Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tejas Air & Heat of Austin, LLC

Phone: (512) 282-5339 Fax: (512) 280-6708 3606 Harpers Ferry Ln, Austin, TX 78749 http://www.tejasairandheat.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides services and repair for all brands of HVAC equipment, mini-split systems, water tower systems, commercial refrigeration equipment and ice machines.  They sell many and install all brands of HVAC equipment.  This company's preferred brands are American Standard and Daikin. They service both residential and commercial equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tejas Air & Heat of Austin, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tejas Air & Heat of Austin, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tejas Air & Heat of Austin, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 11/12/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Mahan, Owner Ms. Gigi Grifith, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Mahan, Owner
Related Businesses
Texas Comfort Specialists, LLC
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Products & Services

Tejas Air & Heat of Austin, LLC sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Comfort Maker, Daikin, Rheem, Ruud

Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts cash, checks and all major credit cards.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 3606 Harpers Ferry Ln

    Austin, TX 78749 (512) 282-5339

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $1600 to the above mentioned company to have the A/C repaired. This did not solve the issue, owner came over multiple times to try and repair it again, told us after 5 more times that we needed another $500 part. Again, this did not solve the issue. Brought in a second opinion, who informed us that the orignal purchase we made was not compatible with the unit we have, which was why it was not working. Ended up purchasing a whole new outside unit (which was NEVER recommended by Tejas air) for $3000 and everything has been resolved.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like some of our money back, but I am so tired of dealing with Tejas aid (it has been 2+ years of this) that I just want it known.

Business Response:

We replaced the leaking evaporator coil ($1600) with a American Standard aluminum r 410a compatible coil. A slight leak was still present and to date I was unable to find it. It happens. The multiple times we "came over" was free of charge and pleasant. Never were they out of cool or heat for any extended length of time. The gas valve failed during the winter and we replaced it along with a revised integrated circuit board ($400). Both problems/repairs unrelated. Problem solved. Still had a slight refrigerant leak, however. The condenser "outside unit" was a Trane without issue. According to the complaint, the "second opinion" said what we did was not compatible. The system cooled and heated throughout this 2 year period. According to the complaint, the condenser was replaced with a 13 SEER Carrier. Left message with ******** to determine if the components we replaced were still in service. Unresponsive. If I recover the components and replace with original equipment, I will gladly reimburse them. But if the components are still functioning properly, what is the point? And why the complaint?  $2000 for the parts, labor and effort to make them happy is fair and reasonable. I recommended early on (first visit) that system replacement was more cost effective. But, with a baby on the way, they chose repair over replacement. Ideally, I would have been given the respect to propose an alternative with discounts ( $2000) and rebates and much higher efficiency. For the cost of the condenser ($3000), in other words, I would have replaced furnace and condenser with a 16SEER/ 13EER American Standard with rebates and 10 year warranty. I will gladly compensate their loss(?) but the loss is theirs -not mine. Only my reputation is at stake and I will not stand by and let someone tarnish it on the say of a "second opinion". Slander and defamation of character come to mind, as advised by my attorney. Honest publicity is free and welcome.

Thank you for your consideration,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

While I am not "slandering" anyone here, just complaining that $2000 put into something and it is still not fixed--is that not the point of this outlet??  At least once a month during the weekend, we were without heat or cooling and Dennis did come over every time, but it still happened at least once a month.  I know when I pay thousands of dollars for something, I tend to like it to work.  Call me crazy, reponse accepted.   Regardless, we now have a working unit thanks to another company.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******