Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TEX-PERTS Cooling & Heating

Phone: (210) 599-1200 Fax: (210) 599-1204 6345 Walzem Rd, Windcrest, TX 78239 http://www.texpertsac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TEX-PERTS Cooling & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TEX-PERTS Cooling & Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TEX-PERTS Cooling & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 2010 Business started: 08/03/2009 Business started locally: 08/03/2009 Business incorporated 08/03/2009 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Craig Tuffelmire, Owner Ms. Dina Tuffelmire, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Tuffelmire, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Contractor - Spray Foam Insulation Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Tuffelmire Enterprises LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 6345 Walzem Rd

    Windcrest, TX 78239 (210) 599-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tex-perts was hired to diagnose a problem with my AC which at the time was 5-6 years old. Their diagnosis was that it was low on refrigerant, however they could not find any leaks, and proceeded to add 4 pounds of refrigerant which at the time corrected my problem however the tech attempted to sell me a complete new system at ~$8000-$9000. I also purchased a service contract at that time. 8-10 months later the same thing happens with a different tech, who also couldn't find any leaks but again, added 1 pound of refrigerant and also advised that a new system is needed. I deferred to get a second opinion and when the tech from ***** Heating and Air came out, he diagnosed my problem as my system was over charged with almost exactly the same amount of refrigerant that Tex-perts added and proceeded to remove 5 pounds of refrigerant. My system now works without a single issue. I have called and talked to ******, who is the service manager, and *****, who is the owner, at Tex-Perts who said they try to resolve the issue but has since stopped returning my calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the refrigerant and also the service contract. I have attempted to work with the owner and service manager but they apparently think if they ignore me long enough I will go away.

Business Response: On 12-28-12 the customer called about his unit not working.  The unit was found to be low on refrigerant.  At this time the electronic leak detectors to find r410-a leaks were not as advanced as they are now and the exact leak was not found.  On 3-13-15 we were again called out about the unit not working properly.  Again refrigerant was added, we found oil leaking at the system but the leak detector could not pinpoint the exact location of the leak.  On 4-26-16 we were called out again about the unit not working.  The outdoor compressor was overheated and locked out.  No refrigerant was added at this time.  If the unit had been drastically overcharged as stated by the homeowner the unit would not have worked for over a year without a service call.  Both myself the owner and my service manager have spoken with the customer several times.  We have also sent him emails offering to come out at no charge and verify his accusations which he has declined to do.  We are not simply waiting for him to go away.  We offered a reasonable solution to his accusation which he has refused to let us come out to ensure this is not a case of fraud.  We told him if a technician had made a mistake we would compensate him but I refuse to just refund money based upon the circumstance. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

A. There has NEVER been an offer to come out to look at my system. B. There have been repeated attempts by myself to contact both the service manager (******) AND the owner (*****) and I have not received any emails or return calls. Which is the reason for my contacting the BBB. I had no other recourse because they were ignoring my attempts to resolve this. C. I had an independent objective service provider come out and diagnose my system. The only problem found was that my system was over charged by almost the exact amount of refrigerant Tex-Perts added. Why on earth would I trust someone from this company to come out and assess the situation when my trust with them is no longer there? D. I provided them with documentation regarding that service as they requested and I have been prompt in my responses to them whereas they have not. The only way this complaint will be resolved is for them to make it right. 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: My response is that we have stated several times that I would be willing to send my service manager to double check all of the work performed in the past.  This is in writing in my original response as well as several phone calls and emails to the customer.  The service ticket provided by the other company does not contain all of the readings that it should and therefore is not helpful.  If the customer does not have my service manager look at the system there will be no refund it is company policy as stated.

thank you


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
This is the same response they provided previously. Unless there is some sort of financial recompensation I will continue to reject their responses and attempts to resolve this issue. I will never allow them to inspect/touch my equipment ever again. If this complaint isn't resolved using the BBB, then I will move forward with my social media reviews to make sure this issue doesn't happen to anyone else.

Regards,

***** *******

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ********** explained to us that his office would file the rebate of $350.00 to ********** Electric. We had heat pump and a/c installed August 24, 2015. We called the office on September 29, 2015 as no rebate was on our electric bill. Spoke with ***** in office of Tex-pert and she had never filed any paperwork. We asked that ***** call us to hopefully get this issue resolved and he did not return phone call. Called office several times to get this issue resolved and this did not happen. ***** did try to file this with ********** and they stated the funds had run out by Sept 15, 2015. ***** told us that ***** never gave her the paperwork to file. We also spoke with ****** in the office and he stated he would stay on top of this. We have yet to hear from anyone or a rebate check of $350.00. ***** also attempted to install a 10 amp breaker for a 15 amp heat pump that we paid for, but did correct it after we refused to have it installed.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund of $350.00 and also an apology from ***** that he did not keep his word.

Business Response: The rebate paperwork was filed within the guidelines of the customers utility company.  If the utility company changes or modifies the program the issue is with them not TEX-PERTS.  The issue with the breaker was false.  The homeowner originally had electric heat only and therefore had a 15 kw electric heat strip.  We converted the unit to a heat pump system, this changed the needs for heating to a 10 kw heat strip.  I spoke with the homeowner about this the day the install was done.  He did not think his wife would accept that amount of heat.  I agreed to change it to a larger heat strip and the work was completed as agreed upon.  The customers have my cell phone number and have not contacted me at all.  Both of the home owners have been verbally abusive with my employees on more than one occasion.  I consider the utility rebate to be just that a rebate from their utility company.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: First of all we would like to apologize to the staff at Tex-perts if they truly felt we were verbally abusive. We were both frustrated and had asked for ***** to call us several times. It is truly a sad thing that we had to resort to this measure to get ***** to respond at all to us. We felt our rebate to ********** Electric was not filed in a timely measure. So sad but true we wished we would have not done business with this company and would have done a little more research thus over $10,000.00 would have been spent somewhere else.

Regards,

 

**** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on TEX-PERTS Cooling & Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)