the reason for these increases? No reason has been given to me except, "That's the way it is." When I asked if I could sign up for the current rates being offered, I was told current customers are ineligible. Those prices are only for new customers. This seems to me to be arbitrary price gouging where the longer you are a customer, the more you have to pay. Internet speeds are increasing. It's easier and cheaper to deliver faster internet at lower prices, yet Grande is increasing my rates. Typically, when someone pays more money for something, they expect something more in return. Now, I'm using the same equipment I used when I opened my account with Grande, which is now "old" equipment, and I'm paying almost as much as the next service level without any additional services. Where is Grande's appreciation for me as a customer? When they say, "We're here for you," what they really mean is, "We're here for you at first, but we'll happily take advantage of you if you stick around long enough."

Desired Settlement: I would like to pay what I originally paid for services. I don't care if the fine print warned me of this. It's an abusive business practice.

Business Response: The customer's ratse were increased due to the expiration of a promotion causing the charges to revert to regular rates.  Another 12-month promotion was added to the account to reduce the customer's charges.  This promotion will again expire in a year and, at that time, the rates will increase without notification.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

5/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made several phone calls to try and get our services fixed due to install work/trouble calls not being done properly. I feel the small credit on our account is not sufficient for the amout of time & aggreviation we went thru. On several occasions we both became fustrated by tech support calls & hung up due to non resolution of help. There were 3 seperate tech calls made which tried to remedy the situation. I don't feel that we should have to pay for services we did not receive. In some phone calls it was insinuated by CSR/Tech Support staff that it was our fault no one home etc. I strongly feel that an entire month of credit should be given due to 3 seperate tech visits of which the last one resulted in another tech showing up pointing out to tech (****) that he was not doing the job correctly & 2 technicians seemed to disagree.

Desired Settlement: I want the repair to only be done by 1 certain technician which I will provide. Also requesting a face to face meeting with San Marcos Director to address the poor customer services. I am further requesting an entire month of credit due to all the notations/truck rolls & poor service we have received. I further an requesting to speak with a Technincian Manager as well.

Business Response: The customer called into our technical support center 4 times from April 9th  through April 15th.  The customer disconnected twice while we tried to resolve the issue or schedule a technician to go to their residence to troubleshoot.  We have since been in contact with the customer and have scheduled a technician to arrive at the customer’s residence on May 17th, with the specified technician as the customer requested as part of this complaint, and will be accompanied by a Field Operations Supervisor.  To date, we have issued a total $109.51 in credit.  The customer’s technical issues were specific to their cable service and the customer pays $112.91 (before taxes and fees).  The technical issues the customer was experiencing was from April 9 through April 17 which is 30% of the month and we credited close to 96% of the customer’s monthly cable charges as a good faith credit.  The Director, Customer Care has left a voicemail message for the customer to discuss their overall experience.

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I heard multiple long attempts with the door bell...and as a reasonable person I assumed that some one was under duress...So as quick as I could I rushed to the door to answer...I looked through the privacy hole and no one was there...excited about the state of the person (could be laying bleeding) and living in a dangerous part of town I opened to assist if the person had fallen to the floor...As I opened the door I noticed a pamphlet/ flyer...didn't look to see the advertisement and looked and no one was in duress....I then saw a man with a muscular build leaving the front of my home on the street and headed down the road...I asked that he not solicit and take the address off the advertising list...I do not like aggressive sales techniques...I reached as far as I could to maintain a good amount of space ( he had a menacing look and was walking combatively towards me---as to intimidate me.) to return his advertisement and as I did that he grabbed my hand pressed very firmly and pulled the paper ---like ringing my hand out to grab the advertisement... He assaulted me then mockingly asked with a smirk on his face " are you okay" ...fearing the worst I made sure my children were still safe and returned outside to capture photographs of this person. His name was ***** *****...When I managed to gather the camera or recording device he had moved down two houses down and began pointing and laughing at my household...I can only assume he was boasting..Crime is constant in this area so it is not hard to find someone willing to help with his boasting behavior. To intimidate me further he stayed with that person continuously pointing and laughing. I was in fear of my life and stayed close to my door to make sure he left the area---he stayed continuing his conversation with the other person looking in my direction for at least 5-10 minutes---If he could assault me I was wondering if he was going to return to damage the property...my children are inside my home. I was and am still in fear of our lives...I called the human resource department and they were not willing to take my phone call to file a compliant against the person who assaulted me. I was given the run around, basically not given an opportunity to file a complaint against this person...Now I have soreness in my hand fear retaliation from grande communications...

