BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned car sales, service, parts & body shop.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto's Etc. LTD DBA Automax meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Auto's Etc. LTD DBA Automax include:

  • 34 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Auto's Etc. LTD DBA Automax include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto's Etc. LTD DBA Automax
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 19, 1996 Business started: 06/19/1996 Business started locally: 06/19/1996 Business incorporated: 08/31/2005 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Larry Mulcahy Larry M Tanya Sparks, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Larry Mulcahy
Related Businesses
Whitis Group Ltd. Whitis Auto Capital Ltd. Whitis Auto Capital -Temple LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Automax Automax Imports AutoMax Superstore Automax Suzuki Automax Volkswagen
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 3301 E Central Texas Expy

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-2629

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (254) 690-6131(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were not made aware of the college education rebate not being honored by the Business Office manager. He says he was not given this information by the sales manager. We were not given all the papers we signed at the time of purchase.We were told we would receive paperwork when we got our tags. We were not given the credit report forms, to be able for free credit reports. We asked for our keys on 4 occasions to walk away from this transaction earlier in the day,we were there for 6 1/2 hours.We purchased this vehicle without even being offered a test drive, it is their policy to make sure this has happened before going to sign the documents. The sales manager and salesman were in constant contact until these changes transpired. I feel they did this so they could keep the possible sale active. It feels that they did this to pressure us into a purchase.The mileage listed on the vehicle was stated wrong by 215 miles.

Desired Settlement: 400.00 which is the amount of the college degree rebate. We signed the documentation to be able tpo request this information from ******** ***** ***********

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

We have made contact with the customer in an effort to better understand and address thier concerns. The miscommunication occurred due to a program change during the finance process to help them achieve thier payment objective. We are currently gathering physical documentation necessary to provide closure to this misunderstanding by providing an easy to follow explanation as to what concessions were made by Automax in an effort to satisfy the customers desired outcome.

Thank you for the opportunity,

Automax Management Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a ** year old female, residing in Killeen, Texas. My father is currently in the Armed Forces, **** ******* ** ********, and is living in ****** with my mother **** ********. My mother and father purchased a used 2009 silver Cobalt from ******* in Killeen, Texas. After having the car for about two years, I went and purchased a 2013 *** **** ******, lime squeeze in color. I purchased the car in March of 2013. The Fiesta started having troubles, with the transmission, which should never occur on a new car. I had repeatedly told ******* about the issue, as they continued to shove my issue to the side, stating that Ford has placed new shifters in all of the vehicles. As I am driving my car, with my three year old son, I stalled out in the middle of a four-way intersection. I immediately take the car in to *******, for them to find something wrong with the car, as I initially suggested. They had to order four different parts for the Fiesta. I ordered the parts in January it is now May, and I receive a phone call in late April stating that my parts had finally arrived. That's three months I had to wait, with no replacement car given, so I am still driving the fiesta with my child inside, and have to navigate to and from to Austin, Texas about an hour away to school. So I finally had enough and went to ******* to see if they could put me in a new car, I was tired of the hassle, After being turned away multiple times, someone finally decided to help me. I was able to purchase a 2014 New Hyundai Sonata. So, after two weeks of driving the new car, I get a phone call to come in to ******* to finalize paperwork before they send the documents to my mother in ****** to co-sign. I had already signed the buyers agreement with *******. When I went in to ******* after driving the new car for two weeks, my interest rate, and monthly payment had changed drastically. I no longer agreed to purchase the vehicle, and neither did my mother, so I end up getting the Fiesta back. The fiesta had not been touched, still had not been fixed, I now have to take the car back down to ******* on Tuesday May the 6th to get the parts put on. This is my only vehicle to get around in. I put 500.00 down towards the new car, I am now requesting my money back on a car that I am no longer driving, I am getting the run around to receive this money back, and still have yet to receive it. I had a loan through ***** ***** for the Fiesta. ******* never paid off the Fiesta, so payments added up as well as late fees, so a 387.64 payment went to a 420.00 payment, on top of another 387.64 payment, which of course I had to pay. My mother and I were in danger of being turned in to a collections agency, which is not out fault. We have made every single payment on time, my mother's credit is excellent, while I am still building mine, and she was in danger of having her credit dropped dramatically. ******* failed to contact ***** ***** for their mistake. I am not happy with ******* at all. I also referred a customer to them, which was a mistake, and was due to receive 200.00 for the referral within weeks, I did not receive that until three months after the referral, since they lost all of my paperwork. I also requested that the GAP insurance be cancelled on the Fiesta, they lost the paperwork for that, good thing I had a personal copy. I submitted that in August, and didn't get it refunded until about February. I would never refer another friend or family member to ******* in Killeen, Texas. I may be ** years old, but I am no fool. My father is military and will be getting higher authorities involved. ******* had their license suspended from selling to military, and has recently gained it back. I have not met one employee in that building that has worked with me, that has been the slight bit of friendly, and caring. They do not care about anything, but the money. They are selling vehicles in conditions that should not be sold in. I am very disappointed and never want to associate, or work with ******* again. I feel that this issue needs to be heard, and known so it does not happen to anyone else.

