Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alen Corp

Phone: (800) 630-2396 Fax: (512) 857-7961 2929 Longhorn Blvd Ste 103, Austin, TX 78758 http://www.alencorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company designs and manufactures air purifiers and air cleaners for home and commercial applications.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alen Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alen Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alen Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 09, 2010 Business started: 08/30/2005 Business started locally: 08/30/2005 Business incorporated 07/17/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Catherine Covington, Comptroller Mr. Warburg Lee, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine Covington, Comptroller
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Escobar, Sales Manager
Business Category

Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment


Additional Locations

  • 2929 Longhorn Blvd Ste 103

    Austin, TX 78758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asthma (severe). I was referred to this company to purchase an air purifier. Sold one and had to return it. Had several discussions with staff regarding the second one. Was told dont worry - product has lifetime warranty. Called to say I dont think machine works and no one got back to me. I have had it sitting for about 4 months (in a corner). I am disabled and did not think about filing a BBB complaint until now when someone told me to since it has a lifetime warranty.

Desired Settlement: Immediately replace the unit for one that works. I have tried different filters, different placement, everything.

Business Response:

Hi *******,

 

I apologize that you feel your unit is not working and we would be happy to get you a warranty replacement. The last correspondence we have from you is from 2/17/14 in regards to the 2 free filters we sent you and to which we responded within an hour. You referenced a $350 unit in your complaint, attached is a copy of your receipt of your purchase of the T500 for a total of $220. Please confirm that this is the unit you are referring to and feel free to contact me directly for a warranty replacement.

 

Have a wonderful day.

 

Thank you , 

 

***** **********
Customer ********* | Alen Corporation

************************ * ************ * ****************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I would like to have the issue brought to a resolution and not just an offer.  As soon as I hear from the company which I will contact them today, I will let the BBB know.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Hello, 

See the below response that was emailed direct was well:

"Hi *******,
After discussions with my manager *****, who I've cc'ed on this email, he has agreed to once again extend the same offer to upgrade as last time since you have declined our offer to replace your unit under warranty. Please see the offer below: 
Upgrade to the BreatheSmart for 20% off a single unit with a free filter upgrade and panel of your choice. The BreatheSmart would come out to $479.20 and you have already paid $220.00 for the T500. This would be a difference of $259.20 to get the BreatheSmart.  
or
Upgrade to the BreatheSmart Fit50, which is essentially a junior version of the BreatheSmart and covers 800 sq ft. on high (in comparison the BreatheSmart covers 1100 sq ft on high). The Fit50 would come $399.20 and you have already paid $220 for the T500. This would be a difference of $179.20 to get the Fit50 (this would also include a free filter and panel upgrade of your choice).
Both of these offers are final. You would still have the lifetime warranty but all claims would require that you first send in the unit to be inspected before a replacement can be sent.
We would like to hear from you on which offer you would like to accept so we can have your new unit sent to you as soon as possible. If you have any questions please send them directly to us for the quickest response.
Regards,"

Looking forward to hearing back. Thank you.

4/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues