Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Champion AC

Phone: (210) 699-0022 Fax: (210) 688-4812 4703 Shavano Oak Ste 104, San Antonio, TX 78249 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.championac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and light commercial heating / cooling services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion AC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion AC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Champion AC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated 04/17/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Benjamin Hubbert, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benjamin Hubbert, President
Related Businesses
Beacon SEO, LLC Leadhub Inc.
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractor - Home Performance Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Roof Cooling Systems Ventilating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Air Quality Service Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Energy Conservation Products & Services Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Heat Sealing Air Sealing Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems Heat Sealing Equipment & Supplies Heating Equipment Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Air Balancing

Products & Services

Champion AC sells the following brand(s): Amana, Carrier, Goodman, Lennox, LG, Mitsubishi, Rheem, Ruud, Trane

Champion AC offers the following product(s): Air Conditioning systems, Air Ductwork, Indoor Air Quality systems, Insulation, Solar attic fans

Method(s) of Payment
Financing, Credit Cards, Checks and Cash.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Champion AC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4703 Shavano Oak Ste 104

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 699-0022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Champion AC to check an AC unit that was not cooling properly. The tech gave me 3 options, #1 Smart Solution-Replace the whole unit for $6500 #2 Best repair option-replace the condenser drive and high voltage controller, repair a leak in condenser and charge freon for $1589 and #3 option to replace condenser drive, repair leak and charge freon. He highly recommended #2 as he said everything else was working properly and replacing these items would take care of the issue. The work was completed on 07/10/15. Less than 2 weeks later on 07/20/15 the unit stopped working again. I called Champion AC and they went back out on 07/24/25 and at that time they gave me another 3 options #1 Replace outdoor system for $4597. #2 Replace complete system $6797. #3 Replace with 14 seer system for $7597. They also told me that if I went with option 1 and it failed again, I would be forced to replace both units with the new freon system, so again I would only be wasting my money. I contacted another company who quickly replaced the unit and only charged me $3800. Champion AC claimed they would credit part of the initial $1589 I had already paid them if I went with a new system, but their pricing was inflated and even if they reduced the whole amount it would still be higher than what the new company was charging me. I have called many times regarding a refund and they have told me they would speak to the owner and have him get back to me right away, but no one has ever returned my calls. I do not trust them to do any further work for us.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of all or part of my $1589 which was wasted money as the unit ended up being torn out not even 2 weeks later.

Business Response: I have spoken to the customer and we have mutually agreed to a refund amount that makes her satisfied. Apologized for the inconvenience and I feel that we have made it right between both parties. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I spoke with Champion AC and we reached an agreement yet they went over and beyond our agreement and took responsibility for the entire loss.

I am satisfied with the outcome,  Champion AC takes responsibility for their employees actions and corrects the wrongs.

Thank you,

****** *****

6/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had Champion AC had alloy coil replacement for my 8 year old AC unit. Spent over $2,700 dollars at the end of July 2013. The defect unit was installed and leaking Freon from the start. Did not discover the problem until last month after the AC leaked all 8 pounds of Freon, freeze up and floor entire area around the AC. Have to call my emergency AC repair person to repair it find the leak, replace the coil and refill the Freon. The total cost is $1,000 and half of it is for Freon. Call the Champion and ask if they can reimburse part of fixing cost. Champion said they would call me back never heard anything. Sent a letter to *** of the company and have not heard anything either.

Desired Settlement: Like to get reimbursed for the repair cost.

Business Response: We installed this coil back in July of 2013. All coil replacements come standard with a 1 year warranty. Currently, this coil is out of it's warranty. We recommended replacing the entire system back in 2013, but customer chose to just replace coil only. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The leak is in the Coil so it does not have anything to do with any other parts of AC. My AC repair man told me the since all 8 pounds of Freon was gone it must started long time ago may be a year since this does not happen over night to leak everything. The installation was very expensive $2,700 just to replace the coil and you all did a lousy job. The day after the install my whole kitchen ceiling was flooded and the whole ceiling almost came off. It turned out you all put the draining pipe directly above my kitchen ceiling. I regret I did business with you at all.