Desired Settlement: I want this situation to be fully investigated. I definitely want the 500.00 back for the down payment I placed. The gas and time I had to personally give up because I was given the run around by *******. I want the ford Fiesta fixed for free, I am not paying anything out of pocket, it is still under warranty. I believe that all employees should be aware of their behavior, and unlawful work ethics.

Business Response:

Ive attached the response and supporting documentation.

****** ******** ******                      ********** ***** ********




To Whom It May Concern:

The ******* Management Team have fully researched and investigated the events of the customer’s grievance. We hope that the information provided will help resolve the pending relationship issue with the customer and *******, as well as regain her consumer confidence in our ability to facilitate her needs in the immediate future. 

We’ve received information from our service department involving her 2014 Fiesta repair as being a pending Ford Motor America campaign/recall where the replacement parts were on constant back order. We have recently been able to stock the necessary components and have made arrangements to get the vehicle immediately repaired.

Regarding the purchase transaction, we were able to come to terms on figures and signed one of the two purchasers (cosigner lives out of state) on preparatory paperwork to be finalized once the approval was secured from a lending institution. During this process, we also reviewed and had signed by the customer an ******* Rescission Agreement that we’ve sent as an attachment with this correspondence. After a tireless effort by our finance department, there was no lender that was willing to approve a loan at the repayment option that the customer would agree to. We have adopted the Rescission Agreement process for situations like this because we feel it’s important for our customer’s to know that the contract is pending final approval. 

We understand and feel the customer’s need for reliable transportation, and as such, we have gone back and renegotiated on the customer’s behalf and exhausted what available resources we have at our disposal to provide our customer with an attractive offer. We have reached out in goodwill and left a message for the customer with pending resolution for her to contact a dedicated dealership employee that will make available to her what she should receive as a very considerable offer. 
 
In closing, ******* is passionate about providing the services we advertise to our patrons at the highest possible level. We are constantly working on improving ways to make our customer’s experience more enjoyable and satisfying. Thank you for the opportunity.


Respectfully,

The ******* Management Team


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* ********

Consumer Response:

Hello,

 

Recently I submitted a complaint towards ******* Ford in Killeen, Texas. I want to go ahead and say thank you for contacting the business, with that being said, ******* has done everything in their power to make sure I am a satisfied customer. I want to personally thank ******** ****, ***** *******, and ******* ****, for helping me every time I walked in to the business. These three men have done everything in their power to ensure that I am completely satisfied, which I am. I want someone from BBB to please reach out to the business, and relay this message, I will be sure to do so as well. I am very pleased with this business, and BBB for considering the issue, and taking immediate action. Thank you! God Bless!

 

******** ******** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went to trade in our **** ***** ********* and gave a down payment on Nov.****, 2013. After a couple hours we drove off in our newer ***** ********* with the contract and buyers agreement, very happy!!! A few days later we noticed that the tire pressure light had not gone off, so we brought it in the get fixed, they informed us it wasnt the tires but the sensor and to bring it back the following week and the would fix it. An hour later we got a call from out saleman asking us to bring the truck back, that the fiancing didng go through. We were very upset and confused and drove back to ******* prepared to get my old truck back. We waited and hour for a guy named ******* that was the head of finacing to come talk to us. He finally did and apologized telling us that this was very rare, he knows its just a fluke and he would get it fixed asap and call us when he did, he aslo told us to keep the truck, its your truck, and congrats. 2 weeks later we had not heard anything so we went up there again. It was the same story. AGAIN they did not ask for the truck back, and told us he would call in couple days when paperwork with the bank was done. Again he assured us everything would be fine. In the mentime my truck that I traded in had apyment coming up and I wanted to make sure they were gonna pay it off, ******* told us yes, they would take care of it. We felt uncomfortable about this situation so we went to lawyer to have him look the contract and buyers agreement. All he could tell us by looking at the contract was that it was our truck with ******* as the creditor. It is now Jan. ****, 2014 and We still have this truck (which we love) but now no one will will return my calls! Its still not finaced!!! To top it all off, my creditor from my trade in called me.... the truck is about to report 2 months past due on our credit and about to go into repossession!!!! WE worked to very hard to rebuild our credit and now its a got a 30 day late payment! We were never late, not for 2 years on our vehickles which helped our credit rebuild!!!! When ***** ***** called ******* this past week to an answer to why thr truck has not been paid, they were givin the same story about the finacing, and whats even better is ******* LIED telling them they had been trying to get ahold of me for a while!!! FYI, I work next door to the dealership and have been there over 4 years, the sales guys come to eat in my restaurant every day! They kniow how to "get ahold" of me. So, for over 2 months I have drivin a truck that is not mine, made it my family vehickle and have been deiquent on a truck I no longer drive!!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel the owner needs to get involved and make this right, this is no way to do business, I know, I run a business too!!!! Whatever they need to do to get the finacing done, which wil be even harder now that my credit is worse, the need to do. This is on them so if they have to take a loss on the truck and re-write the contract so it gets bank approval then they should do whats right after al this stress and frustration they have caused.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

We are currently working on securing 3rd party financing for Mr. and Mrs. ******. In the mean time, they can make the regularly scheduled payments directly to us.

When we originally contracted the ******'s, we did so by the influence of inaccurate bureau information reported by ******. Mr. ****** was given a false credit score by the reporting system unknown to us at the time of contract. Once the error in the reporting system was realized, the ******'s had already signed and taken delivery for a few days. We have asked credco to help us with this delimma, but we have gotten no asssitance to date.

Also, it's also a priority for us to preserve the ******'s credit rating. We have been in contact with ***** ***** (the trade lienholder) and have sent them certified documentation to get the late payment information removed from each of their bureaus. We feel confident that with our relationship with ***** ***** that we will be able to secure the results we are looking for. 

Thank you for the opportunity to make things right,

*******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: ******* has still not contacted me about this issue. Furthermore, We have tried to make payments directly to ******* but they have refused to accept them simply saying they are not our lien holder. We have also been in contact with ***** *****, and just a few days ago they told me they would not try to to collect again, that our time is up and my truck I had with them will be up for repossession if I do not make a payment to them by the end of this month. We are stuck. Our credit is damaged, and I can not afford to pay on 2 trucks at this time. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

We have been in contact with Ms. ****** as well as ***** *****. We have resolved the issue about the payments on her recent truck purchase and are in the final stages of repairing her credit by working closely with our contacts at ***** *****. This will eliminate any adverse credit history that had been reporting to the bureaus.

Thank you for the opportunity!

-******* Management Team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apparently, the **** Dealership at the ******* Automax lost the paperwork for our title, registration and plates (we paid cash) when we picked up our car in November. This was not a problem, however, our temporary tags would soon be expired, as we have been waiting seven weeks. On the afternoon of 8 January, I received a call to come to the dealer and pick up my plates and registration. The day being far spent, I visited the dealership the next morning. When I arrived, there seemed to be some confusion between the two people at the front desk as they attempted to find my plates, so I asked if I could just speak with the person who handles Title and Registration, and here begins my complain: When a young woman came to meet me, I explained why I was there, but she said there were no license plates or title but instead, I would be signing for a second temporary tag. She could not explain why. I explained that I had been waiting since 21 November and received a phone call telling me to pick up my plates. I then asked to speak with her supervisor. She said her supervisor had just left for an emergency. When I asked if I could speak with that person's supervisor, I was told she was in a meeting. When I asked if I could speak with that person's supervisor, I was told that the dealership did not have a "GM" (general manager?), however, she could take my name and telephone number and have someone call me. I signed for the temporary plate and departed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know, why we don't have a title or license plates. That was the only question I asked. I don't care if they were lost, but, I did want a straight answer. I would also like to know how this amazing organization can exist without a supervisor or, "GM". It might explain why no one called me back.

Business Response: Automax would first like to apologize for the inconvience and unavailablitiy of a supervisor to speak with you.  We have processed your disability plates to the state and will continue to checck on them.  ****** ******** the Title Supervisor has made contact with the customer regarding his concerns.  Again we apologize.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** **** **** back in early 2012. I traded in a **** **** **** towards the trade in. Automax offered me 10 grand. I owe 27 grand towards the new vehicle. I love it, only problem I have is they stole all of my stuff out of my truck during the appraisal and told me they our not accountable for any theft on the property. Really! They had my truck, with keys. I had a set of 12" ******* subs, a 7" ******* dvd player, dvds, two **** knives, hats, my wifes ****, my **** with weight lifting gloves and arm band to hold my ****. Everything was taken out. My wife and I talked to the manager about the situation and he pretty much told us we our out of luck. Here is the kicker. When we purchased the new vehicle, it needed new tires. Now they will not replace my tires because they said they our after market off road tires and that they don't carry them in stock. What do i do. The police department told me to contact you all. I have lost close to $2,000 dollars worth of stuff and now they won't replace my tires, which the front (both) are dry rotting on the outside wall. each tire is around $430, so now that's another $1,700 I have to pay out of my own pocket. AutoMax is very shady and a bunch of theives. What do I do.

Desired Settlement: I just need my tires changed since they told me they would change them. I have a feeling my stuff is gone and I will never see it again. It would be nice to have my buck knife back, since it came from my grandpa, but as far as my speakers, dvd player and everything else. I have done given up on that. That is my loss for trusting people.

Business Response:

Automax is a Killeen family owned and operating business that has been here for 20 years taking care of soldiers, thier families and this community. Automax does not operate a shady business.  It is unfortunate that both the sales person and sales managers no longer work here.  However, you purchased your vehicle a year and a half ago and are now just making the complaint.  When we sold the vehicle 1 and a 1/2 years ago i'm sure your truck did not require tires, but a year and a half later you are stating that the truck needs tires and you want Automax to pay for them?? I don't see how we can verify the information in your complaint a year and a half after the purchase of your truck.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have the original buyers agreement that says (Tire Replacement).  But after a month of holding on to my check, I get a call saying Automax underbid themselves and need a additional $2,000.  So after I got my check back and took it back to **** ******* and closed that Loan.  Automax set me up with ******* *** ******* *** ******, the new buyers agreement didn't have tires on there.  Which is my bad, I guess, for not thinking they would also screw me out of tires.  It's funny, **** the Manager and **** the Sales Manager are no longer there.  Maybe that's why they don't work there anymore.  Shady Business. This has been a on going dispute since I purchased the truck.  I am a NCO in the United States Army and I have heard many stories about Automax there so called business.  Rip enough of us off and your business could be black listed.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Automax attempted to sell me, ******* ********* a car. I started working with the sales associate named ****** ******. Mr. ****** was aware of my bad credit and the fact that I had recently received a demotion in the U.S Army. He was also aware that I may, at the time, be pending separation from the military. Mr. ****** continued to pursue selling me a car in which he found me a **** ***** ******. I then received a copy of the contract. I did not put down a down payment. Also, I was not informed that the deal was not finalized. I made the first initial car payment and then I was notified that the bank rescinded the loan. I received my car payment back because it was set up through military allotment. It was then, I was turned over to a different sales associate, not sure of his name, who confronted me after I was informed I had to leave the keys to the impala at Automax. I talked to Mr. ******, who pulled me to the side to explain how he knew nothing about the situation and he doesn't understand why they discontinued him from being by sales associate. I asked Mr. ****** if I could just get my original trade in car back, which was a **** ****** ******. He then told me that's not going to happen because it was already sold... but that could not be true because the deal was never finalized. The new sales associate who I was now working with told me that they had a **** ****** *** * SUV that they were going to give me. The car payments went up about $200.00 from the ****** and also the cost of the car was way out of my price range. Also the car was not detailed nor cleaned when I received the car. I was forced to notify my Section Sergeant of this *** * that Automax was trying to sell me. Me and my section sergeant then went to Automax to notify them that the car payments were out of my financial abilities and we will not accept the car. We spoke with Mr. ** ******, who was the worker of the contracts and financial works with the deals I was involved in... also the whole financial team. Mr. *****, a financial manager, notified me and my section sergeant that they would work hard to find me a car within my price range. The next day, I went back to Automax, where I was then, approached by Mr. ******, who told me that he had another car for me. The car was a **** ********** ******, the price was affordable and Mr. ****** said I would have to have a co-signer, which I used my former husband ****** *****. ****** ***** was also in the Military and, at the time, was on home leave in *******. Mr. ****** informed me that they would mail him the contract and have him sign then mail back to Automax. I set up an allotment for the payment of the ****** to a bank account I was not aware of. A few days later, an Automax representative gave me a call and stated that I needed to come to the stores location and sign a few papers to finalize the deal. When I arrived at Automax, I was approached by a sales associate I haven't work with in the few months of trying to acquire a car. He, I don't remember his name, informed me that I had to put down a $1,000 down payment to show the bank that I can cover the License and Registration and the deal would be good to go. The ****** had been detailed and filled up to a half of tank a few days before. As a soldier previously demoted, financially I was struggling. Mr. ****** was aware of this. Automax then called my First Sergeant and Captain who then forced me to make a decision of paying the $1,000 or lose the ******. I was thinking that I would not have a car, since I was informed my **** ****** ****** had already been sold. I then gave Auto max one months paycheck in hopes of keeping the **** ******. About a week later, I was notified by Automax that the deal could not be finalized and that I would be receiving my ****** ****** back. I waited for hours and hours after returning in the keys to the ****** for my ****** ******. When I received my Nissan, I was at a quarter tank of gas and had marker written all over my windshield. My rear brake light was out and the car had a few extra miles on it. My original tags had been removed and Mr. ****** had told me to ask Mr. ****** for temp tags until new tags could be received. Mr. ****** then told me to go back to Mr. ****** who, after going back and forth for about 20 minutes, printed me a set of temp tags. When I confronted the random sales associate who received my $1,000 he then told me there would be deductions for detailing which was $200 and 20 cents per mile. I went to military consumer affairs, military legal office but Automax does not what to comply. In addition to the $1,000, I also made a car payment on the ******, but after my former husband ****** ***** signed the contract, I never received a copy. I never signed a form stating if the deal does not go through that I would pay $200 detailing fee and 20 cents per mile. My former husband agrees that he didn't either.

Desired Settlement: I hope that Automax refund me for my $1,000 down payment for the deal that did not get finalized and also my car payment of about $350.00.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

Given the length of time that has expired since this transaction began, we have done our best to investigate this complaint for Ms. *********. Please understand that we have completed exhaustive research in the attempt to comprehensively comb over the timeline and details of this matter.

Automax made many considerations in helping Ms. ********* keep her financing available, even when we were aware of her and her husband's (****** *****) demotion in the military. We worked with the finance company closely, who was thoughtfull in making arrangements to help. However, once Ms. ********* told us and the financier that she was being demoted out of the military, that's when the bank withdrew the application from review due to her inability to provide current and continuous employment.

On a more positive note, it appears that Ms. ********* may not have been disciplined out of the military. We would love for her to contact us to see if we can resume things on a more positive path.

I have provided a copy of the Rescission Agreement signed by Ms. *********, as well the refund check for the down payment.

Thank you for your time!

Automax Management Team

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The $1,000 was not a payment for a DEPOSIT towards any transactions related to detailing cost or mileage. It was a DOWN PAYMENT for the financing bank to receive, which

AutoMax held at their own expense.  My former husband, ****** *****, signed all of the paper work within the contract. Therefore, I'm not understanding HOW I have a signature

on the Rescission agreement and he doesn't. If the contract was mailed to him with the original rescission form, his signature should be on there. I never received a copy of the

contract or the ODOMETER readings after my former husband, ****** *****, returned the contract to AutoMax. Also, when I returned the ****** back to AutoMax, I was not given

a copy of the ODOMETER readings, neither did I care because I did not think AutoMax would charge me for a car I didn't want to begin with. Still considering the fact that I

requested to have my ****** ****** returned to me after the first loan was rejected, I feel like AutoMax is causing me financial stress also pain and suffering. AutoMax was aware

that it was going to be difficult to get me into a car, obviously after a third attempt. When I was advised to bring in the $1,000, I was vulnerable to any scams AutoMax wanted to

pull to get my money.  I wanted to avoid any financial situations because I knew, at the time, my financial standings weren't good at all. Unfortunately, AutoMax continues to

deny returning my $1,000 Down Payment. In addition, I also made a car payment on the ********** ******, which AutoMax neither addressed or refunded.


Regards,

******* *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company is AutoMax Preowned Dealership here in Killeen, TX We recently purchased a used vehicle November 11th, 2013 and at the time of purchase (also mentioning it to our sales rep) we stated we wanted to use our "$500 gas" coupon. Our auto buying experience took 9 total hours! Upon finding a car we told our Salesman about the coupon. He stated he'd only been working for about 4 months and was unsure to ask his Manager "***". We told *** about the coupon and we were told to give it to Finance whenever we brought back the check for the vehicle the following day. 11/12 we went to Finance to finalize paperwork and the purchase of the vehicle. At that point we reminded them again about the coupon. Our finance agent "******" was apprehensive about the coupon and stated he wasn't sure and would contact his supervisor, because he'd never seen the coupon. ***** took the actual coupon as well as made photocopies of our Association of the United States Army Membership card, AUSA. After back and worth with the finance specialist ***** we were under the impression he was taking care of everything since we "technically" purchase the car from him. 11/14 however more "red tape". We were told (by *****) someone would call us (again). Finally we called ***** (because he is the one that actually has the original coupon as well as a photo copy of the AUSA card) he stated *** the Sales Manager has it. We called *** and he stated he had no clue and could not "promise anything" because those types of coupons are worked within the contract and he could not just rewrite the contract. After contacting the AUSA, Mr. *** ******, was able to get ahold of the Manger at AutoMax. *** called Saturday, 11/16 stating the situation would have to be dealt with "at a higher level because this is usually wrote within the contract. So we could either get the gas money mailed or worst case scenario not get it at all. We would hear from him Monday (11/18). We have heard from no one. We have followed all the directions from the Salesman, the Manager, and Finance and still nothing. We have been lied to and ignored. There was no error or miscommunication on our part.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $500 in gas, honored, as stated on the coupon.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ****** compalaint:

We have been in contact with Ms. **** to help further resolve the issue. I have made them aware that the process in securing the promotional gas card may take a little longer than normal due to it being outside our standard accounting procedure. This is because the coupon wasn't present at the time of sale/contract. We have recognized this being an issue in the past and we've tried to address it by printing "Must be Present at the Time of Sale" on the actual Gas Voucher/Coupon. I am happy to say that ownership has made arrangements to award Mr. **** with his AUSA Gas Card. We have processed the request and should soon have the voucher on its way to the forwarding address received from Ms. ****. 

In addition, we understand that relocating a household can be a very stressful occasion. We hope that by helping Mr. and Ms. **** that it may take some additional burden off the move.

Thank You,

Automax Management Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. In addition we'd like to thank ******* **** for handling this situation with respectful and promptness! 
Regards,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 17,2012 I traded my vehicle in Automax Killeen for a **** ** ** *** *****************, was the third time i conducted business with this entity without any problems. as I did it before I asked the sales representative for the ****** report in the vehicle, and he told me that the finances agent will provide the document to me. after waiting for several hours finally the financial representative attended me, I asked him for the Report (******) and he tried to avoid my request all the time, talking me about financial issues. by the time I left was late and my sales rep. left for the day. the next day i drove to the dealer and asked the sales guy for the ****** and some extra items missing from the car. the guy handed me a report and don't show any issues or defect in the car. I went to Afghanistan and I came with the idea to trade my car. the new dealer told me that the ****** report for my car showed an accident in 08/25/2011 (right rear impact with multiples damages) something I don't saw in the report handed to me for the Automax sales representative. the new trade will cost me a lot of money out of my pocket because of this. My report is to complaint about this unethical treatment against a servicemember in the Fort Hood area. I already sent an email to Automax dealer asking for an explanation.

Desired Settlement: I want an email or phone call from Automax management with an apology and a possible solution to this situation. regaining my loyalty, my friends and coworkers as a customer depend of Automax outcome

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

We have made several attempts to reach Mr. ****** with no success at this point. I hope that he will have a chance to read this response and contact us if he has any further questions. We consider his satisfaction a high priority.

First, Automax subscribes to ********* services, which are very similar to ******** services in that they give a comprehensive view of a vehicle's history. Unfortunately, at times there is discrepant information between these two services on any car at any given time. We, the dealer, also use these services to evaluate and determine the value of the vehicles that we purchase or trade for. We only have the information provided to us to make a decision on the vehicle's value. In conclusion, we didn't have the information provided by ****** to give Mr. ******, becuase we subscribe to thier competitor's service. I would like Mr. ****** to know that we also feel that the information services provided by ****** and ********* should be accurate against one another as to prevent situations like this. As consumer confidence in these services rise, the accuracy of the information will become as increasingly important. 

I am providing the following link for Mr. ****** to find information on ********* and it's services: **********************************************************************

I am also providing the phone number for ********* where he may be able to voice his valid complaint directly with the company in question: 888-409-2204

Thanks,

******* ****
Finance Department

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I trusted in the dealership when I did my purchase, and I am the one losing more of 5000.00 in the vehicle price, if ********* made the mistake, why Automax continue to provide their clients with so mediocre service?  I'm not going to blame ****** or ********* for this error, I did my business with Automax, expecting a high value services from them, third parties services providers should not be my problem. thank you anyway for the answer but the blaming game is not helping me in nothing. I still have a huge **** ** Lemon seating in my garage. 

Regards,

********* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were sold a **** ***** that was not inspected not even an safety inspection. When we asked about the truck we were told nothing was wrong with the truck that they were just sending it off to auction because the miles and they had it for a while. We drove the truck and we noticed a wrench light came on inside the truck we informed our sales representative before we signed the contract and we were told they would fix the light and we were given a WE-OWE for the truck to get fixed. When they put the truck in the shop it came out that this truck was never seen it had no breaks (metal to metal) and $2500 work or damages. The dealer does not want to fix our truck and they have had it for 3 weeks now almost a month and we have to make or first payment in 25 day and we have only driven the truck one day. They have a truck that we want but they do not want to work with us to get in to the truck. They have inconvenienced us and we still have no truck of our own. Sales rep. ****** ****** and manager ** ***** and their managers all know up to ******* the owner and ******* the finance GM. This truck has 2 leaks that we have asked them to tell us where they are coming from before they fix the truck because if they are major leaks we don't want the truck these leaks are what make this light come most likely among everything else. They have given us the hardest time and they are not even trying to compensate us. This is my 2nd vehicle purchase and the worst customer service. I want them to pay for something and get things right how they should.The are trying to put generic parts on our vehicle instead of the recommended parts that they fix all their other ford vehicles with. We are not the only people having this problem with his dealership we met 3 others going through the same issues.Please please I need your help I don't want to pay for a vehicle that I can not drive.

Desired Settlement: I want the truck I have been driving which is a **** ***** it has much more miles than the 05 i think they can compensate us and get us into this vehicle with the same monthly payments we were going to pay for the other truck with the insurance as well which was $481....If they cant do that then my old truck back and 2 monthly payments paid one because we been with out or truck for a month and 2 for our time wasted and stress.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concerm:

I've been working with the ********* to address thier issue with the **** they selected. I have received approval to repair the components involving the check engine light as well as approval to replace the failing brake components. Upon investigating the matter - and those involved in the arrangement, I have found that this should satisfy the owed items of concern negotiated on the purchase date. I do apologize it's taken longer than the expected repair estimate, but I hope that the goodwill allowance of a free loaner vehicle has aided in relief.

It's important to note that the ********* also signed a disclosure stating that they were aware the vehicle they were purchasing may NOT be free of mechanical concerns. It also states that for good measure they should consult a 3rd party for mechanical inspection before they decide to purchase. We use this form as a customer relations tool - its sole purpose is to guarantee that a customer doesn't leave here without being counseled about the purchase of an older model and/or high mileage vehicle.

In addition, at the ********* request, I have started working on a plan to trade them out of thier current vehicle and in to the vehicle they are currently on loaner agreement with.


Thank You,

******* ****
Finance Director
Automax

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: the following statement is false:

 "It's important to note that the ********* also signed a disclosure stating that they were aware the vehicle they were purchasing may NOT be free of mechanical concerns. It also states that for good measure they should consult a 3rd party for mechanical inspection before they decide to purchase. We use this form as a customer relations tool - its sole purpose is to guarantee that a customer doesn't leave here without being counseled about the purchase of an older model and/or high mileage vehicle." 


