Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Capitol Motorsports Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Motorsports Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol Motorsports Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol Motorsports Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 11, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2005 in TX Business started locally: 12/01/2005 Business incorporated: 12/23/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Martin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Martin, President
Related Businesses
Shreve Automotive eMotion Motor Sports, Inc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 9151 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 821-9955

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I financed a 2008 grand Prix in June, 2014. On August 22, 2014, two days after I paid the car bill, Capitol motorsports towed my vehicle without reasonable cause, not stated in the contract. Thus they did tell me the owner requested it to be picked up on account to me driving recklessly in the dealerships car lot. This has effected my work, professional and personal life. Upon repossessioning the vehicle, they have been irresponsive to my concerns about my personal items and have asked me to remove myself from the property, while I was trying to get more information. I object to the actions from the company and its employees.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the a reimbursement of all the money I have invested in the vehicle as well as insurance payments. I am requesting the dealership remove the repossession from my name. I am requesting to be paid for the days I have missed work. I am requesting an additional 1,220 for emotional distress.

Business Response:

 

9/15/14

 

BBB

Complaint # ********, ********, ********, ******** for ******** ********

 

We sold ******** ******** a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix in June 2014.

In August, she came in to pay her note payment and told us at that time that we were going to get car back and that she was not going to pay for the car. It would be just a matter of time.  She proceeded to tell us how our business was done and how it’s done at other places. She was cursing and being very rude.  This was in front of several employees and customers in our sales building.

When she left the office that day, she drove to the back lot and was running over barricade cones that we use for customer parking.  She was acting erratic and very belligerent. My ******* ******* asked her to leave.

After discussing her behavior with our ******* ******* and other employees that witnessed her, we decided to repossess our vehicle.  Based on her comments, behavior and the way she was driving on our lot, we the right to be cautious and concerned for the safety of our collateral.

In reference to her claim about her belongings, she was here to pick them up the day after the car was dropped off by the towing company.  However, knowing how she acted prior to this, we had an officer present.  He talked with her and let her know our expected behavior while on our property.

 

Resolution – Based on her actions and behavior, she brought this about on herself.  We would much rather have a customer that fulfills their contractual responsibility than a repossessed contract.  However, telling us that she was not going to pay anymore and the reckless driving on our property lead us to believe our collateral was in jeopardy.  We have no responsibility for the monies requested.   

 

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Ford Focus 06, black hatchback from the sales person named Robert at the dealership on May 19th, 2014. Immediately on my way home,(which is an Hour from Austin) I noticed issues with the vehicle. The paint is coming off some parts of the car, it used to be red, the inside doors the fabric is slowly coming off, the floor has holes and damage. The engine ravs up when I turn it on and its not being used. When I break while driving it dangerously bares to each left or right side real strongly. The shifts(its manual) are coming loose. There is a smell of oil coming from the engine. I emailed the dealership several times in between the calls and voice mails I left, with no return calls emails or anything. So I called the dealership to find out when I can bring it in Tuesday May 20th left a message with the voice mail for return call nothing happened, I called the dealership on May 22nd and talked to a sales person and he said he would give the message to Management, no response. I contacted the dealership on Friday and Saturday May 23rd and May 24th and left voice mails with no responses. Today the car would not start, I called the dealership and got someone finally, I was advised that my car's GPS system was turned on and the car is not working because I didn't have insurance, Which is a false statement. I gave my insurance on the day I bought the car, I paid my insurance on the first of this month, the car was insured the whole time, ever since I had it. I had to go and get a picture of my insurance card text it to the guy, he then had the car turned back on. This is the worst experience in my life,. I am disabled I cannot drive all the way to Austin and not know whether they can fix the car or whatever for hours. Stress makes me ill and this has caused me nothing but stress. I have tried to call, left messages, today I asked the manager and got no response in reference to when I can get the car to them for inspection. I am not able to deal with this dealership and the way they have treated me. I have had issues in the past with credit due to a domestic violent relationship, I had to move a lot and got in debt because of all the moves. I am not able to just drive up there to have them tell me come back in a few days. I wanted for someone to call me back tell me when to come there for them to check out the vehicle. I asked for a dependable and affordable vehicle, which is not what I received. I paid 5oo$ down.

Desired Settlement: I want first and far most to not have to be humiliated in the way I was. By not having any of my correspondences answered. No one has ever called or emailed me back. Today was the only time I got a response, and the person on the phone was nice enough to take care of me after he made sure he let me know he didn't believe I had insurance. He was not taking responsibility for the business's errors. I have insurance and they turned off my vehicle for a whole day. But that did not take away from the fact that I was treated wrong and still noone heard my issues with the car as if I was being ignored. I want to exchange the vehicle for another more reliable one. My disability and the stress with this purchase and the run around I have received from the dealership has made me bedridden for days, losing work days. OR I want my money back and for the dealership to take the vehicle back. I don't need anymore stress in dealing with this. I want for them to make right what they did wrong to me, losing time from work and being sick due to this stress that this purchase has cause me. I am willing to obtain a laywer and obtain my doctors notes if needed.

Business Response:

Complaint # ********

We sold ****** a 2006 Ford Focus. She was having some repair issues with her vehicle. We have tried several times to get her in here so that we may take a look at her car. She has yet to bring the vehicle in.

The vehicle was sold "as-is" with no warranty from us or the manufacturer. In addition, we offered her an extended warranty for the vehicle, which she denied. However, we have offered to help her so long as she can bring the vehicle in.

She has been in constant contact with our general manager by text. He has kept all their correspondence for the record. He has told her several times that we can not determine how long it will take to fix unless we can look at the vehicle to determine what is wrong with it. She has stated numerous times that she would bring the vehicle in but still has yet to do so.

Resolution - We would like ****** to come in and let our service dept look at her car so we can have a plan after that.


 

To Whom It May Concern:

Capitol Motorsports Inc. hereby authorizes Grindin Transport Co. to pick up our 2008 Chrysler Pt Cruiser with VIII: 3A8FY581508T224513.

Any questions or concerns please feel free to call ***** *******.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The dealership has not contacted me at all about the issue, I was in the dealership and no one has talked to me for over an hour so I left.

I have not heard from them until they made an error on their part about me not having insurance, which I had the whole time. They are lying about contacting me.

I have yet to hear from them to tell me when to come into the dealership to fix my car.

This is bad business relations, when the dealership lies on BBB like this.

Now I will call them again today and make an appointment for them to look at my car, I will also demand one payment be taken off my payments, due to the stress and lies they have caused. If the issue is fixed I will contact you and advise you of such thing.

Regards,

****** ****

Business Response:

Again, my General Manager has a text string that ends on 6/3 where they discussed this situation. Our response then and in our last reply to this complaint is that ****** needs to schedule an appointment with our service department. I apologize that she feels that she is being mistreated. Her first three paragraphs on her last reply were basically that we have not contacted her. And we have asked her to contact us. Therefore, I understand that she lives an hour away and would like an answer before driving here. Rather than calling for her salesperson or our General Manager, I would like her to call our service manager at ###-###-####. That is the direct line for ****** to call and address her concerns.

7/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/6/14, I purchased a vehicle from this company. I was told that all the paperwork that was signed, would be emailed to me. I tried several attempts to contact the company, but the main line was never answered. I left messages going through the payment line, no one every responded. After 6 weeks, I was notified that my tags were finally in. While at the dealership, picking up my tags, I finally spoke to someone in person. I was told they would get on it, and I would have my paperwork the next day. I texted ****, who sold me my car, and was told he was working on it. I texted one more message to ****, stating if I did not have a response or my paperwork by Friday 6/6/14. I would be reporting that business to attorney generals office and BBB. Today's date is 6/8/14, I have not heard from ****, nor do I have paperwork, that was suppose to be given to me 2 months ago. This company is very hard to contact, a and they do not follow through with what they say. I just want the paperwork to my vehicles purchase

Desired Settlement: I want my paperwork, and I want other people to know about this place, and not to do business with such a dishonest business.

Business Response:

I apologize for your frustration. We are an honest business and care about our customers and our community. We implemented a few months ago a paperless option to get the documents in order to reduce paper usage and waste. Many of our customers preferred a digital option. However, we give the customers the option at signing of paper or digital. l am sorry if you were not given that option and if any of our actions were perceived as dishonest.

I have instructed my General Manager to have our sales person make contact with *****. Also, we will both mail and email executed documents for her files. She will have them no later than Friday 7/10.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *********

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon purchasing my vehicle I was told it was in great condition and had a 30 day warranty on repairs. As I left the car lot, just minutes before closing time, I realized it had a few issues. One major issue was the right front strut. I had called the dealership and they had told me that they could get it in the following monday, 03/03/2014, for a repair. Later that day I took it to the carwash because they failed to wash the vehicle or even clean it out. I found a bag of marajuiana in the back seat. Also as I'm waiting on the automatic car wash I rolled my windows up and turned the air conditioning on. It was almost 85 degrees outside that day. my A/C started blowing, but it was more like the heat rather than A/C. I'm 7 months pregnant and not only is this not tolerable but it's illegal to sell a vehicle in the state of Texas with a non-working A/C. When I brought the vehicle back on 03/03/2014 for repairs I mentioned the A/C to them. They said they had to send it somewhere else cuz they weren't certified to do it. They had ME take it over to "******** **********" on ****** *** They tested it and said it was full of freon and sent me on my way as that's all they were supposed to check. The car lot then took my vehicle and gave me a loaner car to check the A/C and repair the strut. Upon picking the vehicle up the same day jsut before closing they said they repaired the front arm bushing, which I knew wasn't the problem, as well as looked at the A/C and told me it was in working condition. I took it home, and as soon as I hit the first tiny bump in the road I could tell the strut was STILL bad. I called once again and tod them and they schedules me to bring my vehicle in on 03/07/2014. I arrived as tehy opened that very day and they issued me a loaner vehicle while they took mine for repair. I recieved my car back the next day. What do you know, as I'm driving it away, yes they fixed the strut, which they told me WASN'T the issue but my A/C is STILL blowing hot!!....So I called back and they tell me the soonest the can get me in is 03/10/2014, which was yesterday. I got there as tehy opened to drop my car off at 9AM and the ******* ******* refused to give me a loaner vehicle while they kept mine for repair. Now, remember they jsut gave me a loaner on 03/07/2014 when repairing the strut, so I don't see why they won't give me a loaner just 3 days later. I had to go to work within the next hour and I told them if they couldn't give me a loaner in order to fix my A/C I couldn't just leave my vehicle with them. I went to the front sales office and demanded that I talk to the Head of sales, whom sold me my car, and was refused his service and told "go deal with the service department, it's not our issue". I was upset and left crying. My car has been in an unsellable condition from the day I got it. Also, they've had my car for half the time since teh day of purchase. I've got a car payment due this weekend on a vehicle that I can't even get them to fix, yet they expect me to pay on it. Now, I'm going to pay it because it's not how I do business to just not pay, yet I see that they do business all wrong and against Texas state laws!

Desired Settlement: I expect this to be repaired, as well as giving me a loaner like the first repair, or I would gladly take my money back and elsewhere.

Business Response:

4/4/14

 

BBB

Complaint # *******

 

We sold ******* a 2009 Mazda.  She had service issues and we tried to repair them.

The vehicle was sold “as-is” with no warranty from us or the manufacturer.  In addition, we offered her an extended warranty for the vehicle, which she denied.  However, we helped her with a repair issue and it sounds like it is still not corrected.   

We do not offer loaner cars.  We are not a big dealership with a fleet of vehicles for that purpose.  However, our ******* ******* allowed ******* to use a vehicle that we had for sale to use while we had her Mazda in the shop. 

******* has met with our ******* ******* just last week.  He told her that we could either repair the unit or return her money.  She left stating that she would get her Dad’s opinion and get back with us. 

 

Resolution – We would like ******* to come meet with our ******* ******* this week. We want her to be a satisfied customer.  We have accommodated her the best we could and still desire to.

1/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold us a vehicle over the market value by $8,000. They admitted verbally after finalizing the sale with us that we were over charged and sold us an after factory warranty that was already voided before it started since the car had a modification prior to purchase. Within the first 2 months of having this vehicle we had to replace the tires as the wires were showing and we hydroplaned into a curb due to the tires being bad. They changed the tires for us though after having us wait for about 3 hours to just speak to someone. We also have had to replace the clutch and flywheel already, still within the first 2 months, since the purchase of the car the clutch has been slipping. The mechanic informed us that our car was not inspected when received and was not cleaned.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the overage charge plus a reimbursement for the charges we have incurred to replace and repair the items they didn't check from the beginning.

Business Response:

1/2/14

BBB

Complaint # ******* —******** *******

In response to *** *******'s claim, we contracted the 2005 Infinity G35 on 7/22/13. After she worked initially with the salesperson, he was contracted by our F&I *******. At that time, they went over all of the agreed upon terms of the deal and signed all of the standard documents. Such signed documents included, but not limited to:

Buyer's Guide - which states the car is sold AS-IS, with no dealer responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the unit

Delivery and Acceptance —which addresses many things, however includes that the purchaser is satisfied with the unit and that they understand that it sold AS-IS

Installment Sales Contract — which highlights most all of the terms of the financing and that the purchaser has thoroughly inspected, accepted and approved the unit in all respects.

Prior to the purchase, we had performed basic maintenance to the unit including an oil change and inspection. The unit was purchased used and as-is. We are not responsible for what occurs after the sale. The unit went through our shop prior to the sale as our shop ticket was posted to the unit on 7/19.

In regards to the price of the vehicle, the NADA bookout sheet as of 7/19/13 shows a retail value on that date of $13575. Based on their purchase price of $13495, they paid a little less than market value for the vehicle.

Based on the above, we are not responsible for any settlement for the items referred to in this complaint. In purchasing a used car, especially one that is 8 years old, there will be maintenance issues that arise. We apologize that *** ******* feels that we are responsible.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not what was informed to us, we spoke with the head mechanic and were informed that the vehicle was never seen in the shop much less having had an oil change or inspection done. The tires were replaced from this location due to the safety hazard that they caused making my fiancé hydroplane one night into a curb. We have had this car appraised at another dealer, an actual name brand dealer, and were informed that the value was to be around $6000 which was done around November or December of 2013. The information provided by this company doesn't seem to fit what we are being informed by other dealers. We are wanting this looked into by someone that is an un-biased party. If need be I will request and send a copy of the appraisal from said company. I will also be looking over the agreement that was signed at the time of purchase. This car was purchased used but to cause near accidents should not be allowed.

Regards,

******** *******

8/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was turned down by another motosports bike and in a bind due to my gf's transmission just went out on her car and needed a vehicle fast and didnt have time to waste looking at car lots. I've wanted a motorcycle for quite some time so 05/**/13 I came to Capitol Motorsports after being turned down by ***** *** *********** ******. These guys were fast and got me into a bike i like alot and without the hassle. The insurance agent they got for me was a good quote and very reasonable as well as the payments for the bike itself. All in all was a good experience and couldn't ask for any better. Update: 06/**/13 So I purchased the bike 2 days later it rained heavily in Austin and the following events is what happened. 1) The bike stalled in the rain for 2.5hrs and during the course of me having to pull it off the road the bike laid over while it was stationary with less than 2% of the weight of the bike cus I held it up cus I had slipped from pushing it into the parking lot causing the right signal indicator lense to be broken, scratching the edge of both the right brake handle and grip. I called Capitol Motorsports in which they had it towed at their cost to their shop and claimed the battery cables were loose, which in my opinion shouldn't have because they had installed a *** unit onto the bike as well as supposedly had checked the bike over(fluids, hoses, cables, etc). 2) I get the bike back after leaving it for repairs and drove it for a day and realized the bike had NO oil whatsoever as the bike had sat for 6hrs prior to starting it and the oil indicator indicated no oil above or below the Low Line. Ok so I get the bike back and rode it for about a week or less and even went to **** ******* and back to ****** no issues whatsoever. 3)I was at work on Saturday, June *, 2013 I went on lunch break to find a puddle of oil under the bike as I found the lower right fairing had been melted. I took the bike to the shop on the following Monday due to my work schedule. The mechanic proceeded to tell me that the bike had been wrecked in which I replied NO it had not. It had been laid over due to the bike being laid over from the previous issue as well as the mechanic had said someone had sprayed oil on my chain, in which I had laughed cus I work at a Federal building with 6 security guards and 3 cameras in and outside the facility total and thats all before i even get passed the front door/gate. I had asked the manager to repair the fairing damage as well as the oil leak on the bike due to it supposedly being "new" and within less than 30 days of me purchasing the bike. He told me they wouldn't repair the fairing and that the bike wasn't leaking and the chain linkage was correct. I asked that they put it all in writing and I have a copy and that they note my concerns. 4) All in all this is just a snowball of issues compounded by negligence and lack of responsibility on the part of the dealership. If the bike hadn't stalled in the rain causing me to slip while pushing the bike off the street, the fairing as well as other parts wouldn't have been damaged. You would think for a bike they charged me triple the value for, they'd be a little more willing to at least take partial responsibility for the problem. Guess this is what I get for dealing with a 3rd rate car lot at best. UPDATE- 06/12/13 5) now get this i pick up the bike today after they said it never leaked while in their shop but no more than 2 secs when the guy pulled my bike up for me to pick it up....it leaked on the ground right in front of him so i took photo's of it. Got it to work today and go to lunch...oil is below the L oil line almost non existent today. yet they say ooh it's not leaking. so i'm going to put more oil in it and video me doing it and video it leaking on the ground and have them tell me its not leaking again. So basically, in short, I'm going to get my back back in hopes it doesn't blow up in my lap or cause me injury or even worse. I even stated this same concern to the dealership and noone there wants to even help or take responsibility for the problem. I even offered to pay for half of the repair and they said nope sorry you laid it over its your responsibility....what they cant seem to understand is HAD THE BIKE NOT STALLED TO BEGIN WITH ALL THIS WOULD'VE BEEN AVOIDED!!!

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace my fairing and fix the oil leak they say doesnt exist.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *****'s claim, we contracted his **** ******** ***** on 5/**/13. After he worked initially with this his salesperson, he was contracted by our ******* *******. At that time, they went over all of the agreed upon terms of the deal and signed all of the standard documents. Such signed documents included, but not limited to:

Buyer's Guide - which states the motorcycle is sold AS-IS, with no dealer responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the unit  We Owe — this was executed with NOTHING owed Delivery and Acceptance — which addresses many things, however includes that the purchaser is satisfied with the unit and that they understand that it sold AS-IS with no warranties

Installment Sales Contract — which highlights most all of the terms of the financing and that the purchaser has thoroughly inspected, accepted and approved the unit in all respects.

In purchasing a used motorcycle, especially one that is 5 years old, there will be maintenance issues that arise. We apologize that Mr. ***** feels that we are responsible. The motorcycle he
purchased had brand new fairings. Prior to his purchase, we had performed basic maintenance to the unit including an oil change and inspection. He purchased the unit used and as-is. We are not responsible for what occurs after the sale.

Based on the above, we are not responsible to fix or repair the items referred to in this complaint.







7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told by the salesman **** that he would put in the contract that there was a noise coming from the car to cover me should something happen as well as he would give me the ******. Neither of which were in there. This information was recorded by phone with ****. Furthermore there are inaccurracies as to the price of the vehicle. Was charged $23,000 for a car worth only $9,000. Very shady business practices with the way everything was handled.

Desired Settlement: Refund all monies paid for violation of contract.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *****’s claim, we contracted his 2007 Mitsubishi Eclipse on 4/12/13.  After he worked initially with this his salesperson, he was contracted by our F&I manager.  At that time, they went over all of the agreed upon terms of the deal and signed all of the standard documents.  Such signed documents included, but not limited to:

Buyer’s Guide - which states the vehicle is sold AS-IS, with no dealer responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle

We Owe – this was executed with NOTHING owed

Delivery and Acceptance – which addresses many things, however includes that the purchaser is satisfied with the vehicle and that they understand that it sold AS-IS with no warranties

Buyer’s Order – which clearly shows the sales price of the car as $14,470, not the $23,000 that is in the complaint. 

Installment Sales Contract – which highlights most all of the terms of the financing, including the $14355.85 financed and that the purchaser has thoroughly inspected, accepted and approved the car in all respects. 

As far as the ******, I apologize he did not get it as he states that he requested.  I have a copy and will include it as an attachment to my response.  The ****** is clean, with no accidents – 2 previous owners – and 16 routine service records. 

In purchasing a used motor vehicle, especially one that is 6 years old, there will be maintenance issues that arise.    We apologize that Mr. ***** feels that we use “shady business practices”.

Based on the above, we cannot refund all or any of the monies paid as requested in the complaint. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

There are inaccuracies in the contract, there are items in the contract that were inaccurate. I was lied to and there is an issue with an innacurate odomotor after contacting the former owners of the vehicle. There are items in the contract that are not legally valid and or were not done as written in the contract. The math is also incorrect. I have also had problems with the pass time attached to my car which my *** certified mechanic said is draining the battery. I have already replaced the battery twice. My attorney will be present with mechanic to have it removed to prevent further damage.

Regards,
******* *****

Business Response: There were no “inaccuracies in the contract, inaccuracies in the odometer or inaccuracies in the math”.  The contracts used by us are used by most dealers and have been approved by the required regulatory authorities. The math was documented in the Buyers Order and Installment Contract, which the customer signed and approved – as well as all the other loan documents. 

As far as the GPS Passtime unit, you would be in violation of your contact if you remove the unit.  GPS removal would result in repossession of the car, with any repossession fees and GPS repair fees owed by the  customer.  It is not allowed to be removed until the note is paid in full and the lien released.  If you think the GPS unit is causing problems with your battery, you need to contact the car lot and have the GPS unit diagnosed by them.