Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GC Refrigeration and AC

Phone: (956) 722-2882 Fax: (956) 722-2332 201 N Meadow Ave  Ste D, Laredo, TX 78040


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GC Refrigeration and AC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GC Refrigeration and AC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GC Refrigeration and AC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1991 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Adrian Golarte Jr., Owner Ms. Melissa Golarte, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrian Golarte Jr., Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Restaurant Equipment - Repair & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Restaurant Equipment & Supplies Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Appliance repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 201 N Meadow Ave  Ste D

    Laredo, TX 78040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was triple charged for GC Refrigeration travel to my business. I was charged $1.59 per mile, 2 hours drive time and a $45 fee to show up. When I tried to get an explanation I was told "that's just what they charge." I disputed it with as many people as I could then after many calls the ***** of the company ******* ******* told me I could choose any 1 of the 3 charges to pay and the rest would be voided. Then about 30 minutes later she called me back and said that she was not going to void any charges and was actually going to charge me 2 more hours of labor because her technician waited at my business doing nothing for 2 hours. He was waiting for payment but we were never told payment was due right away and we notified him that a check would be mailed from our home office after we spoke to someone from his companies office about our concerns over the charges. He called the police got a case number continued wait on his own free will expecting a payment. I called the company and they told me that collection in advance was not a standard practice for commercial accounts. In addition my ice machine was not fixed and was told I would be charged all of the travel charges again when they come to install the broken part. I find these type of business practices absolutely appalling and after doing some research and reading reviews from other customers I am not alone. I am willing to pay 1 of the 3 trip charges and $85 for diagnosing my problem plus any applicable taxes. I believe that it fair.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay 1 of the 3 trip charges and $85 for diagnosing my problem plus any applicable taxes. In addition I would like them to send a paid receipt to deputy sheriff **** ******** so he can close his case. I believe that this is fair.

Business Response: Please be advised that unfortunately we can not send a paid receipt to the sheriff's office because the invoice remains unpaid. 

 
We had advised customer of all charges prior to performing services.  Customer agreed to pay partial balance which we could not negotiate.