Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Faught Service Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 419-1066 Fax: (512) 977-8086 View Additional Phone Numbers 9602 Beck Circle, Austin, TX 78758

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Faught Service Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Faught Service Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 1995 Business started: 11/01/1994 in TX Business started locally: 11/01/1994 Business incorporated 08/01/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Don Randall Faught, President Ms. Bonnie K. Faught, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Randall Faught, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heating Equipment Air Balancing Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Energy Conservation Products & Services

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 9602 Beck Circle

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 869-5015 (512) 419-1066

  • PO Box 10537

    Austin, TX 78766


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our a/c system broke on April 29, 2016. We called Faught Service since they originally installed system and also provided great service last year on different issue. The technician came on 05/02/2016 and found that ants infiltrated contactor switch and gave us quote for $190. We accepted even though we considered that it was excessive to replace $5-$10 retail part in 10-15 minutes. We thought that was all. The tech proceeded to check freon even though we didn't ask for it nor he indicated that he was going to perform additional service. I was actually puzzled when I saw him doing it but, I figured that's what they do. He came back and said that freon was not correct pressure and he wanted to add more. As I've been engineer in systems validation for 20 years, I questioned him why he wanted to add freon without finding out cause of leak. He said the test was additional charge of around $90. I said that was wrong and was going to hire somebody else to do that. I asked how much freon was missing, he said he didn't know. Maybe 2-3lbs. I left for work. My wife stayed and asked how much it would cost to add it to system. He said $60+ so, she declined that too. Nevertheless, the tech charged us another $89 for some service for total of $270+. Both my wife and I called company and talked to ******. We got nowhere other than listening speeches from her about how they are reputable business who pays well their employees and their benefits. She claimed that the tech added freon for free which was not true. So, they charged for service that was neither requested not approved. I read on the internet that another customer was ripped off in the same way just recently but for the much bigger sum.

Desired Settlement: I think that we should pay $190 for replacing contactor and applicable fees. We want refund for $89 for service that was neither requested nor approved. We also want them to stop unethical practices of scamming customers.

Business Response:

June 2, 2016

On May 2, 2016 we provided service at the **** residence. Upon arrival our technician found the outdoor condensing unit had been taken over by fire ants and as a result the points in the unit contactor were pitted, full of ants and needed replacing. At that time we gave an upfront quote to Mrs. **** to replace the contactor and she approved the repair. After completing the repair and getting the unit running the technician checked the refrigerant charge to make sure it was cooling properly. There is no additional charge for this and is standard procedure for our company. The technician found the pressures to be low and offered to do a leak search for an additional charge which they declined. Our technician never added any refrigerant to the unit because the customer declined. We finished our work and collected for the diagnostic which was $89.00, fuel charge and the approved repair. Nothing was disputed or discussed at that time. We charge for a diagnostic on every service call and Mr. **** was charged that same diagnostic charge on the previous service from 6/13/2014. Our technician followed company procedure properly and felt he was completely transparent. It is unfortunate that Mr. **** was unhappy with our service. We are an ethical business and do not scam any customers.

As a result of this complaint we have refunded $272.68 which was the amount of the entire service ticket exceeding his requested refund. We emailed the copy of the entire refund to Mr. **** on 5/26/2016 and have sent the BBB a copy of the service ticket and the refund for their records. We were out of state when the complaint came in so we could not respond in a timely manner.

*** ******


Faught Service Company

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

As a side note, it is graceful from them that they refunded full sum although I would be more comfortable if they only refunded sum that I was complaining about.
I would also feel better if we were able to resolve issue directly instead of me filing this complaint.
At least, I regained some confidence in their honesty. Maybe I'll give them another shot in the future but, they need to fix how they communicate with customers.


******** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Faught Service Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)