Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

University Co-op

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 476-7211 View Additional Phone Numbers 2246 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78705 http://www.universitycoop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University Co-op meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University Co-op include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on University Co-op
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1970 Business started: 06/01/1896 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/1896 Business incorporated 07/02/1925 in TX
Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Robin T Mannas Jr., eCommerece Analyst Mr. George H Mitchell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robin T Mannas Jr., eCommerece Analyst
Principal: Mr. George H Mitchell, President
Business Category

Books - New General Merchandise - Retail Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Sportswear - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 2242 Guadalupe St

    Austin, TX 78705

  • 2246 Guadalupe St

    Austin, TX 78705 (800) 255-1896 (512) 476-7211

  • 255 E Basse Rd Ste 528

    San Antonio, TX 78209

  • 2902 Medical Arts St

    Austin, TX 78705

  • PO Box 7520

    Austin, TX 78713

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The University Coop has a very odd return policy. They do normal 7-day returns on textbooks until the 12th day of classes, at which point they do no returns on textbooks at all. I bought a textbook on the 12th class day and asked the cashier if I would be able to return it the following week. I was wondering this because I was considering dropping the class. The cashier said yes, but when I went on the wednesday of the next week to return the book, I was refused a refund because it was after the 12th day of class. I was never notified of this horrendous return policy at the time of purchase; in fact I was informed otherwise.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for my purchase. The price of a textbook is a lot of money for a college student and it is sad that a student oriented store is so keen on extorting students bureaucratically.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********: 

I sincerely
apologize for your negative experience at the University Co-op. This is the
first time I received information about your complaint through BBB, or our
employees. As a 117 year old business owned by students, faculty and staff of
the ** ******, we are committed to provide the best possible service and
quality merchandise to our members and customers.

Notwithstanding
our textbook return policy, I take your word for being misinformed by one of our
employees and will give you a full refund for your purchase.   

Please come to Guest Services in
the textbook area (basement) of the Main store and bring a copy of this e-mail
(or display on your phone) along with your book and receipt to receive your refund.

Please call me at the number
below if you encounter any issues.  

My office is located at *** ** **** ****** **** ***** **** ** *** ****** and I welcome you to stop
by. I would appreciate the opportunity to apologize to you in person, as well
as to try to explain to you why our textbook return policy is by no means a way
to extort from the students bureaucratically.
 

Sincerely,  

****** ** ******** ********* ********** ***** **** ********* ****** ******* ** ***** ************ ***************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on University Co-op
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)