Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox Service Company

Phone: (512) 442-6782 Fax: (512) 707-2885 View Additional Phone Numbers 4300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78745 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.foxservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers HVAC, plumbing and electrical repair service for both residential/commercial.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox Service Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox Service Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Service Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1974 Business started: 08/01/1972 Business started locally: 08/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/23/2013 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Nagel, Managing Member Mr. Ryan Schooler, Managing Member Mr. Karl Wenkheimer, Director of Operations Mr. David Kottke, Marketing Mr. George Stuckey, Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Nagel, Managing Member
Principal: Mr. Ryan Schooler, Managing Member
Principal: Mr. Karl Wenkheimer, Director of Operations
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians – Residential Electricians Electricians - Commercial Heating Contractors Lighting Consultants Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Plan Services Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Weatherization Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Floodlights & Search Lights Generators - Electric Heat Exchangers Water Leak Detection Leak Detection Lighting Equipment - Emergency Street Lighting Standards & Equipment Air Quality Service Landscape Lighting Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Gas Lights Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service

Products & Services

Fox Service Company sells the following brand(s): Bryant, Eaton, Nest, State

Alternate Business Names
Fox Mechanical Fox Service Company II LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4300 S Congress Ave

    Austin, TX 78745 (254) 526-4211 (210) 349-6799 (512) 442-6782 (254) 773-4666

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FOX sent out a service person to do routine service on our AC/Heating system on June 17,2015. He was to do his work in approximately half a day. One unit was not cooling. He installed two kickstarts and had another person assess the problem unit. They advised replacing it. He serviced bedroom unit which was functioning normally. Within 48 hrs, it flooded from our attic into our formal living room. A different service tech came out to check this problem, and also found that upstairs AC regulator panel was not working, and replaced it. Once again, we were not having any problems with that unit until after the initial technicians visit two days before. A manager came out and acted as if he did not know there was a problem. We were told over the phone by him that we would receive credit for $1588. After multiple calls we were refunded in the $275 range. Multiple emails and phone calls resulted in them "refusing to meet with us". We had used this company for 20 years, and felt abandoned by them after receiving incompetent , and damaging service.

Desired Settlement: Refund the amount promised to us of $1588 , plus refund for service visits amounting to total of $2256 .

Business Response: We have worked in good faith to address all concerns raised by Ms. ***** after the work performed in June of 2015. We have repaired all damages to the home and reached a settlement for the related expenses the ****** incurred to their personal property as a result of the master bedroom HVAC equipment failure. We have made several unsuccessful attempts to satisfy Ms. ****** request for explanation of charges and additional compensation. A credit was extended to Ms. ***** in the amount of $1588.00 to be used towards the purchase of a new HVAC system installed by Fox Service Company. The ****** declined the written offer and canceled their long standing annual service agreement at which time we refunded the unused portion of the agreement totaling $278.00. The repair cost authorized and paid for by Ms. ***** totaled $2256.00; it includes work on three other HVAC units and a thermostat unrelated to the master bedroom unit, of which they still receive benefit. The portion of the total collected dollars directly reflecting services provided to the master bedroom unit totals $639.00; we are prepared to issue that refund to Ms. ***** as a full and final settlement to this matter.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: After reviewing my charge sheets from Fox for last summer with my current AC vendor, I feel even more strongly that our full amount of money should be refunded to us. Charge sheets from June 17 state that the LR AC unit is "dead", and then the tech went on to install KS and contact. No maintenance was done because the unit was "dead". None of the multiple charge sheets can be believed to be true. One sheet says that all 4 systems "are working well", when one had already been pronounced "dead". Additional refrigerant was added twice, yet no leak was ever found in those  units to warrant this. Why were repairs done to a dead unit? Maintenance may have been done on upstairs units, but I had them repeated by another company. This technician was disorganized, inefficient, and was not competent to spend several days in my home. He was a new hire, and I suspect had not been supervised to see if he was competent. I also know that he does not work at Fox now. Unfortunately, I was the mismanaged case to prove this.  I expect the $275 for "used half" of maintenance contract, and all other charges amounting to $2531 to refunded to me by Fox. If not, I will be pursuing this complaint with the Licensing Bureau. 

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response:

We have continued to work in good faith to address all concerns raised by Ms. ***** after the work performed in June of 2015.  As stated in our previous response, we have repaired all damages to the home and reached a settlement for the related expenses the ****** incurred to their personal property as a result of the master bedroom HVAC equipment (*********) failure. In addition, we have issued a credit for the remainder of the maintenance contract totaling $278 in October of 2015, as well as extended additional considerations that the *****’s declined at the time the offers were made.

In an effort to provide a clearer understanding of the events, we have broken down the work performed by date and piece of equipment.

  • Inspections and Repairs Performed 6/17/15 - Technician SS4
    • Down Stairs Main Unit - Reports (******* SR ********) Equipment *********
      • Cleared drain line and cleaned Safe T Switch
      • Installed new contactor ($178) <Will Refund>
      • Installed new kickstart ($376)  <Will Refund>
      • System working properly after repairs
      • Also noted breaker tripping and t-stat issues per customer
    • Upstairs North Unit – Reports (4083475 SR ********) Equipment *********
      • Repair performed to repair condensate drain line slope for better drainage ($3)
      • Performed electronic leak search on entire system ($97) and Added 3.5 Refrigerant ($221), no further leak after tightening nuts around valve
      • Replaced contactor ($178)
      • Installed new kickstart ($376)
    • Game Room/Upstairs South – Reports (*******) Equipment *********
      • Noted filter was 5” short, was 14x20x1 and should be 14x25x1

  • Inspection and Repairs Performed on 6/18/15 - Technicians SS4 and SDL3
    • Master Bedroom unit - Reports (*******, ********, ********) Equipment *********
      • Installed Kickstart ($376) <Will Refund>
      • System working properly at the time of inspection
    • Down Stairs Main Unit - Reports (********, ********) Equipment *********
      • Determined that the compressor started to ground. Dead. Recommended replacement and scheduled appointment to have a project manager return to discuss.

  • Repair Performed on 6/21/15 – Technician RPF
    • Master Bedroom Unit - Report (********) Equipment *********
      • Cleaned primary drain line and took water out of secondary drain pan
      • Added 1lb refrigerant   ($263.20) <Will Refund>
    • Recommended upstairs hall T-stat be replaced

  • Repair Performed on 6/22/15 – Technician ECB
    • Down Stairs Main Unit - Report (********) Equipment Z3143092F
      • Unit Down Again; compressor grounded tripping breaker
      • Recommend replacing system
      • Will call back with cost to repair compressor
      • No Charge
    • Master Bedroom Unit - Report (********) Equipment *********
      • Unit in master leaked, drain line and pan clear
      • Performed electronic leak search and found evaporator coil leaking refrigerant; noted water in pan could have come from coil freezing up and defrosting.
      • Recommend replacing system. $2191 for evaporator coil repair
      • No Charge
    • Upstairs Hall T-stat replaced Report (********) ($288.00)

  • Survey performed on 6/26/15
    • Ceiling repair from system leak.  Report (********)
    • No Charge

  • Repair performed on 7/15/15
    • Ceiling repair from system leak. Report (********)
    • No Charge

The total repair cost authorized and paid for by Ms. ***** totaled $2256.00 after receiving a $100 discount as a Priority One customer; this includes work on three other HVAC units and a thermostat unrelated to the master bedroom unit, of which they still receive benefit. The portion of total collected dollars directly reflecting services provided to the master bedroom unit (*********) totals $639.20. In an effort to reach resolution, we will also include the totals of the kickstart and contactor installed on the Downstairs Main Unit totaling $554. We feel we have made significant effort to resolve this matter, and upon acceptance, will execute the refund totaling $1193.20 to Ms. ***** as a full and final settlement to this matter.

Best Regards,

****** *****, CEO

Fox Service Company

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and will accept the settlement offered. I truly believe that the full refund would be more fair. The person who wrote out the service sheets was not reliable, as proved by his dismissal from Fox Service. Whoever re reviewed these sheets should have been able to recognize that, and be honest about it, especially to a long time customer. No customer should have been treated as I have been. I hope that Fox Service will not be seen again in my neighborhood.

Regards,

******** *****

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fox Service came out to service our AC and recommended weatherization /duct replacement. 7/6/15 replacement was done we immediately felt a dramatic reduction of our AC capacity. They completely reconfigured the ducts and left our AC struggling to get air into the rooms. After checking the new ducts we found that they had put in a 10' plenum and 9 runs of flex duct running to each room. There were leaks, 180 degree turns and they were hung in the hottest part of the attic which was also much hotter due to 4 feet of blown in insulation. At night when the AC would come back on, it would blow hot air on us which disturbed our sleep. They deployed data loggers and keep telling us that our conditions are ideal and it felt fine to them. They came out and told me there was no problem and even suggested that I was using my AC wrong. I hired another company to check the work and he had never seen such a large plenum and suggested that to fix the issue the plenum should be cut down to the manufacturers recommended height, move some of the ducts that had huge turns to the sides and run a trunk line to the back of the house instead of having 5 runs off the back of the plenum. Fox did cut the plenum down and moved some ducts as requested and we were told that they would order parts for a 12" trunk line, remote plenum and a "Y" connection to run smaller ducts to our living room. Cutting the plenum down helped but the ducts are still the issue and we waited for the parts to be ordered only to be told by the service manager that they are not authorized to finish the work we agreed on. They have never wanted to consider the duct configuration as an issue and refuse to put them back into the original configuration. We did not authorize them to reconfigure our duct layout and they took it upon themselves to do so, which has overloaded our plenum and reduced the AC's effectiveness to an intolerable level. The net result is a perpetual mugginess in the atmosphere inside our home. Poor planning, poor installation and horrible customer service have left us in an unlivable hot, stuffy home. It was much better before they did this, we are worse off now and they refuse to complete the work as per agreement.

Desired Settlement: Either redo the ducts as we have agreed to, in the same configuration as they were or take it all out of my house and not get paid.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer directly and have mutually agreed to the following resolution:  

Removal of all ductwork installed by Fox Service Company.
Removal of the duct board supply plenum installed by Fox Service Company.
Removal of all return air and supply grilles installed by Fox Service Company.
Removal as close as possible of all attic insulation installed by Fox Service Company,it shall be further understood that there will be a minimal of mixing of both old and new insulation but we will leave in place at least the original R-20 level of insulation that existed prior to our performing any work. 
Necessary job clean-up upon completion of work.
Every effort will be made to ensure that no damage is done to the home or HVAC system.
The customer will contact Fox to schedule the removal.  
 

We will need a minimum advanced notification of 48 hrs.(weekday business hrs.) in order to coordinate and schedule the crews performing the work. The work must be scheduled during the work days of Monday-Friday and will start at approximately 8 a.m. in the morning and should take between 6-8 hrs. to complete.

****** *******
Customer Support Manager
Fox Service Company

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ******

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/10/2015 - We contacted Fox after hours and requested a plumber. We were told that we would be contacted the next morning to schedule a plumber. 6/11/2015 - Fox customer service contacted us approx. 7:30 AM -- left a voice mail. We immediately called back and spoke to a gentleman who called himself ******. We advised ****** that we needed a plumber to come out asap. As priority customers - who have been using Fox for over a decade - including purchasing a new AC from Fox a year ago -- We felt confident that ****** would provide the same outstanding service that we had always appreciated from Fox. Instead, ****** showed no investment in our getting a plumber asap. He told us that he would not get anyone to us til Friday and that if we didn't let him schedule it then he could not help us. We requested to speak with anyone else -- ****** advised us that he was the customer service manager and no one else was available. We asked to speak with the manager of the plumbing dept. --Again, ****** told us that everyone in the office was in a meeting but him. We ended the call with ****** and called back to speak with the woman - ******** - who left us a voice mail minutes earlier stating that she would schedule a plumber to come out. ****** refused to let us speak to ******** -- Again, he was rude, unkind and unhelpful. We ended the call. We looked at each other in complete and utter shock. This is NOT the Fox Service that we have been dealing with for years. Next, ******** called us and stated that a plumber was on his way to our house. I asked her twice if she said that a plumber was coming - both times she emphatically stated that one was. ******** stated that she knew that we were priority customers and sounded much more professional and willing to assist us then ******. Upon further pressing about the plumber coming - ******** put us on hold - came back - and told us that she could only wait list us and that there was no plumber on his way after all. We accepted the wait list offer and ended the call. We immediately called a local plumber who came out within the hour and repaired our plumbing issues. The customer service people at the local plumbing company were professional, courteous, and above all appreciated our business.

Desired Settlement: We simply wish to discuss this issue with anyone else but ******. We can't seem to call and get past ******. We'd like to discuss with someone in a supervisory position if this is indeed representative of how Fox Service will be treating it's priority customers -- not just priority customers -- but very loyal and long standing customers who have always sung Fox's praises to neighbors and friends. Finally, if Fox does stand behind their customer service manager and his lack of care or concern for it's customer's needs - We'd like to end our priority contract and receive a refund. Ending our relationship with Fox Service disappoints us to no end. Fox had always met and exceeded our service expectations. Everyone that has come to our home has been top notch. Fox has always been generous and fair with us. We valued our relationship -- which is why it pains us to think that the person/s that we call to schedule our appointments will sever that. The phone is our first point of contact with Fox -- the people on the other end need to be accountable and professional at all times.

Business Response: We apologize for the delay in responding to this complaint and regret that this delay may have communicated a lack of interest in resolving this matter. We value every customer and are committed to ensuring that each experience with our company is a positive one. The delay was a result of an employee transition that impacted our receipt of the complaint, and was in no way a reflection of our commitment to repair and restore the relationship with *** *******.

Upon learning of this complaint on July 6th, an internal audit took place to determine the sequence of events described. All of the information was reviewed with the employee listed in the complaint, and appropriate training and coaching have been provided.  *** ******* was contacted on Tuesday, July 7th, and was provided with the steps taken and a full apology extended for her experience with our company. We are very grateful for the opportunity to address this matter and express our appreciation not only for *** *******'s years as a Priority One customer, but for the time she spent to bring this matter to our attention.

At this time, we believe the issue she raised to be resolved and we look forward to a continued relationship with *** *******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fox Services sent me an invoice for repairs i checked and questioned them about. The below statement is for services done on my building automation system. They are charging me $5200. As you can see below I checked their work and caught them red handed, now they have delayed the process and have put a mechanics lein on my property which I can not allow. 1. VAV 5A – 12 has been off-line the entire year and has not been touched. 2. VAV-4B-7 is an original controller and has been on-line since 2/3/2013, this is not a warranty item like you mentioned because it is an original controller. 3. Fox is charging for 8 room sensors but only 4 were replaced and only 3 are working properly. 4. Labor charges! How can you justify 22 hours for 3 techs (1 being a **** ******* employee) for any of this?

Desired Settlement: Bill me for 3 t-stats that were replaced.

Business Response: I am  not able to get to
where you reply to the complaint in the system so here is the reply.

 

1.      
VAV 5A-12 – Our
technician notes dated 6/19/2013 on service report ******** state VAV 5A-12 was
replaced, programmed and left in service. (Copy of service report available)

2.      
2VAV 4B-7 – Our
technician notes dated 7/1/2013 on service report ******** state the controller
on FPB 2A-1 was replaced, programmed and left in operation.  VAV 4B-7 was
not replaced with a new controller (Copy of service report available)

3.      
The sensors were
replaced on FPB 2A-1, VAV 5A-12, VAV 4B-7, FPB 4TA-1, and VAV 4A-3.  We
also left three (3) sensors onsite per the customer’s request. (Copy of service
report available)

4.      
The technicians
whose time was charged to this job are ***** *********, **** *******, and **
******* – all Fox Employees.

 

****** ****** is willing to talk
with *** ****** and try to work out a reasonable resolution to his
complaint.  ****** will contact him by Thursday 10/31/13.

 

Please let me know if you need
additional information.  Also, can you please email me from your email
when we get a complaint.  I am still not able to get the BBB emails.

 

 

****** ********

Fox
Service Company

************

************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******




I am rejecting this response because:

1. VAV 5A-12 controller was replaced but has been non-operational since 11/12,
I had ******** ******* ***** ********* of Computrols come in and fix the
programming problem on 11/17/13, they also ran a history of the t-stats in this
invoice and found only 2 out of the four to have been replaced and there were
no spares left behind.



2. VAV 4B-7 was never replaced and there is nothing on this invoice showing a
VAV 2A-1, as a service provider you know you cannot begin to add items on
invoices already sent out unless this is the way Fox does business!



3. How can you charge me this much labor for 2 t-stats? And ***** ********* is
a ******** of **** ********.



I will pay you for 1 controller at cost no mark-up (VAV 5A-12) and 2 t-stats,
Labor charges will be to install the one controller no Programming because
Computrols did that portion and I have paid for the cost there, also the
installation of the 2 t-stats. I am willing to pay my fair share of what I have
found on this invoice and by the reports compiled by Computrols.



Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: 1. VAV 5A-12 - Per the Service Work Order provided by Computrols, this controller was operational and "no software changes were made". (See Computrols Work Order Item 15).

    T-Stats - No reference is made to "checking" any of these t-stat numbers in the Service Work Order provided by Computrols  (FPB 2A-1, VAV 5A-12, VAV 4V-7, FPB 4TA-1, VAV 4A-3).   Additionally, on the original complaint, *** ****** stated that "4 t-stats were replaced (even though only 3 were working properly)".  In this complaint, he says that "only 2" have been replaced.

2. VAV 4B-7 – *** ****** is correct.  We did not replace the controller on VAV 4B-7 or VAV 2A-1.  As stated in our first response, we replaced the controller on FPB 2A-1 (See number 2 on previous response and details on service report.)  We admit that the invoice is a little confusing on this issue.

3. Our HR Department can verify that ***** ********* (tech on service report) is an Employee at Fox Service Company.  ****** ****** believes there is also a ***** ********* (different man) working at **** ********.  The labor charges on our invoice are for our employee who performed the work.

In an effort to help resolve this complaint, we will deduct the labor charges for ***** ********* ($382.50) since it seems to be a primary issue for *** ******.  We will also issue a credit for 5 t-stats ($592.92).  This will bring the balance due by *** ****** (The Terrace), including tax, to $4,085.53.  

This invoice is now over 91 days past due and Fox requires payment upon receipt of this response.  When this payment is received and processed, Fox can remove the lien relating to this invoice.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Service Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)