Desired Settlement: Reparations for the assault...I would also like confirmation that I will not be retaliated by them or anyone acting on their behalf---in writing!

Business Response: On 4/21 at approximately 1:59 pm a voice mail message was left on our HR Assistant’s voicemail by the complainant wanting to file a complaint against one of our employees, ***** *****, who had left a flyer on her door.  She indicated that when she walked out her door to give him back the flyer he grabbed her hand.  She said that he assaults women and she is afraid for her children. 
 
At approximately 2:49pm that same day, a Grande HR Manager called the complainant and got her voice mail indicating that voice mail messages would not be answered and to text a number if needing contact.  At approximately 3:05pm that same day, a text message was sent to the complainant requesting to speak with her.  At approximately 3:28pm, the complainant responded by stating she feared retaliation, and decided to work with the BBB.

Grande does not have an employee by the name of ***** ***** in the San Antonio area, however Grande takes these kinds of complaints very seriously and has investigated the complainant’s allegations based on the information she left in the voice mail and the BBB complaint.  We were unable to verify the allegations and were unable to obtain further information without proper contact with the complainant.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am now seeing a Grande Communications Van driving past my home...I work in my yard...I feel as though this stalking behavior is a threat...I don't know why the representative would give me a wrong name...but I can tell you that  person would have to go through a lot of trouble to place Grande on their van not to mention expensive...why would some one do that??? They are also still pushing the hard sales...I have received sooo much advertisements its seems harassing since I have moved here from Grande...I got another one just the other day!!! After I filed this complaint....More of their hard sales techniques ...Now they are intimidating me and my children by driving back and forth in front of my house that is not "sales".  I believe they are denying any wrong doing and etc for the fear of a law suit but the fact of the matter is I care more about the health and psychological safety of my children and myself...Horrible to deny-- and horrible to begin taunting us in their van...I am weary of going out front without looking out the door for a while...I am not interested in a lawsuit!!! This is a type of criminal mischief and I guess I will have to install surveillance cameras and carry around cameras to record their behavior.

Regards,

****** ******

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been experiencing issues with Grande Communications since September, 2013. I have had 7 visits from technicians, but they have failed to fix the problem. I have also called their telephone tech support agents to no avail. I know for a fact that there are other subscribers in my neighborhood who are experiencing the same unreliable service. Grande has yet to resolve the issue. I believe that it is my responsibility at this time to report Grande Communications for their improper business practices. They fail to provide the service for which their subscribers are charged, and are thus defrauding myself and my neighbors.

Desired Settlement: I believe that I am entitled to a refund of the charges I incurred since my internet problems first started in September, 2013. I have lost a significant amount of time and energy attempting to resolve my service issues. I have paid for reliable internet service, but I have not received it.

Business Response: Grande was out to the customer's home in September 2013 to find the customer replaced Grande's coaxial cables with her own.  The customer's coax were removed and replaced with Grande's coax to fix the issues.  Grande was out again in January 2014, but found no problems.  Grande checked the modem levels in March 2014, but all looked to be within specifications at that time, and saw no loss to the modem.  A Grande Tech Support spoke to the customer on 3/7/14 regarding the service.  The customer stated that her ping time and latency had improved. 

Although no problems were found in January and March 2014, Grande experienced some issues in the area which could have caused intermittent service issues.  A credit for one month of service was applied to the customer's account for the possible problems.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: although my internet connection has improved slightly, I am still experiencing a significant amount of instability and packet loss. I had a new modem/router combo installed at my home, but still struggle to maintain a solid connection to the internet. I have forwarded ping test and trace route results to the *********** at the tech support department, but they have been unable to identify or correct the problem. 

Regards, ***** ******

Business Response: Grande has continued to work with the customer for the past several days.  The customer is still reporting intermittent packet loss and issues with her personal VOIP system over the wireless connection.  Upon a detailed investigation, Grande found several devices utilizing her wireless network.  Grande also saw that various issues with frequency conflicts were present and contributing to the intermittent packet loss.  As part of the troubleshooting, Grande moved the customer’s router to channel 8 which is a frequency seldom used.  Due to these variables that are outside of Grande’s controllable environment, it has been very difficult to isolate trouble at the customer’s premise.  All modem levels have been stable and within specifications and Grande is not seeing any packet loss to Grande’s equipment at the customer’s site.
 
