BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elmer’s One Hour Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2000 Business started: 07/09/1999 in TX Business started locally: 07/09/1999 Business incorporated: 07/31/2009 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. KeeAnn DeVora, Manager Mr. Elmer Zubiate, Owner Ms. Rocio Aguirre, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. KeeAnn DeVora, Manager
Principal: Mr. Elmer Zubiate, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Zubie Air Inc.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 9710 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 782-8550

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: Please note that the unit MPG is warranted however requires pads for maintenance to heed warranty active on all products installed by one hour. Please note we fed ex her filters and spoke with client and all seems to be well.

Thank you
******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested that they stop billing me for their club membership. I still am being billed $19.95 a month for a membership I don't want.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop billing me (it comes from auto-payment on my checking account that they should stop). A refund of the past month or two's payments is fair

Business Response:

THE BILLING HAS STOPPED WE TRIED CALLING CLIENT NA THNK YOU

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last night when temperatures were frigid we came home to a unit that would not blow heat. We called the number to have someone notified and to have a technician come out and they could not come out. Per our contract it states if within two years a unit breaks down they will give us 500.00 for our inconvenience. Well I really really am disappointed and angry that they could not come out last night. It was a very freezing night we have two children and our pets that we're freezing last night. It is bad business and unethical to "guarantee" 24-hr emergency services rain or shine, snow or ice, and not follow through with your end of the contract.

Desired Settlement: What our family would like is the $500.00 that is guaranteed to the customer if the unit breaks down within the first two years. The unit is brand new out of the box, inside and outside there should have been no reason for the unit to not work. Very very angry and dissatisfied with this business. To make matters worse my husband is a Wounded Warrior who has fought for his country and for this business to say that they "honor" Service-members is a lie, if they respected their reputation and their business they would have come out last night to fix the heat.

Consumer Response:

Yes they indeed stuck by what they advertise and gave us a $500.00 inconvenience fee. I hope and pray it never goes that route again.

Thanks,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of last year, I had an emergency involving my air conditioning unit. It failed in less than six years on a new house. Elmer's one hour came out and installed the new unit immediately. That was a great job. However, subsequently, my insurance requested a report of what happened so subrogation could be undertaken to get some of, if not all of my out of pocket expenses returned to me. This totaled almost $10,000.00 out of pocket. It took Elmer's One hour 3 months to actually have a person come out and inspect the old unit and do the report-which was supplied to me as well as my insurance carrier. The Insurance carrier then requested a bit more information from Elmer's One Hour. It has now been 7 months that Elmer has not responded back to the Insurance company, nor to me. After repeated phone calls and promises to deliver, nothing has been done to help me rectify the situation. All is needed is some clarification on the report sent out previously and the company is failing to respond and the actions are not against Elmer's One Hour, but another vendor. Also, along with the $6700 expense for the unit, I paid Elmer $2200 for an ultra violet light to go in the previous unit that was not installed on the original unit-further bolstering my insurance claim

Desired Settlement: I would like Elmer's One Hour to finish the report they promised to give to the insurance carrier and send the information to them, so my claim can be brought to fruition. I would like this settled in a timely manner-considering it has been 9 months since the incident has occurred.

Business Response: Our ******* ******* spoke to and mailed *** ********** the info he needed *** ********** is happy has no other questions.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:
no information has been mailed to me and I NOT spoken with any ******* ******* about this. I so reject I am happy because this represents two separate times thatT Elmer's One Hour has reporting agencies (ie BBB and ******* ****) by responding with Untruth.

Regards,
****** **********

Business Response:

Ok let me get with **** again he will call you before the end of the day

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: about two weeks ago I noticed a problem with our AC fan not blowing, I got on my computer and called on On time Elmer, I called late in the evening and they told me it would be a $149 charge to come out that evening. I declined since the weather had not been hot that eve and we could open the windows. They scheduled arrival for early the next day. ***** arrived on time and "diagnosed" the problem. A few components that were under warranty had failed, and there was a starter pack not installed from the factory or by the original install team at the time we purchased the home. He also recommended we get more airflow to the main unit in the attic so the blower would not have to work so hard. We went over some options and signed an agreement. He took my credit card and called in the numbers to the office. I THOUGHT I was paying a $400 dollar deposit instead the card was ran for the whole balance!!!! ALL of the parts except the starter pack were under warranty and the manufacturer replaced them, ***** did go pick them up and returned and installed them. He also said we would have to return Friday, this was a Tuesday I believe.... to finish. He said he wanted to send out his BEST TECH who was really good at putting in these air flow vents and that was the soonest he could get out. Well he came and went that Friday, He was in our attic for about 45 minutes or so. He came down and told my wife he was finished, said sign here and took off. I got home that night and we were in bed and the fan kicked on, I could hear a completely different noise from the way it sounded before he did anything in the attic, I chalked it up to this being more airflow and the unit is just going to sound different. Shortly after **** from Elmers called and said his tech in fact did NOT finish.. and they would have to return again Friday the 18Th!, They said they would be there between 12-2. SO my wife again took ANOTHER day off work since someone had to be there. **** called at 11:57, he said I am sorry but we will not make it today. 3 Techs were supposed to be coming and he told me ALL of them called in...I spent the majority of the day chasing a mysterious person who works for them who is the ONLY one in the company who can process a refund on a credit card... HA!!!! The run around this company has given me is text book and believe me , they are good at it.... I have been hung up on, transferred and left on hold and told over and over again... I am sorry but there is nothing I can do. They are RUDE, Arrogant, and if they were my employess they would be unemployed!!! I have asked MANY MANY times to speak with the owner and ****** in the office seriously tried to tell me, he doesn't have a phone???? And he cant be contacted???? Who do yall really think your fooling??? ******* is the last clown that I have had the pleasure in dealing with, He was supposed to call me today 21 Oct and he was going to meet me at my office at 9 am or shortly after, guess what still MIA, We have spoke numerous times today and his last promise was he was supposed to be at my office at 4:30 he accidently called me and left me a 3:29 second message before he was supposed to be here. He said he was talking to his "supervisor" about getting the refund approved and we would get it all on paper at 4:30. Well in this voicemail he sure sounds like a classy guy.... I really didn't need to hear about your "*******" And how your booze bottle got stolen out of your truck, I got the message saved just in case any of your "supervisors" would like to hear it... 4:30 came and went, what do you know..... He said he cant make it but wants to meet me at 10 am.... I am seriously done waisting any more breath or time on these Jokers. I want a refund of my money period. I AM PURSUING legal action with this as well, and I will be hiring another AC contractor for a second opinion on the status of my AC to see if anything has been damaged, due to there incompetence. When you call them they say, "where we are always on time or you don't pay a dime" Stand behind it then. All I originally wanted was the work to be completed but since you cant make hardly ONE appointment on time, I want it refunded, I will be happy to pay a bit for labor on the part(s) that were under warranty that were installed

Desired Settlement: $1625 Dollars returned that was processed WITHOUT my acknowledgement or permission

Business Response: Mr ****** we already refunded over $1300.00 and did resolve it with him he's all taken care of 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/16/13 repairs were made to my air conditioning system so it would run more efficiently. The following day when I turned on the air conditioner, I found out that the drain pipe was not secured when water began leaking from my ceiling, which damaged my ceiling and the area rug. A repair person came out and did a temporary fix. On Sunday, 11/18, additional repairmen came out to make the larger repairs. However, repairmen had to come out four more times to finally get the system repaired. Repairs to my ceiling took seven days. While the company paid for the repairs, I needed someone to be there while the workmen were there because I had to be at work. I had someone who does home repairs make sure that everything was going well and reporting back to me. For his time, this person charged $1050. He also bought 2 gallons of primer and paint for a total cost of $120 as he had recently painted my home and I wanted to make sure that I would be getting the same quality and color of paint. His total bill for services and paint/primer came to $1170. Additionally, the original bid called for the installation of 3 return vents. As it turned out, only two could be installed, yet I was charged the full amount of the original bid that was for 3 return vents. I have not yet been reimbursed for the site management fees and primer/paint nor the cost of the return vent and associated labor costs that were not necessary. During the seven days of repair, my home was in disarray and I had to cancel a party I had planned to have. I have been more than patient with this company in making the repairs needed, even though they had to continually be called back. They make promises about paying me what is owed, but do not follow through.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund for $1170 plus the cost of the air vent and associated costs that were charged, but were not installed.

Business Response:

***** ******** we also paid her the full amount sheiks also happy With the resolution, the plumbing company and electricians had part in the damages too, we paid off the $1170 for the supervisor she hired and we are trying to collect from the other companies , but we paid her because we wanted her to be happy

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called the business and asked if they could do payment plans on repairs of air conditioners because we have little money and no air. They were told the situation and they said we work with all kinds of financial situations. The technician comes to our home, checks the unit for leaks and said he could not find any. Said he replaced a capacitor and the unit needed yearly maintenance. We gave him all our money and thought it was repaired. Went to bed, awakened the next morning and it was hot again. 0ver 90 inside our home. We have asthmatics here and heart problems. Called back and they are wanting more money! I asked what the $464 dollars we gave them was for. Well, because the technician put on the receipt that there could be possible leaks, then we have to pay MORE money! So we basically gave them our last $500 and still have no air!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come back out without the expensive service fee and work with us on a payment plan as they said they would.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Sent: Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:14 AM



The situation has been resolved concerning my complaint.



Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1