Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Austin's Automotive Specialists

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 442-7731 Fax: (512) 444-9362 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 3501, Austin, TX 78764 http://www.austinsautomotivespecialists.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full Service Automotive Repair and Maintenance Centers. We repair and service all makes and models of vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Austin's Automotive Specialists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Austin's Automotive Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1979 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 05/15/1979 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve McCurry, Operations Mr. Johnnie Whitlock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve McCurry, Operations
Business Category

Auto - Emissions Testing Brake Service Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Master Card, Visa, American express, Discover, Debit cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
12month/24,000 mile warranty on brakes and most repairs. some parts and service may have as little as 90day/4000 mile warranty or 12 month/12,000 mile warranty if that is all the parts manufacturer provides on the parts.
Alternate Business Names
Austins Automotive Specialists
Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Austin's Automotive Specialists has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    118 Trademark St

    Buda, TX 78610 (512) 312-2177

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12990 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78750 (512) 331-5166

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1303 S Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 447-7992 (512) 442-7731

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1417 W William Cannon Dr

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 440-8878

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1607 W Parmer Ln

    Austin, TX 78727 (512) 834-0604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1800 S Ih 35

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1915 S Bell Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 250-8381

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    303 S Fm 620 Rd

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (512) 266-0637

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3996 E Highway 290

    Dripping Springs, TX 78620 (512) 858-2796

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8405 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 339-4199

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 3501

    Austin, TX 78764

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/19/16, Saturday, I ****** ******* dropped off my Mazda MPV Van for repair at the Austin Automotive Specialists. The Van was having some mechanical issues. It jerks at low speed like the power or the engine would die. The mechanic/manger ******* ***** charged me $98 for diagnostics. Manger ******* ***** informed me over the phone on 3/19/16 that the Van, Mazda MPV needed a tune up. The van needed 6 spark plugs, 3 ignition coils, 3 ignitions Coil Boot Kit and a fuel inj kit. He gave me a quote including 10% discount. I trusted him and agreed to have the repairs done. One 3/21/16 at 6pm, my wife and I picked up the van. She drove it home. After I got home, she told me the van was not fixed because it jerked and at each traffic stop, the idle was weak. On 3/22/16, my wife drove the van to the store where it almost lost power. She immediately drove back home. I called ******* *****, the manger. He told me to bring it back. On 3/23/16 in the morning, I drove the van back to the shop. I explained to Mike that the van was misdiagnosed and it was not fixed at all. He was kind of upset. Later on or around 12pm, he (******* *****) called me and said that the van’s EGR valve had blown out a fuse. He replaced the fuse and now everything was fine. That evening at 6pm, I drove my wife to pick the van up. After we got home, she told me the van was still not fixed. It was still shaking, jerking, and low idle as if it was going to lose power. On 3/24/16, I called ******* ***** again with the same issues. He told me over the phone that the EGR Valve needs to be replaced because that’s what is causing the problem. Mike was unable to tell me the cost for the EGR valve. He (******* *****) told me to bring the van to his shop, so he could see what specific valve (EGR) to order. I did not trust him (******* *****) anymore with the repair, so I took the van to the Mazda dealership (Roger Beasley Mazda) on 3/24/16. After I explained the scenarios to the technician regarding what ******* ***** had told me, the technician at the dealership told me that the EGR Valve ***s not have a fuse. The dealership, Roger Beasley Mazda diagnosed the van. They found that the van had a bad coil, which was number 6 coil. There was no mention of the EGR Valve being the problem. The Van Mazda MPV was repaired. Several days later, I contacted Store Manger ******* *****. He told me his mechanic did replace number 6 coil. But he could not give me a refund because I had the repair done at another shop-dealership. Also I informed Manger ******* ***** that his shop lost the engine cover. He told me that the van did not have it when I brought it to his shop. It was a lie. His shop did not put the cover back on the engine. I noticed the engine cover was missing on 3/24/16 at the dealership when I dropped off the van for repair. On 5/19/16, I faxed him (******* *****) the repair bill from the dealership (Roger Beasley Mazda) and asked him for a refund, also the replacement or the cost of the engine cover. So far he has not responded to my request.

