This business is not BBB accredited.

Bird-Kultgen Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (254) 666-2473 Fax: (254) 666-0135 1701 W Loop 340, Waco, TX 76712 http://www.bkford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bird-Kultgen Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bird-Kultgen Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1959 Business started: 10/01/1936 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/1936 Business incorporated 04/30/1947 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter Kultgen, President Ms. Claire Kultgen, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Kultgen, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Bird Kultgen Ford BK Ford
Industry Tips
Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1701 W Loop 340

    Waco, TX 76712

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 28

    Waco, TX 76703

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 17, 2015 I refinanced my 2012 Ford Escape. I was informed that I would have to cancel my GAP Protection because the protection will no longer be in effect. I called ************ on November 25, 2015 and asked to talk to the correct person. I was connected with ******* ****** and he asked me to "text" him the form showing the cancellation. He said he would take care of it. I text him on January 14, 2016 letting him know that I have not received my reimbursement check for the GAP. He did not respond to my text message. On text again on January 18 and asked again. He then text me back said a check showed to be in the mail Wednesday January 20th. I waited until January 25th for the check. I did not receive it. I called ******* January 25 to let him know that I will have no other option but to make a complaint with the BBB and he said OK.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my GAP reimbursement check. I am not sure what the amount of the check will be, but it does belong to me.

Business Response:

We sent the information on the cancellation to the insurance company (Service Group in Austin, TX).  They issue the refund either directly to the customer or the lienholder if that is appropriate.  There are circumstances in which they issue it to us and we then reimburse the customer.  We have spoken with the customer several times and have also been told by Service Group that they had issued the check earlier this month.  As it has not come to us we have to assume it was sent to her.  If you would like I will request a copy of the check but they have no obligation to send me one.  We will also ask them if they can reissue the check to us so we can forward it to the customer.  Again I do not know if they will do this.  I suspect this is an issue of timing and cycles of issuance by the carrier.  It is also possible that their address of record may differ from the customer's address or that it simply is lost or delayed in the mail.

You may also be interested to know that we are not a BBB member but I am responding out of courtesy.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I will check the mail until I have received the reimbursement check. ******* ****** confirmed my Address: ** *** **** ********* ** ***** 

Regards,

****** ******

4/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Internet advertised price on vehicle and follow up emails was established. When I test drove vehicle and started final paperwork I was told that that was the wrong price and the correct price was $2,762 higher.

Desired Settlement: I have spent the last 6 months shopping deals on new trucks and finally found the one I wanted and had it verified by email. I want them to honor their pricing as advertised.

Business Response: We will honor the price posted on our website of $32935 assuming the customer qualifies for all of the rebates.  Two are straightforward Ford rebates, one requires financing with Ford Motor Credit Company and one requires a qualifying trade in.  These rebates and qualifications were and are listed on our website.  Our people made an error in posting the MSRP of the vehicle and the price is shown in relation to the discounts from MSRP.  A copy of the window sticker showing the correct MSRP was and is available on our website but apparently it was not accessed which would have shown the discrepancy.  We have emailed the customer with this information.  In addition we emailed him the explanation of our mistake and a copy of the window sticker on Friday.  There was no intent to deceive but simply an error in posting a price that no one noticed.  Please be aware that we also noted that the current rebates are valid through the end of April and also that the vehicle is available for sale to others until the customer informs us of his intention to purchase it, if that is what he decides.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
In email confirmation and verification with Venessa the sales price was given.  There were no clarifications to this price.   I even sent an email addressing additional items to consider of zero interest and Veteran's discount with no mention of price clarification.   Upon meeting Venessa and Kirk there was no mention that the price was contingent upon qualifications.   My credit rating is above 850 so I know I qualify and Kirk and I discussed a larger down payment, but still no qualifications on the sales price.  

As a business professional of 35 years I had finally decided to buy new.  My son just bought a new Ford in WV.  So I decided to do research and finally decided to buy my first new vehicle.   It was and continues to be a real disappointment.  To have a product that you don't know the price and can't explain the incentives.   When people can't do there job my Dad use to say that they were like "*** and the First Reader". 

I want to ask a simple question of what you want for the price and negotiate from there.   Items of prenegotiation are unfair and unethical.   If you are going to offer incentives then state the price and possible savings up front on the customer's verification of price.


Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: I hope all of the three attachments come through on your system.  This first labeled R992.html is the description of the vehicle and the available incentives from our website.  This is what was posted with the exception of having the MSRP corrected to match the window sticker.  This was what was posted incorrectly.  The second attachment labeled Window Sticker R992.pdf is the window sticker as it appears on the website with the other information.  The third attachment is the response we sent to the customer on April 20 in response to his email to us, prior to receiving the original complaint from the BBB.  I believe they outline what incentives are available and what is required to receive those incentives.  In the event those will not open, as some of the formats are not listed as the file types I can print them out and mail them to you.

Business Response: I hope all of the three attachments come through on your system.  This first labeled R992.html is the description of the vehicle and the available incentives from our website.  This is what was posted with the exception of having the MSRP corrected to match the window sticker.  This was what was posted incorrectly.  The second attachment labeled Window Sticker R992.pdf is the window sticker as it appears on the website with the other information.  The third attachment is the response we sent to the customer on April 20 in response to his email to us, prior to receiving the original complaint from the BBB.  I believe they outline what incentives are available and what is required to receive those incentives.  In the event those will not open, as some of the formats are not listed as the file types I can print them out and mail them to you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Deception is the key in these discussions.  In our communications by email and in person at the dealership these incentives were not discussed until the final paperwork was presented to me. 
This is wrong.  Knowledgeable businesses should adhere to an honest and forthright approach to sale a product.   When verification of pricing the base price was discussed.  

I will not purchase a vehicle from Bird Kultgen for these reasons.

I think the BBB and the public need to be made aware of these deceptive practices.  Getting the buyer in the door and then explaining the rules.  

The sales team could have done a better job of explaining the process as I stated this was my first time buying a new vehicle.

Regards,

***** *****

3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable