BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the online and retail sale of home and car electronics and related products or accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fry's Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fry's Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fry's Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 28, 2001 Business started: 05/22/1997 Business started locally: 05/22/1997 Business incorporated: 05/22/1997 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Randy Fry Mr. Ken Lutz, District Manager Marcus Sharp, Assistant Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jen Meyer, Store Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Auto Alarms & Security Systems Books - New Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts


Additional Locations

  • 12707 N Mopac Expy

    Austin, TX 78727 (512) 733-7000 (408) 487-4500 (512) 512-7059

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (408) 487-4500(Phone)
  • (512) 512-7059(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 29 I bought at Fry's several items, including two of them, a web camera and a USB hood, for which a full rebate ($5 and $4, respectively) was promised. The documentation as requested was sent to the manufacturer company INLAND. They acknowledged receiving the rebate forms but returned the rebate for one of the items ($5) and refused to rebate the other one saying "funds exhausted". On my repeated calls and emails to Fry's they first requested again the documentation (which was already sent to INLAND), and then did not reply to my request. I emphasize that it is a matter of principle that the company should fulfill its promises to the costumer- both item for rebate are on the same receipt from Fry's dated Nov. 20, 2013.

Desired Settlement: Fry's should return to me the rebate sum of $4.00 and end the practice of cheating costumers by promising rebates and then refusing to pay the promised sum.

Business Response:

  I tried to call the customer twice today, there was no answer and no answering machine.  The dispute is over a $5.00 rebate, I'd be willing to give the customer a gift card to the store for $5.00, however I would need his address to mail the gift card.

 

*** *****

Store Manager

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing the extended warranty on my laptop a problem developed with the screen, I took the laptop in for repair and the repair person and service ******* contend it is physical damage which it is not. I have never dropped the laptop or even taken it out of the house. They simply refuse to cover the defect under the extended warranty

Desired Settlement: If they will not honor the extended warranty then refund my credit card for the price they charged me. Invoice number is ********

Business Response: ?

 Good afternoon, *****

  In reference to this opportunity with *** *******, and after further consideration, we are willing to make an exception on behalf of *** ******* and refund the "pro-rated" amount of the PSC (Performance Service Contract). Please advise if I can be of further assistance. I can be reached at ************* or simply respond be email.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 3 PS 4 games last week since they have this Buy-2-Get-1 deal. Before I bought these games, I asked employee who works in Video Games department: "What is your return policy on video games?", He replied " un-opened can be returned in 30 days.". It turns out my kids don't like one of games I bought, since that game is still in original seal, un-opened. 5 days later after I bought those games, so I walked in Fry's, first ask for a refund, they said they don't know how to do it, their computer system does not allow them. so I asked how about for exchange? they said no. I asked their manage, a lady came out saying "no, we can not exchange or offer refund." Even the game is un-opened, I even asked them to just refund me 1/3 of total price, they won't do it. On my receipt and on Fry's website, it clearly says "un-opened game can be returned or exchanged within 30 days" I feel Fry's had falsely give out customer this impression and not stick to their promise.

Desired Settlement: refund or exchange for another *** game.

Business Response:

I spoke to this customer when he was in the store.  We did have a promotion, buy 2 games get 1 free, customer is wanting to return the game he received for free and receive a refund or store credit for that game.

We cannot give him a refund/store credit on a game he received for free.

 

 

*** *****

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I spent $120 plus tax on three games, the reason they marked that game for free just happened that was the LAST game being scanned by their system. From any point you look at it, I spent $40 on that game. I am not asking for $60 back. They can refund me $40 and mark that receipt, or allow me to exchange for a different game.

There is nothing in writing saying this sale is final. Fry's policy is if game is un-opened, they will accept return or exchange.

Fry's response is just an excuse to something they think it is in-convenience for them to do.


Regards,

** ***

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/9/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1