Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

ValueBank Texas

Additional Locations

Phone: (361) 888-4451 Fax: (361) 866-7799 View Additional Phone Numbers 3649 Leopard St, Corpus Christi, TX 78408

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ValueBank Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ValueBank Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ValueBank Texas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1967 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 12/10/1999 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Heitkamp, President/CEO Kelly Gonzalez, X:7717
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kelly Gonzalez, X:7717
Principal: Mr. Scott Heitkamp, President/CEO
Business Category

Banks Loans Loans - Small Business Mortgage Lender

Alternate Business Names
ValueBank Financial Services ValueBank Mortgage

Additional Locations

  • 3649 Leopard St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78408

  • PO Box 4956

    Corpus Christi, TX 78469


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get my account closed and money returned to me, I recently moved and had been traveling for about 1 year I just updated my newest address only to find out that this bank has taken money out of my account without my permission and will not refund money back to me and close my account. I do not have a value bank here in ********** ********** which is my birth town I moved back to. I was told that I did not have to make any transaction at all and my account would still remain open and without fee I had over 13 dollars in my account and when I called to ask for my closing check and account closure I was told I had only 6 dollars in my account. the bank has stated that they took money out of my account to pay some sort of return mail fee which I was never notified about.

Desired Settlement: I want all my original 13 dollars and change refund check and account closed.

Business Response: Response
to Better Business Bureau Complaint ********



Ms. ****** failed to maintain proper contact
information with ValueBank and, as a result, incurred charges when her email
address became invalid and her mail was returned undeliverable.  The Bank
will be happy to send the remaining balance from Ms. ******’s account to her
upon receiving correspondence in which we can properly identify her and her new
contact information.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bank has mis appropriated my funds.

Desired Settlement: I would like a return on my investment.

Business Response:

ValueBank Texas has thoroughly researched our systems for accounts associated with Mr. ****** ******* or the social security number he provided.   The account number he provided does not match the format ValueBank Texas uses.  We are confident that Mr. ******* is not a customer of ours. 


Below is a summary of our activities over the course of our interaction with Mr. *******:


On Monday, January 13, 2014, ****** ******* emailed our customer service mailbox and stated he had lost his account numbers during a move and needed help.  We researched our systems but could not find any accounts in his name.  On the same day we emailed him back requesting additional information.  He responded on January 14th, and after further research, we were still unable to locate him in our systems.


On January 14th, Mr. ******* visited our branch in Richmond, TX asking for assistance.  The employees in the Richmond branch searched for accounts in Mr. *******’s name and by the social security number he provided them but were also unsuccessful. He informed branch staff he had last accessed his account in 2002. 


While he was at our Richmond branch, Mr. ******* made several comments to the staff about his personal history, and, while not abrasive or violent, his behavior made them feel extremely uncomfortable.  As soon as he left, they contacted the non-emergency division of the local police department.  Mr. ******* had arrived to the branch in a taxi and the driver subsequently had him arrested for Theft of Service because he could not pay for the taxi ride.