Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alamo Toyota Inc

Phone: (210) 494-1604 Fax: (210) 657-6152 18019 N Us Highway 281, San Antonio, TX 78232 http://www.alamo-toyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alamo Toyota Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alamo Toyota Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Alamo Toyota Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1971 Business started: 08/01/1971 in TX Business started locally: 08/01/1971 Business incorporated 02/26/1973 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J. Toomey Jr., President Ms. Nellie Pantanini, Director of Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J. Toomey Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service

Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Alamo Toyota Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 18019 N Us Highway 281

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 494-1604

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Mrs. *****,

Thank you for being an Alamo Toyota Customer.

Your refunds have been processed. The Scion xB's extended warranty was sent from Alamo Toyota 3/15/2016 to SACU. The xB's Prepaid Maintenance was cancelled on 3/29/16 and Gulf States Toyota refunded to SACU. Lastly the xB's GAP insurance was sent 6/2/2016 also to SACU. The Scion iQ's GAP insurance was processed cancelled on 5/28/2106 and Gulf States Toyota will send refund directly to you.

I will be happy to assist in any other requests in this matter.

Best Regards,

*** *******

Finance Director

***** ********

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Please see attached 
Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

Attached are copies of paid checks and the cancellation invoice. Alamo Toyota has cancelled all products in a timely manner.

Sincerely

*** *******

******* ***

Alamo Toyota

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my 2001 Toyota Highlander Limited for an oil change service. Two hours later they finally get me on my way after a full multipoint inspection. I drive down 281 South and only to find that the drivers side wheeler came loose and was rubbing against the tire. I safely pulled over into a parking lot to find that the wheel liner was not secured to the bumper cover. I called in my complaint into ***** ******, who called me back that the weather must have pulled my liner off. I advised Scott that the liner did not have any rips or tears and that the hole for the screw was not torn that it was loose and not attached to the screw that holds it in place. At this point, I decided to bring the vehicle back to Alamo Toyota and was greeted by ****** ****. He took it back into the shop to put it on the lift for inspection. He called my back to review the case. ****** **** said that the wheel liner was never touched and was a result of my own doing. The maintenance on the vehicle has always been performed at Alamo Toyota and later by 410 Alamo. The most previous maintenance was performed by Universal Toyota due to 410 Alamo shutting down its service. After the service at Universal Toyota, the vehicle drove without incident until my most recent oil change at Alamo Toyota at the new location. I drove the vehicle off the lot and moments later had the wheel liner rub against my tire. ****** **** said the way I see it, every car I look at is like a credit report. That it is a reflection of your way of living. Looking overall at your vehicle it doesn't reflect that well on you and I believe you have no claim. After the insult, I chose to speak with ***** ******, the service manager, only to have him say that it was storm related. At this point I decided to leave after the insult to both my intelligence and integrity.

Desired Settlement: Refund and Repair of wheel liner.

Business Response:

 *** ***** *alled me to let me know that his drivers side fender liner had fallen down on to his tire after having an oil change performed here earlier that morning. I did inform him that after looking at the service history on the vehicle that we had performed an oil change and would not have touched that area of the vehicle. I did also inform him that after the large storms that had rolled through San Antonio that morning there was a good chance that high water could be the cause of the fender liner pulling down. At this point I also made it very clear that if we had done something wrong we would fix it and for him to bring the vehicle in for inspection of the area in question. When *** ***** arrived he was promptly greeted and **** our shop manager pulled the vehicle straight into the shop for inspection. We brought *** ***** into the shop to look at the vehicle with us. When walking out to the shop, *** ***** made the comment “I know the splash shield is all messed up”. Upon inspection of the 2001 Highlander we found the passenger side fender liner was completely missing and the middle splash shield was being held in place by several zip ties. We also asked the technician if he had touched the fender liner while working on the vehicle, which he said he did not. ****** pointed out the obvious damage to the all the splash shields. *** ***** then told ****** that “Alamo is a multimillion dollar entity and should just go ahead and take care of this whether Alamo did it or not”. I reiterated the same thing that I told *** ***** on the phone that if we had done something wrong we would take care of it, however after inspection of his vehicle I felt very confident that we had not touched that area of his Highlander nor did we do anything to cause the liner to fall down. I told *** ***** that I felt the more likely thing that happened was a 15 year old fender liner was driven in high water and got pulled down by the water. *** ***** then let me know that he was going to go on google, Facebook, yelp and any other site he could to tell anybody that would listen how awful we were if I did not take care of the fender liner. I again reiterated to *** ***** that had we done anything wrong we would fix it and that I would have security look at the cameras to see if the technician touched the area in question and if I could find any proof of any wrong doing I would let him know. After reviewing the video of the technician working on the highlander I did call *** ***** and let him know that we had confirmed the technician did not touch the fender liner in question.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Please note that my last name is spelled Reiss as listed in your computer system, email correspondence and this very complaint. To the point, my intelligence will not allow me to accept the claim that weather pulled down the liner. The liner mouting holes were not physcially damaged (torn or ripped away form the screws) as I pointed out to ****** ****. The fact is the vehicle drove 5000 miles, in its current condition, without incident form its last service performed at Universal Toyotal. As soon as i left Alamo Toyota, the liner was rubbing against the tire on the highway. Upon inspection, two screws that secure the liner to the bottom engine cover were not aligned into the bottom engine cover mouting screw. As for the passenger liner, a tire blow out caused the obvious damage as expalained previously to Mr ***** ******. Cause and effect.

Alamo Toyota has been the service provider for the vehicle for 15 years as noted by ***** ******. In all the 15 years, we never nitpicked. Instead of receiving any empathy from the service team, i am drawn into a argurment about who is at fault. ****** **** states I look at cars here like a credit report. It reflects the characteristics of the owner. ****** then says looking at your car doesn't say much about you or your story about the liner. Wow, that is telling for the service to expect, dependent upon the condition of the vehicle. As a matter of fact, when I picked up my vehicle from Universal Toyota, they had the courtesy to put a plastic cover over my leathers seats that were sun damaged. At Alamo Toyota, no plastic cover over the drivers seat. I expect my vechicle to get me from point A to B with reliability. We bought a Toyota for this very reason and we have bought previous Toyotas from Alamo Toyota. **** ****** (priciple owner of Alamo Toyota), i regret to inform you that your service team lost our business and faith of good customer service. We will be purchasing our next Highander from Universal Toyota. Ernesto Ancira is our neighbor. He recognizes the value in his customers.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

I have personally taken a look at the images along with our head of security and assure you the technician didn’t remove the fender liner in question nor did he adjust it in anyway. Coupled with the fact that the opposite side fender liner is all together missing and the middle splash shield is being held on by zip ties I think it is more than fair to come to the conclusion that we have done nothing wrong. Therefore, as per our discussion, we will not be offering any assistance in replacing the damaged fender liner. As much as would always want business we completely respect your choice to buy from Universal Toyota... but, don't tell ******* ****** you bought there as he does not own that dealership or have any affiliation with them.

Thanks,

*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******** I am rejecting this response because: No images have been uploaded as proof. To reiterate, no service was performed to the vehicle in between Universal Toyota and Alamo Toyota. Please offer a reasonable explanation to how the drivers side liner was not secured to the bottom engine cover following service performed at Alamo Toyota. My intelligence cannot accept your argument that climate conditions pulled the drivers liner down when there are no rips or tears in the drivers side liner mounting points. Lastly, it is quite obvious that my neighbor *** ****** does not own Universal Toyota but seems reasonable that I need to clarify this statement for you. If *** ****** did own a Toyota Dealership I would a purchase a Toyota  from him. I hope that makes sense to you now.

Regards,

***** *****

4/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They didn't have the car that was promised and I drove over 200 miles for a car that was not there. So they pushed and pushed until I agreed on a different car. It was late and dark and I couldn't see it well. I paid them 2500, then left the car at the lot. The next morning I came to pick up the car and the seats were stains and snagged so I didn't take it. No the are insisting that I drive back 200 miles again so they can swipe my debit card. They wouldn't do it any other way. Now I'm out the expense of fuel, time off work and wear and tear because they were dishonest in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that they owe me which was 2500 and I want reimbursed for expenses incurred while having to travel back and forth because they weren't will in work with me in any way.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Ms ****** did come into Alamo Toyota to purchase a pre-owned Camry. The vehicle she was originally going to buy was sold so she was given other options to choose from. She chose another car and was going to pay for it with cash. She signed all the paper work,gave a $2500 deposit,and once she secured insurance was going to pick up the car the next day. She came down to pick up the car and decided it had to many stains in the interior and chose to not take the car. She was given the option of another car but because it was more money chose not to buy it. She asked for her refund of her deposit but wanted the dealership to send her a check. We told her our policy is on any refunds they are processed back the way the funds were originally given..in this instance it was by her bank credit card. When we tried to refund her bank card we were instructed that the card must be present to process the refund. We instructed Ms ****** that we were happy to refund her deposit but that she needed to bring the bank card with her to process it. Tuesday night March 15th she arrived at the dealership and the refund was processed and accepted to her bank card.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  

the funds are still not in my account which is one of the reasons that I preferred a wire transfer, which is what my banker advised as using the card would take awhile to post to my account.  The main reason I didn't want it put back on the card was because I had to drive back to San Antonio, which is at least an hour and a half one way after I got off work.  It was extremely stressful in rush hour traffic to make it to the dealership before they closed.  Then turn around and drive another hour and a half to get back home.  There was an accident on I-35 which caused more delays.  I got home around midnight.  I am exhausted.  I had to be at work at 7:00 am.  That was a lot of uneccessary time and expense plus wear and tear on the vehicle that I am trying to replace but still have to for the funds to post.  But the finance guy was extremely nice and genuinely apologetic and even offered to help pay for fuel out of his own pocket.  I feel like that whole trip was uneccessary.  They could have wired the money to my bank or done an electronic funds transfer.  Companies do it all the time.  

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: Tell us why here...Alamo Toyota processed the refund to Ms ******'s bank card last night 3/15/2016. If Ms ****** has any issue with the availability of those funds that is between her and her bank...not Alamo Toyota. We consider this issue closed as far as Alamo Toyota is concerned.Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I still do not have my money. I am unable to purchase a car until it is back in my account.  They could at least check with thier bank to find out approximately when it might be posted.  I have contacted my bank who says the don't see it anywhere.  Just because a small hand held old school devise says it processed doesn't make it factual.  So in the mean time I am without a vehicle, I'm out the expense of two useless trips roughly a hundred miles each way.  And above all, they are advertising vehicles they don't have and lying to people to get them to the car lot.

Regards,

***** ******

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an accident in January 2015. I left my car in Alamo Toyota collision center in February. They said that it will be ready in 1 and a half month. Today is May 27,2015 and I still waiting for my car. I payed all this time the lease of my car on time and I need that alamo 410 Pay to me at least 2 of the 4 months that they have my car.They brought my car 2 times and in both, the car still had problems.It's unbelivable!!! Thay are the only responsable for this situation.

Desired Settlement: I need only the refund of 2 months of my lease. That mean, $628 for May and $628 for April.When they notice that my car was not be ready in 2 months, they had to tell me that and give me a rent car, but no, they didn't do anything.Then, right now, they are responsable of all

Business Response: Ms. ******,

I have received your complaint in regards to the service you received at our Alamo Toyota Collision center.  I will begin to thoroughly research your concern by pulling your repair order and investigate the process in which your vehicle was repaired. I sincerely apologize for your experience and will follow up with you by the end of business day 6/5/2015.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a 2008 honda odyssey from Alamo Toyota in December 2013. I also purchased an extended warranty on this vehicle. I want to cancel the warranty and get back the prorated money. The VIN# of the vehicle is *****************. I contacted the dealership last week, but could not get the Finance manager. I left a message, but there was no reply. I requested them to take action in canceling the warranty immediately. I got an email from their Assistant Finance Manager which I promptly replied. I did not get any email from her about the cancellation. I sent emails and contacted the dealership many times and every time I called, it went to her voice mail where I left messages. But so far she has never returned my call or has not replied to my email. It is so frustrating as I am loosing my prorated money because of her delay and I should get my money the day I called them

Desired Settlement: I should get a call or email from Alamo Toyota that the warranty is cancelled and I will get my money effective the day I called them.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Customer requested for Alamo Toyota to cancel her extended warranty ...the initial request was made via email on Saturday Jan 3...Alamo responded back on Mon Jan 5...the correspondence is attached of what was requested and how it was responded to. Alamo Toyota has cancelled the warranty and has informed the customer. As far as Alamo Toyota is concerned this matter is closed...any questions regarding this matter can be made directly to me..**** **** at Alamo Toyota at ************. Thank you 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The response came from Alamo only after I complained to you and after you sent your message to them. They dis not respond to the calls I made and do not even retrun the call even after leaving a message in their voicemail box. That shows their customer care. Until I get my due money back, I cannot close this. I hope that Alamo sees that I get my money back which is their duty as promised by them at the time of purchase of the vehicle and the warranty.
 
Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Tell us why here..As per our previous response and the attachments provided,we consider this case closed.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I should get back my money and Alamo Toyota's responsibility is very much there that I get my money since they sold the warranty to me.

Regards,

***** ********

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contact - Gordon 12/16/09, mileage 120076, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the fuel pump was out due to old fuel. Note - the vehicle had just been driven approximately 150 miles, stopped to get gas and then wouldn't start. How can gas be old? Dealer stated they drained old gas, put new gas and fuel stabilizer and replaced fuel filter. Cost - $800.62 08/01/11, mileage 122628, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the fuel pump was out due to dirty gas tank. They replaced the fuel pump at no charge after initially saying there was no warranty. They told me the tank would have to be cleaned for any warranty. I paid for the tank to be cleaned. Note - The customer receipt stated the part had an internal short. What is the right diagnosis? Cost - $114.00 11/09/11, mileage 122,696, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the fuel pump had a bad ground connection, but since it was under warranty we are putting a new fuel pump too. No charges. 01/29/13, mileage 123,746, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the vehicle was out of gas, started right up after adding 2 gallons of gas. Also informed, my fuel gauge was not right and it would cost $490.75 to repair. I explained the vehicle had just been gassed with 5 gallons. I was told they checked it and it was out of gas, it is running fine now that it has gas. I elected to not fix the fuel gauge for $490.75 at this time and picked vehicle up. Cost - $58.95. Note - I never had a problem with the fuel gauge and still do not. 05/24/13, mileage 124470, vehicle towed to dealer - wouldn't start. I was advised the vehicle didn't start for a couple of minutes and then it started, cant fix it unless it fails, so I left it there and asked them to find the problem. I did mention several times about the ground short could be the problem and was basically told we know how to find the problem but it has to fail first. After a few weeks I decided they could not fix my problem. I was told to take it somewhere else if I wanted. I picked the vehicle up. No charge. Note, Triple A (tow driver) tried for about 20 minutes to start the vehicle and again at the dealer when dropping off with no success. 08/06/13, mileage 124498, Drove vehicle to ****** * ** Experts, explained about the three fuel pump replacements and that couple of times the dealer stated a short caused problem. The vehicle was diagnosed repair and replace wiring pigtail, rear wiring harness. Cost - $227.24 Note - I asked how did you find the problem, they stated they stressed (pulled) on the wires. Note - the vehicle starts quicker, and runs smoother. I spoke with service manager, he stated there was no way to prove the fuel pump wasn't needed in the first place, he stated no way, no refund or credit. I spoke with his boss, *** ******, he checked into it for about a month and I called him several times with no call back. I finally got him and he said no way. I called Mr. ******, the owner and he would not even discuss it, he stated both other people told me no and he was not going to change the decision, I asked what the reason was for denying me and he hung the phone up.

Desired Settlement: I believe the dealer should refund monies I paid under good faith to diagnose and repair my problem. The diagnosis of the fuel pump was wrong. The diagnosis of the fuel gauge was wrong and at this point I doubt the fuel tank was so dirty it caused a fuel pump to go out. Their work did not fix my problem I needed fixed. Luckily this is an extra vehicle only and I did not need it.

Business Response:

Alamo Toyota has spoken with Mr. ****** on numerous occasions reguarding this repair from 2009 and feel that the we very clearly explained to him that the original repair from 2009 for a failed fuel pump was accurate as the fuel pump was tested and was not working. After thouroghly investigating the situation, Alamo Toyota, does not feel that we owe Mr. ****** any refund at all. Alamo Toyota does feel that we have more than fairly delt with this situation and have been fairly handling our customers for more than 40 years. If we felt as if Mr. ****** was due any refund what so ever we would have been more than willing to offer this.

Thank you,
***** ******
Service Manager
Alamo Toyota

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Five Tows to fix the same problem. 

1) Inv states stale fuel made fuel pump fail.  Removed stale fuel, put gas and stabilizer, replaced fuel filter.  Note - I told ****** the vehicle was driven to Corpus Christi, stopped for gas and it wound not start.  I then towed it to my residence, it started and I drove it for about two weeks until it wouldn't start at the grocery store.  Paid $800.62

2) Inv states short in fuel pump.  ****** told me dirty gas and tank.  They thought the previous effort was enough but now the tank had to be cleaned for any future warranty.  I agreed and paid $114.00 and asked if my car was going to be dependable now, he said what they fix will.

3) Inv states fuel pump shorted out.  ****** told me it had a bad ground connection but they replaced the pump again since it was still under warranty.  I said whatever, so long as it will be dependable.  N/C


4) Inv states checked fuel system, added 2 gal gas, runs good, needs new fuel gauge, $490.75 to fix.  I told him I had just put 5 gal of gas yesterday and the gauge seemed ok to me.  He told me I was out of gas and the gauge was wrong.  I asked please for him to check the wiring since he said previously it had a bad ground.  He told theres nothing wrong with the car except it was out of gas.  Paid $58.95

5) Inv states no crank for a few seconds then started, pulled tank to check pump and for debris, drove numerous w/out fail.  I asked ****** and his boss ***** to please check the wiring, ****** told me it has to fail before they can fix it.  I told them I wanted them to fix this ongoing problem so I would finally have a reliable transportation, he told me I could tow it in again when there is failure or take to someone else.

6) I drove the vehicle to ****** * ** experts, explained the problem and the next business day they called and said the problem was a short in the pigtail for the fuel pump.  Paid $227.74

Considering the above, I paid for services I didn't need - fuel pump, tank cleaned, out of gas.  What diagnosis today fuel pump, (1) dirty gas, (2) dirty gas and tank, (3) a bad ground connection, (4) your out of gas, (5) just drive until you are stranded for the sixth time and tow it for the sixth time back to us.  The experience was terrible and they should resolve. 

I have purchased two vehicles from this dealer in my life and had repair also, its hard to understand the logic.  At the end, I would have been happy to pay them the $227.74 just to get it fixed right.  They told me to go somewhere else.  Please tell me where I'm wrong.


Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: We have responded to this situation and our position has not changed. We feel as if we are completely fair with all of our customers including Mr. ******. We do not agree with his assesment of the situation and are not going to change our position. We have no further offer to Mr. ******.

Regards,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Alamo Toyota is not addressing the issues.  There are six points of concern listed in previous response.  Please address each issue separately.  Please explain why another company was able to fix the problem right away and Alamo Toyota did not after three fuel pump replacement attempts.  I was still having the problem, please explain why.

Regards,

***** ******

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This body shop performed work on my leased vehicle under two separate insurance claims approximately two years apart. This is the only work that was ever required on the car aside from routine maintenance during the course of the lease. In both instances a third party hit the vehicle when it was parked and the vehicle was unoccupied. The first claim impacted the front end and driver's side door. After work was completed on the first claim, the insurance company that paid for the work came out to inspect the car and determined the drivers's side door was not properly attached and was not aligning properly. The insurance company directed me to take the vehicle back in to the body shop to have them fix the car but they never re-inspected the car after I picked it up following the second attempt at the same repair. When someone hit my car again two years later, I took it back to this body shop due to its close proximity to my house and the fact that they were a preferred vendor of my insurance company. No one other than the body shop inspected the work once complete for this second claim until the financing company who handled my vehicle lease sent someone to my house in August to inspect the vehicle ahead of my turning it in at lease expiration. During the course of the inspection, the inspector noted several items that were a result of bad work done by the body shop, primarily alignment issues pertainig to the drivers' side door and front end of the car. They also noted minor hail damage which I have agreed to pay for. The financing company gave me the option of paying for needed repairs or having the vehicle fixed in advance of returning it. I took the vehicle back to this body shop and after waiting for a while, ***** ****, the body shop manager who handled both claims previously, said he could fix the issues on the spot. He did so in less than 30 minutes. When I asked him for a receipt, he said there wouldn't be one because there was no charge and he said that anyone who looked at the vehicle could see it was fixed. I asked him to provide a statement supporting this. He signed my repair estimate from the financing company. The financing company would not accept the signature because it was not on the body shop's letterhead. The financing company gave me the option to provide them with either a receipt from the body shop or a statement signed by their rep on the body shop's letterhead attesting to the completion of the repairs. I contacted ***** **** at the body shop five times over the course of two weeks, three times via email and twice via phone. He did not ever call me back or respond to my emails. I finally reached him today and he told me he was not authorized to give me a statement or a receipt. No apology for the poor work that was done on more than one occasion and no apology for not returning my phone calls/emails was offered. He stated he couldn't give me a receipt because all he did was fix an issue resulting from the car "bottoming out". He referenced this during the course of the attempted repair when I brought the car to him in August after the lease inspection but also stated that he fixed the other issues that the inspector noted, with the exception of the hail damage. I will now be coming out of pocket for $650 for work that should have been completed correctly the first two times and was supposedly fixed when I brought the car to AlamoToyota's body shop to fix these issues resulting from their poor workmanship. I fail to understand the unwillingness to provide me with a simple statement attesting to fixing the work unless he lied to me and told me it was fixed when he truly didn't fix it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter on Apple Toyota letterhead stating the repairs, noted during the financing company's inspection, with the exception of the hail damage, have been completed by their shop as was told to me by ***** **** when I brought the vehicle to him on August 12. Alternately, a receipt showing the repairs were completed would be acceptable. I would like this document not later than November 5. I would also request Alamo Toyota review this employees's practices as the lack of customer service and poor treatment of their customers is something I would think that they would want to address as evidenced by previous reviews I've now read of their body shop.

Business Response:

Twice under insurance claims she requested copies of repair oders on completed jobs. Alamo re-attched a loose bumper at no charge. No paper-work was created. Alamo is not able to help her with issues with her leasing company by writing any type of letter on her behalf.

*** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because this business performed substandard work on two occasions as verified by two independent inspectors. The fact that they refuse to stand by their "work" reeks of charlatanism. The statement made by the representative is factually inaccurate on two accounts and the poor quality of their work is matched only by their poor customer service. I must congratulate them on achieving what is clearly a goal of woefully shoddy work s as evidenced by the long line of dissatisfied customers in front of me. They have succeeded once again in epic failure. I look forward to hearing the judge decide.

Very truly yours,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Alamo Toyota Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart