BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBVA Compass

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 419-3400 Fax: (512) 419-3482 View Additional Phone Numbers P. O. Box 10566  AL-BI-SC-ROA, Birmingham, AL 35296 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BBVA Compass include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BBVA Compass
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 05, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated: 01/01/1964 in AL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
1910 Pacific Ave # 1900, Dallas TX 75201
http://www.fdic.gov
Phone Number: (800) 568-9161

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Makston
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Makston
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Martin
Business Category

Banks Financing Investment Advisory Service Loans Loans - Small Business Financial Services Investment Management Mortgage Bankers Financing Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Compass Bancshares, Inc Compass Bank Laredo National Bank
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10711 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 421-5849 (512) 421-5858 (210) 592-5751

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1250 Capital of Texas Hwy S Bldg. 1

    Austin, TX 78746 (210) 592-5701 (512) 421-5780

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12524 FM 2244

    Bee Cave, TX 78733 (210) 592-5851 (512) 263-8585

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12590 Bandea Rd

    Helotes, TX 78023

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13497 N Hwy 183 # 100

    Austin, TX 78750 (210) 592-5601 (512) 421-5800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14535 Forum Pkwy

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    170 University Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78665

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20610 FM 1431

    Lago Vista, TX 78645 (210) 592-5571 (512) 421-5900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2401 S Congress Ave.

    Austin, TX 78704 (210) 592-5965 (512) 421-5865

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24164 I-10 W

    San Antonio, TX 78257

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2514 W Parmer

    Austin, TX 78727 (512) 421-5720 (210) 592-5561

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    321 W 6th St

    Austin, TX 78701 (210) 592-5501 (512) 421-5760

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    343 W Houston St.

    San Antonio, TX 78205

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3633 Bee Cave Rd.

    Austin, TX 78746 (512) 421-5959 (210) 592-5966

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3740 Gattis School Rd.

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (210) 592-5964 (512) 421-5911

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    660 N Main Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78205

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6610 Blanco Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78216

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6910 Manchaca

    Austin, TX 78745 (210) 946-0741 (512) 421-5985

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7321 Ranch Rd. 620 N

    Austin, TX 78726 (512) 421-5940

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7575 Wurzbach Rd.

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7940 Floyd Curl Dr Tower II Bldg

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8042 Wurzbach Rd.

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8715 Village Dr. # 104

    San Antonio, TX 78217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    895 N I-35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (210) 592-5962 (512) 421-5750

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    990 E Basse Rd.

    San Antonio, TX 78209

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P. O. Box 10566AL-BI-SC-ROA

    Birmingham, AL 35296

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 592-5551(Phone)
  • (210) 592-5610(Phone)
  • (210) 592-5801(Phone)
  • (254) 939-3501(Phone)
  • (512) 371-0700(Phone)
  • (512) 416-1152(Phone)
  • (512) 421-6950(Phone)
  • (512) 454-0443(Phone)
  • (512) 754-8800(Phone)
  • (512) 942-4010(Phone)
  • (956) 795-5840(Phone)
  • (205) 524-9051 (Fax)
  • (254) 933-4226 (Fax)
  • (512) 419-3434 (Fax)
  • (512) 454-8880 (Fax)
  • (956) 795-5858 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.bbvacompass.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBVA Compass Bank Branch North Austin Branch 10711 Burnet Road Austin, TX, 78758 (512) 421-5850 ***** ********* I've a safe deposit with Compass Bank more than 5 years that did not charge a yearly fee. However, when BBVA took over Compass Bank, there was NO communication that the company plan to charge a $20 yearly fee. I went in the branch more than a week ago (May 23, 2014) requesting documentation that the bank has communicate with me on such charge. However, I NOT received such documentation. The bank wants me to pay for the fee when I have not receive such documentation. I would like to close the safety deposit and pay NO fee since I've not received any documentation of any communication of such charge.

Desired Settlement: Let me close the safe deposit without fee.

Business Response: We are in
receipt of Mr. ***’s BBB complaint regarding safe deposit box rental fees. We
sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or poor service that Mr. *** may have
experienced while attempting to resolve this issue.

BBVA Compass is committed to improving the overall
customer service experience and has established a bank wide initiative focusing
on quality and “Passion for Our Customer.” We are listening and our clients’
feedback is very important in helping us reach our goals.

 

Please rest
assured that upon receipt of Mr. ***’s complaint, this issue was immediately
addressed by the North Austin Banking Center Management Team.

Our records
indicate that on 5/9/2014 Mr. *** spoke with a Client Care Representative and
she confirmed that we have waived the $40.00 rental fee owed on Mr. ***’s safe
deposit box. It is my understanding that on 5/16/14 Mr. *** confirmed that he will
visit the North Austin Banking Center to collect the contents and close the
safe box.

On behalf of
BBVA Compass, we hope Mr. *** will give us the opportunity to do business with
him again in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've a safe deposit with Compass Bank more than 5 years that did not charge a yearly fee. However, when BBVA took over Compass Bank, there was NO communication that the company plan to charge a $20 yearly fee. I went in the branch more than a week ago (May 23, 2014) requesting documentation that the bank has communicate with me on such charge. However, I NOT received such documentation. The bank wants me to pay for the fee when I have not receive such documentation. I would like to close the safety deposit and pay NO fee since I've not received any documentation of any communication of such charge.

Desired Settlement: Let me close the safe deposit without fee

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ***’s BBB complaint regarding safe deposit box rental fees. We
sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or poor service that Mr. *** may have
experienced while attempting to resolve this issue.

BBVA Compass is committed to improving the overall customer service experience and has established a bank wide initiative focusing
on quality and “Passion for Our Customer.” We are listening and our clients’feedback is very important in helping us reach our goals.

 Please rest assured that upon receipt of Mr. ***’s complaint, this issue was immediately
addressed by the North Austin Banking Center Management Team.

Our records indicate that on 5/9/2014 Mr. *** spoke with a Client Care Representative and
she confirmed that we have waived the $40.00 rental fee owed on Mr. ***’s safe
deposit box. It is my understanding that on 5/16/14 Mr. *** confirmed that he will
visit the North Austin Banking Center to collect the contents and close the
safe box.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we hope Mr. *** will give us the opportunity to do business with
him again in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We refinanced our auto loan with bbva and signed the loan March 24, 2014. The bank has failed to pay off the previous lender and refuses to talk or return our calls. The payoff has expired and a payment is due to the previous lender. Bbva will take their payment as well this month although they failed to complete the loan as agreed.

Desired Settlement: They must fund the payoff and pay the Additional Monies now owed due to their constant errors.We are seeking an adjustment to our loan since they failed the terms as well as an apology. Also any applicable credit correction as well.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ********* BBB complaint regarding a third party loan payoff issue. We would like to take this opportunity to
sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ******* may have experienced while attempting to resolve this matter.

Our records indicate that an updated payoff of $6,654.93 (good through 4/11/14) was mailed to Toyota Financial Services on 4/2/14 and
delivered on 4/3/14.

On behalf of BBVA Compass we thank Mr. ******* for his business and we hope this information helps to resolve this issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been an account holder at BBVA Compass for about a year now. In October I set up my direct deposit from work. I was in a relationship and added my at the time girlfriend as an account user. We broke up in February. She went to a branch and withdrew $519.94. I was upset but understood that it was my own fault for still having her on the account. I went to the BBVA Compass on **** ********** ** *** ** *****. I was assisted by a gentleman by the name of ***** ******. I told him the situation and asked how to remove my ex from my account. He told me the only way was to close the account and open another. So Of course I agreed because I did not and could not have this happen again. We joked about the situation. It was great customer service wise. I was told my old account was closed and that my debit card would transfer right over to my new account. Great. Well two weeks later my direct deposit still goes into my old account. And my ex took out $1000.00 from a branch. I find this out and of course am upset. I call the branch and speak with the assistant manager. *****. I told her the situation and she replied to me that once an account is closed any activity that occurs in the next 30 days automatically reopens the account. So being that she was still authorized on my old "closed" account she was able to withdraw. This was NEVER disclosed to me. Not by Mr. ******. Kind of important information to pass on. Especially because I wanted to ensure this would not happen again. She states that she will have someone call me back. I gave her my information. I asked her to at least follow up with me if anything. She did not. I called before the branch closed and left a message with an employee for her to call me. Nothing. I kept my composure and professionalism. I was told my account was never closed and thats why she was able to access it. So they have their stories wrong at the branch. I want my money. Banks have insurance for these types of mistakes. I do not. Now Im behind on bills.

Desired Settlement: I want the bank to refund my money. They have insurance for these type of errors. I was told they are taking a loss well so am I. I am behind on rent now. If they pursue charges on my ex is up to them. Not my fault.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ******** BBB complaint regarding the closing of his account at BBVA Compass. We sincerely apologize for any
inconvenience Mr. ****** has experienced while attempting to resolve this issue.

In cases where a client intends to close their account, they must take steps to cancel all outstanding transactions. This includes direct
deposits. As stated in Mr. ******** original complaint, a pre-authorized outstanding transaction can cause an account that is in process of closing to remain open; however, this was not what happened in this case.  Our records indicate that after the other account signer’s $519.94 withdrawal on 2/18/2014,
no attempt was made to bring the account to a zero balance. Since the account was not ever brought to zero by either client, the account could not be closed.
It was not until 3/3/14 that the account was finally brought to zero and could be closed.

Ultimately, the other signer has equal right and access to the account and BBVA Compass acted in accordance with the account agreement
between us, Mr. ******, and the other account signer.

We empathize with Mr. ******’s situation, but BBVA Compass cannot reimburse Mr. ****** as he has requested. He must pursue any settlement with
the other signer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Of the fact that I was told numerous times that my account was closed. As I sat there and closed that account, the whole reason I was there was to ensure that money would not be taken out of my account again. I should have been advised by Mr. ****** what the state of the account was at. I was told repeatedly by the branch assistant manager and the retail branch executive that the account was "closed" but "reopened" due to my direct deposit going in. Now they are saying it was never closed. This was a full on mistake by the gentleman that assisted me. I told him I could not have this happen again. I should have been told of every situation that way it could have been avoided. You cannot "reopen" what has not been "closed". The bank has liability insurance for such mistakes. I will not be out money because of their employees fault.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I have had a certificate of deposit at Compass Bank for approximately 20 years. We have allowed the account to roll over at the end of each term during that period of time. In approximately 2007, we received a notice that we needed to advise Compass whether we wished to keep the account active. I signed and returned the form and heard nothing further. In approximately December of 2013, we received notice from a company offering to help us in obtaining funds escheated to the State of Texas and held as unclaimed property. Recognizing that the amount corresponded to the amount of the Compass CD, I immediately contacted the local office and was advised that the account had been closed and the funds sent to the State of Texas as unclaimed property. The lady I spoke with stated that I was supposed to have received a notice and that when I didn't respond, the account was closed. I advised her that we had not received any notice and inquired as to what I would need to due to recover the funds. She advised that the State of Texas would charge a fee of approximately $500.00 for processing. I pointed out that we had not received any notice and that this was the Bank's error. She said that she would submit my request to her supervisors for review. When I returned home, my wife and I reviewed our records and found no other notice than the one returned to Compass Bank in 2007. After a couple of weeks, I called the lady and was advised that the request had not been acted on yet. I waited another couple of weeks and called and e-mailed again, but did not receive a response from the lady I had contacted. A couple of days later, I received a voice message from a female at a main office on the east coast. She reported that the Bank's records indicated that two notices had been sent so nothing would be done by Compass Bank. She further advised that the account had been closed in early 2012. She also left a call back number if I wished to discuss the matter further. I called the number later that day and left a voice message that I did need to discuss the matter further as we had not received any notice. When I did not receive a return call, I contacted the number a second time and to date, have not received a call back. We looked at our 20012 tax records and found that we had received a 1099 from Compass Bank with no indication that the account had been closed. and we never received any other notification from Compass Bank advising that the account had been closed. We were long term customers of Compass Bank and it was evident that we were allowing the account to continue to roll over. To close the account and send the funds to the State without our knowledge or approval was improper and Compass Bank should be required to pay the processing fee required for the recovery of the funds.

Desired Settlement: Compass Bank should be required to make sure that notice is received before initiating this kind of adverse action and should further be required to give prompt notice of an account closing so that appropriate corrective action could be promptly be taken.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ************ BBB complaint
regarding his escheat CD account. We would like to take this opportunity to
sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the client may have experienced as a
result of this issue.

Our records indicate that two notices were mailed (only one is
required by law) to Mr. and Mrs. **********. One letter was sent in August and the
other in September of 2012 (copies attached) in an attempt to ensure receipt and
give the clients time to respond. These letters inform our clients that we are
required by Texas state law to turn over the balance of accounts that have had
no activity or acknowledgement in 3 years. Each of these letters gave the
clients the opportunity to contact us in person, by mail, by phone, or by fax
to acknowledge the account and prevent the account balance from being sent to
the state.

These letters were not returned to us as undelivered (address
matches the address listed on the clients’ current profile as well as the
address found on the BBB complaint) and since we did not hear back from Mr. and
Mrs. **********, the account balance was turned over to the state, in
accordance with the law set forth by the State of Texas.

We again sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, but we
must refer the clients to the State of Texas at ********************************* to
claim the funds from their CD.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: we did not receive any notice, before or after the closing of the account.  Even the tax statement sent late in the year did not mention that this action had been taken. It wasn't until we received an offer from a private company to assist us in obtaining the return of the funds that we even became aware of the account closing. I would also point out that anyone reviewing the history would easily see that we had allowed the account to rollover at the end of each term for almost twenty years, so those actions in themselves indicated a desire to continue the account. Moreover, I did sign and return a form in 2007 saying that I wanted to continue with the account. No further, communications were received from Compass Bank, except annual tax statements.  The fact that I had returned a previous form should have alerted Compass Bank that I had not received the claimed 2012 notice of this action.  I would also like to see copies of the claimed 2012 notices, the mailing envelopes and some proof that they were actually mailed.  The only responses from Compass Bank to date have been in generic "our records reflect" language.

As a long term customer, I am shocked by the complete lack of concern by Compass Bank for the cost and trouble their unauthorized action has caused. This kind of situation could have been easily avoided by simply picking up the phone and contacting us. I doubt that the number of apparently inactive accounts would be a burden to Compass Bank and I would hope that they would value a customer's business more than has been shown here. 

Finally, it is insulting to hear the response that only a generic claim that notice was sent is sufficient under the law and I must respectfully disagree.

Regards,

******** **********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally attempted to refinance our home with BBVA Compass. During those discussions, I was originally mislead by loan officer, ***** Thompson, that my new home equity line of credit could later be refinanced with my primary mortgage. Because of that I proceeded with a large pool project. After the project was complete, I called back and asked to proceed with the refinance. At that time, I was referred to **** *****. He explained to me my options and told there was a "special" running and that I should lock in my rates for 2.625% for a 7/1 ARM with $0 closing costs. That was a good value, therefore I agreed to start the paperwork. Part of that was ordering the home appraisal and charging my credit card accordingly. During this time when I was attempting to re-confirm that **** completely understood my requirements originally discussed with *****, he began to become evasive and non-responsive. After repeated emails and phone calls with no responses, I finally was escalated to **** *****, VP of Mortgage. After many months of attempting to straighten this debacle out and working with **** *****, we later found that it was not legal in Texas to do this. Because of that I requested a refund on the appraisal as I was going to seek other options on the refinance. After many more months of phone calls and emails dating back to Sept of 2013, I have several verbal and written emails from **** telling me that he has agreed to refund the appraisal fee and that the check is in the mail. The first written statement suggesting the agreement to refund the amount was on 9/10/2013 "I will get it refunded. Will let you know when complete so you can look for it.". With the most recent being on 12/23/2013 stating "Hi *******. - I confirmed with accounting that your check is on its way to you. I am sorry for the delay. Have a great Christmas. ****" As of 1/17/2014, still no refund. Even with **** ***** making a personal visit at my office in June of 2013 to "settle" this, this issue still lingers on today. This is ,by far, the absolute worst customer service experience I have ever had with the most faceless organization in my life. It has been over a year and I'm still dealing with this issue with this organization.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the appraisal of approx $425 Interest expense from the date of the appraisal to the date of the refund @ 4.5% which is what they are charging me on my loan The new loan that I ended up with was at 3.5% with approx $3,000 in closing costs. I am also requesting that they split the closing costs with on the new loan.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ****’ BBB complaint regarding his loan
application issue and appraisal refund. I would like to take this opportunity
to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences Mr. **** may have experienced
while waiting for a resolution.

Mr. ****’ complaint indicates that we did not take ownership
to address his loan application issue in a timely or appropriate manner. This
was immediately addressed with the Real Estate Loan Management Team.

We truly value Mr. ****’ relationship with BBVA Compass and
are committed to improving the overall customer service experience. We have
established a bank wide initiative focusing on quality and “Passion for Our Customer.”
We are listening and Mr. ****’ feedback is very important in helping us reach
our goals.

Careful consideration has been taken by our Real Estate Loan
Management Team after reviewing Mr. ****’ case and it was determined that we
will not be able to reimburse Mr. **** the interest or any portion of the closing
costs of his new loan as he has requested. However, as originally agreed, a
check for $425 in appraisal fees was mailed to the client today via *****,
tracking number ************.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we again
sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and that we were unable to offer the
loan product originally discussed with Mr. ****. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

While I am not pleased with the decision from BBVA Compass after reviewing my complaint, I will accept the offer under one additional condition.  I would like a letter of apology from **** ***** which explains how this situation escalated to this and how he was unable to handle the refund in a more timely manner when clearly the loan was mishandled from the beginning.  I have email documentation that states my intentions and responses that document confirmations of those intentions.  I provided that information to **** on several occasions.  After finally realizing that the refinance was not going to happen due to Texas law, it was frustrating to say the least.  This is especially true when I believe I came out on the bottom end of the deal with a worse financial situation because of the misinformation provided by BBVA Compass. 

After all that was said and done to then have to fight to get the appraisal money back was unacceptable.  After repeated attempts to get the appraisal money back, **** ***** went so far as to ask me to send an email to him as a 'formal complaint' about **** ***** so that he would have the documentation he needed to process the refund.  I thought for sure all of this would have been over at that time (November 2013).  He later responded that he had what he needed to process a customer service credit and that he would refund the appraisal.  Still months later, no check. 

After receipt of the formal apology letter, I will consider this complaint closed and the issue resolved to my satisfaction.


Regards,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closed checking acct. on 9/3/13. As of today I still have access to an acct.# & my PIN on automated line 1-************. I do not understand why I can still access this info. or that I am still associated with this bank. I have inquired in person @the local branch too many times to count, have called the above # dozens of times!!! Each person/each time I talk to someone, I receive a different answer! Absolutely AMAZING that a company that size & nobody seems to know WHAT their policies/procedures ARE when someone closes an account with them? I have asked to speak with a supervisor when I call the 1-800#, after being on hold repeatedly, the speaker comes back & tells me what the supervisor said, apparently not able to honor my request & talk with me! At the branch when I inquired about this matter repeatedly, I was assured after closing the online accounts with them that this would also eliminate the automated access too!!! I have asked for their corporate # to call in Alabama & they told me there "is no corporate #"! When I called end of Oct., was told at first it takes one year to purge info/accounts, next told it takes 30 days to purge info & I told them it has been 30 days, then after persisting more they now tell me it takes 45 business days for the info to "drop off" and that would happen for me after 11/7/13! That has not happened!!!! I do not understand why I can not get an answer to this issue & they just do not understand why it matters to me! Has no one ever closed an account with them before??? As of today I can still access my account # with a PIN on !-800# accessing all acct info.! They repeatedly tell me the acct is closed, but have been completely unable to answer why/when our relationship is/when/will be completely over & severed!?!? Why is this such a complicated/impossible issue for them to answer??? Again today I ask to speak with a supervisor & was refused, person on phone said they could look up policies & read them to me, but yet no access to superv????

Desired Settlement: Would like to be told & in writing when access using my account number & PIN # will be purged from their systems? What does it take to get this answer? If I have closed my account, why is this information still accessible and even still being kept within their systems? How long does it take to purge my info. and our business relationship officially cease to exist?

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ********** BBB complaint regarding
access to his closed account information through our Voice Response (VRU)
system and we were disappointed to learn that Mr. ******** has chosen to close
his account with BBVA Compass.

In accordance with federal record retention guidelines, BBVA
Compass retains account records for seven years. Although the cancellation of
an account stops any new account information from being created, it does not remove
existing information from our systems.

Mr. ********** complaint indicates that he would like the
access to his account through the VRU to be removed and we are currently working
toward a solution that will enable us to honor his request.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we apologize for any
inconvenience and appreciate Mr. ********** patience while we work to resolve
this issue. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cannot count on both hands how many times my debits and payments have been switched or rotated to suit their needs and at least once a year BBVA Compass has tried to charge an NSF fee, but this time around was the last straw. It was bad enough that my water bill ;that does instant transfer; was recharged on the first of this month for a bill I actually paid on the 9/26. Then I find again on Wednesday the 9th of Oct I was charged NSF fee of 38 claiming that I had insufficient funds. Upon looking through my statements and calling Compass I find that that they are claiming I had not enough for a paypal transaction that I payed a week ago (on the 3rd) I had talked to the vendor I bought from and I was told and even have physical proof that the payment was instantaneous as my paypal has my bank information. It actually shows that on their 4th at 1pm Korean time tney where payed. As soon as the rep hears its from Korea he insists that the money was extracted on the 7th at 3am! Now anybody should know that at 1pm in Korea its actually 11pm here so at 3am in America means that its past 5pm. That shoppe closes at 4pm exactly. Furthermore there is no way possible that the vendor would tell me I payed for something unless I had, as no vendor would give things away for free.To add insult to injury I was then lectured in a condescending tone by a Jose that "this is exactly why, I should keep an eye on my finances and should learn not to spend more than I have" When asked to speak to a supervisor, he was stubborn and rude and almost fought with me before he relented. To note: even if it had been charged on the 7th I deposited my pay that same day of 332 and change. I find it odd that on the 1-6 I had more than 1000 in my bank yet it didn't have enough to pay for a simple 114.30? Upon further investigation I find that the water utilities had no idea that money was re-extracted on the 1st. I went into the water company and a rep showed me that exactly on the 26th had they recceived/gotten their funds for the bill. Yet Compass decided to charge again? What happend to the 115.64 that I had for the water on the 26th? No where to be found.Today, I find that the the 114.30 has been taken out again on the 15th. Now how can something I bought on the 3rd that proves it was paid on the the 3rd be charged on the 15th?

Desired Settlement: I want a refund and to shine a light on their illegal practices. I have researched and read that this is not the first time nor is it even the 20th person that has had to deal with Compass changing payment dates so that they can tack on more NSF fees but its far worse to have them take money from my account claiming they are paying for my already paid bills while I and the vendors are unaware.I apologise for the terrible spelling as I am too invested into this injustice to spellcheck.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Ms. ********’s BBB complaint regarding transaction processing on her account and we would like to take this opportunity express our disappointment in learning that Ms. ******** has chosen to close her BBVA Compass checking account. We sincerely apologize for any confusion or frustration Ms. ******** may have experienced while attempting to reconcile her account.

BBVA Compass cannot process a transaction that was authorized by the client until it has been presented for payment by the merchant and we have no knowledge or control over the merchant’s billing or accounting practices regarding payment satisfaction from our mutual client. We can only use the information given to us at the time the transaction is presented and we begin processing the transaction as soon as possible. At times, after normal business hours and particularly during weekends or holidays, this process is delayed because third party transactions can only be posted on normal business days during normal business hours.

Our records indicate that Ms. ********’s utility payment (“water”) was presented for payment to us on Friday September 27th, 2013 at 7:05pm CST. This was after our processing was closed for the day/week; therefore, the $125.32 charge was posted to the client’s account first thing the following Monday, 9/30/2013 and no overdraft occurred.  Records also reflect that the available balance in Ms. ********’s account on 10/6/2013 was $21.89 and this carried over as the beginning available balance on 10/7/2013; the same day the first attempt by Paypal for the $114.30 transaction was made at 3:28 AM CST. Since there were not sufficient funds at that time and because the client had chosen to opt out of paying into overdraft, the transaction was returned unpaid. Ms. ********’s deposit was not made into the account that day until 3:30:48 PM CST and thus was not in the account at the time the Paypal transaction was presented. A $38 insufficient funds (NSF) fee was charged the following business day, 10/8/2013 for the overdraft item, but this fee was refunded as a courtesy to the client on 10/9/2013 and no other NSF fees have been charged to this client on this account since December of 2012.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we hope this information helps Ms. ******** reconcile her account records and we genuinely hope Ms. ******** will give us another opportunity to do business with her again in the future.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I am livid and therefore will not mince words
It bothers me to no end that Compass is continuing to use the same excuse and expects me to accept it simply because of the fact that I wasn't even aware anything was wrong until the NSF charge on the 7th for a transaction completed and paid for on the 3rd. This charge is what had me looking more closely into what was going on. It made me curious, which is why I questioned the water company in the first place.  I went in person to  the utllity company to question about taking money out on the 1st of October. They had no idea what I was talking about and they where the ones that said I should do something.The day I made payment online 09-26-13 was the day they took the funds they even gave me a print out of payment with the date and seeing as its a recurring payment it was  instant.
As for the 114.30 they gave me the same excuse as above but I've had the privilege of dealing with this company on numerous occasions before and was assured money was taken on the 3rd. I got the NSF fee revoked and assumed it was done. As stated before I have purchased from them often and just like the utitlies transactions have been instant they also sent a printed sheet that shows payment was completed on the third.
Blaming the company is a shitty thing to do there should be no need for this and its upsetting
I expected this to be finished  instead Compass choose to pull out the money on the fifteeth for a paid item. That was going too far.  It's almost too amusing to see that Compass is  not owning up to their immoral practices along with bringing up the date of 7th. Even going so far as to use incorrect dates so that they can back up their own "truths" when I more than have evidence that shows otherwise. 


Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: We sincerely apologize if Ms. ******** feels we have not resolved her issue. As previously stated, BBVA Compass has refunded any and all fees, related to this complaint, as a courtesy. We have also explained that BBVA Compass has no control over the time it takes a merchant to submit a transaction to us for payment. In our previous response, we outlined the specific dates the merchants presented the items for payment so as to illustrate for the client that there are often delays between the date a merchant posts a transaction to their records and the date they present the transaction to us for payment. Despite the advancements in
technology, some transactions still take time to post to an account. It is necessary for a client to keep track of their own transactions and to maintain
sufficient funds for all outstanding transactions as stated in the account terms and agreement. This is why we recommend that our client keep a personal
transaction register. Additionally, we offer services like Online Banking and Mobile Banking, free of charge, to be used as tools in conjunction with
personal registers to make account reconcilement easier and faster. Furthermore, BBVA Compass processes transactions and operates within guidelines
set forth by the U.S. federal government as well as the state governments in which we operate. If Ms. ******** has any additional questions she
is welcome to contact our customer service department at 1-800-266-7277.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I wont accept this same trite excuse period. This keeps going in circles with no end in sight. 
Well then, how about this: in earlier reply /therefore the 125.32 charge was posted to the client's account/ the utilities where for 115.64 or the vendor 114.30. where is this 125.32 coming from? Not only is date of payment wrong ,so is the amount. Does this mean additional funds  where appropriated without consent? What excuse will it be this time? A typo, wrong date, small error? NOT to me! No fees where refunded just an Nsf fee revoked. Again, same excuse. All I see is a payment of 15th for an item paid and completed on the 3rd they insist was on the 7th which caused an Nsf fee in the first place therefore should never have happened if they didn't mess with the freaking items. Once again PLEASE stop blaming the vendor on Compass taking out an extra amount just to suit their needs.

You do not have my regards,

******* ********

Business Response: The transaction mentioned in our first reply for $125.32 posted to the client’s account as described (9/30/2013) in our original response; however, we misread which transaction was in question. This transaction was payable to “CITY PUBLIC SRV,” from which we believed to be the utility payment Ms. ******** mentioned in her original complaint.  

Upon reexamining Ms. ********’s original complaint, we realized our error in reporting a different transaction. We now understand the transaction payable to “SA WATER SYSTEM” for $115.64 was the transaction Ms. ******** intended us to review. The $115.64 transaction was presented for payment by the merchant on 9/30/2013 after hours, at 7:07pm, so it was not processed until first thing the next morning, 10/1/2013.There are no records showing any attempt made by SA WATER SYSTEM to collect those funds prior to
9/30/13.

In either instance, we illustrate the date on which each merchant presented the payments to us for collection and the reasons for each specific posting date. We apologize that the $115.64 transaction was not included in our first response; however, all reconcilements of each transaction, even the $125.32 transaction, are accurate.

Again, all bank fees charged to Ms. ******** were refunded back to her account as a courtesy on 10/9/2013; the day after the fee was originally charged. If Ms. ******** has any additional questions, she is welcome to contact us at 1-800-266-7277.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


It's not funny; from the first post the water company was mentioned. The problem is you and your refusal to admit it. I will not contact you to settle what you are not willing to. All  I see is blame being placed on me or the vendors.the 114.30 on the 3rd paid yet charged again on the 15th that is the issue you insist on ignoring. No matter what's presented from vendor and corespondence; evidence that shows it was paid and done on the third. 
You are placing me in between a rock and a hard place, what more could you possibly need to have you admit your "mistakes"? I have proof and all I am getting is a "Nope, it's the vendors fault, I'm so sorry you aren't satisfied with our choice of action. This is why you should be responsible for how you spend, we were nice enough to refund the NSF fee that you are totally to blame for". 


******* ********

Business Response: As stated in previous responses, all transactions mentioned in Ms. ********'s BBB complaints have been addressed and we have provided the dates the clients transactions were presented for payment, down to the minute, and posting dates for those transactions. We have attempted to explain to the client that the information provided by the merchant is a record of their receipt of her payment and not a reflection of the date the payment was processed with BBVA Compass. This time delay between purchase and collection of payment is inherent when processing transactions between two separate entities.

A thorough review of Ms. ********'s complaint and her account transactions have been made and no bank error has been found. Despite this, we have refunded the insufficient funds fee the client was charged, as a courtesy, and thus satisfied the client's request for information and a refund.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam, I found 3 fraudulent charges on my BBVA Compass credit card that were made somewhere in Louisiana on June 11, 22 and 23, 2012. I did not make these charges, and I have not visited Louisiana in several years. All along I have acted in good faith, followed BBVA Compass's instructions, and trusted that BBVA Compass would reimburse me. Not only have they failed to do that, but worse they have provided the most incredibly horrible customer service I can imagine. At one point I was threatened as you will see below. I hope the BBB can resolve this before I begin a legal process where I intend to recover damages for pain, suffering, lost work time, lost interest, and other monies I may be owed. These are the events that have transpired. We have copies of all the forms and emails used during this complaint. -July 2, 2012 I received my credit card bill, and called BBVA Compass to report fraudulent charges and cancelled my card. BBVA Compass emailed a claim form (email copy to be provided on request). I was not informed at that time of any deadline to return that form. -July 23, 2012 I mailed the claim form (copy available) to the BBVA Compass address in the email. The form was completely filled out. I received no response from BBVA Compass. -Jan 2, 2013 I called BBVA Compass to inquire what happened and was instructed to fax form again to BBVA Compass -Jan 2, 2013 I went to BBVA Compass Stassney Lane branch, and had a BBVA Compass employee fax the forms (fax copy available) -March 8, 2013 I called BBVA Compass and was told they hadn't received faxed forms. I was instructed to email forms and did so (email copy available). Once again I was ignored after the email. -March 27, 2013 I called BBVA Compass and was informed that form was incomplete, and was told to resend form via email (email copy available). I asked why I hadn't been called by BBVA Compass informing me my form was incomplete, but was told they do not contact customers in that situation, which I find to be unbelievable. -March 28, 2013 I received email from BBVA Compass informing again of an incomplete form (email copy available) -April 5, 2013 I sent forms again via email (copy available). I never heard back from BBVA Compass, and never received a credit. -Late April (I can retrieve the exact date if needed) - I called BBVA Compass, and after about an hour phone call, I was informed my claim would was denied, and that BBVA Compass could offer some sort of points. I asked to speak to a manager, and was threatened that if I did so, I would lose the points offer. I finally spoke to a manager, who informed me that she would call me back. I never heard back. -Late June (I can provide a date later)-I visited the Austin BBVA Compass branch to resolve try again to resolve the issue. I was informed a week later that my claim would not be honored -September 3, 2013-my partner contacted ****** **********, Austin BBVA Compass branch manager, to attempt to resolve issue -September 4, 2013-emailed history and the forms and documents used during this complaint to ****** **********, Austin BBVA Compass branch manager Thank you for addressing this complaint. Sincerely, ***** ********

Desired Settlement: We want the following: 1. Check in the amount I am owed, plus interest, sent to my address 2. Some kind of additional compensation for the pain, suffering, and lost work time 3. A written apology from BBVA Compass, along with an explanation of what transpired, including what was done with my complaint, sent to my address 4. All of the above must occur within 14 business days from receipt of complaint by BBVA Compass

Business Response:

We are in receipt of Ms. ******** BBB complaint regarding a credit card dispute at BBVA Compass. We sincerely apologize that we were unsuccessful in our commitment to provide a positive customer service experience. Ms. ******** complaint indicates that we did not take ownership to resolve her issue in a timely manner and this was immediately addressed with the management team over Bankcard Disputes. We truly value our client's relationship with BBVA Compass and are committed to improving the overall customer service experience. We have established a bank wide initiative focusing on quality and "Passion for Customer" initiatives. We are listening client feedback is very important in helping us reach our goals.

Our records indicate that this dispute was placed over a year ago and therefore is taking longer than usual for us to research the claim. We appreciate Ms. ********' patience while we research her issue.  We will respond soon with a more definitive resolution.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we again sincerely apologize for the service Ms. ******** experienced and thank her for her business. njm

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

While we appreciate BBVA's positive response, we reject it until they refund our money.  Their response only says they will research this complaint.  We would like to know what their timeframe is for resolving this.  A two-week timeframe is more than reasonable from their admission that they didn't handle this well.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: We again apologize for the inconvenience to Ms. ********; however, we have had to order copies of records from our central file storage facility since it has been more than a year since the original dispute was placed. These may take some time to retrieve, but we will do our best to get a finalized answer within 2 weeks from today, 9/25/13, as Ms. ******** has requested. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It doesn't resolve my complaint.

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBVA Compass has cut their costs back so much to bare nickel that they do not have adequate customer service support. Because during my summer months without my teaching income from my main source, I do not meet their minimum direct deposit requirements & therefore now receive a monthly service charge during my leanest three months of the year! Upon entering the Leander branch, there is only one sole teller employee to handle customers inside as well as though in the drive through. There were three drive in lanes with cars that I had to wait for them to be serviced first before me, waiting inside at the counter. The only other employee, manager or loan officer or??? was in an office with someone. I voiced my concerns to the teller once I finally was receiving her attention, all she could say or do is apologize for my concerns. Meaning nobody of management would ever hear or know of my concerns. I inquired since I am now being charged a monthly fee does that mean I will at least receive an actual paper statement since I was paying for it, she said that I would not, it would still require an additional $3 to receive a statement. So basically until my income picks back up in September I will be paying them almost $12 a month to continue doing the same they have done for me the rest of the year for $0! I am so frustrated not to have anyone to voice my concerns to that I telephone the 1-800 # when I get home. The operator once I finally get transferred, on hold a total of 21 minutes, takes my information & tells me someone from CCU (Customer Care Unit) will call me the very next morning. This all started on July 20, 2013. No call ever came the next morning. I followed up 3-4 more times filing my concerns & repeatedly being told I would receive a call the next day, again never happens! After last filing on July 29, I finally receive a call on August 13! I missed the call & all caller id said was Birmingham, Alabama? I call back to # given on my voicemail & I get voicemail! MORE

Desired Settlement: Would like to have conversation about my concerns with someone that these concerns actually affect in management at BBVA Compass!

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ********** BBB complaint regarding the service he experienced at our banking center and from Client Care.
We sincerely apologize that we were unsuccessful in our commitment to provide a positive customer service experience. Mr. ********** complaint indicates that
we did not respond to his concerns in a timely manner. BBVA Compass is committed to improving the overall customer service experience establishing a bank wide initiative focusing on quality and “Passion for Customer” initiative. We are listening and Mr. ********** feedback is very important in helping us reach our goals.

Our records indicate that, after his issue was escalated on 7/29/13, Client Care attempted to contact Mr. ******** on August 2nd and a
message was left on his voice mail with the contact information for our agent. This indicates that, while we attempted to contact the customer, we failed to do so within our standard turn around time of 48  business hours or less and this has been reported to management over Client Care. 

When we did not hear back from Mr. ********, a letter was sent on August 5th inviting him to contact us if he still wished to discuss his issue. Further
investigation revealed that Mr. ********’s issues were addressed when he spoke with a Client Care agent the morning of August 14th. The agent who spoke with the client on the 14th forwarded Mr. ********'s concerns about branch staffing to the regional management team over that office.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we again sincerely apologize for the service Mr. ******** experienced. We thank Mr. ******** for his long time banking relationship with us and for taking the time to contact us about his concerns.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This is my third attempt at typing my response, your system keeps losing all that I have typed.  Heard from branch today, this has been going on for 5 weeks!  I have opened a new account elsewhere & awaiting my direct deposits to change over to my new account & then I will be closing out my BBVA account!  Thank you BBB for your handling, it is a shame to have to contact BBB to hear from your bank! The voicemail they left on 8/2, I had to call long distance to Alabama to respond.  Seriously who makes their customer call at their own expense to resolve issues?  No letter/correspondence ever arrived in my mailbox as they say one was sent out on 8/5, to whom did they send it???  The conversation on 8/14 was once again only happening because I initiated the call, my 5th or 6th attempt!      

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a construction loan Dec 2012 and was countered with a lower amount ($775K)which I accepted in Jan. 2013. In April I went to "close" the loan and was informed my file was not active and I needed to reapply. After reapplying for ($765K loan) and submitting all documents I was told that the original counter no longer stood and they could only give 65% of the original amount($500K) . My income and assets had not changed. I questioned the accuracy of their file, was told that the underwriter would be spoken with and I was amenable to a loan of $650K. I then get documentation showing the information was still in error, with no valid explanation. Completely frustrated having expected financing at this point (its June 2013 now) I say I'll just take the $500K. Days later after my initiation I'm told I have to reapply again (this would be the 3rd time) because apparently when they "spoke" with the underwriter that constituted a counter to their counter and thus I could not go back and accept their original numbers. Now July 2013 I am told that I have to have an additional 10% cash at closing because I have a cost plus contract. In April I gave my main contact ***** ****** (512) ******** all of my documentation and in my conversations with her and in my good faith estimate it did not show an extra 10percent required.Over the 7+ month process, ***** ****** had major surgery, which I was not informed nor did I get any other notification of the fact nor was my filed given to an available person - my emails and phone calls went unanswered for several days by her as well as by the agent's assistant, *** *********. The appraisal on the property was done sloppily and was inaccurate (which I paid $841). I never got an explanation about the errors in my file except that apparently the "processor" was inept and had too many cases. This is not my first time financing a property, but it is the WORST experience I have ever had applying for a loan.

Desired Settlement: Refund of Appraisal fee of $841

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ********
BBB complaint regarding the processing of his loan application. Mr. ********’s
complaint indicates that we have not taken ownership to resolve his issue in a
timely and appropriate manner and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience
this may have caused. BBVA Compass is committed to improving our
overall customer service experience and all out client's feedback is important
to us. 



Our
management team over Lending was immediately addressed upon receiving your
complaint. At this time we do not have a resolution; however, we are working to
resolve this issue and appreciate your patience while we find a solution. We
will update this case very soon.




Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The response from the business is not a resolution.  They are merely delaying resolving the issue.  It does not appear that anything has been done except an automated response to the BBB.  I would like my appraisal fee refunded from the bank.


Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: We ask that Mr. ******** please review our response submitted 8/5/13:


We appreciate Mr. ********** patience while we reviewed the BBB case regarding his loan application. We sincerely apologize that we were unsuccessful in our commitment to provide a positive customer service experience. Mr. ********** complaint indicates that we did not take ownership to resolve his issue in an appropriate and timely manner. This was immediately addressed with the management team over Mortgage Lending.

BBVA Compass is committed to improving the overall customer service experience. We have established a bank wide initiative focusing on quality and “Passion for Customer” initiatives. We are listening and our clients’ feedback is very important in helping us reach our goals.

A thorough review of Mr. ********** situation and loan application is in progress. Our mortgage lending team is working diligently to see if we will be able to offer Mr. ******** a loan product that will meet his needs; once a decision has been made, a Mortgage Banking Officer will contact Mr. ********. In the meantime, BBVA Compass will issue a full refund of Mr. ********** appraisal fee within the next 7 to 10 business days.
On behalf of BBVA Compass we again sincerely apologize for any inconveniences Mr. ******** may have experienced and thank him for giving us this opportunity to meet his financial needs.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a new home mortgage loan via a telephone service rep, ***** *******, and have had trouble getting the inaccuracies on the application updated. While speaking with the loan specialist we discussed options for securing a loan, the required documents needed, and a potential closing date. However, an issue arose while attempting to conduct an online electronic signature. The purpose of the signature was to approve the loan application and confirm I reviewed it before submission. Yet, the form had a higher interest rate than what we discussed. So, I immediately emailed **** ******* requesting assistance with the online site and was reluctant to get her on the phone. This took place on Wednesday, July 3, 2013. So, I continued to reach out to other associates for assistance including her supervisor, ***** ******. Her supervisor, was nice at first but his voice began to raise with irritation from assisting me. He began to over talk me to prove his point and he was very impolite. After several phone calls and threats to remove my finances from the bank, my loan application was finally corrected on July 9, 2013.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to know who can be reached directly in upper management should I continue to proceed with a home mortgage with this institute. In addition, I'd like a response explaining why it took several attempts over several days to have a loan specialist contact me regarding an error on my loan application. Should I have been contacted sooner, I may have been able to meet the deadline to obtain a pre-approval for the home I have now lost a contract.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Ms. *********** BBB complaint regarding
the service she received while attempting to resolve an issue related to her
mortgage loan application. BBVA Compass strives to provide the best in customer
service and Ms. *********** complaint indicates that we did not take ownership
to address her issue in a timely and appropriate manner. We sincerely apologize
to Ms. ********* for her poor service experience and the issue mentioned in Ms.
*********** complaint was immediately addressed with our management team over
Telephone Mortgage Lending.

We truly value Ms. *********** relationship with BBVA
Compass and are committed to improving the overall customer service experience.
We have established a bank wide initiative focusing on quality and “Passion for
Customer” initiatives. We are listening and our clients’ feedback is very
important in helping us reach our goals.

Ms. *********** complaint indicates that the issue which
prompted her to contact our sales agent has been resolved; however, she requested
the name of a management team member who she can contact if any issues arise
for her again in the future. We ask that Ms. ********* please feel free to ask
to speak with ***** **********, Mortgage Sales Manager, if she is in need of
additional assistance. On behalf of BBVA Compass, we again sincerely apologize
for any inconvenience Ms. ********* may have experienced and thank her for
banking relationship.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,


****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I were asked, by ***** ****, to let Compass Bank do a Refinance with them (BBVA Compass) back in February, 2013 - she told us if something went wrong and they couldn't do a loan with us we would get our Appraisal Fee of $400.00 back - in May we get a call from the Title Company stating we'd be closing in the next few days....then in the meantime, we receive an e-document (email) from the processor, ********* *******, stating that they were unable to continue with our loan due to the way the loan was structured...no phone calls were returned. My husband (******** *****) finally was able to get through to the Loan Officer, ****** *****, when he called about getting our money back - Victor stated that Appraisal Fees were not refundable.....my husband told him that ***** **** told us if Compass Bank couldn't end up doing our loan we would get that money back - he said "you need to speak with her about it"......after many phone calls, etc. ***** said to go back to the mortgage department because her branch couldn't return our money......so basically we are getting the "run-around" by going back and forth after she told us there was no risk by paying the $400.00 Appraisal Fee - we want our money back since they couldn't do the loan as we were told.

Desired Settlement: Return the $400.00 Appraisal Fee that was refundable if Compass Bank could not do our loan

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. and Mrs. Kmiec’s BBB complaint regarding their mortgage refinancing application with BBVA Compass. We would
like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience the ****** may have experienced while attempting to resolve their issue.

Our records indicate that Mr. and Mrs. ***** were informed at the time of application that their non-refundable appraisal fee would not be
charged until after their credit and financial records were reviewed and the loan preliminary approved. Once the preliminary approval was obtained, the
appraisal was conducted and the fee was charged for this service. Ultimately, because of Texas mortgage lending rules, we were not able to offer a cash-out
refinance as Mr. and Mrs. ***** originally requested. Instead, we were able to offer the Kmiec’s a refinancing of the balance owed on their original mortgage.
Mr. and Mrs. ***** chose to decline that offer.

 The appraisal fee pays for a third party to survey and document the condition of the client’s home. Careful consideration has been taken while reviewing Mr. and Mrs. ******* complaint and in this case the appraisal service was properly performed and the Kmiec’s were provided a copy of their appraisal. Therefore, BBVA Compass will
not be able to refund the appraisal fee as requested.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, I again sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Mr. and Mrs. ***** may have experienced and it is our hope
that they will reconsider their lending options with us.




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: their employee told us face to face the appraisal fee would be returned if they ended up not being able to do a loan...it is not our fault she was wrong ....and therefore they should stand behind their employee and return the 400.00....my company has to pay for our mistakes...we have to cut checks for re-recording documents for our clients if we were at fault...so why doesn't compass not stand up for their employees mistake instead of just calling their customer of over 20 plus years a liar?

Regards,

***** *****





























Business Response: We again sincerely apologize for any inconveniences Mr. and Mrs. ***** may have experienced related to this mortgage application. BBVA
Compass was able to extend a lending offer to our clients; however, the client chose to decline that offer because the terms they sought were ultimately
unavailable. BBVA Compass and our employee are not responsible for the clients’ decision to decline the offer that was presented to them. Mr. and Mrs. ***** agreed to the appraisal by signing the appraisal authorization which indicated that the appraisal fee is non-refundable. Additionally, Mr. and Mrs. ***** were provided with a copy of
the appraisal and because this service was performed satisfactorily, we cannot refund the appraisal fee.

As stated before, BBVA Compass is disappointed that Mr. and 
Mrs. ***** chose not to accept the lending terms we offered but we hope that we
will be able to serve them in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: compass bank (***** ********) called and asked if i wanted to refinace my home, i started the process and once the appraiser called me and told me he had to take pictures of every room in my home for the loan, i promptly stopped it. appraiser never came out and i prepaid 441.00 on my credit card that was taken on 6-4. nothing was ever done appraisal wise so i was entitles to a full refund. both ***** and ******** ******* agreeed i would get the money refunded since nothing was done. but on 6-17 compass only returned 425.00 of it. i've tried repeatedely to contact compass bank and no one knows anything. spend hours on the phone to no avail. no contact back after leaving messages? i want the rest of the money they took. 16.00

Desired Settlement: return the 16.00 you were not entitled to. would be nice if they called and took care of it instead of me spending hours on the phone complaining. ************

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ******** BBB complaint regarding a $16 loan application fee. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize
for any inconvenience Mr. ****** may have experienced while attempting to resolve this issue.

Our records indicate that the $16 portion of the fee that was not refunded to Mr. ****** was not related to the appraisal. This was a
non-refundable fee that was disclosed to the client as a fee for obtaining his credit history. Since the credit report was obtained, we cannot refund the fee
for this service. It is my understanding that this has been explained to Mr. ****** as recently June 28th, 2013.

On behalf of BBVA Compass, we again sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and it is our hope this information helps to resolve Mr.
******** issue.




Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a construction loan and was upfront about my timeline. My initial loan amount requested (December 2012) was countered with a lower amount which I accepted in Jan. 2013. I went to "close" the loan and was informed my file was not active and I needed to reapply. After reapplying and submitting add'l documents I was told that the original counter no longer stood and they could only give 65% of the original amount. My income and assets had not changed. I questioned the accuracy of the information in the file, was told that the underwriter would be spoken with and was amenable to an amount 15% lower than the original #. I then get documentation showing the information was still in error, with no valid explanation. Completely frustrated having expected financing at this point (its June 2013 now) I say I'll just take the lowest number they gave me. Days late after my initiation I'm told I have to reapply again (this would be the 3rd time) because apparently when they "spoke" with the underwriter that constituted a counter to their counter and thus I could not go back and accept their original numbers. Throughout the 6+ month process my main contact had major surgery, which I was not informed of before time nor did I get any other notification of the fact nor was my filed given to an available person - my emails and phone calls went unanswered for several days by my main contact as well as by the agent's assistant. The appraisal on the property was done sloppily (which I paid $800+) and was not accurate. I never was able to get an explanation about the errors in my file except that apparently the "processor" was inept and had too many cases. This is not my first time financing a property, but it is the WORST experience I have ever had applying for a loan and I still do not have the financing in place!!! I have over $1M in assets and a credit score well above 700, timely provided my documentation and yet am still waiting....

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want my financing and to close as soon as possible. I also think getting a discount on their fees is well deserved.

Business Response: We are in receipt of Mr. ********** BBB Complaint regarding his construction loan application and sincerely apologize for the service he has received. While attempting to research Mr. ********** complaint, we have not been unable to locate any information for the customer with the information provided in the initial complaint. If possible, would Mr. ******** be able to provide us with a loan application number and the name of his loan officer or contact person here at BBVA Compass. As soon as we receive this information we will be able to address Mr. ********** specific concerns. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service