Regards,
***** ***

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on Jun 20111 I bough a Complete Air Conditioning system for the house with a 10 years Extended warranties that include Parts & Labor.I call Champion AC because the system was not working propertly and when they came to check the AC i was told that the DUAL RUN CAPACITOR OF THE AC UNIT WAS BAD and it need it to be replaced. When i told them that the contract I have state 10 years warranties parts & labor they refuse to repair the sytem and demanded $$ for the repair service because i did't have a "membership" with them. The contract i have with the state clearly PARTS & LABOR for the specific system I bough less than 4 years ago.

Desired Settlement: The AC Unit still under waranty and i want it to be fix to include the Parts & labor

Business Response: The warranty claim was denied through the HVAC manufacturer (Lennox) due to lack of maintenance. They couldn't find any records or documentation showing annual maintenance since the system was installed. Similar to warranties on vehicles, if they aren't maintained properly with oil changes the warranties will be denied. We had our representative at Lennox manufacturing contact ****** and go over the details. Please let me know if there are any additional details I can provide.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The Original AC Unit has 5 year parts and 5 year on the compressor( the part that is bad) and that is without the extended warrantee I bought from Champion AC for $1,099 If the Lennox company 4 years after I initially bought the AC will not honor or reject the warrantee then I want the $1,099 I pay for the extended warrantee. I will get another authorized repair dealer and have them contact Lennox for the warrantee that is in place without the extended warrantee. I have also spoken to the Lennox Company and they told me ( Ms ******) that the Unit is under warrantee and all it has to happen is the AC authorized dealer call them to authorized repairs. The comparison and rationale that AC Champion is using is irrelevant, the same comparison/analogy I can use if I go to Lowes or Home Depot and buy a new refrigerator (that has also a compressor, just like an AC) and I don't have to get an additional Service agreement + extended warrantee with them in the event that the refrigerator malfunction, if the refrigerator breaks down and still under company manufacture's warrantee it will get fix, the same should happen with a new AC unit that the Compressor fails in less than 4 years and still under company warrantee. I DO NOT want the extended warrantee; I want the $ 1,099 that I for that extended warrantee and I will get another reliable and honest Authorized Service AC to have ALL and or futures break downs on my Lennox AC Unit. The Extended Warrantee is not with the Lennox if with Champion AC and since them Want an additional $169 per year membership to have someone service check on a new Unit for 5 year then is useless to have that extended warrantee they sold me with the original AC sale. Additionally, I will like to have the exact time and dates and person(s) that they claim they have call me in 2013 & 2014 to provide service so I can go to my telephone provider and ask for the detail call report on those specific days.

Regards, **** *********

8/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** ******* ****** came out to check out our ac because it wasn't cooling. After researching it, he told us it would be $2500.00 to replace the fan motor if it wasn't under warranty. He didn't seem anxious to even check if it was under warranty or not. After calling other companies to compare this repair cost, my husband told ******* this estimate was way overpriced. ******* then said he could do it for $800 since the part is under warranty. When I called Champion AC today, the ******* told me the price should have been $297.00. We ended up getting another company to do the same work for $250.00. I'm baffled as to how the price went from $2500 to $800 to $297 in a matter of a few hours. Seems like this company is very shady in the way they do business. When I told ******* we were going to call around and get more prices because we felt that the $800 wasn't a good price, he told me, "Ha. You won't find a cheaper price. $800 is a very good deal and there's no place you will find to do it cheaper than that." Seems like he was price gouging, trying to make me pay a ridiculous price for this repair.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be let out of our service contract. We don't want to continue to do business with a shady company that seems to pull prices out of the sky.

Business Response: Hi *********,

My name is *** ******* and I am one of the owners of Champion AC. I have tried to call you to discuss this issue and want to apologize for the way we have made you feel. ******* is one of our new **********s and he made a mistake in regards to your air conditioner being under warranty. We have discussed this with him and we will not make this mistake again. We have mailed out a full refund for your maintenance agreement which you should receive this week. I would still like to talk to you to discuss the incident in more detail. I hope you have an excellent week and please let us know when you receive the refund.

