Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jefferson Bank

Phone: (210) 734-4311 Fax: (210) 736-7652 2900 Fredericksburg Rd, San Antonio, TX 78201 http://www.jeffersonbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jefferson Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jefferson Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jefferson Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1947 Business started: 08/12/1946 Business started locally: 08/12/1946 Business incorporated 08/25/1983 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Rehm, EVP/Operations Ms. Betsy Baker, Vice President of Marketing Danny B. Butler, CEO Mr. Bill Goetz, CFO Paul E. McSween III, President Larry Ratcliff, Chief Information Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Rehm, EVP/Operations
Business Category

Banks Loans Mortgage Lender Financial Services Mortgage Bankers

Alternate Business Names
Jefferson Bancshares, Inc.
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jefferson Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2900 Fredericksburg Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 24, 2015 My sister, ********* ****** ******, and I went in to discus my mother's account and her death the day before. We spoke with ******* **** at this Bank. We asked if we were on our mother's account in any manner and what the procedure was in the circumstance of some one passing as my sister was only going to be in town for a a couple of days and we wanted to sign what the bank required of her while she was available in person. We told be Ms. **** that we not on our mother's account in any way. and we would wave to take our mother's will to have it probated in order to gain access to the account. I followed this instruction incurring over $1900 in legal fees. When I went in to close my mother's account I was told my sister would need to be present as there were beneficiaries on the account! After much shock and discussion and some denials going back and forth it took me asking for the Vice president of the bank to pull video of the day we were there in order to prove that we in fact met with Ms. **** as she had denied the meeting and had not made any notations in my mother's account. The bank has refused to cover the legal expenses that I did not have to incur. They have said that their employ has followed procedure when it is not even noted that we were there and we are on video speaking with her. I should have spent the last three months grieving rather than tied up in probate court. My sister and I would not have had to incur the cost of probate expenses had the employee ******* **** not told us that we were #1 not listed as beneficiaries and #2 the only way to deal with my mother's account was to probate my mother's will. ********* **** should make this right.

Desired Settlement: Close my mother's account with the the legal expenses for probate covered.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

I have spoken with **** **** at the Fredricksburg branch of ********* **** since filing this complaint. He has offered to resolve this issue.  Thank you for offering a venue for this resolution. Will you please close this complaint.

 

******** ******


Regards,
******** *****

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My property management card was stolen from my purse at my home, by a plumber that came to give us an estimate on a plumbing issues. While he was in my home my purse was on the entry room table for I had just got home from the office. The following morning at 8:05AM July 8th 2015 someone from Jefferson Bank called and told that they property management account had activity from the credit card during the night. I was ask "when was the last time I had used the debit card?" not understanding exactly what was going at that moment. I was caught off guard and told them with out looking at any of my accounts, that it was sometime 48 ago. Jefferson Banks' rep. ask if I had used the card during the night. I replied "NO!" Long story short almost $1500 was charged by someone else.

Desired Settlement: During the investigation Jefferson Bank refused to insure the fraudulent activities for reason that were never investigated by the first person who called.

Business Response:
Jefferson Bank has investigated the complainant’s allegations of fraud regarding the use
her Jefferson Bank Visa Check Card.  The facts and chronology of events surrounding this complaint
follow.  

July 9, 2015 – Jefferson Bank contacted the complainant at approximately 8:15 a.m. regarding suspicious card
transactions that occurred on July 8, 2015. The complainant stated she was unaware of any transactions and that she did not have possession of her card.  She stated that her son, a non-signer, typically has her card in his possession, as he is the one that uses it.  The complainant was advised that the card should not be provided to another person for usage.  The Bank blocked the use of the card prior to initial contact with the complaint by phone and proceeded to report the card lost/stolen.  The Bank attempted to review the suspicious transactions with the complainant; however, the complainant stated said she would call back later after reviewing her account activity online.  The complainant called back at 5:00 p.m. and was upset with all the transactions that took place the night before.  She confirmed the transactions were fraudulent but provided the Bank with conflicting information regarding when the card was last used and reiterated that she was unaware of the transactions since the card is utilized by her son.  

July 10, 2015 – The complainant contacted the Bank to discuss the unauthorized transactions.  She explained that she
and her son indicated it was possible the card was stolen by workers who were in the house on July 8, 2015.  That evening
of July 8th, the complainant stated her son noticed his wallet and a handgun were missing and the workers were suspected. The Bank was never notified that the card was stolen until the Bank contacted the complainant the following morning.  If the Bank would have been notified on July 8th that the card was stolen, the subsequent fraudulent charges would not have been approved.  The Bank provides multiple ways to report a lost or stolen card 24 hours a day.

Our investigation revealed contradicting information was provided by the complainant regarding the use of the card by her son and facts on what transpired on the evening of July 8th when the card was apparently stolen.

The Bank’s Visa Check Card Agreement states:

 “For transactions processed through the VISA system you will have no liability for unauthorized transactions (that is, your
liability will not exceed $0.00) if you report the unauthorized transactions to us. This special zero liability limit
will not apply if we determine that you were grossly negligent or fraudulent in the handling of your account or your Visa Check and Cash Card.”

The investigation revealed that the complainant was negligent in the handling of her card and would be ineligible for $0.00 liability since the unauthorized transactions were not reported at the time the card was discovered missing/stolen.  The complainant was
informed of this fact and advised that the recovery of any funds would have to be pursued directly with the police department.