BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Round Rock Hyundai?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is located one block north of their previous location,  next to Round Rock Collision Center. They are a new and used car dealership offering a body shop, parts, service, accessories, and finance departments. This company is located on the east side of Interstate 35 at EXIT 254, just north of Austin. They offer a used vehicle inventory from automakers like Ford, Chevrolet, Nissan and Lexus.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Round Rock Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Round Rock Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Round Rock Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1985 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 09/21/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Williams, General Manager Ms. Megan Grigsby, Marketing Department
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Williams, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

Round Rock Hyundai sells the following brand(s): Hyundai, Nearly all other brands of Pre-Owned vehicles

Round Rock Hyundai offers the following product(s): Certified Pre-Owned Hyundai, New Hyundai, Used Hyundai

Alternate Business Names
Classic Special Hyundai, Ltd
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2405 N Interstate 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advisors in the Service Department at Round Rock Hyundai failed to provide assistance and to return my phone calls. Tuesday morning, 9/30/14, I called the Hyundai Dealership in Round Rock, TX, and spoke to my assigned Service Advisor. Each customer supposedly has an assigned Service Advisor at this dealership because this is the way they have it set up once you become a regular customer with them (this is where I take my car for maintenance-oil changes, repairs, and recall repairs). I had taken my car in for an oil change on 9/10/14. During this visit, they told me what these issues were from with the noises I have been hearing from my car. My advisor said it is from the front axle, and steering coupler; they need to be replaced. There were also minor items/fees on the printout he gave me along with the steering coupler and front axle, such as my oil change, cabin filter, and engine optimizer. I told him I will call back to schedule an appointment later. So, on 9/30/14, I called Services to find out the exact total price for the steering coupler and front axle will cost me to be repaired including parts, labor, taxes, and other fees. My advisor said he would call me back once he finds out. He called me back within an hour-in-a-half and left the message on my voicemail and said if I have any questions to call him back. I called him back around 10:45a.m. on his direct extension. He didn't answer so I left him a message that I need to know: what the warranty is, if they offer loaner cars, and when is the next available appointment. I called him back several times after that all day up until 4:30pm, which is when I arrived at the Dealership since my advisor wasn't returning my phone calls and no one else wanted to assist me over the phone because they weren't my advisor. Another advisor gave me the information about the warranty he didn't answer about the loaner car but told me my car should only take half-a-day to repair and I will get it back the same day. He told me the steering coupler is in stock but the front axle isn't so for me to call back around noon on Thursday (10/2/2014) to find out if the front axle comes in with their expected shipment of parts. He also said the next available appointment won't be until next Thursday (10/9/14). Before I left the dealership, I spoke to someone in the Parts Department to ask them if they can order or find out if the part will be in this week's ship instead of me calling to ask on if it was a part of their shipment because I really need that part and want to get both repairs fixed during the same appointment. The parts guy told me they have two front axles available. So, I went back to the Service Department and spoke to a totally different third advisor because my advisor was someplace else and so was the second advisor I spoke to when I got there at 4:30. The third advisor told me those two axles are the type my car needs so I ask him if he could make sure the axle I need will be in the shipment. Then he told me it is a special order part and I have to pay for it upfront because it is not a part they keep in stock. I asked him why hasn't any other advisor told me this until now and that I really need that part but want to pay for everything at one time after my car is fixed. He said he wouldn't be able to do that and that's that. I had poor customer service from each of the three advisors. First off, each advisor should know the policies but they all seemed disinterested about it all. I had to drive all the way to the dealership because I wasn't getting any assistance over the phone, and they acted as if they didn't want my business any longer. My advisor or the second advisor never mentioned anything about pre-ordering the part and they all failed to provide good customer service.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for them to deliver my axle without me having to pre-pay for it. I will pay for it along with the steering coupler repair. They can also give me a total discounted price to repair my car for their lack of concern of not returning my phone calls, not properly assisting me, and for not explaining to me the necessary communication needed to get my car repaired. I want complimentary service.

Business Response: **** ******* *******,

 

I truly apologize for the lack of calling you back. I did
some investigating and this is what I found out. I do show that ***** returned
a phone call to you on 9/30/14 at 10:41am. I do know that you attempted twice
more after ***** left you that voice message. Unfortunately we were extremely
busy yesterday and ***** did not retrieve his messages until after hours. He
did not return your call yesterday  because he knows that you stopped in
last night during our business hours. Because of the confusion of yes we have
the part and no we don’t have the part I went to the parts department and spoke
to **** who is the person you spoke to yesterday. What we found out is that
there is a glitch in our pricing guide software that the service advisors use
to provide an estimate. When we pull your car up by vin number in the service
department it shows that you need axle HY49501-3Q080. But when the parts
department goes through the parts catalog it shows you need axle HY49501-3Q360.
The service pricing guide is automatically attaching HY49501-3Q080 which is a
right axle shaft for a 2011 2.4 liter Sonata with a standard transmission. Your
Sonata is an automatic transmission which is HY49501-3Q360 which we do have in
stock. I have brought that glitch to the attention of the parts manager who is
working on getting that fixed. **** *******, the reason why ******* stated that
you needed to prepay the part is because of the cost of the part and the fact
that we don’t stock that part. If we were to order the part and for whatever
reason you decided you did not want the work done the parts department would
have to sit on a $389.42 part. We would then have to add it to inventory,
 and create bin space to store that part until we could send it back to
Hyundai where they would charge us freight ( again ) to ship it back and
restocking fee’s. With all the confusion that you had to go through this is
what we would like to offer. The repair of the right front axle shaft is
$620.70. The cost of the steering coupler repair is $297.47 for a total of
$918.17. We would offer you 20% off the parts and labor for a total of $751.02.
I do have one question. What do you mean by “ I want complimentary service “ in
the desired settlement section? Thank you and I look forward to your response.

**** ******** ** Round Rock Hyundai

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

3/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RR Hyundai represented a used vehicle as being in near perfect shape. They provided a ****** to help the sale of the vehicle and we negotiated a price based on the perceived "very good" condition of the vehicle. On January 30, 2014 we negotiated a price that was fair for a vehicle in the best possible used condition, $19497.00, and I purchased the vehicle. The ****** indicated a "minor accident" and my wife and I asked about this. We were told, "I don't know. Any little scuff or scratch that requires a trip to the body shop or insurance claim can ding this report." The sales person who happen to take the vehicle in as a trade chimed in, "That was nothing. I took the car in as a trade and the previous owner babied it." Prior to signing any papers, on February 1, 2014 my wife asked again and was told, "Any little door ding that we have on our lot and repair will show up as a minor accident on the ******." When we got home with our "new" car, my wife and I were excited and were looking it over, happy with our purchase. My wife pulls out a thick envelope of receipts from an auto-body shop. It showed that this vehicle was in major accident that required the replacement of the entire front end of the vehicle. $7,500 worth of repairs on a vehicle with a value of no more than $20,000. On February 10, 2014, the vehicle, which was in my garage, had an electrical issue that required the vehicle to be towed out of my garage and returned to RR Hyundai (at their expense, and very quick response to my call). The battery and ignition coil had so much corrosion on them that the electrical system shorted out. The battery was replaced, not the ignition coil, and we were told the vehicle was repaired and ready for pick up. I complained to the **** *** ***** *******, ** (I never got his last name). He assured me that the vehicle sold was as represented. When confronted with the receipts proving otherwise, he became very flustered and asked for them. I did not give them to him, but read off the 5 page list of parts that were effected. He argued that it was all cosmetic and didn't effect the overall condition of the vehicle. He repeatedly asked for the receipts to "review them". I took the vehicle home and parked it in the garage for a week. Again, an electrical issue, witht his near perfect car prevented it from starting. It was quickly towed, again at their expense. I took this time to do more research and reprice the vehicle at it's actually condition and determined it had a true value of $15,000. I called the ******* ******* of the dealership, **** ********, voiced my concerns. Heis response was, "cut to the chase. What do you want me to do?" I said that we need to renegotiate the vehicle price at it's true condition and he said that he would call me back. He never did. I called him later that afternoon and left a message. I called early the next morning and was told that **** was out of the office, flying to ** and would not be back for a week. I explained my situation again and was told that he handed it off to **. When my wife and I went to pick up the vehicle from its second service call in as many weeks, ( we were told that the electrical problem was due to a dome light being left on and the battery was charged) we met with **. He asked what I wanted to resolve this situation. I explained that we needed to renegotiate the sales price or they needed to buy back the vehicle. He said' "OK, give me a minute." He left the desk we were sitting at and returned and offered a $15,000 trade in. I asked if this was in addition to the rest of our purchase price and he responded, "We don't own this vehicle, you do. All we can do is offer a trade in." I again asked if he was suggesting that we take a $4000 hit for a vehicle that we had put less than 200 miles on and he said all he can offer is a trade in.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a full refund of all money, including TT&L, the extended service plan which we were sold and the accrued interest on the auto loan.

Business Response: Mr. **** called me on the Feb. 17th and told me
the battery in his car was dead again and that he had lost all confidence in
the car from a safety standpoint due to a repair bill he had found in the glove
box of the vehicle. He claimed that this repair bill was for $7500 worth of
damage repair to the car. Mr. **** was upset because according to the ******,
which he signed, there was only minor damage to the vehicle and he felt that
$7500 was more than minor damage.

 

Unfortunately, the ****** report is all that we have to go
on, and ****** will only report what the repair shop claims. Additionally, the
work that was done to the vehicle was cosmetic – the ****** report showed the
vehicle was “in a rear-end collision with another motor vehicle. Minor front
damage reported, Airbags did not deploy”. Mr. **** signed this ****** report at
the time of purchase and was aware of the damage that the vehicle previously
had. Mr. **** was upset at the amount of the repair bill, but again, this is
not something that Round Rock Hyundai had knowledge of or any control over. My
assertion is that the amount of cosmetic repair that was done does not relate
to the safety of the vehicle, which was Mr. ****’s concern. The vehicle went
through our reconditioning process and absolutely no issues, safety or
otherwise, came up on this vehicle. It is our policy at Round Rock Hyundai if a
vehicle does not meet our recon safety and cosmetic standards, we sell the car
wholesale. This vehicle passed all of our recon tests and inspections.

 

Furthermore, Mr. ****’s claim that the vehicle’s value is
only $15,000 is inaccurate and unsupported. NADA states this vehicle’s TRADE
VALUE at $19,175 and RETAIL VALUE at 21,925. Kelley Blue Book places this
vehicles TRADE VALUE $15,916 and RETAIL VALUE at $20,690. Even with the
vehicle’s repair history, this vehicle still books out at these values. So Mr.
****’s claim that the car is only worth $15,000 is incorrect.

 

On February 20th, I offered a full refund to Mr.
**** to address his safety concerns. Mr. **** said that he did not want a full
refund, that he wanted to keep the car but he wanted us to cut him a check for
$4,000 and that would make up for the “value” of the car (in his mind $15,000)
and what he paid.

 

Again, if Mr. **** doesn’t think that this car is safe, as
he stated to me in his initial call – then I would like to buy him out of the
car. However, Mr. **** is wanting to keep the car and wants us to refund a
difference of his perceived (and incorrect) value of the car and what he paid.
I’m not willing to give him money because his perception of value of his
vehicle is inaccurate according to industry standard NADA and KBB. I feel as
though Mr. **** is using safety as a justification, however if he truly does
not feel safe in the car, a $4000 check will not change his safety concerns.
Again, I’m willing to undo the deal and issue Mr. **** a FULL REFUND if he
returns the vehicle. I have not heard back from Mr. **** with his decision.

 

 

**** ********

******* ******** ***** **** *******
     

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As seems to be the normal business practice for Round Rock Hyundai **** ********, the supposed ******* ******* of the dealership, their response is a misrepresentation of the facts and in regard to the last paragraph, blatant lies.  **** ******** has accused me of blackmail, sicked the Director of Litigation of The ****** ********** *****, an international corporation, on me, lied, misrepresented the products sold, and has tried to bully and intimidate me. 

Taken paragraph by paragraph: 
Paragraph 1:  The vehicle in question sustained $7500 worth of damage in an accident prior to Round Rock Hyundai accepting it as trade in.  No claim was ever made by me as to the safety of the vehicle to **** ********.  I told him I lost all faith in his dealership and in him as a man of his word.  When I presented the receipts for the repair of the vehicle to a manager of used car sales, because **** ******** refused to meet with me, he was dumbstruck.  He repeatedly asked me for the documents and I repeatedly refused to hand them over.   These receipts were found in the glove box of the vehicle and have the VIN prominently displayed on several pages of the multi-page receipt.

Paragraph 2: Any automotive professional that tries to hide behind a ******, or any other third party reporting document should be ashamed of themselves.  It borders on comical that anyone that pretends to know anything about cars or the automotive industry would even put a claim like in writing.  Any mechanic at all, and I purposely generalize with the word "any", can tell more about a vehicle by putting it on a service lift and examining it than any written report will ever tell them.   It is reprehensible that an automotive dealership owned by The ****** ********** ***** would try to hide behind a ******.  I signed the ****** because when I asked, and when my wife asked at least twice, we were told that "it was probably just a scuff or something."  This was a known lie by Round Rock Hyundai about this vehicle.  Also, I was told that I was signing the ****** to acknowledge that it was presented to me, not that I agreed with its findings.  A ****** is a useless document that has been deemed a defacto-marketing arm of automotive dealerships.

Paragraph 3: The vehicle was marketed as, and we were lead to believe through the repeated lies of the dealership, a used but very good condition vehicle and the Kelly Blue **ok puts this price at up to $21,307.  The vehicle that was sold to me was not in "very good condition" bu, using the dealership''s own valation, a vehicle that had sustained damage that was equal to almost 40% of its total value.  The receipts are there and were in fact found in the vehicle glove box.  When I showed these to the individual that **** ******** assigned to handle this complaint, he was dumbfounded.  He stammered, mumbled and repeatedly asked me for the receipts. I refused but did offer to read him the list of parts replaced.  After every item was read he responded with "well, that's just cosmetic."  He repeated this even after I read off the item "front right fender, replaced".  If the value of a "good condition vehicle" is roughly $21,000 and you subtract the 40% in damages, the value is actually less thn $15000.

Paragraph 4: **** ******** skips a great deal in his narrative of the events.  I spoke with him prior to his supposed "going out of town" and explained the situation to him.  I was giving him the opportunity to correct the situation by renegotiating based on the facts as we both now knew them.  He responded with, "What bro?  You want a check or something?"  I explained that I now valued this vehicle at $15,000 and that he should give me a number that he felt represented the true value of the vejicle as opposed to the lies he and his staff told in order to make the sale a few days earlier.  He said he would call me back.  After not receiving a call, I phoned the next morning to be told that he had "left town for a meeting" and that he passed this off to "another manager to handle".  This person's name was **, and he claimed to be the **** *** *******.  He offered to take the car as a trade-in for $15000. I asked if this was in addition to the balance of the money I had paid for it on February 1 and he said no, then he suggested that I could try to sell it to *** ****.
 
Paragraph 5:  It is not that I feel the car is unsafe, I feel that, by extension of his supposed authority as the general manager of Round Rock Hyundai, he blatantly and knowingly lied about the condition of the vehicle he sold.  Contrary to **** ******** claims, I have been in touch with him, his corporate office, the Director of Litigation of ****** ********** *****, Pamela Burbott, whom I can only guess was sicked on me by Round Rock Hyundai.  Also, **** ******** skipped over the part of the narrative where he accused me of blackmail for filing a complaint with the local BBB (i documented this with a previous email regarding this complaint).

The bullying, intimidation, general run-around and hiding by **** ********, the incompetence of his service department and the nasty and intimidating manner in which he and Ms ******* have engaged me is disgusting and they should be ashamed of their behavior.  **** ******** did finally offer to "un-wind" the deal (his term, no idea what it means) if I retracted my complaint with the local BBB, the Tx State Atty general and the TxDMV.  I explained that if were to return the vehicle to the dealership on those terms it would allow them to again lie about the vehicle to someone who may not be able to stand up their systematic bullying and intimidation.  I would not retract any of the truthful statements.  I explained to him and to the Director of Litigation for The ****** ********** ***** that I would accept a full refund, including the cost of the loan to this date and I would sign any document releasing them from future claims, that the Litigator requested, if the dealership would sign a document, that they could draw up, where they admit to knowingly misrepresenting the vehicle sold.  **** ******** has not responded to this offer.  
After being accused by **** ********, of blackmail and after being bullyed by him and his corporate attorney, after the scare tactics and intimidation by them both, I would expect an apology in addition to an unconditional refund. They vicimized me first by falsely marketing, and lying about the vehicle sold and they victimized me again by their bullying and intimidation. 

Regards,

*********** ****

Business Response: ·        
On January 301, 2014 ******* **** purchased a
used 2011 Honda Element from our Hyundai dealership with 31,095 miles on it.

·        
Mr. **** did not purchase the vehicle in
question.

·        
*******  **** was provided with and signed
a ****** report, acknowledging the report( which the dealership does not
generate).

·        
The ****** report indicated that there was
“minor damage reported” to the vehicle.

·        
The ****** report indicated no structural
damage.

·        
The ****** report indicated no airbag
deployment.

·        
With full knowledge of the ****** report, *******
**** agreed and paid $19,497 for the used vehicle.

·        
The retail value of the vehicle was $21,925
according to the NADA.

·        
The retail value of the vehicle was $20,925
according to the Kelly Blue Book.

·        
On February 10, 2014, ******* ****’s husband
came  to the dealership and advised that his wife’s battery was dead.

·        
 We replaced the battery at no charge to
******* ****.

·        
******* ****’s husband returned again on
February 17, 2014 and advised that his wife’s battery was again dead.

·        
The dealership assessed that the reason for the
dead battery was because someone had left the dome light on in the vehicle.

·        
The dealership recharged ******* ****’s battery
at no charge to her.

·        
******* ****’s husband then presented the
dealership with paperwork that had been left in the vehicle glove box,
indicating that the vehicle had $7500 worth of repairs.

·        
The repairs were cosmetic only.

·        
******* ****’s husband  then asked the
dealership “ to give him a check for $4,000, for the difference between the
purchase price and the value of the vehicle”.

·        
Even though Mr. **** was not the purchaser of
the vehicle, Mr. **** requested that the dealership “renegotiate the 
sales price or they would have to buy back the vehicle”.

·        
Mr. **** said that ******* ****, his wife, liked
the vehicle but he was concerned because he thought the vehicle was “not safe”
even though providing  Mr. **** with a $4,000 check would not have made
the vehicle “any safer”.

·        
On February 19, 2014 and February 20, 2014,
 Mr. **** called Corporate Headquarters for ****** ********** *****, Inc.
claiming he was the owner of the vehicle, that he had gotten no relief from the
dealership and requested assistance.

·        
Mr. **** spoke with a corporate representative
and was advised that he would receive a call back from our attorney.

·        
Mr. **** was called by our attorney who asked
him what relief he was seeking.

·        
Mr. **** said that he “didn’t know what he
wanted to do”, that he “wasn’t sure because his wife loved the car”, that he
would “fax over a copy of the BBB complaint and the Attorney General complaint
immediately “ and would “get back with our attorney as to what he wanted”.

·        
Mr. **** never got back with our attorney, nor
did he fax over a copy of the BBB complaint and Attorney General Complaint.

·        
The dealership has repeatedly offered to buy the
vehicle back in exchange for a release .

·        
The dealership remains willing to buy back the
vehicle in exchange for a release from the owner of the vehicle, ******* ****.

 

**** ******** ,**  Round
Rock Hyundai

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Round Rock Hyundai is correct.  The car was purchased in my wife's name.  They are incorrect as to the date of the purchase.  I, ***** ****, went to the dealership on Thursday January 30th on my wife's behalf to look at the vehicle.  When I was told that it was in "Great Used Condition" I asked them to hold the vehicle until Saturday February 1st so my wife could take a look at the vehicle and make the final decision.  The ****** *******, **** *********, ran my American Express card for $500 to hold the car, but he stated that he would not process the charge if we came back for the car on Saturday. 
On Saturday February 1, my wife and returned to the dealership and purchased the car.  When we noticed the dates were all incorrect.  They were all backdated to January 31 so their salesperson could get the credit for a January sale.  We were told that it was done all the time.  I have since spoken with other dealerships who have said that it would never be done at their dealership because it constitutes fraud.
In hindsight, this should have been the first clue that this dealership routinely practices fraud.  The second time was when I received my AMEX bill with the $500 charge from Round Rock Hyundai.  I double checked the paperwork my wife signed, the paperwork with the incorrect dates on it, and there was no a credit for the $500.  So, this was the second instance of Round Rock treating the consumer in an unfair manner. 
These two instances show a clear pattern of behavior by Round Rock Hyundai of ignore the law, fraudulently charging consumer's credit cards when no goods or services have been offered, on top of knowingly misrepresenting the car's they sell. 

Since the dealership seems to have an inferior service department that must rely on the word of a car owner when they receive a trade-in, it makes one wonder what they did for the decades before ****** was in business.  It was explained to us, my wife and I, that by signing a ******, it was merely an acknowledgment of receiving it, it was not ever an acknowledgement of agreeing with the statements.  Unless this was another of the dealerships tricks to fool the consumer, like backdating legal documents, fraudulently charging their credit cards and lying about the vehicle condition. 

When I presented the repair receipts to the supposed manager that the GM was hiding behind, he was visibly upset that I had them and continuously asked for them.  When I refused and offered to read him the parts replaced he kept repeating, "That's just cosmetic."  Even when I read off parts and damage, "hood, front right fender, bumper, two tires, spark-plugs broken off,  radiator, etc."  Not sure when tires, radiators and hoods became cosmetic.  Again, it shows a complete lack of understanding of automobiles and what constitutes cosmetics.

I did infact speak with the corporate offices of the ****** ********** ***** (***) and was told I would receive a call from either the dealership general manager or from the leagal department.  I had no idea I was about to be verbally belittled by and bullied by the Director of Litigation for a multinational corporation.  This caught me completely off guard and intimidated me a great deal.  I was upset for quite a while after this call when the gravity of the call sank in.  I was being "interrogated" by a Corporate Litigation Attorney, all because I refused to be taken advantage of by one of their dealerships.  I did offer to send a copy of the BBB complaint along with the complaint filed with the State of Texas Atty General and TX DMV.  I asked for the Director's email address and the Director of Litigation said, " I prefer to do things by fax."   I decided that if their dealership was incapable of even forwarding paperwork that they were in possession of to their corporate office and my offer to email it was rebuffed, that they could wait until the manager of the Round Rock Hyundai forwarded them the complaints.  Apparently this was not done.

Lastly, a NADA or KBB value for a car is always higher for a dealership than for purchase from an individual.  This is because of the amount of trust placed in a legitimate dealership and the confidence one has in dealing with a dealership.  When that trust is breached and the vehicle condition is not checked by the dealership prior to their selling it, that premium is no longer applicable.   When I offered to accept a refund for $4000 from the dealership, I was allowing them a way to save face in the fact of getting caught lying and deceiving their customers.  That offer is no longer acceptable.  An apology from the dealership and their corporate owners along with their signing a release of any future intimidation and action against me (similar to what their corporate Director of Litigation wanted me to sign) along with the difference between what I paid and the actual retail value of the car will be acceptable. 

This dealership has lied, threatened, backdated official documents, fraudulently charged my credit card, and engaged in predatory and intimidating practices.  Unlike Round Rock Hyundai, my family can't afford expensive attorneys to help fight for our rights as consumers.  All we can do is try to stand up for our rights in the face of bullying, intimidation, and scare tactics. 

 An apology in writing and a signed statement accepting responsibility for knowingly cheating the public, stating that they will no longer practice their predatory ways and stop their intimidation, along with a refund equal to the difference of what they tricked my family into paying for this car and its actual value is the only acceptable solution.