*** ******* ******************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: Today is Thursday and we haven't received the refund check.  Also, I checked the phone log on my cell phone and home phone and there are no missed calls from the business's phone number or unrecognized numbers.  I did not receive a call or a voice mail from you sir.  At this point, I'd just like the refund.  Was it mailed out of San Antonio?

Regards,

********* ******

Business Response: *********, we have tried to call you several times and dropped a check off at your house. Did you receive it? Please let me know when you have time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ******
Thank you for refunding our money and making it right with us.  We appreciate it. 

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In brief, I have a Lennox ac that wasn't cooling and leaking water. My home was 92 degrees at 3am. On June 30th, the tech came opened the inside cabinet looked at the unit and the went to the outside unit. The tech removed its cover and asked if I had a maintanence plan. The tech came in with a list of plans from $1159 to $2600 because the unit needed to be cleaned. The tech stated he needed to take out the condenser , clean it and reinstall it (with the unmentioned freon recharge) . The tech gave me a iPad to complete an credit application for $1159, asked if I had a credit card, and then walked out with the ipad. He came back and stated I had been declined. It would be $1159 in cash. I paid the service call. I received two letters on july 16th from Syncrony bank :as in two credit requests. I only submitted one. Lennox has "issues" with certain units as is common knowledge in the hvac field. My unit is on the list. The tech would have taken out the defective part , cleaned it, reintalled it and then charged me for new service calls and to actually repair the ac. Dealing with Champion would have cost me $3500, half would've been needless.

Desired Settlement: I need the extra credit request cleared, copy of my credit report and $3500.

Business Response: Hi Mr. ******,

Our technician gave us a different version of what happened and hopefully I can clear it up. Your lennox air conditioner has a copper coil, which is not a defective part. Your coil was impacted (very dirty) which is a result of lack of maintenance. Our technician recommended to pull and clean your coil for $1,159 and offered a financing option. When you agreed, he ran it through consumer lending which finds the best financing option for our customer. It only hits your credit once.

Also, you didn't spend any money with our company, so I don't understand why you are requesting $3,500? We even waived the $19 service call fee. We definitely want to make you happy, but do not feel that we are at fault for your air conditioning system being dirty. Have a great week and please advise how you would like to move forward.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion AC performed a seasonal tune-up on my three A/C units on 5 May 2014. The service tech assured me he would send me an electronic copy of the completed service checklist for each unit. I did not receive the checklists. I called Champion AC and spoke to their receptionist who assured me she would talk with the technician and make sure I received the checklists. I did not receive them. I called several days later, spoke with a receptionist who put me in contact with the technician. The technician acknowledged that he had my email address and that he would send me the completed checklists. I still have not received them over one month later.

Desired Settlement: That I receive three completed checklists detailing the items checked and the data recorded. I would also like an apology for the time and energy I've wasted asking a business to perform the work they promised.

Business Response: We have tried to call and email *** ******* and have not gotten a response. We would love the opportunity to give him any documents he needs and even provide a free year of maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to clear this up as soon as possible. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  They did not send a completed checklist for the tune-ups performed on my three A/C units, they simply resent the invoice.  They performed a 17 point inspection of each unit.  I should get a checklist indicating the status of each of the 17 items inspected and a notation of any deficiencies.  That is what the technician promised.  If they performed the tune-up, it is reasonable to expect documentation of the work performed and the status of each item.  

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The technician that performed the tune-ups failed to turn in the forms that ** ******* is requesting. We would love the opportunity to either send another technician out to perform the tune up again or simply refund the money. Please let me know which direction works best for you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I would simply like a refund and will select a different AC firm to redo the tune ups.

Regards,

******* *******

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my husband and i called champion a/c to go to my mother in law's home to repair her air conditioner. the salesperson, *** ******* used scare tactics in trying to get my mother in law to buy a new a/c unit from him by telling her that her a/c unit will blow up if she didn't get the new unit and he lied about her even needing a new unit after we called another a/c company and was informed that instead of the work costing 3800.00 like this ******* guy from a/c champion quoted us, we could get the unit repaired for 1110.00 with a one year warranty. i called champion a/c today to complain about this worker and told the ******* what had happened and i was assured that a master a/c service rep would go back out to the home to see what the unit needed and no one has called, let alone showed up to my mother in law's home. i feel that champion a/c is not trustworthy and i am filing this complaint in the hopes that others do not get scammed by this company who hires technicians to scare old ladies into buying a new a/c unit when they don't need one!!!!!

Desired Settlement: i feel that the service call was a hoax and i would like to get my refund back for the service call that was made.

Business Response: I spoke with *****'s secretary (*******) today and came to a resolution. We have mailed ***** a refund check for $19 and apologize for any inconveniences we have caused. If you have any questions, please give me a call directly at ***** ********. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Champion AC to inspect the furnace on a house that I own (leased to a tenant) prior to the first cold day of the season. *** with Champion AC inspected the furnace and contacted me immediately saying "You have carbon monoxide in this house". He proceeded to send me by e-mail a photo of a reading of 5 PPM of carbon monoxide reading. He said I had a cracked heat exchanger. I asked him if he saw the crack and he said no, but that would be the only way to get carbon monoxide readings. He then went on to send me by e-mail several quotes to replace my entire system i.e. furnace, condenser, etc. ranging from $6,200 to over $10,000. I was truly alarmed since I have a tenant in this house and the entire scenario he described was frightening. Upon obtaining a second opinion, my furnace was deemed fine - no problems, and the carbon monoxide reading was not even close to being a danger at 5 PPM. In fact, the reading was quite normal. Champion AC clearly used this CM reading as a scare tactic for me to replace my entire system, for which they would get a nice profit. This must be illegal.

Desired Settlement: This practice of using a carbon monoxide reading within very acceptable levels and outright lying to me as the consumer/customer needs to be stopped by Champion AC. I also want a refund since I paid an honest professional to come out and inspect my unit after Champion AC. I have left a message for the owner of Champion AC to contact me.

Consumer Response:

In response to my complaint (referenced above) regarding Champion AC (San Antonio), I wanted to communicate with the BBB that this company has addressed my complaint to my satisfaction. Not only did they conduct extensive industry-related research on this matter of carbon monoxide, but they also modified their procedures with their technicians so that the amounts of carbon monoxide readings at a consumer/customers home will require an action that does not constitute an immediate recommendation from their technician to buy/install a brand new system, but instead, requires an action of more thorough analysis of the reading and steps in their process to communicate a range from "no problems" to "the possible threat of carbon monoxide poisoning to the persons in this home". *** ******* took great care in listening to my concerns and taking the action of making sure a scenario like this one does not occur again. His diligence and responsiveness, without being defensive, contributed to my satisfaction. Being a member of the BBB is clearly an important part of Champion AC's reputation for the management of their company. I feel that through the BBB this matter was resolved and had they not been a member, then potentially this may not have been as successful an outcome. Champion AC also agreed to refund their service call, which I appreciate. However, my main concern was not the reimbursement, but instead for their procedures to be revised in order for consumers not to be influenced in such an alarming manner requiring a very expensive replacement of the system. Thank you to *** ******* and to the BBB for taking care of a problem that could have ended in a much more adverse manner. Regards, **** **********

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 10, 2013, Champion AC installer overcharged for fogging of air conditioning system and installation of 24-volt UV light in the air conditioning system. Plus, UV light not installed in correct location in order to effectively remove mold from the condensing coils and surrounding area. Visited with UV light manufacturer representative by phone on October 11th and was advised that the UV light was not installed in most effective place in air conditioning system to effectively remove mold and other pollutants. I called the Champion AC installer on October 11th to advise him about the improper UV light installation location and overcharging. I had called other HVAC contractors in my area after the fact and was advised that I was grossly overcharged. Champion AC charged me $1335 whereas the two AC companies I visited with via phone advised that they would only charge $650 to $700 respectively for the 24-volt UV light and the system fogging. The Champion AC installer also did not install a small viewport in the AC unit (provided and spec'd by the UV light manufacturer) which is needed to visually ensure the UV light is actually functioning. The Champion AC installer called me back on October 15th (I called and left a message and asked for a call back) and said that he would install another UV light in the correct location at no charge which was approved by the owner of Champion AC. I have since not heard back from anyone from Champion AC regarding the installation of an additional UV light in the proper location per the UV light manufacturer, plus my phone calls have not been returned when attempting to call the installer.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to have the additional UV light installed in order to meet the UV light manufacturer's specs or refund a reasonable amount of the overcharge amount which would be a minimum of $500. I have documentation on overcharges which includes an unsigned (by me) invoice and cancelled check register. My wife and I are older and retired on a fixed income and we feel we have been taken advantage of by Champion AC.

Consumer Response: Champion AC exceeded our expectation in resolving
our dispute.  The technician came out this afternoon and installed an
additional UV light in the air conditioning system condenser area, plus
installed the viewport, which allows me to visually determine if the UV
light is fully functional.  To our total surprise, one of the *******s
also came to visit with us and evaluate the installation.  Before the
******* left, he presented us with a check to cover the over-charges on
the original installation.  We were very pleased with the resolution
process and will definitely recommend Champion AC to friends and neighbors
should the need arise in the future.  

Regards,

*** ********

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion installed a new air conditioning unit at the home we rent from ***** *****. The installation involved the building of a closet for the HVAC system. The carpenter they sent out twice to finish the closet failed to complete the work and did not show back up as promised. We have made numerous calls to Champion and they have failed to resolve the issue.

Business Response: This is a non valid complaint. This house is owned by Mr. *****. This contract is between him and Champion AC. I have satisfied Mr ***** and have not had any complaints from him. The tenant has no right to address any issues and this complaint should not have passed the BBB criteria for a complaint. I have spoke to BBB representatives and the also agree with my issue as well. Why i am spending my time on this issue is beyond me cause there is no issue. 

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a brand new AC unit for my home in June of 2011. System has been working improperly from the beginning. Champion AC has come out and replaced the TXV Valve and Coil in the unit on 2 separate occasions. They have also repaired the drain which wasn't draining correctly causing the unit to shut off. They've replace fuses which continue to become blown causing the AC to shut off in the middle of the night. I would estimate in the 2 years since installing the unit Champion AC has come to do repairs on the unit approximately 20 times. This causes me or my wife lost hours at work not to mention the Energy costs wasted while the unit continuously runs without cooling. The 2 year warranty for labor involved is about to expire which doesn't seem fair since the unit has never run properly.

Desired Settlement: I don't want something for nothing. I just want the $8000 unit I purchased to work as it's intended. The loss in income and energy costs are not as much of a concern as the cost of the unit which isn't working properly. Thank you!

Business Response: First off, i would like it to be noted that this platform is supported and funded by businesses like us. We have not been out to ** *****'s home 20 times. Although i can understand the exaggeration from a frustration stand point. Air conditioning is a mechanical item. As A service company we do not make them we just install them. As i write this, we are at his house this morning addressing the issues. See, the difference between us and a few others in the industry is we do not run from a customers problems. We have addressed his concerns every single instance and we will continue to until his problem is resolved. Running to the BBB is a premature move. *** ***** has never once called my office and spoke to me as the owner and General manager of the company. But even even so, i am fully aware of his problem and have asked my staff to stay with the problem until it is resolved. The problem with the BBB is it can not decipher under its 16 point guide line what has been done or what is currently going on. I believe that a customer can come on here and relay anything they want and it can be interpreted as the truth. If you are a customer of Champion AC i can advise you that your resolution does not lie within the BBB. I would rather be putting my efforts in resolving the matter than waisting time on this platform responding to something already being addressed. And as far as the the warranty is concerned, had a phone call been made to my office and had ** ***** asked to speak to me i would have gladly explained that i will do everything to compensate you and not leave you thinking that we would not take care of you out of warranty. Also, i have tried calling ** ***** but he does not take my calls. There is not a single service company thats out there in business that gets it right every single time. its what companies do to make it right that separate them from the rest. Well as you can see form *** *****'s statement we have been out there numerous times and that protocol will stay in our business as long as I am the GM and Co-owner. At Champion AC we do not need the BBB to take care of our issues. The BBB has issues of it own that i do not wish to be part of. When a customer addresses the BBB in a complaint format to resolve an issue with us, it's either under these conditions or they have not even given us a chance to address the issue which can be detrimental
to honest businesses by going to the BBB first. I say this not cause the BBB has bad intentions, i say this cause interpretation can go in so many different directions and the BBB only recognizes is own policy and procedures.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had multiple issues with the quality and pricing of Champion ACs work. In the summer of 2012 I made first contact with Champion and the initial experience was good. The tech was courteous and explained everything he was doing. He found a leak in my evaporator coil and recommended its replacement. He explained that if I become a “Club Member” it would save me money and as a member, the prices would be discounted and they would come out twice a year for system inspections. I agreed to join based on the fact that I am a Veteran of the US Air Force and the company advertises Veteran-Owned and Operated. The evaporator coil was replaced however, not correctly. An expansion valve was needed and not installed and it took multiple visits to diagnose the reason the AC was not working correctly. When the tech came out to add the expansion valve, he left the covers off the unit in my attic after his repair and I did not notice it until Christmas when I was retrieving decorations. I called Champion and a tech came out and put the cover back on. In late 2012, I added another house to the “Club Membership” and it is now June 2013 and Champion AC has not done a spring inspection. I was told it was because they have been busy. NO EXCUSE! I pay monthly for a service I am not getting. Now, last week (June 12) my downstairs unit freezes up so Champion was called. The tech showed up and said the system was low on Freon and needed to be charged. He also did an inspection of the evaporator coil and stated he found a leak. He said the cost of Freon was $120 per lbs, and that it was going to take quite a bit since the unit was freezing. He charged me $519 for Freon, didn’t use a scale (that I saw) to measure and said he used 13 lbs. between the two units because he said the other unit (coil replaced in 2012) was low and he had to put Freon in it as well. He "made me a deal" on the price. Now to Saturday (June 15), the upstairs unit is now not working. Champion was called and the tech showed up and said the start capacitor was bad and needed to be replaced. He replaced the capacitor and told my wife that it would be $328. This is downright highway robbery. I called Champion and made my complaint. I was told that the owner of the company would call me, but he never did. These costs are far above market value and these are the prices and service I get for being a Veteran and a “Club Member”. Thoroughly disgusted!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of above fair market value cost, repayment of monies paid after March toward being a Club Member and assurance that these shady business practices are stopped. Veterans are a brotherhood and to take advantage of the trust is reprehensible.

Consumer Response: To BBB:

 

This complaint has been resolved by the business owner in
a satisfactory manner.  I very much
appreciate the extent that the owner of Champion AC went to ensure that this
issue was resolved and that all my needs were met.  His immediate and decisive actions has
restored my trust and I remain a customer today. No further action is required.


 

Regards,

 

******* ***** *******

7/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about May 1, 2013 Champion AC installed a 2 ton, 13 seer, 11 eer air conditioning system with a heat pump. They charged me $8000.00. I was told by their representative I would only have to pay my deductible and my insurance company would cover the rest. Was I surprised when my insurance company only allowed $5200 based on an estimate from ********* ********, ******* *** *** in San Antonio. I obtained a total of three estimates to install a two ton AC system as follows: 1. ********* - $5200 2. ***** *** - $5480 3. **** ***** ** - $6000 All three system are considered better than the ***** system that was installed. I am accusing Champion of taking advantage of my need for air conditioning, lying to me and PRICE GOUGING. I am also basing these charges on the fact my parents recently had a four (4) ton ***** system installed for only $7000.00. I am basing my desired outcome on the difference between what they charged me and the highest estimate.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $2000.00

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* *******



















3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable