Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Automotive

Phone: (254) 772-7279 Fax: (254) 772-7516 4605 Staton St, Waco, TX 76710 http://www.advancedautomotivewacotx.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 1998 Business started: 11/17/1997 Business started locally: 11/17/1997 Business incorporated 01/03/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Klaus, President Kyle Mccoy
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Klaus, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Klaus Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 4605 Staton St

    Waco, TX 76710 (254) 772-7279

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off a 1994 Land Rover Range Rover with Advanced Automotive for a repair (replacement) of a transfer case. Upon picking up the truck after the work was performed, the truck made a loud rattling sound upon start of the engine. As the truck did not make the sound when I dropped off the truck, I immediately went back inside and spoke to Advanced Automotive. As my colleague had dropped me off, we made arrangements to drive the truck to my office and return it the next day. I did so and Advanced Automotive phoned me the next day stating that the issue was that the catalytic converter was making the noise and needed to be replaced. I stated that the problem was not present at time of delivery to Advanced Automotive. I asked if the catalytic converter was removed when the transfer case was replaced. Advanced Automotive stated that it was. I then pointed out that a catalytic converter doesn't magically come apart when removed or installed on an automobile. Advanced Automotive stated that it was not their fault nor their responsibility. I left and filed a dispute with my credit card which Advanced Automotive disputed again. Left with a broken truck, I drove home. The next day while driving the truck, it overheated as a result of the broken catalytic converter. That repair will now cost me $8,000.

Desired Settlement: At the very least, Advanced Automotive needs to refund the job cost and compensate me for damage they caused to my truck.

Business Response: In reference to Complaint ID ******** and
repairs performed on the customer's vehicle (1994 Land Rover with over 200,000 miles), documented on the attached Repair
Order ******** and dated April 9, 2013, this letter shall serve as a detailed
explanation why Advanced Automotive WILL NOT refund the job cost nor provide
compensation. The customer has previously been denied a refund by his credit
card company based on the facts presented by our Establishment to ******** ******* on May
14, 2013.

According to the customer's previous
reasons for dispute, the customer claimed:

1. "that whatever your establishment did made car worse."

2. "during the process created more problems", and

3. "your Establishment won't take
responsibility."

And now the customer claims the truck overheated as a result of
the internally damaged catalytic convener,

The service our Establishment provided
included removal and replacement of the transfer case which is detailed on the
attached Repair Order. The customer drove his vehicle away from our property and returned the following day claiming that
there was a "rattling noise." Upon additional inspection, our
technicians discovered that the catalytic converter was coming apart internally. The damage to the catalytic converter is
unrelated to the services performed on the transfer case assembly by our
technicians. Our company response is as follows:

1. The customer's vehicle was brought in for service because it would not
engage the gears, making the car unable to be driven. As noted on the Repair
Order, the transfer case had internal damage to the gearing and main shaft. In
order to make the requested repairs, several systems and assemblies had to be
removed to reach the transfer case and make the necessary repairs. When the
vehicle was reassembled and tested, the
vehicle was restored to driving condition (tested ok), In summary
on this point, the vehicle was unable to be driven before the repairs and then
able to be driven after the repairs. With the admission by the customer that
our Establishment "did what was requested," the claim that our Establishment "made the car
worse" is invalid,

2. The removal of the exhaust system is required to reach the transfer case
and perform the necessary repairs. Removal of the exhaust system requires
unbolting the system as a whole and at no time was the catalytic converter
disassembled from the system. Once the exhaust system is removed, it is laid to
the side during the repairs and then reassembled as a
whole unit, in the customer's own words "a catalytic convener doesn't
magically come apart". In summary on this point, removal of the exhaust
system as a whole does not "create more problems" by causing internal
damage to the catalytic converter as an individual part. The internal damage is
unrelated to removal of the entire exhaust system.

3. The customer requested that our Establishment check his vehicle for not
going into gear. As detailed on the attached Repair Order, our technicians
assessed the problem, received approval to make the necessary repairs and also replaced the
transfer case assembly with a used unit supplied by the customer. The
subsequent "rattling noise" and discovery of the internal damage to the catalytic converter is unrelated to
the repairs and service to the transfer case assembly provided by our
Establishment. In summary on this point, our Establishment provided the requested
service and was appropriately compensated for services rendered. Our
establishment will NOT "take responsibility" for any unrelated
subsequent problems that are not a direct result of the service provided by our
technicians.

When the customer was notified of the catalytic converter coming apart internally, he denied further
repairs by our Establishment_ By his own admission, he "left with a broken truck". Advanced Automotive can not be held responsible for what may or may
not have happened as a result of the customer continuing to drive a vehicle with a known problem. To date, the
customer has not provided any written documentation to prove that the vehicle
overheated other than the filing of this complaint.

If you have questions concerning our position
in this matter or need any further details or explanations, please contact our
office between normal business hours, 8:00am to 5:30 pm (Central Time).