Regards,

*********** ****

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB Austin, Texas REF:Round Rock Hyundai (Purchase on Hyundai Santa Fe, AWD 2.4 engine). Dear BBB Associate: On about November 2012, my fiancée and I were interested in buying a Hyundai Santa Fe, AWD SUV. A salesperson by the name of ****** ****, approached us and offered to show us the stores vehicles, and at the same time offered to assess our 2007 Toyota 4Runner, so we could use it as a trade-in vehicle and pay for the difference of the new vehicle. To make a long story short, we asked for information on Santa Fe’s, that we could export into Peru, and not have any problems with customs, and specifically asked for a 4 cyl. Engine, not to exceed 2.0 liter, or 2000cc engines. Mr. ****, said that he had only one of those vehicles and that he had to bring it from a different store and that it would be at least until Monday before we could get it, so we went home and waited for the call, and headed towards the store to trade in our 4Runner, for the Santa Fe, AWD, which had arrived as per Mr. ****, this car had already 332 miles on it or was driven before. We test drove it, we liked it, and proceeded to take care of the trade-in documentation for the (2007Toyota 4Runner), and finance the balance owed with Round Rock Hyundai. Mr. **** knew the vehicle we were purchasing was going to be exported to Peru, and that the engine could not exceed 4 Cylinders, and/or 2000cc. After preparing the car for exporting it, we found out the engine size was of 2.4, or 2400ccm and that the Peruvian Government would not allow such a vehicle thru Customs. I contacted Round Rock Hyundai’s salesperson ****** ****, and explained the situation to him, but Mr. **** is not accepting that we told him as a condition, that 2.0 or 2000ccs, was the limit to export this vehicle. I suggested that he trade us the vehicle for the correct version, and is not cooperating, even though it has been himself that sold as the wrong car, all we want is to exchange it for the right size vehicle. The car has only been driven 2000 miles, it is still brand new, and would like to have it exchanged for the correct vehicle. The ONLY REASON for us buying this new vehicle is because we were relocating to Peru, and informed Mr. ****, from the beginning that this was a MUST. Presently, I am working overseas and my new purchased vehicle has had to stay behind in Austin, TX, because the Peruvian Government, will not allow this car thru Customs, It is not correct that after paying $30,000.00, for this vehicle, I do not have a car to drive because of this erroneous information made by Hyundai. I expect and look forward from Round Rock Hyundai, Austin, Texas, to exchange the vehicle for the correct 2000cc, that should have been given to us by Mr. ****. Thank you very much, and I am sure this matter can be worked out without legal assistance. **** * *******

Desired Settlement: Even exchange, as vehicles cost about the same, and I will be able to export the vehicle overseas, as originally intended and drive the car which I paid.

Business Response: From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 3:25 PM
To: ****,******
Subject: RE: Help!
******:
 
A smaller engine(2.0),  costs less than a (2.4)!
 
Terrain down here calls for an AWD, or 4x4. According to Hyundai's web site, smaller engines are less expensive, even my teenage son knows this.
 
I waited 3 months down here in Peru, hoping that the new law - issued June 11th., that the 2400cc could be brought into the country without paying taxes(70%), of the retail value, and NO, I am stuck with the vehicle, thus, I need to see how you can help us get trade this for a 2.0 AWD.
 
Let me know please!
 
****/*******
 



From: J****@penskeautomotive.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Date: Fri, 5 Jul 2013 16:10:52 -0400
Subject: RE: Help!
only way is to trade your 2.4 into 2.0 turbo, turbo will cost more than the 2.4 engine.
do you still need all wheel drive?
 



From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 2:58 PM
To: ****,******
Subject: Help!
******:
 
We need your help ASAP.
 
To make a long story short, purchased our Santa Fe, from you so we could bring the new vehicle into Lima, Peru.
 
Well, customs will not allow us to bring a vehicle that has 2400cc, or 2.4 Liter engines.
 
The vehicle has only 2300 miles, it has no use at all, recall when you sold as the vehicle it already had 330 miles.
 
******, the vehicle is still brand new, and we are now learning from Hyundai's web site that the Santa Fe, we bought from you, also comes in a 2000cc, or 2.0 Liter engine, and that this is the vehicle you should have sold us. I know it is not your fault, but you failed to mention the other Santa Fe, 2.0, or 2000cc engine available, and the only way I can bring this vehicle into Peru, is if I exchange it for a 2.0, or 2000cc engine?
 
Please let me know how we can fix this, I am in Peru, as we speak, but the SUV is in a garage at a friend's house in Austin, I need to see if we can maybe change this Santa Fe out, and get a 2.0 so we can bring this down here!
 
Please reply ASAP.
 
Thank you ******!
 
****/*******
 
 From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Saturday, July 06, 2013 11:06 AM
To: ****,******
Subject: RE: Help!
That said ******, as you now we only driven the car 2000 miles, can we trade up for a 2.0, and if so, how much difference would have to be paid?
 
Thanks,
 
****/*******



From: J****@penskeautomotive.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Date: Sat, 6 Jul 2013 10:44:11 -0400
Subject: RE: Help!
good luck finding a 2.0 Turbo for less
 
have your son go to hyundaiusa.com and do a comparison on the pricing on both models,
 
as you've found out that 2.0 turbo's were available, at the time you didn't want them because they were more expensive and lower fuel economy.
 



From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 3:25 PM
To: ****,******
Subject: RE: Help!
******:
 
A smaller engine(2.0),  costs less than a (2.4)!
 
Terrain down here calls for an AWD, or 4x4. According to Hyundai's web site, smaller engines are less expensive, even my teenage son knows this.
 
I waited 3 months down here in Peru, hoping that the new law - issued June 11th., that the 2400cc could be brought into the country without paying taxes(70%), of the retail value, and NO, I am stuck with the vehicle, thus, I need to see how you can help us get trade this for a 2.0 AWD.
 
Let me know please!
 
****/*******
 



From: J****@penskeautomotive.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Date: Fri, 5 Jul 2013 16:10:52 -0400
Subject: RE: Help!
only way is to trade your 2.4 into 2.0 turbo, turbo will cost more than the 2.4 engine.
do you still need all wheel drive?
 



