BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Alamo Toyota Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alamo Toyota Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alamo Toyota Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alamo Toyota Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1971 Business started: 08/01/1971 Business started locally: 08/01/1971 Business incorporated: 02/26/1973 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J Toomey Jr., President Mr. Don Haynes, General Manager Nellie Pantanini, Director of Public Relations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Don Haynes, General Manager
Principal: Mr. John J Toomey Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 18019 North Highway 281

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 494-1604

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contact - Gordon 12/16/09, mileage 120076, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the fuel pump was out due to old fuel. Note - the vehicle had just been driven approximately 150 miles, stopped to get gas and then wouldn't start. How can gas be old? Dealer stated they drained old gas, put new gas and fuel stabilizer and replaced fuel filter. Cost - $800.62 08/01/11, mileage 122628, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the fuel pump was out due to dirty gas tank. They replaced the fuel pump at no charge after initially saying there was no warranty. They told me the tank would have to be cleaned for any warranty. I paid for the tank to be cleaned. Note - The customer receipt stated the part had an internal short. What is the right diagnosis? Cost - $114.00 11/09/11, mileage 122,696, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the fuel pump had a bad ground connection, but since it was under warranty we are putting a new fuel pump too. No charges. 01/29/13, mileage 123,746, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the vehicle was out of gas, started right up after adding 2 gallons of gas. Also informed, my fuel gauge was not right and it would cost $490.75 to repair. I explained the vehicle had just been gassed with 5 gallons. I was told they checked it and it was out of gas, it is running fine now that it has gas. I elected to not fix the fuel gauge for $490.75 at this time and picked vehicle up. Cost - $58.95. Note - I never had a problem with the fuel gauge and still do not. 05/24/13, mileage 124470, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the vehicle didn't start for a couple of minutes and then it started, cant fix it unless it fails, so I left it there and asked them to find the problem. I did mention several times about the ground short could be the problem and was basically told we know how to find the problem but it has to fail first. After a few weeks I decided they could not fix my problem. I was told to take it somewhere else if I wanted. I picked the vehicle up. No charge. Note, Triple A (tow driver) tried for about 20 minutes to start the vehicle and again at the dealer when dropping off with no success. 08/06/13, mileage 124498, Drove vehicle to ****** * ** Experts, explained about the three fuel pump replacements and that couple of times the dealer stated a short caused problem. The vehicle was diagnosed repair and replace wiring pigtail, rear wiring harness. Cost - $227.24 Note - I asked how did you find the problem, they stated they stressed (pulled) on the wires. Note - the vehicle starts quicker, and runs smoother. I spoke with service manager, he stated there was no way to prove the fuel pump wasn't needed in the first place, he stated no way, no refund or credit. I spoke with his boss, *** ******, he checked into it for about a month and I called him several times with no call back. I finally got him and he said no way. I called Mr. ******, the owner and he would not even discuss it, he stated both other people told me no and he was not going to change the decision, I asked what the reason was for denying me and he hung the phone up.

Desired Settlement: I believe the dealer should refund monies I paid under good faith to diagnose and repair my problem. The diagnosis of the fuel pump was wrong. The diagnosis of the fuel gauge was wrong and at this point I doubt the fuel tank was so dirty it caused a fuel pump to go out. Their work did not fix my problem I needed fixed. Luckily this is an extra vehicle only and I did not need it.

Business Response:

Alamo Toyota has spoken with Mr. ****** on numerous occasions reguarding this repair from 2009 and feel that the we very clearly explained to him that the original repair from 2009 for a failed fuel pump was accurate as the fuel pump was tested and was not working. After thouroghly investigating the situation, Alamo Toyota, does not feel that we owe Mr. ****** any refund at all. Alamo Toyota does feel that we have more than fairly delt with this situation and have been fairly handling our customers for more than 40 years. If we felt as if Mr. ****** was due any refund what so ever we would have been more than willing to offer this.

Thank you,
***** ******
Service Manager
Alamo Toyota

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Five Tows to fix the same problem. 

1) Inv states stale fuel made fuel pump fail.  Removed stale fuel, put gas and stabilizer, replaced fuel filter.  Note - I told ****** the vehicle was driven to Corpus Christi, stopped for gas and it wound not start.  I then towed it to my residence, it started and I drove it for about two weeks until it wouldn't start at the grocery store.  Paid $800.62

2) Inv states short in fuel pump.  ****** told me dirty gas and tank.  They thought the previous effort was enough but now the tank had to be cleaned for any future warranty.  I agreed and paid $114.00 and asked if my car was going to be dependable now, he said what they fix will.

3) Inv states fuel pump shorted out.  ****** told me it had a bad ground connection but they replaced the pump again since it was still under warranty.  I said whatever, so long as it will be dependable.  N/C


4) Inv states checked fuel system, added 2 gal gas, runs good, needs new fuel gauge, $490.75 to fix.  I told him I had just put 5 gal of gas yesterday and the gauge seemed ok to me.  He told me I was out of gas and the gauge was wrong.  I asked please for him to check the wiring since he said previously it had a bad ground.  He told theres nothing wrong with the car except it was out of gas.  Paid $58.95

5) Inv states no crank for a few seconds then started, pulled tank to check pump and for debris, drove numerous w/out fail.  I asked ****** and his boss ***** to please check the wiring, ****** told me it has to fail before they can fix it.  I told them I wanted them to fix this ongoing problem so I would finally have a reliable transportation, he told me I could tow it in again when there is failure or take to someone else.

6) I drove the vehicle to ****** * ** experts, explained the problem and the next business day they called and said the problem was a short in the pigtail for the fuel pump.  Paid $227.74

Considering the above, I paid for services I didn't need - fuel pump, tank cleaned, out of gas.  What diagnosis today fuel pump, (1) dirty gas, (2) dirty gas and tank, (3) a bad ground connection, (4) your out of gas, (5) just drive until you are stranded for the sixth time and tow it for the sixth time back to us.  The experience was terrible and they should resolve. 

I have purchased two vehicles from this dealer in my life and had repair also, its hard to understand the logic.  At the end, I would have been happy to pay them the $227.74 just to get it fixed right.  They told me to go somewhere else.  Please tell me where I'm wrong.


Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: We have responded to this situation and our position has not changed. We feel as if we are completely fair with all of our customers including Mr. ******. We do not agree with his assesment of the situation and are not going to change our position. We have no further offer to Mr. ******.

Regards,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Alamo Toyota is not addressing the issues.  There are six points of concern listed in previous response.  Please address each issue separately.  Please explain why another company was able to fix the problem right away and Alamo Toyota did not after three fuel pump replacement attempts.  I was still having the problem, please explain why.

Regards,

***** ******

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This body shop performed work on my leased vehicle under two separate insurance claims approximately two years apart. This is the only work that was ever required on the car aside from routine maintenance during the course of the lease. In both instances a third party hit the vehicle when it was parked and the vehicle was unoccupied. The first claim impacted the front end and driver's side door. After work was completed on the first claim, the insurance company that paid for the work came out to inspect the car and determined the drivers's side door was not properly attached and was not aligning properly. The insurance company directed me to take the vehicle back in to the body shop to have them fix the car but they never re-inspected the car after I picked it up following the second attempt at the same repair. When someone hit my car again two years later, I took it back to this body shop due to its close proximity to my house and the fact that they were a preferred vendor of my insurance company. No one other than the body shop inspected the work once complete for this second claim until the financing company who handled my vehicle lease sent someone to my house in August to inspect the vehicle ahead of my turning it in at lease expiration. During the course of the inspection, the inspector noted several items that were a result of bad work done by the body shop, primarily alignment issues pertainig to the drivers' side door and front end of the car. They also noted minor hail damage which I have agreed to pay for. The financing company gave me the option of paying for needed repairs or having the vehicle fixed in advance of returning it. I took the vehicle back to this body shop and after waiting for a while, ***** ****, the body shop manager who handled both claims previously, said he could fix the issues on the spot. He did so in less than 30 minutes. When I asked him for a receipt, he said there wouldn't be one because there was no charge and he said that anyone who looked at the vehicle could see it was fixed. I asked him to provide a statement supporting this. He signed my repair estimate from the financing company. The financing company would not accept the signature because it was not on the body shop's letterhead. The financing company gave me the option to provide them with either a receipt from the body shop or a statement signed by their rep on the body shop's letterhead attesting to the completion of the repairs. I contacted ***** **** at the body shop five times over the course of two weeks, three times via email and twice via phone. He did not ever call me back or respond to my emails. I finally reached him today and he told me he was not authorized to give me a statement or a receipt. No apology for the poor work that was done on more than one occasion and no apology for not returning my phone calls/emails was offered. He stated he couldn't give me a receipt because all he did was fix an issue resulting from the car "bottoming out". He referenced this during the course of the attempted repair when I brought the car to him in August after the lease inspection but also stated that he fixed the other issues that the inspector noted, with the exception of the hail damage. I will now be coming out of pocket for $650 for work that should have been completed correctly the first two times and was supposedly fixed when I brought the car to AlamoToyota's body shop to fix these issues resulting from their poor workmanship. I fail to understand the unwillingness to provide me with a simple statement attesting to fixing the work unless he lied to me and told me it was fixed when he truly didn't fix it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter on Apple Toyota letterhead stating the repairs, noted during the financing company's inspection, with the exception of the hail damage, have been completed by their shop as was told to me by ***** **** when I brought the vehicle to him on August 12. Alternately, a receipt showing the repairs were completed would be acceptable. I would like this document not later than November 5. I would also request Alamo Toyota review this employees's practices as the lack of customer service and poor treatment of their customers is something I would think that they would want to address as evidenced by previous reviews I've now read of their body shop.

Business Response:

Twice under insurance claims she requested copies of repair oders on completed jobs. Alamo re-attched a loose bumper at no charge. No paper-work was created. Alamo is not able to help her with issues with her leasing company by writing any type of letter on her behalf.

*** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because this business performed substandard work on two occasions as verified by two independent inspectors. The fact that they refuse to stand by their "work" reeks of charlatanism. The statement made by the representative is factually inaccurate on two accounts and the poor quality of their work is matched only by their poor customer service. I must congratulate them on achieving what is clearly a goal of woefully shoddy work s as evidenced by the long line of dissatisfied customers in front of me. They have succeeded once again in epic failure. I look forward to hearing the judge decide.

Very truly yours,

****** *****

9/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 26th of July I purchased a new **** ****** ******* Limited from Alamo toyota, and was also trading in a **** ****** ******* Sport Edition. I still owed $3,200 on the **** ******* with my finance-er. Alamo toyota stated they would give me roughly $19,500 total for my trade in. I elected to use $7,000 towards the new car, $3,200 to pay off my existing loan and put the remainder as cash back to us (roughly $9,300). Alamo said they simply needed to ensure what the exact amount was that I owed on the **** ******* so they could cut me a check with the right amount. I agree to all this. After a couple day around 30 July they stated that they needed the title (which I owned since the car was purchased in OK and the buyer holds the title) so I found it and my wife and I signed it over to them. We thought our check would be forth coming in the next couple of days but it never came. During this time I noticed our old ******* had gone up on the website for sale a then a few days later had come off. I called the dealership and they stated that it had sold. So we had purchased a new ******* from them and they had sold our old ******* before they had even paid us for it. Then last week I went to the dealership on 12 Aug to ask them how this could be and spoke with the finance office's manager, a man by the name of *** ******* who stated he was sorry this had happened and would get our check out to us in the next couple of days. It has now been over a week and they still have not taken care of it. I consider this poor, if not illegal practice to sell a car w/o ever paying for it. I would have considered keeping my car until I received payment for it first. I was lied to on a couple of occasions about the process by leadership at Alamo toyota. This practice is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like to get the check that is owed to me. 2. When buying this new ******* the dealership stated that a remote starter would be a separate key fob, but after reading literature online turns out that it would in fact not be separate. I would like the dealership to purchase and install the factor remote starter for the car. 3. Ensure the practice of paying for a car before selling it is instituted.

Business Response:

Alamo Toyota does apologize for this situation. Mr. ******** picked up his check this last Saturday morning to the best of our knowledge, and again we do apologize for any misunderstanding or time delay in getting the check to Mr. ********. As far as adding on and remote starter or any other accessories please have Mr ******** contact Alamo Toyota directly, have him ask for ***** ******* or *** ****** for any assistance.

Thank You,
Alamo Toyota

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ast 08/17/13 My wife took the ******* to service for it's 25000 service. An hour after I get a call from the dealer ship telling me that my wife left without doing the check out and that my warranty was expired. That they were going to let it go for this time because the warranty expired only a day before making me feel like she was a thief. When I called my wife to see what happened she was still sitting at the dealership waiting for the car to come out. I told Mr. ****** ******* what happened and he said he would look into it. When I didn't hear back from him I called the service manager explained the situation and he bluntly told me I was lying because he was present when they made me the call. I believe this behavior from both the person who called me and from the service manager is completely unacceptable. MY customer number is ******

Desired Settlement: I want to make everyone aware of the situation and require a formal apology by the two individuals

Business Response:

After speaking with Mr. ***** I explained to him that I was present at the time in which ****** ******* spoke to him on the phone and heard exactly what he said. ****** did not tell Mr. ***** that his warranty was expired, rather that his Toyota Care pre-paid Maintenance was indeed already expired. In a goodwill gesture since the customer was just recently within a day of this expiring, Alamo Toyota would go ahead and take care of the service visit at no charge to the customer. ****** did go to the customer waiting area before this call to try and tell the wife...unfortunately she obviously did not hear his multiple calls to her name. Mr. ***** was unreasonable when trying to explain the situation and decided to hang up when there was no offer any other FREE visits. Alamo Toyota does apologize for any confusion in this matter and would always be willing to more than fairly take care of any of our customers needs as we have been doing in San Antonio for over 40 years now.

Thanks,
***** ******
Service Manager Alamo Toyota

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I accept the apology from Mr. ****** but do not agree with his assessment of the situation he is only trying to cover up the situation. I do not intend to take my vehicles ever again to be serviced with that dealership.

Regards,

***** *****

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased the car, I was told by the salesman that, while the car was used, all the tires were new and in good condition. About a month after purchasing the car, I took it into ******** ***** to get a flat repaired. When they looked at the tires, they told me that, while two of the tires were virtually new, the other two were actually dangerously old and low on tread. I paid just under $300 to get those two tires replaced to be the same quality as the other two tires. Figuring this was probably just a simple mistake by the dealership, I contacted them to get reimbursement for the replacement tires. After three in-person visits, two emails, and one phone call, however, they have just ignored me. Anytime that I actually show up or call, the "person in charge" is "never there", and they always promise to call or email the next day. They never have.

Desired Settlement: They promised me a car with four new tires and only provided two new tires. I just want them to pay the $300 replacement cost.

Business Response: As per our GM *** ******, we sold the 00’ Camry as a used vehicle “as is” in January. In the best
interest of good business practices and a gesture of goodwill we are going to
send the customer a check for $300.00. I am putting in the check request today
6/25/13.




Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* *******




















6/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service