This business is not BBB accredited.

Frost Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 220-4000 Fax: (210) 220-0152 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 W Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 http://www.frostbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frost Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frost Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1989 Business started: 02/01/1868 Business started locally: 02/01/1868 Business incorporated 02/01/1868 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe St, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdi.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 252-3439

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
http://www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Melissa Adams, Senior Vice President Ms. Christy Bachmeyer, Director of Retail Sales Mr. Lee Cameron Ms. Jane Hill , Assistant V P loan operations Jack Joyce Mr. Dale Moczygemba , Senior VP E-Commerce Customer Support Ms. Diane Montes , V P Corporate Banking Cindy Ramirez Ms. Cindy Reeves Mr. Marvin Rickabaugh, SA Region President Renee Sabel Mr. Darrell Sander
Contact Information
Principal: Melissa Adams, Senior Vice President
Business Category

Banks Investment Advisory Service Loans

Alternate Business Names
Cullen/Frost Bank, Inc. Frost Bank - Main Office Downtown Frost HR Consulting Frost Insurance Prime Benefits

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 E Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78752

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 W Houston St

    San Antonio, TX 78205 (512) 473-4500 (800) 438-4891 (817) 420-5164 (210) 220-4328

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1011 Hwy 80

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10215 Wurzbach Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10915 Pecan Park Blvd

    Austin, TX 78753

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 Austin Hwy

    San Antonio, TX 78209 (512) 393-5725

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    111 Anderson Lane

    Austin, TX 78752

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11555 Bandera Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78250

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1162 N Loop 1604 W

    San Antonio, TX 78248 (512) 837-7550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11900 Blanco Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (512) 473-4772

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1200 Barbara Jordan Blvd Ste 200

    Austin, TX 78723

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1206 W 38th St

    Austin, TX 78705

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12351 N. I H 35 Building 2

    Austin, TX 78753

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1250 NE Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78293 (210) 826-7999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1300 S Main St

    Boerne, TX 78006 (830) 698-1794

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13226 Vance Jackson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (512) 473-4910

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13523 I H 10

    San Antonio, TX 78230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14201 S. Padre Island Drive

    Corpus Christi, TX 78418

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1450 E. Whitestone Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16500 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (512) 393-5600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16895 I H 35 N.

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18762 Sone Oak Pkwy

    San Antonio, TX 78258

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 West Travis

    San Antonio, TX 78205

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21011 Hwy 281 N.

    San Antonio, TX 78258

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    221 Wonder World Dr

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    231 N Guadalupe

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2402 Leopard

    Corpus Christi, TX 78408

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2524 Exposition Blvd

    Austin, TX 78703

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2703 SW Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78224

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2710 La Frontera Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 W. 9th St

    Austin, TX 78701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    315 Landa St

    New Braunfels, TX 78130

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3525 Far West Blvd

    Austin, TX 78731

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3801 S. Alameda

    Corpus Christi, TX 78411

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 Congress

    Austin, TX 78701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4101 US Highway 77 Ste L-1

    Corpus Christi, TX 78410

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4202 S New Braunfels Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78223

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4214 Thousand Oaks Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78296

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4215 S. Staples

    Corpus Christi, TX 78411

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4715 Fredericksburg Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78229 (210) 344-0141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 W Broadway St

    Portland, TX 78374

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    515 SW Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78221

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5656 Bee Caves Rd # A100

    Austin, TX 78746

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6230 S. Staples

    Corpus Christi, TX 78411

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6233 W. Wlliam Cannon

    Austin, TX 78749

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6906 N. Loop 1604 W. Ste1.00.40

    San Antonio, TX 78249

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7702 Louis Pasteur Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7914 Culebra Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78238

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8202 IH 35 N

    San Antonio, TX 78239 (512) 610-2000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9090 Fair Oaks Pkwy

    Boerne, TX 78015

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged 4 overdraft charges in relation to PayPal charges that I never authorized. I was told I could only have 2 of the fees because I'm only allowed 3 in a three month period. I was told there nothing more they could do and I should contact AT&T. I understand it's not ideal for the bank to refund these fees. But exceptions can be made for customers. Once the fees, are removed - I will cover the negative balance of $313.85

Desired Settlement: Removal of the additional 2 fees totaling $66.

Business Response:

Thank you for speaking to me today regarding your recent experience with Frost and your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau on May 13, 2016.

l am very sorry your request for a refund was not accommodated during your initial call with Frost. We certainly should have been able to take care of those charges for you at the time. Today, l refunded your account $66 for the NSF fee charged as a result of two unauthorized PayPal transactions. I have also verified your address and released mail to you for both your business and personal accounts.

Thank you for sharing your comments with me. Please be assured, we are already addressing the service concerns with the employee. Should you need anything more, we are always ready to help.

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On T**rsday, we received a letter stating the following: Dear , The mission of Frost is to establish long-term, mutually beneficial relationships with customers. Unfortunately, there are times when we are unable to achieve this goal. Accordingly, as provided in our Deposit Account Agreement in the Account Termination clause that states “You and we agree that either of us may close your Account and terminate this Agreement any time with or without cause”, please accept this letter as notice that effective thirty days from the above date, we shall be closing your accounts. (A copy of the Deposit Account Agreement is enclosed.) This decision was made after careful consideration of recent wire activity in your account. After (October 1, 2015) any checks, drafts or any other charges to the accounts will be returned “Accounts Closed”. If you desire, you may come in immediately and close the account. If you take no action by the 30th day October 1, 2015, we will close the account and send you a check for any remaining funds on deposit. If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me at ************. Sincerely, ******* ********, ********* **** *********. We mistakenly assumed the bank had misinterpreted the two overseas origin wire transfers as possible indication of criminal or nefarious activity. So we called to clear up what we thought was a misunderstanding. We were unable to talk with ******* ******** at the above listed phone number. After being repeatedly transferred, we spoke with Tricia Richardson who assured us they are not accusing us of any crime and told us that the volume of wire transfers was a concern. There were two. This explanation, of course, seemed disingenuous. So we continued to push for an explanation and the rep continued to repeat that this is a "relationship bank" which does not mean anything coherent. What specific detail of the relationship have we violated? And how do the two wire transfers from overseas play into that? There was no contact prior to this letter. No warning that we had done something inappropriate with our account. And there remains no clear explanation for what we've done except the above legalese which amounts to "because we can." The rep said because our bank activity is not "normal." What does that mean? What is normal? How are we supposed to comply with this "normal?" The rep asked why the second wire transfer was moved to another bank in two installments. I explained that my **sband said Frost bank's website had some limitation on transfer amounts. So the money had to moved in two installments. I further explained that we did not intend to have more than 1 wire transfer per year for my **sband's parents pension, but that a death in the family required additional funds from overseas family to cover funeral costs. There is nothing criminal happening. I have documents, receipts, a death certificate that I can provide. The rep wanted to know why the money was transferred to another US bank. I explained that we are new to Frost and we still don't know how to use their website. We simply needed a method to pay the funeral home and the most obvious method to us was to pay it with a credit card. We don't have a credit card with Frost bank. So we transferred the money to the other bank where we do have a credit card. We certainly were not thinking in the middle of funeral arrangements how not to offend our "relationship bank" Frost Bank. I asked if there is any kind of review process. She assured me there is and that the staff had discussed our account at length. No, by review process, I mean, any method to explain to decision makers WHY our "bank activity" is not "normal" aka we had a death in the family and needed to pay for a funeral. At this point, the rep seemed to be making it up. Well, you could send me an email with the explanation, but there’s no guarantee it would have any effect on the outcome. That’s not a review process. It doesn’t allow us to engage with decision makers about our banking account and its status. The letter is replete with grammatical errors and logic failures. The overall professionalism of this bank is seriously in doubt at this point.

Desired Settlement: We want a full, coherent explanation for this remarkably erratic and unprofessional conduct, an apology and a cease action on the account closure.

Business Response:

September 18, 2015

********* ** **

**** ******** ********

San Antonio, TX 78254

RE: Your complaint to the Better Business Bureau regarding the closing of your account. BBB ID# ********

Dear Ms. **:

I have tried to reach you by phone to set an appointment to visit with you, but have not heard back. When you have settled-in after moving, please call me so we can meet in person. I am very sorry you were informed by letter about our decision to close your account. We should have invited you to a location to discuss the situation, which is our normal practice. I understand your concerns. Please be assured I am addressing the issue with the employees involved.

The concern we have regarding your account is related to the multiple international wires and the transfers to another account at your primary bank. We believe your Frost account is being used as a transactional account only.

All banks are expected to monitor account activity and have an obligation to understand the transactions. At Frost, we use software and reporting to oversee activity, such as wires and transfers with high dollar amounts and high frequency. Typically, international activity is reviewed as well. When activity appears to be out of the norm, we are notified and are required to provide explanation to regulators who monitor financial activity.

As a relationship bank, we want to know our customers so we can be financial partners and develop long-standing relationships. However, after reviewing your statements, it appears this account was opened solely for the purpose of conducting international wires. This limited engagement prevents us from building a banking relationship with you.

When you opened your account on May 20, 2015, you indicated your wire transfer activity would be approximately one per year. On June 10, 2015, and June 25, 2015, you received wires from China. On June 29, 2015, the majority of the funds from those wires were transferred to your account at another financial institution. On July 16, 2015, you received another wire from China then transferred those funds to your account at another financial institution. Aside from

* ********** ** ************ *** **** *** ***** ***** ***


Sep/18/2015 9 25 12 PM                               Frost Bank 2102206310                                                 3/3

the opening deposit, the only activity in your account has been wires and transfers. We made the decision to close your account because it appears to us the account was not opened for everyday personal banking activity. Because funds arc deposited from an international source then moved to another institution right away, we have been placed in the middle of activity we do not understand. We are not comfortable with this position.

This is why we made the decision to close your account. We certainly should have approached

the situation differently. I am sorry. Again, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person. Please call me so we can meet.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I instructed this bank where I have 2 accounts to add my Brother who has my Texas Durable Power of Attorney to add my Brother on these accounts and issue a debit card so he can pay my bills during my Hospital stay.I have been harrised by ******* ***** at ###-###-#### at my hospital St Lukes Baptist Hospital by repeated phone calls and complete refusal to follow my written instructions, thus causing me distress and wory on my bills and rehabilitation. This person even left a message at my house for my wife who passed away some 20 years ago and is not on my account to ask her to call because her brother in law was tring to be added to my accounts....rediculous conduct !!!

Desired Settlement: Add my brother to my accounts and cease calling my Hospital room

Business Response:

Mr. ******* also filed this same complaint to the Texas Department of Banking.  The attached response has been sent to Mr. ******* regarding his brother being added to his account as Attorney in Fact.

12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A cheque no. ******* for 4.8 million dollars had been issued in my name, I can forward the file. I've contacted the helpdesk many times. I get a message that a representative will contact me. So far, nobody has. I don't reside anywhere near San Antonio otherwise I'd be knocking on their door. I even asked them if they could deposit it on my visa debit or post the actual cheque to my address in Australia where I currently reside. They seem to ignore my pleas.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bank to post the cheque to: **** ****** at: * ******** *** ********* ****** **** ***, Australia.

Business Response:

Business Response:

Mr. ****** emailed Frost Bank on several occasions regarding a check in the amount of $4.8 million and the bank responded by email each time. The check in question is drawn on Bank of America, not Frost. Frost Bank has not received any checks payable to **** ******, nor does Mr. ****** have an account with Frost Bank. We have addressed all of his questions and do not have any additional information to supply. The emails from both Mr. ****** and Frost Bank are listed below.

Sequence of events:

11/23/2014 — Mr. ****** contacted Frost Bank by email:

"A check for 4.8 USD had been issued in my name. Are you able to post it to my address in Australia? Kind Regard **** ******."

11/24/2014 — Frost Bank response by email:

"Mr. **** ****** Thank you for contacting Frost. I will be happy to assist you with your inquiry.

I have reviewed your email inquiry and do not quite understand your question. I apologize for any delay this might cause in providing a response, but please provide additional information so that I can assist you in the best manner possible.

If you have additional questions or would like to submit your request by phone, please call Customer Service at ###-###-####. Customer service is available to assist you twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week."

11/24/2014 — Mr. ****** sent another email:

"I've been made aware that a cheque had been issued in my name I'm just trying to trace it. I'm attaching a copy for you to see. I would greatly appreciate if you could post it to me to my residence in Australia or if it can be deposited at Frost Bank allowing me access via internet. Thank you. I can be contacted by phone: ***********. Kind Regards **** ******"

11/25/2014 — Frost Bank response by email:

"Mr. ****** Thank you for contacting Frost. I will be happy to assist you with your inquiry.

Unfortunately I cannot see this image, you can apply to open an account online at www.*********.com, are you a resident of the United States? If not a banker will have to contact their management for approval.


If you have additional questions or concerns, please call Customer Service at ###-###-#### or reply to this email. Customer Service is available to assist you twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week."

11/26/2014 — Mr. ****** email:

"A cheque no **** *** has been issued in my name for 4.8 million. Are you able to post Ito my current resident in Australia? Or should I open frost account and deposit it there? Can I do it online."

12/04/2014 — Mr. ****** email:

"Can Australian citizens join frost bank for online banking. Kind Regard **** ******"

12/05/2014 — Frost Bank response by email:

"**** ******, We have previously answered your questions about the qualifications on how to open a Frost account. As far as your question about a check you would like converted to a cashier's check, this has to be done in person at our Frost locations. I do apologize about any inconvenience, but I would suggest that you try and get with a branch in your area. Due to the nature and the numerous requests we have gotten from you Mr. ****** we would kindly ask for you to contact Customer Service for any further questions. Any further duplicate correspondence via unsecure email will be forwarded to me.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please call Customer Service at ###-###-#### or reply to this email. Customer Service is available to assist you twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week."

Thank you,
**** *****
Vice President


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your email.

Frost bank suggested that I should see them in person regarding the cheque. I reside in Australia, making it impossible to do.

Regards

**** ******

 

2/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Frost Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)