From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 2:58 PM
To: ****,******
Subject: Help!
******:
 
We need your help ASAP.
 
To make a long story short, purchased our Santa Fe, from you so we could bring the new vehicle into Lima, Peru.
 
Well, customs will not allow us to bring a vehicle that has 2400cc, or 2.4 Liter engines.
 
The vehicle has only 2300 miles, it has no use at all, recall when you sold as the vehicle it already had 330 miles.
 
******, the vehicle is still brand new, and we are now learning from Hyundai's web site that the Santa Fe, we bought from you, also comes in a 2000cc, or 2.0 Liter engine, and that this is the vehicle you should have sold us. I know it is not your fault, but you failed to mention the other Santa Fe, 2.0, or 2000cc engine available, and the only way I can bring this vehicle into Peru, is if I exchange it for a 2.0, or 2000cc engine?
 
Please let me know how we can fix this, I am in Peru, as we speak, but the SUV is in a garage at a friend's house in Austin, I need to see if we can maybe change this Santa Fe out, and get a 2.0 so we can bring this down here!
 
Please reply ASAP.
 
Thank you ******!
 
****/*******
 

Business Response:   
  As you can see by the emails from Mr. ******* we had NO prior knowledge of him needing a 2.0 liter engine Santa Fe until he found from Perubian government after he made the purchase.  And as you can see in the email to Mr. **** he says clearly it's not your fault and i need your help. Mr. **** affered Mr. ******* the opportunity to trade the Santa Fe in for a 2.0 liter one. i can not swap a brand new more expensive Santa Fe for a used Santa Fe it dosn't matter how many miles his car has on it. i still will be happy to trade him out of the one he bought into a new 2.0 liter if he chooses to.   




 From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 2:58 PM
To: ****,******
Subject: Help!******:
 
We need your help ASAP.
 
To make a long story short, purchased our Santa Fe, from you so we could bring the new vehicle into Lima, Peru.
 
Well, customs will not allow us to bring a vehicle that has 2400cc, or 2.4 Liter engines.
 
The vehicle has only 2300 miles, it has no use at all, recall when you sold as the vehicle it already had 330 miles.
 
******, the vehicle is still brand new, and we are now learning from Hyundai's web site that the Santa Fe, we bought from you, also comes in a 2000cc, or 2.0 Liter engine, and that this is the vehicle you should have sold us. I know it is not your fault, but you failed to mention the other Santa Fe, 2.0, or 2000cc engine available, and the only way I can bring this vehicle into Peru, is if I exchange it for a 2.0, or 2000cc engine?
 
Please let me know how we can fix this, I am in Peru, as we speak, but the SUV is in a garage at a friend's house in Austin, I need to see if we can maybe change this Santa Fe out, and get a 2.0 so we can bring this down here!
 
Please reply ASAP.
 
Thank you ******!
 
****/*******




From: **** ******* [***********@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 3:25 PM
To: ****,******
Subject: RE: Help!
******:
 
A smaller engine(2.0),  costs less than a (2.4)!
 
Terrain down here calls for an AWD, or 4x4. According to Hyundai's web site, smaller engines are less expensive, even my teenage son knows this.
 
I waited 3 months down here in Peru, hoping that the new law - issued June 11th., that the 2400cc could be brought into the country without paying taxes(70%), of the retail value, and NO, I am stuck with the vehicle, thus, I need to see how you can help us get trade this for a 2.0 AWD.
 
Let me know please!
 
****/*******
 



From: J****@penskeautomotive.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Date: Fri, 5 Jul 2013 16:10:52 -0400
Subject: RE: Help!
only way is to trade your 2.4 into 2.0 turbo, turbo will cost more than the 2.4 engine.
do you still need all wheel drive?

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. ****, spoke to us both, my fiancée, and myself and we clearly mentioned our need for a 4 cylinder engine, economical 2000cc, or 2.0 Liter engine.

Mr. **** mentioned that he had one but it was at a different store, and that he could bring it to Round Rock Hyundai, by next week, and that if we could wait?

Our response was, sure, just call us as soon as it arrives and will proceed.

Mr. **** called us and we went with out 4Runner for trade in ASAP.

I we know little about engine sizes, but we can say that we asked for an SUV AWD  4 cylinder engine, economical , or 2.0 Liter engine, knowing that a larger engine would not be allowed thru customs when it was time to imported into the country.

We relied on Mr. ****'s sales knowledge to provide us with the right vehicle, thus, we feel Mr. **** in an attempt to make or close the sale, did not listen to us when we mentioned this need.

We had been planning this purchase for some time and we were aware of the engine limitations, and were not going to purchase a vehicle which would not be allowed into Peru.

Yes the vehicle was purchased in 11/2012, it had already 332 miles, it was not brand new, yes have only driven it 2000 miles, in 4 months, and we would like to exchange it for a 2.0, 4 cylinder Santa Fe, but we feel that since it was not the vehicle we asked for, a discount or a compensatory fair and adequate value should be granted for such an exchange.

Mr. ****, has not made us an offer or tried to help us with this problem, it is not correct for us to have to pay this extra money if they handed the wrong vehicle to us to begin with.

Regards,


**** * *******
******* ********
**** *******





























Business Response:    
  Mr. *******

    First of all **** you need to get your stories right in your email to ****** on July 5th and i quote(I know it's not your fault, but you failed to mention the other Santa Fe 2.0 liter engine availabe.) not true (also you said and i quote from your email on July 5th and i'm now learning from the Hyunadai websit that there is a 2.0 liter avaliable) now your saying that the car you odered all along was the 2.0 liter Sants Fe how can that be. all Santa fe's are all 4cyl. you ask ****** to sale you the one with the best fuel economy the 2.4 liter has better fuel economy than the 2.0 turbo and it's less expencive which he told you at that time. we sale cars in the US we don't keep up with other country's laws. i told you in my last email that i would be happy to trade you out of this car and into another one.you were here on FEB. 5th trying to sell us your Santa FE because of a job issue you were having. do you still have those numbers we gave you?? i will be happy to sale you a 2.0 turbo at my cost and give you what your car was worth back in Feb. even though it's worth less now. Your car is now a used car it has been titled it was only brand new once and is not worth as much as a new one no matter how many miles it has. the 2.0 liter turbo is more expencive than the 2.4 liter. so ther will be a differace in what they sale for new minus what we give you for your trade plus TT&L and what you owe on yours.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. ****,

FYI, we are very happy with the 2013, Santa Fe AWD you sold us. We are not going against you, or trying to discredit you.

We were very happy with our purchase and had no doubts that we had been giving the vehicle we asked for, until,
we started the exportation documentation for the vehicle, as we had made it very clear with you that we needed a 2013, 4 cyl., 2000cc, Santa FE, AWD.
While in the process of preparing the Santa Fe for shipment to Peru, we found out that what you sold was a Santa Fe, AWD with a 2400cc, or 2.4, and not
the 4 cyl., 2000cc, we had asked for.

Had we found out earlier or much sooner, we would have returned the vehicle to you right away, and exchanged it for the correct one. At no point in our minds, had we doubted that you were selling us the wrong vehicle, because there is no way we would have let this detail pass, as we  knew that we could not export it into Peru.

Mr. ****, YES, we took the Santa Fe, to get an appraisal to you in February, but it was only because I has lost my job and was worried about not being able to 
continue with my payments, but this has nothing to do with the vehicle we purchased from you(story straight). You are misunderstanding why we took vehicle for an appraisal, this has nothing to do with the problem we have now.


Mr. ****, we cannot take your offer of 20K, which you made back in February, we can exchange it for the correct Santa Fe,  but it must be a fair/reasonable offer.
 The Santa Fe, has only been driven 2K miles, is sitting in covered storage, and was purchased for $29000,00.
 Speak to Mr. ********, explain to him about the situation, and make an exchange because the vehicle was over looked, and some how it was
NOT THE ONE WE ASKED FOR.

We are not car experts or doubted your sale. We waited this long because relocating overseas takes time and the vehicle is not being used.

We would prefer to return the vehicle to you, but re evaluate, re appraise, and exchange it for the correct one.

Your bid was way too low for only 2000 miles of usage.

Remember, we still need to get the right vehicle!!, we are stuck without transportation, please expedite this so we can enjoy our purchase from you!


Thank you very much,

**** *******
******* ********


















8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Hyundai Sonata with an extended warranty from Hyundai in 2012. We have since then traded the vehicle in, and no longer need the extended warrant that we purchased with it. We submitted for a refund on May 1st, and we were told that the refund check would be mailed to us within 4-6 weeks. We had not received it after the 4-6 weeks, and we called to find out the status of the check and could not get anyone to call us back or answer the phone. Once someone decided to answer the phone the proceeded to tell us that it takes 6-8 weeks to receive the check. We waited the 8 weeks, and still have not received the check. I called and spoke to a gentleman in their finance department and he told me the check is still processing and that there was no way for him to tell me when I would receive the check. He said he was going on vacation and would call me when he got back. I never heard back from him, and I tried to call him but he did not answer. We called and asked to speak to a manager, and he did not answer so we left a message. We never received a call back, and it is now almost 3 months later and we still have not received our money back. We have been getting the run around from Hyundai, and they refuse to call us back or provide us with an answer. We would like our money back, especially because it is over $1000 that we are supposed to be getting back.

Desired Settlement: To receive our refund check within the next week.

Business Response:   

      Ms ******

  first of all i'm very sorry that this has happened we are in the process of changing how we do the concelations the orocess is slow and frankly not working. Im not sure when your going to see this email but i have your check here at our store i had it cut for you so you arn't waiting any longer. fill free to call me on my cell ************ and ket me know the best way to get the check to you if you don't have time to come here. agian i apologize for the lack of comunication with you that has coused this. I will make the necessary changes to prevent this from happening agian thanks for receaching out to me on this. please call me if you would like to and let me know the best way to get this check to you. 

  **** ********
  GM

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******




















4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues