BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Car Crafters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Custom Car Crafters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Car Crafters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 25, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Scot Gil, Administrative Assistant Mr. Wayne Deckard, General Manager Mr. Richard Wood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scot Gil, Administrative Assistant
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Customizing Auto Restoration

Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 1009 Shelby Ln

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 292-4546

  • 6819 Mcneil Dr

    Austin, TX 78729 (512) 331-9398

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 08/08/2013 - un-like other comments, i had a BAD experience with Custom Car Crafters at the ****** location. I had number of auto body services here since 1991. i dropped my Lexus SUV here for the several hail damaged on 06/05/2013 and pickup on 06/14/2013 when i got home to exempt the work under the shade on my drive way and realized ALL hail damaged area were still there but lay under a new coat of paint. I immediately contact ** ********* / body shop manager with text pic to him. ** said "sorry" and did not have time to check after the work done (it's happened is ** last day of employ at CCC). He did transferred the info to his successor name *** *********** / insurance claim specialist to take care of the re-work, then pass to ***** ******* / body shop manager. The bottom line is my SUV came in for the hail damaged to be fix and came out with new paint on hood + left & right fenders, but ALL hail damaged were still there. I requested to speak with the owner ******* **** at least 4 times but no call from Custom Car Crafters. they made totals of $1188.42 and ALL my damaged were all still there. I don't recommend to any one to do business at this place. I am for sure that they are NOT get my business or from my family or people i know. I don't believed such scam still operate in Austin. Some one should investigate this business location.

Desired Settlement: Custom Car Crafters did not response to my calls or concern.

Business Response: RE case # 9658054

We would like to extend our apology to Mr. ****** **** for any discontent we may have caused. We value his patronage and hope we can resolve this matter to his satisfaction.

The paint-less dent removal (PDR) repairs in dispute for Mr. ****** **** were completed as originally agreed to between himself, our service writer and the PDR sublet company technician from Team Dentworks.  Mr. **** filed an insurance claim but decided to “cash out”.  This term usually applies to the insurance company paying the policy holder directly and not the body shop.  Many customers who choose this “cash out” option, do so, in order to only repair what they choose to fix on their vehicle, so they can save money and avoid any out of pocket deductible expenses.  When Mr. **** stated that he was not satisfied with the number of PDR dents we originally agreed to repair, we decided not to charge him for the PDR work we completed.  Our efforts to compensate Mr. **** and resolve his repair concerns did not yield any results.  He consistently requested that more repairs be completed for free at no cost to him.  In addition, the work that we did complete to his satisfaction, he paid for with his credit card, then contacted his credit card merchant and stopped payment by manner of dispute.  In summary, we have not been paid for any of the repairs that we have completed on his vehicle and he has no merit in his attempts to discredit our business.  Customer Car Crafters has been in business since 1984 and we truly value our customer’s satisfaction and experience.




Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


I have had contact Customer Car Crafters eight times from service manager, body shop manager, to the owner and none of them response to my requests.  I also left message to the front desk receptionist as well.

The response content from Customer Car Crafters was absolutely NOT true.  
My insurance paid me for the hail damaged was some $7xx.xx and i told my insurance adjuster that i would bring my Lexus SUV to Customer Car Crafters (since i had all my vehicles there for many years).  

I brought my SUV to Custom Car Crafters with one purpose "make all the hail damaged to go away" and the shop manager was promise to complete to my requested.  CCC later came up with additional fee for some $4xx.xx and billed to my auto insurance and i gave the OK to that addition (at this point, CCC receive 100% of this fee).

CCC schedule me to p/u my SUV on 06/28 or 6/29 at 1pm, the HOT weather was around 108 degree F.  I came in and paid with my credit card for $7xx.xx and even the body-shop manager told me all the hail damaged was taken care of and i trusted him then left back to work.  40min later i came out to check on the finish work from CCC and i still see all the hails damaged (dimple size) on my SUV and i called the body-shop manager (ED) to explain along with my text pictures.

** was assure me that CCC will do the re-work and at the same time he announce that was his last day employment with CCC.  I brought my SUV back on the very next Monday and that said that will do a re-work on the hail damaged.  But 40min later they offered me $205.00 for CCC not to re-work on the hail damaged because it will cost them more to do it right.  I NEVER heard or deal with situation like this with any others.

my final thought for CCC is broken our agreement to fix simple hail damaged in various areas. instead of remove the dents CCC paint over the areas.  I don't understand why CCC performed a bad job, avoid to re-work on their result, and blamed me to "cash out" for the portion that CCC can not fix.  

I then turned to my credit card to help me to resolved, but CCC fail to justify.  I just got notified by my credit card that they are reserve the charge of $7xx.xx so can take to another body shop to fix the CCC job on my SUV.  In fact, CCC still owed my the remain $4xx.xx from my insurance paid CCC addition per CCC requested.

Now the new re-work from a different body shop will cost me more to correct the bad job from CCC + car rental fee (while my SUV in the body shop) + my times.

CCC had so many opportunities to call me from 6/29/2013 until now 10/09/2013 to resolve the problem.  But CCC chose not to do that and instead respond to BBB with the opening statement as ...

"We would like to extend our apology to Mr. ****** **** for any discontent we may have caused. We value his patronage and hope we can resolve this matter to his satisfaction." i think CCC so dishonest!

CCC is already lost their value customer since 1990 and many more to come...


Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1