The customer is also using an ***** router that is attached to Grande’s wireless router which further complicates the troubleshooting.  We are continuing to  work with the customer in good faith and if the customer continues to see packet loss from their ***** router, we will look at other alternatives for the customer. 

3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB March 9, 2014 I would like to complaint against Grande Communications **** ** *** ****** *** *** ******* ** ***** Enclosed please find the copy of Grande monthly bill (Internet) for me, they are: November 24, 2013 $25.06 December 24, 2013 $28.83 I called, Grande explainted that my annual contact expired So increased to $28.83 Jan 24, 2014 $32.57 I called, Grande said don’t know Feb 24,2014 $32.57 I called, Grande said don’t know Also, enclosed please see the copy of a letter from Grande, the letter indicated that Grand internet speed increased but customer is no extra charge. Additionally, in the past two years, Grande charged me two times for modem, after I complained to BBB, they agreed that it was an error and refund extra charge back to me. I believe that Grande has serious advertisement misleading problem, I suggest to audit Grande account. Thanks. ***** **** **** ********* **** ** ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: refund overcharge

Business Response: A $5.00 monthly discount was placed on the customer's account on 1/9/13 to lower the billing to $24.99 per month.  At that time, the customer was informed that in one year, on 1/9/14, his rate would go back to $29.99.  However, there was a rate increase which took the customer's rate up to $31.99.  To honor the rate of $29.99, a $2.00 monthly discount was added to the account on 3/11/14 and backdated to 1/9/14.  The customer was informed on 3/11/14 that the discounted rate of $29.99 would only be effective until 1/9/15.  The customer was also advised that his modem service was upgraded to the 15.0 speed at no additional cost.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


1.  I don't accept the word of "discount" in the response from Business.  The price is "original price".  The purpose of the business using the word of "discount", is to say "discount could be terminated".  In the other words, the business has nothing wrong.
2.  I believe that the business of Grande Communicatioins playing game.  BBB needs to audit them!!
 

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: The customer is correct. The discount has a termination date.  The original price is the price at the point of sale.  As this is a service, Grande does review the cost to provide these services and adjusts the price to maintain its competitive place in the market place.  In the customer's circumstance, the price for his High Speed Internet was increased.   We provided a courtesy discount when the customer contacted us.   Grande was clear that this discount has a termination date and we reflected the price of the service after the discount expires. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Hi Grande,
Please let me know the detail price you give me and for how long.
It will be good to solve the problem. 

Regards,
***** ****

Business Response: Advised the customer that his rate is $29.99 plus $0.40 tax for a total of $30.40 per month, good until January 2015. This information was e-mailed to the customer as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me this time, and I hope Grande will follow what they said.

Regards,

***** ****

3/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 2/4/2014 I started services with Grande Communications with their $59.99 plan for 50MB/s of internet and Basic cable with a 30 day money back guarantee. I called 2/25/2014 well within the 30day period and I was told my ending balance that included a $30 returned check fee. Called my bank and they have no record or decline of any transaction that would warrant a returned check, plus I had more than sufficient funds to cover the $99.00 charge ($59.99+$20 install fee). When I inquired about the fee, ********** ***** ******* stated "The bank could not be found, could be the check account number was read to customer service incorrectly" Informed ***** that I paid by paper check, then he stated "Oh, that means the check information was not inputted correctly" So i stated so I am paying a fee from human error on Grande's part? He did not have an answer. ***** stated he would call me tomorrow with further information.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the fee to be reversed/waived since the check was not returned due to my error or lack of funds

Business Response: Grande contacted the customer's Federal Credit Union to verify the account is open.  Using the account number, check number, and amount of $90.00, the Credit Union was still unable to locate the account.  The returned check and returned check fee are valid.  However, Grande has waived the fee as a courtesy.  The customer will need to make contact with his credit union for any further investigation on this payment being returned.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

*** *******
This is a valid check and checking account have had and used this same checking account for years.. Even though the fees have been waived I do request a copy of the check emailed or mailed to me for verification to safely close or further pursue this matter...

email ******************

address
*** ** ******** ** **** ********** *** ******* ** **********

Thank you

*** ** ******** **

Business Response:

The customer's e-mail address was confirmed with him, and a copy of the check was e-mailed to him.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I disconnected my service with Grande Communications because on many occasions, the service did not work properly and it was overpriced. After the company disconnected my service and they collected their equipment, I was told by the company that I had a credit balance of $122.81. I specifically requested a check for that amount because my credit and identity had recently been compromised, and that I had been a victim of identity theft. The company informed me that wouldn't be a problem. However, the check never came, and I was informed that the company did exactly what I asked them not to do, which was refund my balance to a credit/debit card. Apparently, Grande credited the money to an old credit card account that was linked to identity theft. The credit card company refuses to give me my money back because they say this was money owed to them for their losses, and I have no way of getting this money back from them now. I called and spoke to a very rude customer sales ***** by the name of *********. She was extremely unprofessional, and told me a pack of lies about how this credit card number that they refunded was tied to autopay, or an automatic payment system. I explained to her that this was yet another "Grande screwup" amongst other things, and that my account was never tied to autopay, and that I never used autopay because Grande Communications consistently and repeatedly, botched the billing. ********* responded by basically telling me I was full of crap and essentially nothing I was telling her was true, or words to that effect. After hearing this, I asked to speak with a supervisor and she refused to connect one to me. After I asked her for her supervisor's contact information, she refused to give that to me as well. Grande is attempting to make me pay the price for their mistake, and it's pathetic. They are free to pursue recollecting the money with the credit card company to which they credited the money back to, but I just want the refund I was promised. This is not my fault and they were forewarned of the potential problem.

Desired Settlement: $122.81

Business Response:

The customer signed up for auto payment and a credit card was added for the auto payment.  However, only one auto payment was taken on 11/12/12.  It appears that payments were made, thereafter, using a different credit card before the due date. 

Refunds are applied to credit cards listed on file as it would be the quickest way for customers to receive the funds.  As the auto payment credit card was still on file, the refund was applied to that card.  We apologize for any misunderstanding.  A refund check was sent out to the customer via an overnight courier on 2/13/14. 

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had problems from the beginning when I first signed up with this cable company. My first complaint is the fact that I was mislead and was given wrong information. They pulled my credit report once and told me that there was no deposit and I had a scheduled appointment but for some reason the tech didn't come out or I received a call. So when I called back I was told that I would have to apply for the cable all over again, so everything was redone again. What I noticed that they pulled my credit twice which affected my credit score that is being reported currently. Second complaint is the fact that my bill has gone up so I contacted customer service and rep explained that it was because the rates have gone up in January is why. I stated that I never received any notification that it was going up. She stated to me that it was mailed out to me and that in their system it shows that I received it and no returns were made from the post office. I stated to her again that I never received any paper work from grande but she insisted that I received it. I also asked her about an additional fee and she stated to me it was because of my services interrupted service fee of $25.00. I stated to her that know one told me about this either and once again she insisted that I should have known about this. I tried explaining to rep that I receive email alerts but nothing came through for me regarding increases and she stated that this would have came through the mail. Customer service rep full of assumption and unprofessional non nonchalant attitude, sounding like she didn't want to be bothered in the first place. Apparently when you contact grande their customer service is very rude and no matter what you say their computer systems is excellent and always generate letters to inform their customers. The customer is always wrong and they do not listen no matter what. Their customer service has been this way for a very long time and it seems to be okay. I have spoken to other people that has grande and they agree with me that the reps their have poor customer service and the company does nothing and does not even care as long as you pay your bill.

Desired Settlement: I would like grande to remove both inquiries from my credit report and as a courtesy remove the $25.00 fee that was never explained to me.

Business Response: Customers were notified of the pending rate increase starting in January through Page 4 on the December billing statements which includes a price chart.  

If a customer has failed to pay the previous months balance, we send their next statement with the total balance and a notification that the account is now past due and if not paid within 5 days of that bill date, they will be assessed a $5 late fee. That same day we send a separate past due notice with the possible disconnection date if not paid. Both notifications state there are possible reconnect fees if the account is reinstated (which is the $25 non-pay processing fee).

Our records show that the customer's credit report was only pulled once, however, we are still researching to confirm this. 

In the interest of customer satisfaction, a credit of $25.00 was applied to remove the reconnection fee that was assessed in December 2013. 

1/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grande Communications continues to charge me for services I do not receive and at rates which are HIGHER than their standard published rates. This will be my final attempt before discontinuing services with the company and filing an official complaint with the state cable regulator. I have called their customer service center five times to ultimately receive little/no assistance in resolving the following two billing/records issues: 1.) Cable Cards: - I currently have 2 in my possession which I accept having to pay a monthly rental fee for. - I used to have 3 cable cards in my possession which I would use for the reception of cable televisions services. - A grande representative came to my home to collect both a single cable card and a DVR receiver (see below for details on DVR service billing issue) that were no longer being used. - My current issues with the cable cards are that: -- a.) I am being charged a rate of $2.95 each month for each cable card rental when Grande's standard published rates for cable cards are $2/monthly (published in October statement). -- b.) I continue to receive conflicting statements from customer service as to whether they have removed the previously possessed equipment from my account. I have pictures documenting the technicians removal of the equipment from my property as I anticipated they would engage in unfair billing practices further upon collecting their equipment. - Each time I call the customer service line, the incapable individuals refuse to correct the over billing and do not resolve the issue. 2.) **** Service / DVR Rental - I was provided a DVR/**** receiver upon subscription initiation which I had never used in the reception of cable services but received complimentary as part of the selected package. - In September 2013 without previous notification or communication, added a $3/month fee for a **** Q receiver despite the fact I hadn't switched any equipment on the account - I informed the customer service center of this issue, to which they had no corrective capability but instead directed me to return the unused DVR receiver to remove the fee going forward. - On the same day the grande technician collected the equipment at my home, I provided him the receiver and remote along with the above mentioned cable card to be removed from my account. - Grande customer service continues to inform me that no equipment was collected and that the fee cannot be removed from the account. - The utter incompetence and mismanagement of equipment collection at Grande prompted me to take pictures of the technicians collection at my home in case this situation occurred. In closing, the Grande client experience is atrocious. I continue to have to fight with the lowest quality of service reps on the phone and have reached my limit with this firm despite them being the only wired provider in my community. I will find alternative communications service providers if this cannot be resolved and will ensure I inform every applicable regulatory and commercial interest group of my experience if this cannot be resolved.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome to continue services with Grande communications is as follows: 1.) In writing, confirm return receipt of the 3rd cable card and DVR receiver and that I am no longer responsible for any rental fees of said equipment 2.) Refund the differences of the incorrectly billed cable cards back dated from when the published rates in October were provided. I have likely been overbilled for quite a bit longer, but only noticed in October that they had been charging me a higher rate than that of the general public. 3.) Eliminate the $3/monthly fee for **** DVR services since it is not possible for me to consume such services without the above mentioned equipment 4.) Identify a representative at the company to personally ensure that I will not be further incorrectly billed for the above mentioned inaccuracies

Business Response: The customer was advised that Grande showed the **** was picked up by the technician on 11/5/13 and the account stopped charging for the **** as of 11/5/13.  The customer was also advised that the correct pricing for the CableCARD was $2.95, but Grande will honor the advertised pricing of $2.00 for a period of one year.  The incorrect advertised pricing will be corrected.  We apologize for the inconvenience the customer experienced.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These is letter i sent to their corporate office: To whom it may concern, I have just about had the worst experience I've ever had in my life. Before December 4th I had called your company and spoken to several of your salesman. Four to be exact, and the best plan seem to include one main unit (Que) and two tivo mini's. Four times I was offered this setup. So on December 2, after considering other companies as well, I called to order service. On December 4th your tech rep came out to set it up. Which wasn't the Que and two minis. It was the Que, a mini and a preview. A little upset but told myself OK. About an hour after the tech left the tivo mini wasn't allowing demand to come up. Called your tech support and the tech tried to put the blame on me by stating I signed off on the installation. Which I didn't sign or receive any paperwork either. I told him I don't need his smart ***** comments put my cable service to work 100%. Finally getting it working, I thought we are now good. No, several hours later the tivo mini started going out with message Internet lost, ethereal unconnected and it would go from this message to working and back to message without anyone doing anything to system. I then get told I would have to be available from 8 am to 9 pm the following day or wait 5 days to get this corrected. After just having to take the morning off I told him I could not take the next day off and I would not be happy waiting 5 days to correct the problem since it only took two days to come get my money(get installed). So I requested a disconnect. I received message that night and was told I could call the next morning or wait for him to call me at 2 pm. I did call but was basically told to wait for ***** (believe it was *****) to call me as he would be in at 2 pm. The lies started coming in like rain. As many people who lied to me , it would seem your company promotes lying. Tell them whatever it takes attitude is what it seems to me. Anyways, we got a tech out the following day after that. I was told I would get upgrade but the tech installed another preview and took the mini away. I felt like I was getting downgraded and informed your ******* *****, that I felt I should get discount because of it. She told me she would not give a discount but would upgrade like she said she would and get me another Que and a tivo mini. It took a while with one appointment being messed up with an incorrect phone number your company had on file of which I had informed your company about 4 times before this incident that it was not a good number but my previous number (of which i wanted to keep but your company informed me I couldn't). The other missed appointment was my fault as I got off work later then I wanted to. Finally getting a tech in I was given the other Que and tivo mini. That lasted a day and then the same issue of the tivo mini started once again. I called tech on phone and didn't like the same BS un-customer friendly service so I requested the disconnect department. She continued on her script of how she was helping me so I got so fed up and I started cursing her out. Then she has the gall to ask me what do I want. I repeated that I requested the disconnect department as I also continued to cursed some more. She hung up on me. I don't blame her for that but if she would have done what I requested it wouldn't of happened. This whole experience shows me I choose the wrong company and if it only effected me I would be done with you. Because I also convinced my family to chose your company and they trusted me so its either this or I have let them down. We are 17 days into dealing with your company and still haven't gotten the service I paid you upfront for. This is theft as I have requested many times to disconnect and your company continues to say the problem will be fixed. I called your corporate office to complain and after several minutes of explaining she tells me I can get a disconnect. My mother is 73 years old and just had a stroke. I moved here to take care of her and this is her account so have to get her to state that she wants a disconnect. There is so much more horrific story to this episode like supervisor terminating calls on me (without me cursing) and field tech walking out after I felt he was not doing his job and informed him I was calling his supervisor(which shows questionable quilt there). He was messing with my hardware on my computer and i ask him why is he doing this I'm having cable problem not a Internet problem. Anyways through this I have been told I would receive calls from supervisors within two hours and have had some no calls and some calls come to me anywhere between 2 and half hours late and to 4 hours later. And never received call from a ******* after to see if things were going all right. Pretty poor customer service all the way around. This should be giving you red flags as how your progress is going on your expansion progress. In my opinion you will be exactly what you claim you don't want to be, a bad big corporate company or even worse non existent.

Desired Settlement: Either a full refund or 100 % service to my house with fair charges to what time i lost and not charged for time i did not have full service

Business Response: A Grande technician was out to the home on 12/21/13 to fix the problem with the **** service.  A Grande representative spoke with *** on 12/23/13 who confirmed that he had no further issues.  The representative offered one month of credit, but *** stated he already spoke to another representative who had already given him one month of credit and he was satisfied with the resolution.

Consumer Response:

In Regards to complaint #*******  Grande Communications did come out and replaced some equipment.  Still not working to expectations but I guess that is what happens when you hire such a poorly run company.  Thank you for your help.

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like a refund. An unauthorized charge was made. I cancelled phone services over a year ago. I kept internet and cable services. There was a piece of equipment used for the phone. When I cancelled services I was asked the customer service person if I needed to return it, he said no. So, for over a year after I cancelled services, I did not receive any notifications by mail or phone that I needed to return this piece of equipment. Last month, when I moved and cancelled services, I returned the tivo box and the modem. The CSR asked where the landline phone box was. I explained to her what was told to me by the former CSR. I asked her why I was never notified in writing that I needed to return that piece of equipment when I cancelled the services. She didn't know. I no longer have that piece of equipment. They charged me for that piece of equipment.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the money back that they charged me for that box. I was a valued customer and paid my bills and I'm treated like this. Basically ripped off by this company. I will never use them again and I will inform all of my friends and family about my experience with GRANDE.

Business Response: The customer cancelled her phone service on 3/20/13 and cancelled her cable and internet services on 9/30/13.  Per the call at 3:45 pm on 3/20/13 to disconnect the phone service, the representative who assisted informed the customer several times that since the phone modem wasn't going to be used, that she would need to return it to the local office.  At the end of the call, the representative asked if she needed the hours of operation or directions, to let him know.  The customer responded that she already had that information.

The reason the customer was not charged for the phone modem until now is because the account was previously still active and unreturned equipment was part of the final account closeout.