We were lied to by the pre-owned sales man ****** ****** and manager ******* ***** (**) we asked about the conditions of the vehicle and we were specifically told that the truck was in excellent condition there was nothing wrong with the truck and the only reason they were sending this truck to the auction was because of the miles were so high. Also, to clear things up were were not told the vehicle had any issues one because this truck never went through any type of inspection nor a safety inspection this is why they could not show us any type of inspection history nor did they know all the things that were wrong with the truck. They simply tried to belittle us and sale us a messed up truck and when they gave us the cost it was based off of excellent conditions in which the truck was not in excellent condition.  If the truck were we would not be in this situation i'd be driving my truck if it were that easy. Also, this company needs to training. This was my first time purchasing a vehicle over 100 miles and was not informed of any of the details ******* mentioned above nor did the fiance person (*****) explain any paperwork as we signed i read and asked him what i thought it meant he simply agreed, the last time i purchased a vehicle my fiance person went over every piece pf paperwork i signed. as for the "AS IS" i was told i did not need to write anything about them fixing the truck on this paperwork and that they would give us a "We OWE" for that part so we did not need to write it there. 


******* has been the only help in this month situation it has taken entirely too long and i feel that we have a payment coming up that should not be our responsibility due to the circumstances of Automax  non communication within their facilities. Also, the loner truck we are in was also not inspected nor a safety check this truck has something with the brakes as well and maybe even something else the truck simply shakes out of no where when you are driving (i almost lost control) the truck is sitting at my apartment i'm not driving it. The loaner plate is out automas thinks that i should come up there every 4 days and get a new plate i dont have gas or time to do that. I asked for them to just give us a plate till the end of the month but ****** said no. I'm not going back to killeen until they have an answer. I have been very patient for an entire month now i have no patients and i don't like for lies to be told. We were not informed. please train your employees again. I would not waste my time getting a truck that needs work im sorry that is just plum dumb, i would not take out a $25,000 loan for a vehicle i will have to fix every month on top of paying $481 monthly its just not feasible. 



Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife went in to this business to purchase a vehicle under bankruptcy provisions. During the initial talks of surrendering a down payment of $700.00 cash, my wife was told to ask by the bankruptcy lawyer(******* ****) that if the transaction didn't go through would the down payment be refunded which she signed a memorandum with the lawyer to turn in to the dealership and Mr. ***** ******* guaranteed that the down payment would be returned. When my wife was notified that the deal would probably not go through from the lawyer my wife informed the dealership that she would not continue to try and purchase the vehicle due to the information she received from the lawyer. Another individual was assisting my wife on the purchase (Mr. ****), when my wife informed them of the situation she was told there was a process to refund the down payment and my wife has been given the run around to receive the funds back. My wife was told that the person that has to write out the check wasn't in and would get on it and once the person was in the owner was supposed to sign the check but was always in meetings or never at the business. Those individuals involved were not proactive in trying to keep my wife informed of what's going on so it has been almost two weeks and the issue hasn't been resolved. My wife test drove the vehicle but never took the vehicle home until the deal was done. My wife spoke to a manager by the name of ***** and during talking to her he was over talking her and I asked to speak with him which he tried to do the same and when I wouldn't allow it he gave my wife her phone back and said I will not be cursed at which I never used a curse word towards him at all. He told my wife to be at the place of business on Monday pointing his finger at her. This type of behavior will not be accepted by me or my wife. I hope that this can be resolved quickly because if not I will be visiting the business myself to see what can be done.

Desired Settlement: I hope that this issue can be resolved as soon as possible so both parties can move on.

Business Response:

To the Better Business Bureau,

I have checked with the Sales Manager involved (as well as the accounting office) and have discovered that the refund has been processed and given to Mr. and Mrs. *******. I am sorry that we were unable to complete our transaction together as thier trustee wouldn't allow it. I hope that the minor delay in processing the refund doesn't deter them from doing business with us in the future. It would never be our intention to frustrate a potential client during any part of our process. We appreciate the opportunity!

Respectfully,

******* ****
Finance Director

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AT THE TIME I BOUGHT MY CAR I WAS ASKED TO PUT DOWN A DOWN PAYMENT AND THEY WAS OFFERING DOUBLE DOWN DAYS FOR CAR SALES. MY SALES MAN TOOK MY DOWN PAYMENT OF $500.00 AND I DID NOT GET THE CREDIT FOR $500.00 ADDITIONAL DOLLARS ON MY PURCHASE FOR THE CAR. MY PAPERWORK ALSO SHOWS NO CREDIT FOR THE ADDITIONAL $500.00 MATCH BY THE COMPANY. WHEN I ASKED ABOUT THIS MY SALESMAN SAID IT DIDN'T APPLY TO ME YET THEIR ADVERTISEMENT WAS FOR ALL USED VEHICLES AND NEW VEHICLE SALES.

Desired Settlement: I EXPECT AUTOMAX TO SEND ME A REFUND OF THE AMOUNT BACK TO ME SINCE I HAD TO ABSORB THE ADDITIONAL $500.00 INTO MY FINANCING AND IS TOO LATE TO BE APPLIED TO THE SALE OF THE VEHICLE SO I AM REQUESTING TO MAKE THIS RIGHT FOR THEM TO SEND ME A REFUND OF MY MATCHED DOWN PAYMENT TO ME IN THE AMOUNT OF $500.00 TO MAKE THE DEAL AND OFFER FAIR AND RIGHT.

Business Response: To The Better Business Bureau,

I would like to take this time to apologize for any misunderstanding Mr. ***** may have about how the "Match the Down Payment" promotion worked. Because we are unable to misrepresent down payment on retail sales installment contract, we have to show the "matched" down payment as a discount on the purchased vehicle. I have included, as an attachment, both the figures that Mr. ***** agreed to and the final price shown on the purchase order that was used during the actual exchange of ownership.

The original agreed to price was 13,995.00 +ttl
The promotion price should have been 13,495.00 +ttl

The final presented price was 12,545.00+ttl

Instead of matching his down payment of only 500.00, we almost tripled the promotion savings by discounting the vehicle 1,450.00

Again, I wish we could have more effectively conveyed this information to Mr. ***** to help build value in our customer promotions.

We appreciate his business, and hope that this letter serves as adequate clarification.


Respectfully,

******* ****
Finance Director
Automax




The net discount should

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  AUTO MAX IS SHOWING YOU THE INCORRECT PAPERWORK. THAT IS NOT THE CORRECT PAPERWORK AS THEY REDID MY TOTAL FINANCING AS I HAVE ALL THREE BILL OF SALES ON THE SAME VEHICLE AND I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT I CAN PROVE THE CORRECT VERSION AND IN FACT THEY SOLD ME THE CAR FOR THE FINAL PRICE OF $15547.12  THEY ONLY GAVE ME THE $500 DOWN I PUT AND DID NOT GIVE ME MY MATCH!!! ************ CALL ME!!!

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau,

I have had a chance to talk to the customer since his last response. The confusion dereived from a terminology difference in what he had "paid" for the vehicle. I feel I was able to address his concern by explaining the difference between sales price and the amount financed. I was also able to review where we were able to comply with the advertised promotion in matching his down payment, as it was given to him in the form of a discount off of the negotiated price.

Thank You,

******* ****
Automax

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Automax issued title of vehicle purchased to the incorrect lien holder on 1/24/13. Title was issued to **** ***** ****** and I verified they received it. Correct lien holder is **** ******* ******* ****. I called Automax at ************ in April to attempt to correct this. I spoke with a woman named ******** ******. I was informed I was incorrect by her and asked her to correct. I then had **** ***** ****** call Automax to try and clarify the issue. I received no follow-up. I am now in a dispute with the lien holder (****) because they have yet to receive title of the vehicle purchased through their finance dept. I called Automax again today (6/3/13) as the situation remains the same. The person I spoke with said that *** was out and she would leave a message. Again, no follow-up. The vehicle is in my husband's name who is currently deployed so I have been left to try and resolve to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Title to be corrected and sent to **** ******* ******* **** at the following address: **** *** ***** ****** ******* ** ********** I would also like a letter or email sent to me by Automax verifying this has been completed.

Business Response: This mistake was done by overseas military when they purchased the vehicle.  We have got the information required to correct the situation.  However, we want it noted that the mistake was not done by Automax but by the overseas military where they purchased the vehicle.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and am thankful for BBB for helping me correct this.  After months of Automax telling me I was wrong, it is nice to see them correcting the paperwork error.  Seeing as we picked the vehicle up at Automax and finalized all paperwork on site, I do believe the fault lies with Automax.  However, in the end I only care that Automax corrects the problem so the correct lien holder obtains what they need.  

Regards,

******* ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went on 5/15/13 around 4pm to Automax Hyundai. They at the front of the business had a 2013 Hyundai Elantra in huge plastic letters on the size of the car marked at $******. There was not asterisk, or fine print showing on this price so I never thought to ask "is this a trick price" as it was so clearly advertised to attract attention. I test drove the car, discussed financing & purchasing & provided them well information which they used to pull my credit report. They did not mention anything. When time came to discuss final pricing and payment & sign on the dotted line they told me it would be $******. I was stunned, I could see the $****** on the car from where I sat. They stated that price would only apply if I already owned a Hyundai & was in the military and then I could get those discounts so they place the lowest price possible on it. Very few people would fall under both of those categories. This was not even bait & switch, it was plain bait and lie.

Desired Settlement: For the company to sell their cars at the price advertised or state the restrictions for qualifying for the discount. Not boldly advertise a price a very small percentage of shoppers would be eligible for that they are both military & currently own a Hyundai without explaining it anywhere on the large advertised car price.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 I would like to close the dispute I claimed on Complaint ID #*******. After contacting BBB, the business contacted me. Although I was very frustrated with the service I received they responded the complaint with professionalism, understanding & integrity. They worked with me on my issues with my perception of clearly deceptive advertising and although I think steps could be taken to avoid this in the future, they have demonstrated to be that they are committed to running an honest business and care about customer concerns. Because of their positive actions and subsequently agreeing to sale the car at the price advertised I would like to ensure this complaint does not reflect poorly on the business in the future. 


Regards,

****** *** *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/2/2012 Delivery Issues
8/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1