Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Extraco Banks

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 398-7226 18 S Main St, Temple, TX 76501 http://www.extracobanks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home loans and investment property loans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Extraco Banks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Extraco Banks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Extraco Banks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 1994 Business started: 01/30/1978 in TX Business started locally: 01/30/1978 Business incorporated 03/22/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
1910 Pacific Ave # 1900, Dallas TX 75201
http://www.fdic.gov
Phone Number: (800) 568-9161

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Taft , Senior Vice President, Compliance Officer Mr. Mike Thompson, President / CEO Ms. Cheryl Traudt, Vice President - Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Taft , Senior Vice President, Compliance Officer
Principal: Mr. Mike Thompson, President / CEO
Business Category

Banks Insurance Companies Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Bankers Computers - Networks


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Extraco Banks has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 W Central Texas Expy

    Harker Heights, TX 76548

  • 1003 E Highway 190

    Copperas Cove, TX 76522

  • 107 S Frontage Rd

    Lorena, TX 76655

  • 1207 N Loop 340

    Waco, TX 76705

  • 1208 E Main St

    Hamilton, TX 76531

  • 1504 Williams Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628

  • 1612 Williams Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628

  • 1700 East Palm Valley Blvd.

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • 1700 N Valley Mills Dr

    Waco, TX 76710

  • 18 S Main St

    Temple, TX 76501

  • 1821 South Valley Mills Dr.

    Waco, TX 76711

  • 200 Hewitt Dr

    Waco, TX 76712

  • 2000 N Main St

    Belton, TX 76513

  • 201 W Jasper Dr

    Killeen, TX 76542

  • 250 University Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78665

  • 302 N Key Ave

    Lampasas, TX 76550

  • 3615 S 31st St

    Temple, TX 76502

  • 415 N Johnson Dr

    Mc Gregor, TX 76657

  • 5402 Holly Rd Ste 2106

    Corp Christi, TX 78411

  • 700 Lavaca St Ste 1400

    Austin, TX 78701

  • 800 E Main St

    Gatesville, TX 76528

  • PO Box 6101

    Temple, TX 76503

  • PO Box 7595

    Waco, TX 76714

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to deposit a ligitimate check from a reputable source (settlement account), 11 December 2014, and they said it was because they had to make sure the check cleared before they could post it to my account. Which the other teller called to verify the check was already good. Reluctanly I agreed. I called on the 7th business day, and they said that the check had cleared but it wouldn't be posted to my account until midnight 20 Decenmber. When I asked I was told that was their policy and I would have to contact the branch manager where I deposited the check. I called the copperas cove branch and asked why they where holding this checked that had already cleared, all the teller could tell me (quite condecesendingly) is that she would have to check with the branch manager and would I like to hold instead of them calling me back. At this point I was getting quite irritated, but still waited patiently for a response. After several minutes the teller came back and said that the manager would have to review the account before she could release the funds. I asked what was there to review if the check had already cleared? again aI was given some bogus run aroun d excuse and then told that she was very busy and had other customers to wait on plus a teller in training. I then highly offend told her that I had been a member of this bank since before it was extraco and didn't appreciated being treated like my situation was a low priority. The branch manager then called me trying to explain their "policy" and how it was for my benefit which is total malarchy. At this point she just wanted to argue so I tried to be polite but told her that I could not talk to her anymore.

Desired Settlement: I wish the CEO to know how shabby their senior customers are treated . And some sort of compension for the delays and poor business practices.

Business Response: We apologize for any misunderstanding between us regarding the handling of your check deposit in December.
 
Our records show that you deposited a check on December 11, 2014. As allowed by federal and state law, a hold was placed on your check for 7 business days. On December 19, 2014, the hold was released early per your request.
 
Typically, releases are processed after the business day ends. Because early releases must be approved by a branch manager, you were referred to a branch manager to approve the early release. At the time of your phone call on December 19, the branch manager was assisting another customer. After she was finished helping the other customer, the branch manager released the hold on your check and called you to notify you of the release.
 
Please understand that not all our representatives can process all transaction types and that it does take time to review and process extraordinary items, such as holds.   

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have owned my account with Extraco for too long. Since they were paid to go with Discover, their service has bit the dust. My card & my wife's card picks and chooses when it wants to work. We can't buy groceries, we can't pay bills, we can't get gas. Either the cards won't work or Discover is not acceptable. Which in our case is every single one of our bill vendors so we are left to pay third party vendors to pay our bills. I call EVERY time this happens. It's my money, I shouldn't have to ask permission or worry if it's going to work. The most recent time, my wife called and since she has lost her voice she has to yell to be heard. I was standing in the same room while Extraco was on speaker so I know exactly how this issue came about. When the "relationship banker" by name of **** came to the phone, there was automatic tension. That alone shouldn't be; if you're having a bad day, leave it at the door! Since my wife is yelling to to be heard this woman is becoming offended. I explained whybshes yelling and she told me "this phone call does not concern you, please do not interrupt again." Are you serious ****?! That is MY account! After this, she told my wife & I to "** ** ****." Is that really how Extraco is treating customers now? My wife tried to file complaints but couldn't get anyone to cooperate. Today 10-10-14 my wife was once again attempting to use the account when ait declined again. She went to the bank where they informed her they had closed our account. She called me & I went to find out where my money was. We find out that we have been fired from Extraco for "use of inappropriate language." Without notice. Without authorization. So we were cursed at by ****, a relationship banker for Extraco but we, the customers were let go instead of corrective action towards ****. I wanted answers and got nothing from the bank. They are completely oblivious to the language & manner in which their employees treat their customers.

Desired Settlement:

I demand an apology to myself and my wife from Extraco & from ****.

Business Response: Mr. ******

We apologize for any inconvenience or offense you may have experienced in working with Extraco Banks or its representatives. Please contact a customer care representative with further questions that you might have.

Prior to selecting Discover as our debit card provider, Extraco and Discover determined through transaction testing that the vast majority of local and national merchants who our customers used did accept Discover card. During the conversion to using the Discover debit cards, it was found that some local merchants did not accept Discover card. Over the following months, Extraco and Discover successfully helped most non-accepting merchants to make any necessary adjustments to begin accepting Discover cards. Extraco and Discover representatives are continuing to work with the remaining local merchants who we have confirmed do not currently accept Discover. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the conversion process.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It does not explain why **** was allowed to cursed at a (now former) Extraco customer nor does it even acknowledge this fact and matter of concern for how customers are treated. NOt to mention myself and my wife have made it clear that **** owes the apology. Also, your response doesn't explain why TXU, DISH, H-E-B, WALMART, CAR INSURANCE & MORTGAGE were all deemed unacceptable for Discover payment. 

Regards,
**** *****

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service