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July I called Grande Communications and inquired if I would be able to change from internet service to a bundled package including internet, cable TV and Optimum phone service. I was told that I could do this at the $119.99 monthly rate. Optimum phone service included free local and long distance calling. My first bill charged me $197.37 of which $46.78 was charged for long distance calls including taxes that should have been free using optimum phone service. I called and was told that a credit would be applied. The balance should have been $150.59 but I was told my balance would be $175.80 which was paid on 8/31. This would be an overpayment of $25.21 My next bill in September showed a credit in the amount of $41.99. I was also charged $14.99 for the Optimum phone service and an additional $17.98 for an additional line which I do not have. I was also again charged for long distance calls in the amount of $97.28. The overcharges amount to $130.25. I again called and was told a credit would be given. The balance should then have been $164.49 including taxes. I was told that my balance was $144.07 which was paid on 10/1. This would be an underpayment of $20.42. My October bill showed a balance of $398.54 and only showed a credit of $32.88 for the additional Optimum lines which were charged at $32.97, a shortage of $.09. The account was now showing as being past due. Again I was charged for long distance calls in the amount of $157.20. I called again and was told that the charges would be corrected within 48 hours. As of yet it has not been corrected. My October bill should be $179.69 not including adjusted taxes. The total of this account should be $179.69 minus $4.79 that has been applied in previous over and under payments for a total of $174.90. It is NOT past due nor has it ever been.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have these billing errors corrected and the account correctly identified (Get It All Essential Triple package, which includes Preferred TV service, Power Internet and Optimum Phone Service.) If this is not possible then I would like the account closed.

Business Response: The account was corrected to include unlimited long distance calls, and the customer should not see any more long distance charges on his bills.  A credit of $250.63 (tax inclusive) was applied to the account on 10/22/13 to remove the long distance call charges.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Phone, Internet, and cable service is unreliable. I called them and they will not make it work on a consistant basis.

Desired Settlement: Please send extra equimpment for repairs.

Business Response: The customer had intermittent service issues on 7/24/13 and 7/25/13.  The problem was with SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) levels in the node which affected the customer's service.  The problem was intermittent making it hard to isolate as the noise would dissipate before the technicians could locate the source.  Field techs replaced several components on 7/25/13 and since then all SNR levels have been stable and the levels on the customer's modem are within specifications.  The customer had unrelated issues on 6/5/13 and 6/11/13 and those issues were resolved. 

Two months of credit was applied to the account for problems.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ?Sometime around 6:00 or 7:00 a.m., on the morning of Sunday, July 7th—the last day of a long holiday weekend—Grande made an at-home service appointment with me (promising to arrive between 1:00 and 5:00 p.m.) that kept me at home, waiting inconveniently, while Grande failed to show up. In fact, Grande had cancelled my appointment at around 9 a.m. that same day, but in the next 8 hours, they did not inform me that my appointment was cancelled. The circumstances are that both my phone and internet service were “out” when I needed them, and I reported that fact to Tech Support after I’d wasted a long time trying the “reset” procedures that didn’t work. I had to use my pay-by-the-minute cell phone to break through to Tech Support, and then had to change my afternoon plans in order to wait for a technician to arrive, as Tech Support asked me to do. The Tech Support fellow said my modem would have to be replaced again, as has happened before. I waited until after 5:00 p.m. My service is “up” and “out” at various times, and when I’ve reported it in the past, a technician has arrived and made changes at my location, even though the service has come “up” before he arrived. In this case—Sunday, July 7th---I waited all day. No technician ever arrived. I did not receive a call telling me the appointment was cancelled. The service came back “up” at some point, but, as in the past, that was no reason for me to think the appointment had been cancelled. Once the service was “up,” Grande still did not reach me. I kept waiting for the technician. Finally, after 5:00 p.m. I had to spend more time getting through to Grande Tech Support to find out where my technician was. I was told the appointment had been cancelled earlier in the day. I called billing and asked that I be given a month’s free service for my wasted time on a holiday weekend. The answer was no. I asked for a billing supervisor to call me back and was told that one would call me the next day. I never received the call. (Please note I also requested, and finally received a month later, a refund of the credit balance I had created on my account by advance-paying for a couple of months ahead of time, which I sometimes do for my own convenience.) I also spent more time on the phone with a Tech Support supervisor to find out why Grande had wasted my holiday Sunday. Here was the excuse I got: Grande had indeed cancelled my apointment, then had merely left a voicemail for me---somewhere. Not at my number. Because it wasn’t working, the Tech Support supervisor told me. But at a different number that I had never given to Grande. It happened to be the number that I had called in on, which was recorded by Grande’s equipment. But Grande never told me they were going to use that number to contact me. And I had not consented to be reached at that number. I had no reason to check that voicemail, and generally don’t. Certainly not on weekends. People have all kinds of numbers—work, home, home-office, car. That doesn’t mean they are checking all over the place to see if Grande has unilaterally cancelled their Sunday service appointment. What Grande failed to do in the several hours after my service was restored was ensure that I knew they cancelled the one o’clock appointment, by calling me at the one and only number that I have on file with Grande. In addition to speaking with billing, I also asked for a higher-up person in Tech Support to call me, but I was told that my only option was to write a letter. I have no complaint about any particular individual, but I understand this is Grande's policy.

Desired Settlement: Two months' free service.

Business Response: The customer's service was impacted by an outage.  Since it was an outage; the truck roll was cancelled as it was a wide-spread outage and the technician would not have been able to resolve the issue locally.  Our attempts to the customer's cell phone were not successful.  Our agent did not verify the number the customer would have preferred us to contact her on the call-ahead.  Since this was an outage that impacted her phone service; her main line would not have worked since the EMTA was offline.  Grande is going to coach the agent to properly verify the number that customers would like to be contacted on.
 
We have issued a check that covered the credit balance on the customer's account for $188.32.  We also credited the customer's account $143.94 for 2-months service as a resolution for this complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and I find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, except that taxes and fees for both months remained on my account.   Therefore, I phoned Grande's billing department and I understand from my conversation with ***** at x. **** that credit has been added of $15.78 to cover those taxes and fees.  Thus, everything is cleared up and the problem is completely resolved.  Thank you.

Regards,

**** *** ********

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled service on May 22, 2013. The company refused to cancel the service and continues to bill me.

Desired Settlement: Account closed and Balance zeroed out

Business Response: The customer called on 5/22/13 to disconnect service.  A Grande representative left a message on 5/22/13 on the phone number ending **** requesting the customer to call to set up the cancellation.  The same representative attempted to reach the customer on 5/22/13 via phone number ending 8215, but was not able to as voicemail was not set up at this number.  The disconnection was not completed as no responses were received from the message left.

The customer called on 7/17/13 disputing charges stating that service should have been disconnected back on 5/22/13.  According to the records, there was phone usage activity up till 6/6/13.  To settle the dispute, the account was disconnected on 7/19/13 and a credit of $221.72 was applied to remove charges from 7/19/13 back to 6/6/13, the date the last outgoing call was made from the account.

Consumer Response: I demand that the account balance be zero'd out and then I will agree to close this matter.

Thank you,
***

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


Complaint* *******
I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

*** ********

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had new service installed on Friday 21 June 2013. We intentionally purchased a high speed line and noticed immediately that the service was much slower than with our previous company. At times the service slowed to be non-functional. When I called on Sunday I was told that they could not have any service technician come to our house until Thursday. When I emailed they did not respond within 24 hours. The reason the slow service response is unacceptable is that they never installed service properly in the first place and obviously did not do a proper check when they left. As a result of their inaction, I am left with something significantly worse than I had before and am losing 4 days of home work productivity. It might be different if this was a standard service issue, but it stems directly from their own initial failure.

Desired Settlement: Money won't fix this. I need somebody out to the house to fix it right now. I also need to know who to contact to get actual resolution since standard customer contact numbers don't work. If they can't or won't fix it, then other consumers deserve to know they do a sloppy job with initial installations and won't accept responsibility to fix it in a timely manner. I request written contact via email rather than phone.

Business Response:

It was confirmed by Grande Dispatch and Tech Support that Mr. ******'s internet levels were adjusted and he was getting the subscribed speed.  Grande offered a $20.00 credit for his inconvenience, but Mr. ****** declined the offer.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

To say that my internet is not functioning normally is a badly incomplete picture of what happened. For several days after installation, it was not working at all. Then there was a period where it was working more slowly then I purchased before we finally got to the present state where it is working properly.

What I originally sought was some process to make things move more quickly, and Grande explicitly declined this. This is all the more troubling because the error was originally caused by their own failure to verify that the initial installation was correct. As for the $20 credit offer, that doesn't even cover the charges I have to pay for the time when I had no service at all. It certainly doesn't cover the TWO additional times someone had to come to our home and our schedule was disrupted. It doesn't cover the time when our service was not working at the proper speed. In short, the $20 credit offer does not make me financially whole and does not even begin to address the inconvenience of a failure they directly caused.

What I need the BBB to be is a service I can use to see if a business is reliable. Grande is not, and other consumers deserve to know that. Grande did not verify their own installation work. They then made that worse by a long delay in fixing it. They then made that worse by not being able to fix it the first time they came over. They then made that worse by another delay before finally fixing it, and they topped that off with a credit offer which doesn't even cover direct financial losses. I think other consumer deserve to know that they do not follow through on their promises of excellent service and do not acknowledge their own mistakes.

Regards,
******* ******

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service