BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cavender Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cavender Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cavender Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1987 Business started: 04/08/1987 in TX Business started locally: 04/08/1987 Business incorporated: 04/08/1987 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Cavender, President Mr. Marion Palmore, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Cavender, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Marion Palmore, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Cavender Affiliated, Inc SBC Motors
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cavender Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5730 NW Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78238 (210) 681-6601

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract and purchase order regarding 2011 Toyota Tundra Crew Max Texas Edition on October 28, 2011. I have tried and tried since December 15, 2011; when my upgrades were finally installed. To this day my contract agreement has not been completed; and a defective up grade which has been a major concern finally became a serious situation. Injuries to my mother's right shoulder, ***** **** on January 26, 2014 when the tannue cover gave out and hospitalized her.

Desired Settlement: 1.Complete the purchase order of the unfinished contract. 2. Pay any and all damages including injures, time spent on finalizing the agreed contract and restitution for improper upgrades. 3. Honor the price and the discounts on the offer during that time of purchase.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


We feel that a response is not warranted, because the
“customer’s statement of the problem” and the “desired settlement” remarks are
incoherent to the point that they are incomprehensible. We value all of our customers
but, there will be no further discussion on this complaint.




****** *******

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

    The following attachments explain just a few of the many reasons of my complaints.

1. The original contract was never signed by the seller, which also says "THIS CONTRACT IS NOT VALID UNTIL YOU AND WE SIGN IT" especially when Toyota had Borne Toyota as the dealership who owned the rights to this truck as it shows in the window sticker with MSRP and everything the Toyota Tundra included.

2. The Pictures of the truck with the windshield discount was never applied.

3. On the folder with case number **********, ***********, **********, ********** is one of many complaints to the customer satisfactory from my Toyota experience with the dealership.


4. My copy of the purchase order that I signed and never giving to me at the time of purchase, even though the upgrade weren't installed till December 15, 2011. I had been asking for a copy of my purchase order my mother was injured January 26, 2014 by the defected tannue cover which collapsed on her shoulder and she has yet to recover from that injury. My service ********** ******* **** **********, told my wife and I that the tannue cover that had been installed, had used parts put on the frame, wasn't installed properly, and the color of the cover didn't match to the color of the my 2011 Toyota Tundra. Then he said "We (Cavender Toyota) were going to be taken responsibility of the bed cover, because who ever Cavender Toyota hired to install it was not going to up hold their warranty. The company claimed someone had altered it and put used parts on". **** ********** again said "that they would take responsibility of the tannue cover, because by then it had scratched the paint on the bed of the truck and had cancer rust building up.
 
5. On May 12, 2014 I was giving another we owe you with the list of things that were going to be done by ****** *. When I turned in my Toyota Tundra on May 28, 2014 I was reassured that my Truck would be taken care of and nothing would happened to it. The next morning I get a call from ****** and he told me my truck was missing and he did not know where it was. When I called Toyota Motor Credit Corp. I was told that ****** had called them, told them were the truck was, and gave B Skip Busters permission to take the truck. So that Cavender wouldn't have to fulfill the final agreement before we paid off the loan balance. Confirmation 75YW of the call to Toyota Collections, which are aware of this whole situation and did not understand why ****** did what he did because now $703.67 has been added to the pay off amount.  


Regards,

**** ****

Business Response: The matter has been resolved. This is Cavender Toyota's final response. Thank you.




****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have taken our **** ***** into Cavender ****** numerous times for repairs, and feel like we are getting the runaround. We dropped off the car on 1-**-14 for a cold start engine rattle, transmission, and the car just dying while sitting in traffic. We then picked it up on 1-22-14, and we were told they replaced the cam shaft gear and could not pull a code for the other problem. We then had to take it back on 2-*-14 for the same cold start engine rattle problem. We picked it up on 2-*-14 and was told they replaced the other cam shaft gear. We started the car at the dealership before we left and heard the same cold start engine noise again. So we made another appointment to take it back on 2/**/14 for the same problem. We picked the car up on 2-**-14, and was told they compared it to other vehicles with the same engine and that it was normal because the other cars made the same noise, and that it was "as per vehicle design". If it is per vehicle design why did they try to fix it the first two times when we brought the car in for that noise because when we bought the car it did not make that noise. When I see the commercials for Cavender and they say have confidence it really makes me upset because I don't have confidence.

Desired Settlement: We want the car fixed as soon as possible. Also I want an apology from owners of the dealership for their managers acting like we are stupid consumers.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

 

 

        These are the steps done in an attempt to resolve Mr.  **** complaint on  his **** *****.

 

1)      I have opened a TAS case #********* ( Technical Assistance System) with ******.

2)      ****** has reviewed the repairs we have done, there was a Technical Service Bulletin that was performed on 1/**/14 to address this complaint. The noise has diminished but there is still some noise heard at start up.

3)      After reviewing the repairs, the Field Technical Specialist wanted to compare the noise to other vehicles with the same Vehicle Model and engine.

4)      After verifying with two other ***** this noise was determine to be characteristic of vehicle at this time.

5)      I performed a DPR or Dealer Product Report # *********,  alerting  ****** about this noise that is not satisfactory to the customer.

6)      In this report, I sent them detail information on the repair performed and a copy of video with the engine rattle noise.

 

    ****** is continuing on improving  their product, that’s why they  take customer concerns and this reports  very seriously.  

 

   At this time, this the only thing we can do. The manufacture says this is characteristic, and there has been no reports of engine failure due to this noise. Please keep in mind that the car was not purchased at Cavender ****** but and we have alerted ****** of Mr. ****’ complaint and done our best to help.        Please advise us on what to do next?  

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am both shocked and incredibly disappointed at how quickly the standard of customer service I received from the staff at Toyota Cavender has deteriorated. I first visited this dealership Saturday, October 5th, with the hopes that I could walk away a more informed potential future buyer. I clearly stated time and time again that I was visiting to gain a better understanding of what kind of vehicles fell into my budget bracket, and that my tentative budget was just that, tentative. After one of the dealers showed me different vehicles, he became more and more insistent that I could work out a deal that day. When I expressed that I was hoping to simply shop around today, and not make a purchase, the number game began. Figures were crunched, and a second salesman got involved. While I thought they were offering a great deal, both myself and my guest still felt apprehensive, as purchasing a vehicle was not on the days itinerary. We thanked the salesperson for their time, but again explained the situation, and that at the very least we would leave for lunch to discuss the matter more on our own. At the salespersons insistence, lunch was ordered for us so that we could continue to work out a budget. It wasn't until I finally met the third representative, who while drafting out paperwork notified me that I had five days time in which I could return the vehicle after purchasing, that I felt comfortable enough to purchase said vehicle. With the paperwork signed, I drove off with the vehicle, feeling a little unsettled but overall comforted by the understanding that I had a five days to make a return. Up until this point, while I found the staff rather aggressive, I took it with a grain of salt, understanding that they are after all, in sales-driven careers. Because the above took place on a Saturday, I returned to the dealership on its next day of business, which fell two days later. When my guest, (who happens to be none other than my fiancee) and I entered your place of business, not a single employee approached or made an effort to greet us, although several seemed to have the opportunity. Not knowing where else to go, we approached what I now understand to be the managers desk, where a representative named ****** ****** was seated. After a slight pause in which we waited for a greeting, (which never came) my fiancee and I went ahead and asked ****** how to go about returning the vehicle. Without even bothering to make eye contact, much less standing up to address or greet us professionally, ****** ****** simply kept his eyes fixed on his computer and retorted "do you think this is like buying a t-shirt that fits too tight, so you just return it?". At this point, my fiancée and I had walked in under the impression that what we were hoping to accomplish was perfectly within the bounds of our contract. There are few things that I do not tolerate well, disrespect towards women is one of them. The level of disrespect that I feel was demonstrated in this moment is something I have never before experienced nor even witnessed in any other customer service setting. Floored by Mr. ******* cutting response, my fiancée asked if there was instead a manager we could speak to. He identified himself as the manager, and informed us that there was no sort of return policy with any of the vehicles. The overall tone and manner in which we were being spoken to was highly upsetting. It was reiterated to myself and my fiancée time and time again that "you can't just drive a vehicle around and then decide you don't want it". We walked into this establishment expecting to be treated with a modicum of respect that was flagrantly lacking. After it became apparent that no real progress was going to be made that evening, I left the keys and vehicle at the dealership, hoping to be able to speak with a the appropriate personnel the following day. I wish I could state that following that event there was a turning point in my customer service experience, however there was not. The following day I spoke to Mr.**** *****, the financial representative who initially drafted our contract. When I asked him for the contact information of the dealerships general manager, he readily provided me with a phone number and name. I asked again if this was the contact information for the general manager, and he repeated that it was. At this particular dealership, the general manager is an individual named ****** *******, and I would soon learn that Mr.***** had not been truthful in his assertion, and instead provided me with contact information for a different individual, the used cars sales director *** *******. When I called Mr.***** back to inform him that he had misdirected me, he asserted that he would redirect my call to the front desk so that they may in turn patch my call directly to Mr. *******. In yet another display of dishonesty, my call was then forwarded to none other than Mr. *******. After Mr.******* introduced himself, I requested to be connected with Mr. *******, only to be that Mr. ******* did not want to speak with me. Mr.******* went on to criticize my actions of the previous evening, and for bringing in a guest who he assumed to be a rival car salesman, and suggested I busy myself trying to get out of my second contract. I corrected Mr.*******, explaining that I am not in any other contract, and found his presumptuous statements to only add to the list of personal affronts received by your staff. Frustrated by the lack of assistance, I asked for the email of Mr.********. Mr.******* stated that he did not have that information at his disposal, and that I could find it through your website, where it is in fact not displayed. By this point, any feelings of trust for the staff had diminished to such a low point that, while I did not want to take possession of the truck, I was to worried that while it remained in my name the staff might have it towed or reported abandoned. I picked up the vehicle Wednesday morning, and again spoke to Mr.*******, who proved to be helpful by apologizing that your email information was not online, and finally revealed Mr. ********* contact information. Employees are the face of any company. As I have no doubt you are well aware, a companies reputation can be made or distorted by who it employs. My experience as a first time buyer has been tainted by the overall lack of professionalism and respect that was expressed by Mr.****** ****** as well as multiple members of the staff. I will never make the mistake of purchasing another vehicle from any Cavander dealership, and I will be sure to steer anyone I come across, through personal or professional avenues, away from this business establishment so that they may avoid the same experience and treatment we received.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for the way my fiancée and I were treated. This negative experience could have been prevented entirely had we been treated with respect and understanding. I was allowed to sign a contract (a contract that had been drafted without needing so much as formal proof of my identity) with the understanding that I had five days time in which to return the vehicle. Whether or not the representatives at this dealership continue to deny that, I feel that I still deserve the right to have this vehicle returned. I wish to in no way be further associated with this place of business.

