Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox Service Company

Phone: (512) 442-6782 Fax: (512) 707-2885 View Additional Phone Numbers 4300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78745 http://www.foxservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers HVAC, plumbing and electrical repair service for both residential/commercial.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox Service Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox Service Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Service Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1974 Business started: 08/01/1972 Business started locally: 08/01/1972 Business incorporated 08/15/1972 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Nagel, President Ms. Cherly Barrett, Marketing Manager Mr. George Stuckey, Director of Sales & Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Nagel, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Electricians - Commercial Heating Contractors Lighting Consultants Plumbers Plumbing Plan Services Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Weatherization Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Floodlights & Search Lights Generators - Electric Heat Exchangers Water Leak Detection Leak Detection Lighting Equipment - Emergency Street Lighting Standards & Equipment Air Quality Service Landscape Lighting Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Gas Lights Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service

Products & Services

Fox Service Company sells the following brand(s): Bryant, Eaton, Nest, State

Alternate Business Names
Fox Mechanical
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4300 S Congress Ave

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 442-6782

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fox Services sent me an invoice for repairs i checked and questioned them about. The below statement is for services done on my building automation system. They are charging me $5200. As you can see below I checked their work and caught them red handed, now they have delayed the process and have put a mechanics lein on my property which I can not allow. 1. VAV 5A – 12 has been off-line the entire year and has not been touched. 2. VAV-4B-7 is an original controller and has been on-line since 2/3/2013, this is not a warranty item like you mentioned because it is an original controller. 3. Fox is charging for 8 room sensors but only 4 were replaced and only 3 are working properly. 4. Labor charges! How can you justify 22 hours for 3 techs (1 being a **** ******* employee) for any of this?

Desired Settlement: Bill me for 3 t-stats that were replaced.

Business Response: I am  not able to get to
where you reply to the complaint in the system so here is the reply.

 

1.      
VAV 5A-12 – Our
technician notes dated 6/19/2013 on service report ******** state VAV 5A-12 was
replaced, programmed and left in service. (Copy of service report available)

2.      
2VAV 4B-7 – Our
technician notes dated 7/1/2013 on service report ******** state the controller
on FPB 2A-1 was replaced, programmed and left in operation.  VAV 4B-7 was
not replaced with a new controller (Copy of service report available)

3.      
The sensors were
replaced on FPB 2A-1, VAV 5A-12, VAV 4B-7, FPB 4TA-1, and VAV 4A-3.  We
also left three (3) sensors onsite per the customer’s request. (Copy of service
report available)

4.      
The technicians
whose time was charged to this job are ***** *********, **** *******, and **
******* – all Fox Employees.

 

****** ****** is willing to talk
with *** ****** and try to work out a reasonable resolution to his
complaint.  ****** will contact him by Thursday 10/31/13.

 

Please let me know if you need
additional information.  Also, can you please email me from your email
when we get a complaint.  I am still not able to get the BBB emails.

 

 

****** ********

Fox
Service Company

************

************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******




I am rejecting this response because:

1. VAV 5A-12 controller was replaced but has been non-operational since 11/12,
I had ******** ******* ***** ********* of Computrols come in and fix the
programming problem on 11/17/13, they also ran a history of the t-stats in this
invoice and found only 2 out of the four to have been replaced and there were
no spares left behind.



2. VAV 4B-7 was never replaced and there is nothing on this invoice showing a
VAV 2A-1, as a service provider you know you cannot begin to add items on
invoices already sent out unless this is the way Fox does business!



3. How can you charge me this much labor for 2 t-stats? And ***** ********* is
a ******** of **** ********.



I will pay you for 1 controller at cost no mark-up (VAV 5A-12) and 2 t-stats,
Labor charges will be to install the one controller no Programming because
Computrols did that portion and I have paid for the cost there, also the
installation of the 2 t-stats. I am willing to pay my fair share of what I have
found on this invoice and by the reports compiled by Computrols.



Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: 1. VAV 5A-12 - Per the Service Work Order provided by Computrols, this controller was operational and "no software changes were made". (See Computrols Work Order Item 15).

    T-Stats - No reference is made to "checking" any of these t-stat numbers in the Service Work Order provided by Computrols  (FPB 2A-1, VAV 5A-12, VAV 4V-7, FPB 4TA-1, VAV 4A-3).   Additionally, on the original complaint, *** ****** stated that "4 t-stats were replaced (even though only 3 were working properly)".  In this complaint, he says that "only 2" have been replaced.

2. VAV 4B-7 – *** ****** is correct.  We did not replace the controller on VAV 4B-7 or VAV 2A-1.  As stated in our first response, we replaced the controller on FPB 2A-1 (See number 2 on previous response and details on service report.)  We admit that the invoice is a little confusing on this issue.

3. Our HR Department can verify that ***** ********* (tech on service report) is an Employee at Fox Service Company.  ****** ****** believes there is also a ***** ********* (different man) working at **** ********.  The labor charges on our invoice are for our employee who performed the work.

In an effort to help resolve this complaint, we will deduct the labor charges for ***** ********* ($382.50) since it seems to be a primary issue for *** ******.  We will also issue a credit for 5 t-stats ($592.92).  This will bring the balance due by *** ****** (The Terrace), including tax, to $4,085.53.  

This invoice is now over 91 days past due and Fox requires payment upon receipt of this response.  When this payment is received and processed, Fox can remove the lien relating to this invoice.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fox service company replaced coils in the AC in attic and didn't connect the drain line properly. This cause all condensed water to drain into the attic damaging the sheetrock on the ceiling as well as water stains in the ceiling.

Desired Settlement: Repair all damage caused by the water from the improperly connected drain line.

Business Response: We have spoken to the customer and have made arrangements for the necessary repairs.  Our remodel technicians have an appointment scheduled for tomorrow.  We will continue to work with the customer until the issue is resolved.