Desired Settlement: A refund

Business Response:

Our response is in the attached documents.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
This response came directly from their attorney. ******* ***** is evidently hiding the facts about his failure to fix my vehicle (Mazda MPV) as promised/guaranteed. I did not have the above conversation with *****; it is a fully fabricated story. Please refer to my original complaint for facts and time lines. I will not give ***** nor his attorneys any hints just in case I might have to go to court.

I have already mailed to ******* *****  the repair receipt from Mazda dealership showing the actual repair that was needed to fix the vehicle (# 6 coil). Also I requested a replacement or the cost of the engine cover that was not returned with my vehicle.

Also, Manager ***** should acknowledge that I have been doing business with his shop/him for almost a decade at the same location. This is very disappointing.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Mr. *******, Has a copy of the signed (his signature) repair order. The work order is a legal binding document, Mr. ******* needs to go to our web site and read all the terms and conditions of our warranty. All warranties state what is required of not only the business but also what is required of the customer. Again it is a legal and binding document in the court of law. Under the warranty and backed up by state law the customer is required to give the business the opportunity to honor its warranty regardless of emotions. This has been proven again and again in the courts and if Mr. ******* wishes a Judge to make it clear to him, then so be it. Austin's Automotive Specialists has received no correspondence from Mr. *******. Any correspondence would have been irrelevant, the Warranty is the legal binding document.  Since this is now becoming a legal court issue the BBB needs to step out of it because it has no jurisdiction or legal standing to pursue any arbitration. To make it simple for Mr. ******* to understand, if I hire a painter to paint my house and I am not happy. I cannot go and hire another painter then send the first one a bill when the first painter would have been more than happy to come back and redo anything that needed to be touched up or redone. The courts have always upheld this, time after time after time. One cannot spend another's money without consent. Mr. ******* chose to spend his own money instead of returning for warranty. His decision his expense.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Based on the responses received, Again, Attorney **** **** ***, failed to read my complaint. Or his client lied to him. Please attorney **** **** ***,  read my complaint for insight.  I have proof against everything  you have said thus far.

I will not reply to any more correspondence unless it is an offer from Austin's Automotive Specialists.

"INTEDRITY IS DOING THE RIGHT THING EVEN WHEN NO ONE IS WATCHING."   *** *****

Regards,

****** *******

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After my car had to be jump-started on 6/21 and again on 6/22, I made an appointment with AAS to get it looked at. On 6/22 I brought it in, and explained the following about the problem: 1. My car needed a jump-start, but I was able to drive 1.5 hours afterward 2. My battery is less than a year old 3. I have not experienced any electrical issues such as dimming lights They said replacing the battery and alternator would fix the problem, and they did so that day. On 6/23, after the "repair", I had to again jump-start my car. Obviously, the issue wasn't fixed. I brought the car in, and let them know it wasn't fixed. They looked at the brake (after I told them I noticed the brake light was on) but said there was nothing wrong, and sent me home. At this point, I still have no successful repair. I brought it to a different mechanic who found the issue, having to do with the brake's spring, and he indicated I wasted my money replacing the battery, alternator, and belt. This is backed up by the fact that I drove 1.5 hours with no issues after a quick jump-start. I've contacted ***** *******, the manager of AAS, and a gentleman from the customer service number (I lost his name). After several back-and-forth calls where I had to follow-up constantly (even though they promised to call me many times), ***** offered $150 store credit. I told him that was not good enough, and he said that's all they'll do. I offered to split the bill, or to have a $150 refund, and he refused.

Desired Settlement: I wish to get a full refund since the work performed did not fix the issue I went in for.

Business Response: Mr. ******** came in with the complaint of having had to jump start his car. he also requested a free ac check and inquired about a tune up. First step of course is to have a technician do a starting/charging electrical diagnosis of the vehicle, based on the customers information and description of problem.  the tech started where he was supposed to start and check the CCA (cold cranking amps) of the battery this determines the actual state of the battery as far as its ability to do its job. Mr. ******** battery failed (see technicians hand written notes as well as the tech notes transferred to the customers final receipt). the next step the technician took was to determine why a battery claimed to be less than 3 years old would fail so the charging system was checked. The tech found that the alternator was only putting out 10 volts. An alternator is supposed to put out around 14 volts to be able to keep a 12 volt battery charged. Mr. ******** alternator needed to be replaced prior to replacing the battery or the new battery would be destroyed quickly as Mr. ******** existing battery had.

We gave Mr. ******** the estimate for his main concern of the no start issue and then we also gave him an estimate for his additional requests. ( all of which are included in the attachments). Mr. ******** agreed with our assessment and the repairs were performed with his approval. He ******** claim we told him by replacing the battery and alternator that his issues with the battery and alternator would be fixed. it has been fixed the battery and alternator are working fine as we noted on the repair order when Mr. ******** returned with additional issues. It appears Mr. ******** is under the impression that we are responsible for items (parts) that we did not replace. We are not. If Mr. ******** would refer to the bottom of his estimates he will see the following statement" I understand that Brake Specialists (Austin's Automotive Specialists) contract to replace worn, broken parts for maintenance or preventive maintenance reasons. once replaced, additional service may be needed to resolve a particular or hidden problems". Simply put if Mr. ******** came in complaining of his brakes lights staying on and we replaced his brake light switch, he would now be complaining that we missed his bad battery and alternator. We addressed the issues that Mr. Tomkins brought to our attention. had he mentioned the intermittent problem with his brake lights we could have addressed it at the same time.
however it would and did not have any bearing for the need for the battery and alternator replacement.

Our technician did his job. he found and confirmed a problem and Mr. ******** approved the repair. Now because some mechanic has made an accusation, an assumption without and facts to back it up, Mr. ******** wants money back.  there is nothing other than speculation, based on an additional needed part, and the money he had to spend to fix his own car that is behind this demand for a refund for services rendered. Mr. ******** feelings are not facts and the fact that his parts tested bad required there replacement. We in an attempt to salvage a customer that has been misled by speculative mechanics elsewhere we offered him a store credit to placate Mr. ******** and keep his business.  It is now obvious, that will not be. Mr. ******** is not due any kind of refund or credit so none will be forthcoming from Austin's Automotive Specialists.

We have been a member of the BBB for over 35 years and are considered an accredited business for a reason. If we are in the wrong we make it right, we even try to make a customer happy by offering free services when they are not entitled, like the credit offer given to Mr. ********. We understand and accept the fact that not everyone will be our customer, but will continue to try. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Using your own words, I "came in with the complaint of having had to jump start [my] car".  Also, I gave additional information you didn't mention including the fact I drove 1.5 hours on a supposedly faulty alternator, and that I had just jumped the battery 5 minutes before bringing it to you.  Also, I brought it to you a second time, mentioning the brake light, and you still couldn't fix it.

In the estimate, you said the alternator, battery, and belt would need to be replace to fix my complaint.  It did not.  The fact that I "agreed with [your] assessment" means nothing because you, as a professional repair shop, should know how to diagnose and fix a common problem such as this.  The fact that the repair cost NEEDED versus the repair cost YOU did is a huge difference is what is really upsetting.  A $50 repair was needed, and I received a $562.09 repair, which is outrageous and a ripoff!
You say "we told him by replacing the battery and alternator that his issues with the battery and alternator would be fixed. it has been fixed the battery and alternator are working fine"  However, I did not come in for "issues with the battery and alternator".  I came in because my car needed to be jumped twice.  And, again, I already had told you I drove 1.5 hours immediately after jump starting the car, another indication there is nothing significantly wrong with the alternator.  
You also say "Our technician did his job. he found and confirmed a problem".  That is NOT doing his job.  Fixing A problem is not the same as fixing THE problem.
If I came in because my headlights didn't work, and you told me my battery needed replacement, #1 I would trust you knew what you're talking about and #2 EXPECT that your recommendation will fix the issue I came in for.  If this does not fix the problem I came in for, then you are just a crook squeezing money out of people that don't know your trade.
I did not get the services I requested.  I requested that you fix the issue that requires me to jump start my car.  You fixed an unrelated problem.

Business Response:

I am sorry if I did not mention all the information you provided. So, I will explain the best I can the probable chain of events (no one can be 100% positive on what failed first). When an alternators output voltage drops the car will still run fine for a period of time. the battery takes up the slack and does its job as long as it can until it is destroyed by the stress and abuse put on it for having to do the work of itself and the failing alternator. So it is most likely the 1.5 hours you drove the car until the point you had to jump it, was the killing blow to your battery.

As far as the brake switch goes, had you know of the issue and mentioned it to us on the first visit we would have checked it, just as we did the second time you brought it in. If the switch could or would have been confirmed on the first visit, it too would have sold to you as part of the repair. However it was not a concern on your first visit and it was working fine on your second. Intermittent problems are more difficult to confirm and we do not sell any customer any work unless it can be confirmed as needed. The switch was working on both visits. It would be a rip off (using Mr. ******** words) if a part was sold without its need being confirmed. 

You apparently think that any car issue would or should only need the replacement of one part. This unfortunately is not always the case, in fact it's rarely the case. most issues start off as one issue but soon cascade into multiple parts due to the fact that most issues do not become obvious until there are multiple issues that combine to be an obvious and sometimes critical issue. We did find and fix needed issues and the only reason there is now a question is because of a hidden problem who was not one of your original concerns, so was not looked into. Again on your second visit the issue was not confirmed either, or we would have sold you a switch at that time.

As far as getting the services you requested, you did. Problems were found and fixed. The fact, again, that there was another issue does not change the fact that the alternator and battery needed replacement. if there was an unrelated issue or problem it was the switch that was unrelated to the failed alternator and battery. Even though you feel different about it I cannot fix or change your feelings, although I can confirm them. Everyone who comes into our shop are treated with respect and we deserve the same. Our reputation with the BBB and the community would not be as excellent as it is, if we were the crooks and rip offs you now claim we are.  

We tried to resolve this with you in a mutually agreeable fashion, you rejected it, so there is nothing more we can do, except acknowledge the dissatisfaction you have with our service. Again, we understand that not everyone will be our customer and I hope that you will find a shop that suits your needs.


?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You keep indicating that I had a "problem [which] was not one of [my] original concern" but my original concern was I needed a jump often.  And if you think the 1.5 hours is what finally killed the battery (adding to the original false diagnosis) then I wonder about the capabilities of AAS in general.  The battery was stone-dead when I jumped it, then started it and drove right away 1.5 hours.  This is definitely an indication that the alternator is generating enough for the car to run properly.  And when I brought it in the 2nd time, you still could not find the issue, even though I gave more information and I still had a problem.  And instead of looking further into the problem, I heard "well the brake switch is fine soooooo....".  Again, you never fixed the problem I came in for, and fixed a different unrelated issue that you claim I had.

You did not "try to find a mutually agreeable resolution", as you say.  You found one that gives you more business after already giving terrible service.  $150 credit does very little in your shop, with your prices, and I already don't trust your work, so why would this be mutually agreeable?  I was the one who asked for only a return on labor costs, less than 50% refund, so we can find a middle ground.  

With one exception, I've found your team to have spoken with respect, and I do appreciate that.  I still hope for a middle ground here, where we can both walk away unscathed.  


5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took Car on June , 2014 to get a Brake Job done. Was charged $844.60 for repairs and Had to take car back on 3 occasions to check work because there was still a problem with the making noise when you apply them. (squeaking and grinding). After hearing 3 different excuses such as they had to adjust themselves, we couldn't find anything wrong and you are good to go. The problem just got worse so I decided to take the car to another shop to find out what the problem was. The problem was that the RF inner pad installed wrong bent pad, LF overheated pads and Rotor had excessive heat spots.. It cost me 254.28 to get the brakes fixed properly

Desired Settlement: The business should apologize and reimburse to me the money that I had to pay to get their inferior repair corrected.

Business Response: I completely agree with Ms. *******. It is unfortunate for a second visit, which can sometimes happen. However a third is unacceptable. Ms. ******* will of course be refunded the $254.28 she paid elsewhere to resolve the brake noise issue. I sincerely apologize for her inconvenience and frustration over the matter.

***** *******

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After discovering a pinhole in my rear brake line, I took the vehicle to Brake Specialists, telling them that I needed a new brake line. They phoned latter with a long list of "issues" along with an estimate. I stated that just replace the brake line.Upon my return to ********, I took the vehicle to my mechanic to address the other repairs that Brake Specialists had noted. While my mechanic was fixing the repairs, he noticed the "new" brake line was "fixed" using a compression fitting. He then called the vehicle inspection unit of the ******** Highway Patrol to ask if that was a proper fix. The answer was NO, that is an illegal and dangerous repair.I then called ***** *******, Shop *******, Brake Specialists at the noted business location on 10/10/14 (2:33 pm) and told him I had a complaint regarding what I thought was a new brake line only to find out a shoddy and illegal repair had been made. He stated that he would look into it and let me know. Today is 10/15 and I've heard nothing.I won't reveal the cost of the shoddy work performed by this business, but I will state that the cost to correct the shoddy work plus make the other repairs, including new rear brake shoes, replace brake pads, replace rear axle seals and parking brake by my mechanic was the same as that charged by Brake Specialists to perform the shoddy and illegal repair.Austin area residents and well as others needing brake work should be alerted to potentially dangerous repairs made by this location.

Desired Settlement: The cost estimate by my mechanic to replace my requested work, that being "just replace the rear brake line" and associated brake fluid work, etc. is $200.00. If Brake Specialists would refund the difference, I would consider that an equitable settlement.If that or something similar is not proposed, I would ask that this complaint be noted in the Better Business Bureau's records for future potential customers to consider before they have repairs performed here.

Business Response:

I have looked into the customers concern and agree with his assessment. he will be reimbursed for the repairs to correct the issue.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday September 18. 2014 I stopped in at the Break Specialist Total Car Care shop on **** **** ****** **** ******* ** *****. I explained to the service man at the counter that upon trying to unlock my door with the keyless entry I noticed that the doors wouldn't unlock nor did the lights flash or the alarm sound. I explained that upon unlocking the door manually the I discovered that nothing on the dash would display lights nor would the the doors unlock nor where there any lights dispaying outside of the vehicle.They asked if I had brought it in. I advised that the truck started up just fine and I was able to drive it fine. They took the car and informed me that it was a cetral timing module that was needed to resolve the issue. I left the truck with them until Saturday. When I returned to acquire my vehicle upon cranking it I noticed that it would not start up. I immediately reurned to the lobby informing the manager ****** that the truck wouldnt start. He then sent his team of servicemen out to look at the vehicle. They started fiddling with the truck finally getting it started. I then informed ****** that the keyless entry and alarm were stil not working. He stated that it's most likely the battery. I paid them $542.13.I left the repair shop and went to ********** Auto Parts purchasing batteries for the remote and still nothing. I then called back and spoke again to ****** the onsite manager. He stated thathe didnt have time that afternoon but I could bering it back next Saturday and he would resolve it. Friday night as I am getting off from work I noticed that the car cut off while idling. I took it to put gas in it and drove it home. It never started up again. Monday Break Specialist have the truck towed back in and Tuesday they call to tell me that one of the truck's computers is no longer feeding signal to have gas sent ahead. They said they could do nothing further for the vehicle it would need to be fixed by the dealership. They refuse to refund my money

Desired Settlement: I just want a refund of what I paid for them originally to fix the SUV. The amount I paid was $542.13

Business Response: We have responded to the customers complaint and have refunded her. This case is closed 

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ****** ** ******** took my vehichle to Break Specialists Plus on **** **** ****** **** ** ****** *****, on said Date of 5/17/2014. in lieu off my ABS light was on and I assumed that I needed breaks, the ABS light had been on for about a week. and after the first chance of a break from school I got, well the next day I took my vehichle to Break Specialists Plus.and I Spoke to The Front desk clerk named ( ***** ****** )! and he had my vehichle serviced through the other employees. and after several days gone by I noticed that the ABS light was still on so I waited a few more days' to see if the ABS light would go off. so I called Break Specialist Plus and spoke to ***** ****** and explained that the ABS light was still on after a week or more. so he instructed me to bring my vehichle back in , and I did. they looked at my vehichle and I was there for over 2 hours' , and ***** ****** came out and tole me that I need to take my vehichle to Chrysler because the Dont' know why the ABS light is still on, and there is Nothing else they can do ! I believe that I was OVER CHARGED ! I took my vehichle in because of The ABS light was and is still on.and I was charged $ 258.97, and I told ***** ****** that my breaks went down to the floor 2x, ( UNSAFE ) ! and also, before I go any further,***** ****** also said to me, that my ABS locking system is stopping me , Not My initial breaks. I can't drive my vehichle as I NEED to. I Need to go and see My Mom in ********, she is alone now , because My Dad passed on June 5th 2013 , and she just had stroke a couple of months' ago. I have not been able to go and see her, because of( FAULTY BREAKS )and I need to go to ******* *** ( URGENTLY ) ! but .....I can't ! I would like a Full Refund of my monies back !since I still have ( NO BREAKS ) ! and I called the Corporate office and have gotten NO Response ! I have been calling for a couple of month's, and No one has returned my call. No One has money to give away !just wanted my Brakes fixed. I'm Dissatisfied ! SKL !

Desired Settlement: I want My Refund of 258.97 of my initial payment and also for Stress and Mental Anguish and for me constantly taking time out of my schedule to call Brake Specialists every day or so.only to get the run around,I spoke to someone named ******* at The Corporate Office on 05/27/2014. and I spoke to someone named ****** at The Corporate Office as well on 06/09/2014, I need information on this matter and would like it to be Resolved ( ASAP) ! Thank You !

Business Response: Ms. ******** came in on 5-17-14 for a free brake inspection with the complaint of "light comes on" please see the attached repair order.  We perform a free inspection prior to charging for any electrical diagnostics becasue many times it is the simple things that end up being the issue.  We found Ms. ********* vehicel had worn out rear brakes and that her berake fluid was low. These findings are stated on the repair order.  A low fluid condition will make the ABS and brake light come on. So the first logical step would be to repair needed items and not go looking for a problem that may not even exist. we explained what we found to Ms. ******** and she approved the repairs.  The vehicle was then sent to our lube center which performed a state inspection. Her car passed without issue. at that time there was no reason to look into the ABS system further, since everything appeared to be working fine.

On 5-21-14 Ms ******** returned saying her light came back on. We reinspected her car and found no obvioue reason for the light so we attempted to retrieve trouble codes from the vechicles computer.  When we found that our scanner could not communicated with the computor we recommended she take it to the dealership since much of their stuff is propriatary and we cannot access it.  I can understand ms. ******** was not happy about being sent to the dealer as most people perfer to avoid the because of the cost. however, sometimes it is the only option. We did not charge Ms. ******** for any ABS diagnostic time. We only sold her the essential needed repairs to her rear brakes and to bleed the old dirty brake fluid from her vehciles braking system.  These repairs were necassary to prevent the brakes from going metal to metal and would have been the first logical thing to do even at the dealership.

Ms. ******** did call the office several times. The man who handles the in shop complaints was out of town and did not reply a promply as Ms. ******** would like so I can understand her frustration. However he did contact the shop manager "*****" who did call Ms. ******** to see what we could do for her and to see what the dealership found.  She did not take her vehicle to the dealer and from what our manager gathered was she does not even have the vehicle anymore. 

If she does not have the vehicle anymore then this case should be immediately dropped. if she has the vehicle then we will honor any and all warranties associated the service and repairs we performed.  We did not repair Ms. ********* ABS system. We repaired what we found worn out at that time. Had we charge her for diagnostics and had been able to actually retrieve the trouble codes and resolve an ABS problem she would have been making a complaint about us missing the rear brake issues letting her car go metal to metal. It is apparent now that she had more than one problem.

Ms. ******** is not due a refund of $258.97, that work has a warranty " if she still has the vehicle". 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Austin's Automotive Specialists
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart