BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Austin's Automotive Specialists?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin's Automotive Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin's Automotive Specialists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin's Automotive Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 05/15/1979 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve McCurry, Operations Mr. Jamey Whitlock, Operations Mr. Johnnie Whitlock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve McCurry, Operations
Business Category

Brake Service Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Austins Automotive Specialists The Brake Specialist, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 118 Trademark St

    Buda, TX 78610 (512) 312-2177

  • 12990 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78750 (512) 331-5166

  • 1303 S Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 447-7992 (512) 442-7731

  • 1417 W William Cannon Dr

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 440-8878

  • 1607 W Parmer Ln

    Austin, TX 78727 (512) 834-0604

  • 1800 S Ih 35

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • 1915 S Bell Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 250-8381

  • 303 S Fm 620 Rd

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (512) 266-0637

  • 3996 E Highway 290

    Dripping Springs, TX 78620 (512) 858-2796

  • 8405 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 339-4199

  • PO Box 3501

    Austin, TX 78764

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 251-7037(Phone)
  • (512) 251-7944 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After discovering a pinhole in my rear brake line, I took the vehicle to Brake Specialists, telling them that I needed a new brake line. They phoned latter with a long list of "issues" along with an estimate. I stated that just replace the brake line.Upon my return to ********, I took the vehicle to my mechanic to address the other repairs that Brake Specialists had noted. While my mechanic was fixing the repairs, he noticed the "new" brake line was "fixed" using a compression fitting. He then called the vehicle inspection unit of the ******** Highway Patrol to ask if that was a proper fix. The answer was NO, that is an illegal and dangerous repair.I then called ***** *******, Shop *******, Brake Specialists at the noted business location on 10/10/14 (2:33 pm) and told him I had a complaint regarding what I thought was a new brake line only to find out a shoddy and illegal repair had been made. He stated that he would look into it and let me know. Today is 10/15 and I've heard nothing.I won't reveal the cost of the shoddy work performed by this business, but I will state that the cost to correct the shoddy work plus make the other repairs, including new rear brake shoes, replace brake pads, replace rear axle seals and parking brake by my mechanic was the same as that charged by Brake Specialists to perform the shoddy and illegal repair.Austin area residents and well as others needing brake work should be alerted to potentially dangerous repairs made by this location.

Desired Settlement: The cost estimate by my mechanic to replace my requested work, that being "just replace the rear brake line" and associated brake fluid work, etc. is $200.00. If Brake Specialists would refund the difference, I would consider that an equitable settlement.If that or something similar is not proposed, I would ask that this complaint be noted in the Better Business Bureau's records for future potential customers to consider before they have repairs performed here.

Business Response:

I have looked into the customers concern and agree with his assessment. he will be reimbursed for the repairs to correct the issue.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday September 18. 2014 I stopped in at the Break Specialist Total Car Care shop on **** **** ****** **** ******* ** *****. I explained to the service man at the counter that upon trying to unlock my door with the keyless entry I noticed that the doors wouldn't unlock nor did the lights flash or the alarm sound. I explained that upon unlocking the door manually the I discovered that nothing on the dash would display lights nor would the the doors unlock nor where there any lights dispaying outside of the vehicle.They asked if I had brought it in. I advised that the truck started up just fine and I was able to drive it fine. They took the car and informed me that it was a cetral timing module that was needed to resolve the issue. I left the truck with them until Saturday. When I returned to acquire my vehicle upon cranking it I noticed that it would not start up. I immediately reurned to the lobby informing the manager ****** that the truck wouldnt start. He then sent his team of servicemen out to look at the vehicle. They started fiddling with the truck finally getting it started. I then informed ****** that the keyless entry and alarm were stil not working. He stated that it's most likely the battery. I paid them $542.13.I left the repair shop and went to ********** Auto Parts purchasing batteries for the remote and still nothing. I then called back and spoke again to ****** the onsite manager. He stated thathe didnt have time that afternoon but I could bering it back next Saturday and he would resolve it. Friday night as I am getting off from work I noticed that the car cut off while idling. I took it to put gas in it and drove it home. It never started up again. Monday Break Specialist have the truck towed back in and Tuesday they call to tell me that one of the truck's computers is no longer feeding signal to have gas sent ahead. They said they could do nothing further for the vehicle it would need to be fixed by the dealership. They refuse to refund my money

Desired Settlement: I just want a refund of what I paid for them originally to fix the SUV. The amount I paid was $542.13

Business Response: We have responded to the customers complaint and have refunded her. This case is closed 

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ****** ** ******** took my vehichle to Break Specialists Plus on **** **** ****** **** ** ****** *****, on said Date of 5/17/2014. in lieu off my ABS light was on and I assumed that I needed breaks, the ABS light had been on for about a week. and after the first chance of a break from school I got, well the next day I took my vehichle to Break Specialists Plus.and I Spoke to The Front desk clerk named ( ***** ****** )! and he had my vehichle serviced through the other employees. and after several days gone by I noticed that the ABS light was still on so I waited a few more days' to see if the ABS light would go off. so I called Break Specialist Plus and spoke to ***** ****** and explained that the ABS light was still on after a week or more. so he instructed me to bring my vehichle back in , and I did. they looked at my vehichle and I was there for over 2 hours' , and ***** ****** came out and tole me that I need to take my vehichle to Chrysler because the Dont' know why the ABS light is still on, and there is Nothing else they can do ! I believe that I was OVER CHARGED ! I took my vehichle in because of The ABS light was and is still on.and I was charged $ 258.97, and I told ***** ****** that my breaks went down to the floor 2x, ( UNSAFE ) ! and also, before I go any further,***** ****** also said to me, that my ABS locking system is stopping me , Not My initial breaks. I can't drive my vehichle as I NEED to. I Need to go and see My Mom in ********, she is alone now , because My Dad passed on June 5th 2013 , and she just had stroke a couple of months' ago. I have not been able to go and see her, because of( FAULTY BREAKS )and I need to go to ******* *** ( URGENTLY ) ! but .....I can't ! I would like a Full Refund of my monies back !since I still have ( NO BREAKS ) ! and I called the Corporate office and have gotten NO Response ! I have been calling for a couple of month's, and No one has returned my call. No One has money to give away !just wanted my Brakes fixed. I'm Dissatisfied ! SKL !

Desired Settlement: I want My Refund of 258.97 of my initial payment and also for Stress and Mental Anguish and for me constantly taking time out of my schedule to call Brake Specialists every day or so.only to get the run around,I spoke to someone named ******* at The Corporate Office on 05/27/2014. and I spoke to someone named ****** at The Corporate Office as well on 06/09/2014, I need information on this matter and would like it to be Resolved ( ASAP) ! Thank You !

Business Response: Ms. ******** came in on 5-17-14 for a free brake inspection with the complaint of "light comes on" please see the attached repair order.  We perform a free inspection prior to charging for any electrical diagnostics becasue many times it is the simple things that end up being the issue.  We found Ms. ********* vehicel had worn out rear brakes and that her berake fluid was low. These findings are stated on the repair order.  A low fluid condition will make the ABS and brake light come on. So the first logical step would be to repair needed items and not go looking for a problem that may not even exist. we explained what we found to Ms. ******** and she approved the repairs.  The vehicle was then sent to our lube center which performed a state inspection. Her car passed without issue. at that time there was no reason to look into the ABS system further, since everything appeared to be working fine.

On 5-21-14 Ms ******** returned saying her light came back on. We reinspected her car and found no obvioue reason for the light so we attempted to retrieve trouble codes from the vechicles computer.  When we found that our scanner could not communicated with the computor we recommended she take it to the dealership since much of their stuff is propriatary and we cannot access it.  I can understand ms. ******** was not happy about being sent to the dealer as most people perfer to avoid the because of the cost. however, sometimes it is the only option. We did not charge Ms. ******** for any ABS diagnostic time. We only sold her the essential needed repairs to her rear brakes and to bleed the old dirty brake fluid from her vehciles braking system.  These repairs were necassary to prevent the brakes from going metal to metal and would have been the first logical thing to do even at the dealership.

Ms. ******** did call the office several times. The man who handles the in shop complaints was out of town and did not reply a promply as Ms. ******** would like so I can understand her frustration. However he did contact the shop manager "*****" who did call Ms. ******** to see what we could do for her and to see what the dealership found.  She did not take her vehicle to the dealer and from what our manager gathered was she does not even have the vehicle anymore. 

If she does not have the vehicle anymore then this case should be immediately dropped. if she has the vehicle then we will honor any and all warranties associated the service and repairs we performed.  We did not repair Ms. ********* ABS system. We repaired what we found worn out at that time. Had we charge her for diagnostics and had been able to actually retrieve the trouble codes and resolve an ABS problem she would have been making a complaint about us missing the rear brake issues letting her car go metal to metal. It is apparent now that she had more than one problem.

Ms. ******** is not due a refund of $258.97, that work has a warranty " if she still has the vehicle". 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

7/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck into Hutto location because it needed a temp sensor replaced. "I specifically asked for this service". **** called me a day later and told me it was not the sensor; it was water pump and thermostat. He promised me that if I paid them $488.15 they would fix my truck. I show up the next day and my truck is still the same way as when I dropped it off. The work they performed and me paying them almost $500 'DID NOT' fix my problem. They took a guess at what the issue was and it backfired on them, but I still had to pay for services my vehicle did not need. Tyey didn't even attempt to replace the sensor like I asked.

Desired Settlement: I would really like an apology for being told something and them not standing behind their word. I would like some if not all of my money back for having to deal with all of this.

Business Response: Mr ******, giving false and misleading information to the BBB will not resolve your trucks issues. The only guess on what repairs were needed was yours when, you assumed that you needed a temp sensor or that you still need one.  our scanners read the computers information and we take actual temperature readiing of the engine ityself, there was no guessing involved at all on our part. As far as promising you the services we provided would fix your truck is not ture and you know it, you were specifically told otherwise. ****** response (included) is paln and to the point explaining the diaghnostic and repair process.  No repairs were performed without your approval so no refunds or apology will be forth coming from Brake Specialists as we were very upfront and honest about everything we recomended and work performed. Repairs can be a process especailly when it involves a vehicle that has overheated as not only the original problem which was the waterpump and thermostat preventing coolant flow but also the resulting damage from the overheating such as a bad head geasket which is the most likey situation with your truck. if you wissh Brake Specialists to proceed with the process please get with  **** (shop manager).

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in a ******* dealership for service on Friday June 28 , and I was told that the last auto shop who changed my oil stripped my oil plug. I came to your auto shop on May 3rd because I invested in one the ****** ***** ********** ******* **************. The service I received was oil change, fuel system cleaner, and tire rotation. According to the certified ******* Tech., this was done to my vehicle maliciously. I have all of the information from the ******* to verify everything I'm stating as true and correct. I can and will provide all details and contact information for you to verify with *******. I want this situation fixed prior to me moving forward with additional action taken against your company.

Desired Settlement: Set up an appointment with ******* and pay to have my oil plug replaced, new oil filter, and oil pan replaced if needed

Business Response: this is the first anyone from Brake Specialists has heasrd anything about an oil plug. Ms. ********* has not contacted our shop since the 5-3-2013 visit.  However, that is irrellevant if Ms. ********* has any problems with our work all she needs to do is come back to the shop so we can verify what is needed and to resolve the issue. Like any reputable buinsess we have a warranty on our work and will be more than happy to honor it.  The dealership any dealership does not do warranty work for Brake Specialists all warranty service is to be provided by Brake Specialists only. Any work performed elsewhere will not be reimburesed for as we have a nationwide warranty through our Napa Car Care Center affilliation.  All Ms. ********* needs to do is to contact the store manager and set a time to bring her car in.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I am also including 

Jiffy Lube® Service Center ***** ***** ***** **** *** * ****** * ** ********** **

After visiting Brake Specialist today, ***** ****** confirmed that my oil plug was stripped, but they are not claiming responsibility for it.  I was given an $580.81 "Estimate" repair from the Brake Specialist for the malicious job on my vehicle that i will not pay for!!!!!.

Why didn't Brake Specialist #*** inform me that the oil plug was stripped after service was completed at their repair shop?    

I took my car in a ******* dealership for service on Friday
June 28, and I was told that the last auto shop that changed my oil stripped my
oil plug.  My last oil change was done by
Brake Specialist #***, and I went to visit them today July 15, 2013 after my
BBB online complaint.  The auto shop
Manager ***** ****** stated that it wasn't their company that stripped my oil
plug, and stated that another auto repair shop tried to use an oil pan hil
coil.  Manager ***** ****** at Brake
Specialist confirmed that I needed new oil pan kit replacement because of the
damage to my stripped oil plug.  Prior to
my oil change at Brake Specialist, I purchased my oil change at Jiffy Lube
***** ******* ** ******* ** *** ******  I
don't appreciate my vehicle purposely being sabotaged, and instead of
correcting the repair mistake, it made the situation worse.  According to the certified ******* Tech.,
this was done to my vehicle maliciously. 
I have all of the information from the ******* to verify everything I'm
stating as true and correct.  I can and
will provide all details and contact information for you to verify with
*******.  I want this situation fixed
prior to me moving forward with additional action taken against your company.


Regards,

******** *********

Business Response:

when the customer brought the car back to us to inspect what we found was, a previous shop, sometime in the past had put a helicoil repair kit into the oil pan. in other words the pan had been previous stripped out and now that the temporary patch has failed.  The customer now expects Brake specialists take responsibility for the previous damage and replace her oil pan. that's not going to happen. We will give her a better deal than the dealer would but, we are not going to fix an oil pan damaged by someone else for free. Brake Specialists now considers this case closed.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Someone deliberately sabotaged my vehicle, and when Brake Specialist serviced my vehicle, they never mentioned or informed me that I had an oil plug stripped.  I find this as a deliberate attempt to take advantage of the customer that trusted my vehicle to a company that's trying to pass blame on another company because they don't want to take responsibility.  I will not be bullied or taken advantage of by the Owner or manager at Brake Specialist.  This situation needs to be handle professionally and with respect.  I never expected this to be done to my vehicle, and I never had a problem with some repair shop deliberately sabotaging my vehicle that caused over $500 in repairs.


Regards,

******** *********

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service