Business Response:

Good Morning, 
 

I apologize to Mr. ***** and his Fiancée for their experience at Cavender Toyota. We will learn from his buying experience and hope to provide better service to our guest in the future.

Now to address Mr. ***** ’concerns. We record every transaction with video and audio recording equipment for our customers protection and to review transactions for training purposes so we may improve our customer’s buying experience. After reviewing the recording of Mr. *****’ transaction we could not see or hear any discussion of a 5 day timeframe to reconsider his purchase. We abide by Texas state law which clearly states there is no cooling off period and a signed contract and a physical delivery constitutes a binding agreement. We simply ask that our guest honor their legal binding agreement in the same manner that we honor our portion of the transaction. We facilitate approximately 8,500 vehicle transactions a year and do not offer cooling off or bring back clause in our contracts.

In closing I would like to personally apologize to Mr. ***** and his Fiancée when its covenant for them to meet with me. My personal cell number is ************. Thank you.





****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to purchase a used vehicle from this dealership if a warranty was given to me for this vehicle at no additional cost to me. Cavender's finance manager agreed to give me a warranty with my purchase. I asked several times if I was being charged for the $3100 warranty and was repeatedly told NO. The next day, I was going over all the charges and realized that they indeed did charge me the $3100 for the warranty. So I immediately went back to the dealership to have them fix the error. They said they never said they were giving me a warranty but would review the recorded conversation and if the finance person did say that they would honor it. Of course, they said it was never said but would not let me review the tape. So then I asked to cancel the extended warranty that I paid extra for and was told if I did so then they would give me less for my trade-in and raise my interest rate from 3.8% to 6.9%. I would like to cancel the warranty, that I feel I have every right to do, especially since it was less then 24hrs when I asked to do so. I did call the warranty company also (Coverage provided by: ** *************** ***. in AR, MS, OK and ** ** **********, Inc. in LA.**** ******* ******* ******** ** ***** ***** ********* Who told me to contact to dealership to cancel it and that it may be canceled at any time.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel the extended warranty and get the $3100 for the warranty refunded back to me.

Business Response:

I contacted Mr. ****** regarding his concerns with the terms
of his recent vehicle purchase. There was a misunderstanding about the
inclusion of an extended service contract in the transaction and Mr. ****** has
requested that we cancel the service contract. We have agreed to delete the
service contract and re-do the paperwork. Mr. ****** has agreed to come to the
dealership Saturday, 8/24/2013 by noon to take care it. All other terms and values will
remain as previously agreed.

As of 12:40pm om the 24th Mr. ****** has not shown up to cancel the service contract and re-sign his purchase contract. We have left two voicemail and we are waiting for a response. Ive also given Mr. ****** my cell number.




****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a horrible experience at this dealership. They advertised a new 2012 Corolla LE and sold me a Corolla L (base model) without my knowledge, blaming the mistake on http://**********.com. When I realized the mistake I contacted them immediately and was directed to several different people. The finance manager told me that they couldn't do anything about it because of disclaimers in the fine print. I contacted Toyota Corp. and they directed me to the customer relations manager. I explained the situation to Mr. Lonnie Perez and he assured me that they would make it right by either reimbursing me for the price difference or trading vehicles with me that had comparable mileage. At first he made the excuse that he was having difficulty finding a comparable replacement. After that he began to ignore my phone calls and emails completely. I explained to him that bait and switch tactics are illegal in Texas and that they should resolve this problem. They never did and now totally ignore me. I wouldn't set foot in this dealership ever again. They have had more than ample opportunity to make this situation right but instead are choosing to ignore me. This has gone on for close to a year now. I have written proof that they falsely advertised the vehicle in question in my possession and can provide it upon request. Thanks, David P.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to receive a check from Cavender Toyota in the amount of $2,000.00 which is the approximate difference in value between the two vehicles in question. I am tired of dealing with it and just want to be done with it. I want them to be honest and own up to their mistake.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

Mr. ***** purchased a 2012 Toyota Corolla L from Cavender Toyota on August 03,2012 which he found listed online on **** ******.com, one of several companies that list vehicles in our inventory on the Internet. These listings are pulled from our main inventory data base that includes multiple photos of the vehicle, our internet pricing, and a description of the vehicle. The model and trim level descriptions are derived by decoding of the vehicle identification number or VIN. Some vehicles use the same VIN codes for different trim levels, so it is possible for a vehicle to be misidentified on **** ******.com’s website. This is what we believe occurred on the vehicle that Mr. ***** purchased. He came to our dealership after setting an appointment with Mr. ******* *******, a member of our Internet sales staff. The Corolla Mr. ***** purchased was never represented to be a Corolla LE model by our dealership. As a matter of fact, Mr. ***** agreed to pay extra monies to have cruise control added to the Corolla he purchased because it was not standard equipment on the Corolla L model; a standard feature on the Corolla LE.

On or about Feb.20,2013 Mr. ***** contacted Toyota’s customer experience 800 number to speak to concerns about problems with the arm rests becoming unattached from the door trim. At this time he also voiced his concerns about becoming aware that he had purchased a Corolla L that had been advertised as a Corolla LE. This information was conveyed to Ms. ******** *****, Owner Experience Manager for
Cavender Toyota. Mr. ***** was advised that **** ******.com has a very clear disclaimer concerning vehicles on their website as it pertains to accuracy of any information. **** ******.com has a Visitor Agreement that clearly outlines the terms for users, and Section IX, Item A is very specific about accuracy of information. I have found no indication that Cavender Toyota ever made any misrepresentations concerning this transaction. In fact, Mr. ***** seemed to be so elated with his experience here, he took the time to rate Cavender Toyota and his experience using an online research site of automotive dealers, Dealer Rater. This review, which Mr. ***** submitted 2 days after his purchase, was a perfect Five Star rating in all aspects of his experience.

Cavender Toyota has made several generous attempts to offer Mr. ***** an opportunity to trade his Corolla L for a  new or pre-owned Corolla LE; however, Mr. ***** has been unwilling to accept the terms of these attempts. As recently as 9-05-2013,  Mr. ***** was offered a trade proposition, which he rejected. And finally, we have made a good will cash offer of $800 to compensate him for the stereo system which he installed at an approximate cost of $500 and $300 to cover the cost of the cruise control which was installed at the time of purchase. This is our final offer.

Thank you,

****** *******  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have decided to accept their offer, even though it is a ridiculously pathetic attempt at fairness.  I just want to be done with it at this point.  I would like to take this opportunity however to correct several inaccuracies in the dealerships statement.  No. 1 - Bait and switch tactics in Texas are illegal, regardless of whether they were intentional or unintentional.  **********.com is a representative of Cavender Toyota and Cavender is responsible for their actions.  Disclaimers listed in fine print do not matter.  Also, at the time I rated my experience as a 5 star rating was before I realized that I had been duped.  Perhaps Ms. ******* should check subsequent reviews. 

Ms. ******* is also incorrect on the price I paid for the cruise control, which should have come standard.  I paid $330, not $300 for the cruise add-on.  Funny how she rounds the figures down.  Contrary to her assertion, no generous offers have been made to me to settle this false advertising issue.  The only other offer I received was to trade my vehicle for a 2012 Corolla LE that has 28,000 miles on it.  My Corolla L has 15,000 miles on it.  Not only that, but my payment would go from 47 months to 52 months ($281.97  per month).  Hardly a generous offer. 

This settlement should be at least $1,500.  The settlement should be based on the difference in value between the two vehicles at the time of sale.  The Corolla LE has the following features that the L doesn't have.  Cruise control (Paid for as an addition and should have been standard), high performance wheels and tires vs. smaller base wheels and tires, and steering wheel mounted audio controls.  I can assure you that the latter two are worth far more than $460.00 (total after deducting $330 paid up front for cruise).  I hope that Cavender realizes that I am letting them off really light and should have taken them to court.  I can assure you that I would have won the case.  I can also assure you that I will never set foot in this dealership again.

Regards,

***** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

5/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service