Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

G I Lewis Refrigeration & Heating Air Conditioning & Appliances

Phone: (254) 754-4911 Fax: (254) 754-8805 View Additional Phone Numbers 708 Bradford, Waco, TX 76711

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G I Lewis Refrigeration & Heating Air Conditioning & Appliances
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1986 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Betty Gibbs, Owner Jerry Gibbs, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Betty Gibbs, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Appliances - Major - Dealers Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service

Products & Services

G I Lewis Refrigeration & Heating Air Conditioning & Appliances sells the following brand(s): Coleman, Goodman, Intertherm, Miller, Stylecrest

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard and Visa
Alternate Business Names
Lewis Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Appliance repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations


    708 Bradford

    Waco, TX 76711 (800) 645-0397 (254) 754-4911


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just received a bill that says past due by 10 days, after my last very hostile conversation with this business on 8/18/15, the lady on the phone only informed me that they are terminating my warranty . There was no mention of a fee to be paid , especially if a service was not performed. Also when scheduling an appointment No warning was given if an appointment is missed a fee will still be charged. This all came about due to the unprofessional behavior of their staff. After calling for AC malfunction I was given an appointment almost 10 days out before I can have some one over to repair the AC. Secondly there was no prior phone call on the day before or the day off the repair to see if their services were still needed. Later in the day as related by sitter someone showed up at the door, banging loudly . Upon answering he indicated he was here to fix the AC , she then told him it was already repaired. He was very rude , unprofessional and gruff and was persistent about repairing AC. She indicated she slammed the door on him as he was belligerent. About 1 hour later I received a call from the an employee of the company indicating he was calling to come by to fix the AC, his words were slurred and he was persistent even though I told him it was repaired and if he goes near my home or scare the kids again, they were instructed to call 911. Soon after I received 3 calls asking for some one by a different, Hispanic name. On the third call the person asked, was I at this address and did I call to have my AC repaired. , I indicated yes , but that was not my name. The lady on the other end became very verbally hostile indication ugly things about myself , making an appointment and lying about my name. I was at the car dealership and they can vouch for my being called by a different name. Also she was not concerned about my complaint about her employee and the fact that no one called before they came over, in 10 days of course I would have looked for assistance else ware to fix a broken AC in summer despite having a warranty with her company . Needless to say the words passed between us were ugly, but she was horrid and egged on the situation . I hung up on her twice and she called back to get her words in. No where in that time did she say to me to expect a bill. Also I even called back a little later and asked to speak to the manager She indicated , he is away and she is the acting manager. Needless to say it was an awful experience, and they do not realize the customer is always right. She could have simply said my warranty would be terminated, not try to lecture and insult me. Also their men going out the homes need to be more professional , and be conscious how they present themselves in person and on the phone, especially since they are being let in to some one's home.

Desired Settlement: Bill be cancelled. Also reinstate my warranty.

Business Response:

September 22, 2015

BBB Corporate Office

Attn: ******* ****

Dispute Resolution Specialist

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752

Fax: (512)445-2096            BE: Customer. Complaint ID #********

Thank you for contacting G.I. Lewis Heating and Air Conditioning with your service and billing concerns.

At G.I. Lewis our staff strives for prompt and courteous service to all of our customers. We have many customers with health issues and well as the elderly who require immediate assistance in extreme weather conditions, therefore scheduling and service is especially important to us during the summer months.

We are most glad to call our customers first and this request is offered at time of reservation. Service rates are also explained with each appointment in the event warranty repairs will not apply.

It is not unusual for our technicians to work 80 hours a week in extreme heat during summer months to make sure our customers are all serviced. They are expected to maintain a level of professionalism regardless and we are sorry if your experience was unpleasant for you. The technician left the service call immediately when he was informed that the customer had called another company several days before to make the repairs.

G.I. Lewis has been in business for 50 years and will continue to give our customers quality service. The service appointment was honored as contracted by customers phoned in request and no effort to cancel was considered by the customer therefore the unpaid service order will remain open. Warranty service is honored with the purchase of all new equipment and will remain in service as contracted. Future appointments for service to customer will be secured with deposit to avoid future misunderstandings and deposit will be refunded in full if warranty settlement is determined.

We appreciate your business and look forward to many years of service.


***** *****

G.I. Lewis Heating and Air Conditioning

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It was not explained to me , if I did not cancel, I would have to pay the service fee. Or else I would have called. Also you should call first, the day before or the day off, to at least confirm a time, at this time I could have cancelled. I just can wait all day at home for someone. Especially, since I had to wait 10 days with a broken AC. If I had a warranty, that should cover the expense. Thank You. 


****** *******

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting G.I. Lewis Heating and Air Conditioning about your service and billing concerns.

We are most glad to call any of our customers scheduling service with G. I. Lewis, This option is offered at the time of reservation and it is noted that if there is no answer the technician will go to the next call.

Some of our customers request that a message he left which we are glad to do also. If a customer does not choose this offer their reservation is honored and no call is made to the customer. No call is made because a lot of circumstances may result from the customer not being able to answer their phone. A lot of our customers are farmers, some are night shift workers and some are hard of hearing. As to why our customers choose not to be called we respect their privacy.

In regards specifically to repeating customers who have used us many times in the past these options are briefly mentioned as the customer is familiar with the company policies. Fortunately all of our customers kindly call and cancel or reschedule their appointments. If the situation occurs where the customer chooses not to cancel the call, especially with plenty of time to do so, they will be invoiced to cover the cost of gas and labor to get to the service call only. in cases of emergency the service call is reconsidered as well as other situations out of the customer's control.

Our services can entail many different untimely repairs during daily operation. Some repairs take longer than others, some customers reschedule appointments and sometimes directions are complicated. These variations as well as many more in daily scheduling make it impossible at times to secure an exact time for an appointment. We offer a general time frame which cannot be guaranteed as well as the option to call us at anytime during the day so that we can give the customer a progress report. We are also most glad to notify the customer at another location as the weather can become quite uncomfortable.

Unfortunately we are sorry that equipment warranty does not cover scheduled service that is not cancelled by the customer.

Customer service and satisfaction is of upmost importance to G. 1. Lewis Heating and Air Conditioning. As a family owned and operated business we appreciate the business lives of all of our customers and try to accommodate each appointment as best as possible.


***** ******, *****

GI Lewis Heating and Air Conditioning

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Poor excuse. I am not a farmer,  regardless of occupation, a  courtesy call is expected, because something may change on the day of the appointment., especially when u give someone a 2 week wait period. Just as u expect the customer to call and cancel, u should call to ensure someone is at home.

       If u have frequent customers, this is a problem, Some thing is  wrong with your equipment or how you are repairing the units.  Also you are not meeting customer satisfaction, when other AC companies have to come repair your units. Your company should be embarrassed to have someone wait for over 10 days to have a unit repaired. Also if you know Summer is a busy time, well hire extra help. 
    Thank You.


****** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on G I Lewis Refrigeration & Heating Air Conditioning & Appliances
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)