This business is not BBB accredited.

Cedar Park Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (512) 258-1110 Fax: (512) 906-2427 8402 Lone Mesa, Austin, TX 78759 http://www.cedarparkac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cedar Park Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cedar Park Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1986 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 07/19/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Major, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Major, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Cedar Park Air Conditioning Service Doctor Cool Air Conditioning Service- OLD
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cedar Park Heating & Air Conditioning Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8402 Lone Mesa

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 258-1110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had company service a unit that they had installed because of a mold problem. Asked them to check another unit on same house because of cooling issues. Unit in question cooled but not as well as I thought it should. Service rep then removed start capacitor on compressor because he said it wasn't needed, charged system with approx. 5 lbs. of freon(R-410A). That was the end of the service call. Approx. 10 min. of run time later, the compressor started making lots of noise so I shut off the system. Called them the next day and was informed that the compressor had failed. They spent a month researching the compressor failure and the possibility of replacing the coil as well. Had told me on numerous occasions a factory rep would talk to me about the problem. Never happened. After a month of waiting, I questioned whether they had asked the rep about whether disconnecting the capacitor contributed to the compressor failure. At that time they informed me to take my business elsewhere. I sent them an email but have had no response.

Desired Settlement: Refund labor costs for repair.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau

**** ** ****** *** 

******* ** *****

Re: Complaint ID ********
Attn* **** ****

Dear *** ****,

First, I would like to draw your attention to our record with the BBB.
Our Company was originally established as a sole proprietorship dba
"Doctor Cool AC Service" in 1986. The Company was later incorporated
Cedar Park Heating and Air Conditioning Service, dba Cedar Park AC Service.

The company has
been a member of BBB off and on until August 1, 1996, when our membership
became continuous.

THIS IS THE ONLY COMPLAINT WE HAVE HAD IN 28 YEARS.

An amazing record considering we deal with the public every day. THIS IS
A

RECORD WE ARE VERY PROUD OF AND ENDIVER EVERY DAY TO WITH HOLD IT.

THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT

Customer's Statement of the Problem:

"Had company service a unit that they had installed because
of a mold problem. As—ed them to check another unit on same house because of
cooling issues. Unit in question cooled but not as well as I thought it should.
Service rep then removed start capacitor on compressor because he said it
wasn't needed, charged system with approx. 5 lbs. of freon(R-410A). That was
the end of the service call. Approx. 10 min. of run time later, the compressor
started making lots of noise so I shut off the system. Called them the next day
and was informed that the compressor had failed. They spent a month researching
the compressor failure and the possibility of replacing the coil as well. Had
told me on numerous occasions a factory rep would talk to me about the problem.
Never happened. After a month of waiting, I questioned whether they had asked
the rep about whether disconnecting the capacitor contributed to the compressor
failure. At that time they informed me to take my business elsewhere. I sent
them an email but have had No response."

THE SEQUENCE OF EVENTS AS PER OUR RECORDS AND

REMEMBERENCES

April 21, 2014:

The Customer called for service to the unit in question because it
wasn't cooling as

well as he thought it
should. He was scheduled for the next day.

1









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********

April 22, 2014

Our Technician, *** ****** ** reported to the residence and began
the trouble shooting procedures.

The customer was present the entire time, was an active
participant, and watched everything the tech did. The Customer and the tech
conversed as the tech went through the trouble procedures, and the tech
attempted to explain what he was doing, what the factory measurement specs were
and what the actual measurements were, and what the differences, if any, might
indicate as causing poor performance.

The tech wondered if ask routine service has
been performed on the unit as it appeared to him that the unit might not have
ever been serviced (cleaned and refrigerant checked) since its installation in
June 2010.

In the process of checking to determine if
the unit was properly wired, the tech discovered the factory installed
compressor "start assist" capacitor was compromised and was leaking
electrolyte. Usually this is caused by the component overheating. The tech made
the decision to remove the factory "start assist kit" (EXHIBIT II) entirely because he felt it was unsafe to
operate and probably not working. He wanted to avoid the component exploding
and catching fire (EXHIBIT III) and did not want the electrolyte leaking onto other components and
damaging them. For some reason, the customer was not fully on board with the
decision to remove the components but allowed it to be done. The start assist
components were removed and turned over to the Customer.

Next, the condensing unit was started. The
unit started right away and ran continuously while refrigerant pressure
readings were taken and recorded. The recorded pressures were compared to the
factory charging chart (factory specified recommendations) affixed to the unit.
This comparison indicated the system was short of refrigerant. That by itself
would explain the poor cooling performance the Customer complained of. Under
the watchful eye of the Customer, the tech added refrigerant, weighing it in
with a recently calibrated scale, until the factory specified pressures were
reached, or as close as he could get to them. A total of 5 lbs. of refrigerant
R410a was ultimately added, and witnessed by the customer. Five lbs. of
refrigerant is a huge amount for this system, representing approximately 40% of
the total requirement.

2









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********

REFRIGERANT R410a

Now is a good
time to explain what is refrigerant R410a, and why it is so important that the
specified quantity of it in the system be maintained at all times.

Beginning January
1, 2010 all manufacturers of HVAC equipment were Federally mandated to abandon
the use of refrigerant R22 and begin manufacturing products bearing R410a only.
The customers unit operates using R410a.

Refrigerant R410a
is a homogenous mixture of the actual heat transfer chemical compound (50%
CH2F2/50% CHF2CF3) and poly ester oil which is used for lubrication. The
refrigerant mixture, known as R410A is used to cool the motor, and cool and
lubricate the moving parts, bushings, bearings and contact surfaces inside the
compressor. The proper amount of coolant and lubricant is critical to the
performance and longevity of the compressor, just as it is in your car engine.
Can you imagine what would happen if you ran your car 2 quarts low on oil and
half full of coolant for 2 years or more? The engine might still run but it would
be ruined. Same for the Customers compressor.

April 23, 2014

The Customer
called the office to report the unit is not running. He said that it stopped a
few minutes after the tech, ****** ** left. The Customer was scheduled for the
first available slot which was April 25.

April 25, 2014

Our technician
**** ** goes to the job and meets the customer. The customer wonders if
removing the start assist kit has anything to do with why the unit stopped
running after approximately 10 minutes. The

Customer ask that
the original factory start assist to be installed. **** persuaded the customer
to allow us to install a generic start assist with capacitor rating very close
to that of the factory capacitor instead.

****'s point
being, since the start assist is applied to the compressor only momentarily
(about 1/2 a second or less EXHIBIT VI), he deemed that a
better choice than installing the factory start capacitor which might explode, (EXHIBIT III) would be to try the generic kit. The generic kit was installed,
and an attempt was made to start the compressor but the compressor did not
start. **** ** declared the compressor failed. End of service call.

3









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********

Time period
between April 26, 2014 and May 13, 2014 (these dates are my best remembrance of
when events occurred).

The customer and I had several (more than two) telephone conversations in which we
discussed his problem. It was my opinion that the compressor sustained damage
because it ran for a long period of time in an over-heated condition and
starved the compressor for lubricant because the system refrigerant charge was
so low. The shortage of refrigerant was probably caused by a leaking coil.
Routine maintenance which, if done, would have discovered a shortage of
refrigerant. I didn't make a big point of the lack of a checkup or routine
maintenance so as not to embarrass him or cause him to think he was being
blamed for the failure.

The coil should have never leaked in the first place, and the
Customer would not normally have the expectation that it would.

May 13, 2014 (My
best remembrance of the date).

I went to the job and met the customer for the first time. He accompanied
me throughout my time there and ask a lot of questions which I was happy to
answer. Together we measured the electrical resistance of the compressor motor
windings. The readings we obtained indicated that the compressor motor was not
shorted electrically or "open" and from an electrical standpoint, the
compressor should run. However we did not know what the resistance should be,
because that data is not published, so we were unable to determine if the motor
windings had sustained damage from running hot. (I submitted a request to Copeland
for the factory specified winding resistance, but have not yet received a
reply).

I checked the
wiring for correctness and signs of overheating and for loose connections. All
was good.

The generic hard
start kit relay is position
sensitive and **** ** had installed the relay on its side, which rendered it
inoperative. The function of the relay is to close its contacts when the
compressor motor begins turning and allow the start capacitor to apply extra
energy to the motor to help the motor start rotation and begin to get up to
speed. As the motor begins to speed up and no longer needs assistance from the
start capacitor, (at a point well below the normal running rpm), the relay
contact opens and the start capacitor is disconnected from the compressor motor
(EXHIBIT
IV). With the relay installed
on its side, the start assist did not work.









4









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB-
ID ********

The customer
requested I install the original factory start kit (consisting of the start
relay and start capacitor). Reluctantly I did so.

At this point we
energized the unit and it was started by the thermostat. The compressor started
right up and ran as expected for about 10 or 15 seconds at which point it began
to make a load thumping sound and began to slow down until it stopped
completely, within about 30 seconds or less from start-up. The compressor was
drawing 71 amps when it seized. It's normal running amp draw is 17.5. I thought
it sounded like a bearing failure, in the upper portion of the compressor. All
this took place with the customer present. The compressor was again condemned
and the service call ended. The Compressor failed mechanically- NOT electrically. IT SIEZED!

May22, 2014

GEMAIRE is the
***** heating and air conditioning products distributor for the southern coast
area. I contacted the Gemaire regional service technical representative, ***
**** **, who is a Gemaire employee. **** ** is our "go to" man when
we have installation, service or technical questions, and he is the Technical
liaison between ***** and Gemaire. He is an expert on ***** product performance
and installation. Over the years I have found his advice to be truthful and
unbiased and I trust his advice completely. He does not hesitate to correct you
if he thinks you did not service or install the ***** product correctly or if
you incorrectly diagnosed an equipment performance problem.

I described the problem in detail just as I
have done herein. I ask him if

there was
anything we did, should have done, or didn't do, to cause the compressor to
fail, or could have done differently.

His answer was
emphatic that we had done nothing to cause the failure and had done nothing
wrong and there was nothing we could have done differently that would have made
any difference.

*** **** ** VERIFIED THE COMPRESSOR FAILED
MECHANICALLY. He
thought the description I gave him of the compressor seizing sounded like it
could be a failure of the scroll bushing (EXHIBIT I). This would allow the upper and lower scrolls
to come in contact with one another and seize the compressor.

Failure of the bushing would be due to lack of
sufficient lubrication either because the oil lubricating the bushing bubbled
because it was too hot or maybe just a matter not enough oil getting to the
bushing for some reason.

5









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********

Operation of the compressor while being low on refrigerant (coolant and
oil) most certainly could have caused the compressor to run hot and under
lubricated and would cause the bushing to fail. Or, maybe the bushing failed
because it was a bad part.

Since the compressor is a sealed unit, the
only way to determine the cause

of failure is to cut open the compressor and examine each of the parts.

To
analyze a compressor failure one must look into two totally distinct parts:
ELECTRICAL OR MECHANICAL

In our case it is
obvious that the failure is mechanical. The compressor seized.

The "Start assist relay and capacitor are purely electrical and
have absolutely nothing to do with a mechanical malfunction. No moving parts
either inside or outside the compressor are electrically connected.

I tried many times without success to explain to the Customer that
the compressor start assist had absolutely nothing to do with his compressor
failure. But, the Customer has refused to accept that explanation, either
through ignorance (NOT STUPIDITY) or stubbornness.

May 23, 2014

I emailed the customer and notified him that
I had spoken with the Gemaire Distributer Field Technical support man (****
**). I stated to the customer I had just then realized, that I thought he was
trying to place blame, and using me to help him place the blame on us. And all
the time I thought I was trying to help him. I advised that, with regret, we
were no longer interested in having him as a customer. Also that **** ** is
forbidden by Gemaire, to talk with Customers who are trying to place blame.









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********1

WHAT HAPPENED?

Please remember
the Customer called for service because the unit was not cooling very well, not
because everything was alright.

Signs point to
the compressor was already in poor condition and not pumping was well as it
should, BEFORE we were called.

For sure the
compressor was already having trouble starting as indicated by the start
capacitor overheating (drawing more current and for a longer time) which caused
it to leak electrolyte.

The system was
very low on refrigerant, which makes the compressor run hot which will shrink
the clearances between parts, thin the lubricant and/or cause the lubricant to
bubble which compromises the ability of the oil to lubricate.

What technician
****** ** Observed when he was trouble shooting was: (1) High Side pressure
measured low, which indicated a shortage of refrigerant. (2) Leaking start
capacitor indicating the component had been overheated which would indicate the
compressor was having trouble starting.

What could cause the system pressure to be low?

1.     
Shortage of refrigerant.

2.     
Compressor not pumping as well as it should.

What could cause the compressor have trouble starting?

1.     
Compressor hot.

2.     
Compressor start assist needed.

3.     
Something inside the compressor causing resistance to internals moving.

WHAT COULD CAUSE THE SYSTEM TO BE LOW ON REFRIGERANT?

Refrigerant does not
usually suddenly leak out but instead leaks out over years or months, depending
on the leak. Recently it has come to light that ***** cooling coils are
experiencing a type of leak, called FORMICARY CORRISON, which has affected
every coil they have manufactured since the Governed mandated change over from
refrigerant R22 to R410a, Jan. 1, 2010. (Our company has replaced every coil we
have installed since 2010 because of Formicary corrosion).









7









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********1

***** and all
other major (except American Standard and Trane) manufacturers currently have
several Class Action lawsuits pending against them because of this problem.

How does this
affect the Customers complaint?

1.  
The unit in
question was installed in June 2010 by a contractor other than ourselves. It
has been proven that Formicary Corrosion leaks will begin to develop as soon as
20 months after installation. Formicary Corrosion leaks are microscopic and are
very numerous (hundreds of them in one coil). Once the coil began leaking, the
leaks became more numerous and the leakage of refrigerant accelerated. The
compressor performance degraded gradually, (and since the system uses only Y2
the amount of refrigerant in heating mode, may not have been noticed in the
winter), and until this early summer when we began having 80+ degree days was
the poor performance noticed.

The fact is: The
compressor is suspected to have been running with a shortage of Refrigerant
(lubricant and coolant) for perhaps longer than Two years.

2.  
The manufacturer recommends periodic inspection and maintenance of the
unit. For us here in Texas, we recommend checking refrigerant charge and
cleaning the outdoor unit each spring, to keep it in top condition and to
maximize longevity. Not maintaining the unit consistently allowed the shortage
of lubricant and coolant to go unnoticed for an extended period of time and
allowed the compressor to run constantly overheated and under lubricated. If
the customer had maintained / checked the unit each year as recommended, the
compressor failure probably could have been avoided.









8









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********1

CONCLUSION

1.    
The compressor failed mechanically due to insufficient lubrication
- It SEIZED!

2.     The compressor did not fail electrically. The electrical side of
the compressor has not been compromised to the point of electrical failure and
this is proven by our test of the motor winding resistance (EXHIBIT V).

3.     It is not possible for the compressor start assist to cause a
mechanical failure. It is not connected to any moving or stationary parts inside the
compressor except the motor windings.

4.     We responded to the customer's request for
service as quickly as we could and certainly within a within a time period
which is considered to be approtiate for the air conditioning service sector.

The reason so much time went on between the second service call
(April 25) and the last service call (May 13) is because the customer did not
authorize the repairs we recommended. He was the one dragging it out, I assume
in hopes to find someone else besides him to pay for a new compressor.









Cedar Park

Air Conditioning Service

July 5, 2014

BBB- ID ********1

OFFICIAL ANSWER TO COMPLAINT ID ********

I AM OF THE OPINION THAT NEITHER THE COMPANY NOR ANY OF OUR
EMPLOYEES HAVE DONE ANYTHING WRONG OR FAILED TO TAKE APPROPRIATE ACTION IN THIS
MATTER.

FURTHERMORE, WE ARE OF THE OPINION THAT THE CUSTOMER

COMPLAINT IS UNJUSTIFIED, UNSUBSTANSUATED,
FRIVIOULESS AND CARELESS AND HAS UNJUSTLY WASTED A LOT OF OUR TIME AND ENERGY.

ADDITIONALLY, THIS UNJUSTIFIED ACCUSATION HAS CAUSED A HUGE AMOUNT
OF STRESS AND WORRY. WE HAVE A BLIMISH FREE RECORD AND THAT IS NOT WITHOUT
CAUSE. THERE IS NOT ANOTHER AC SERVICE COMPANY WHO TRIES HARDER THAN WE DO TO
SATISFY OUR CUSTOMERS OR IS AS HONEST AS WE ARE.

WE ASK THE BBB TO FIND AS FOLLOWS:

1.        
DISMISS THIS COMPLAINT AS UNJUSTIFIED AND
UNSUBSTANTIATED.

2.        
KEEP OUR PUBLIC RECORD UNBLIMISHED SHOWING ZERO COMPLAINTS.

3.        
AWARD US THE SUM OF $ 1,822.50 FOR OUR EXPENSES INCURRED IN
DEFENSE OF THIS UNSUBSTANTIANTED AND FRIVIOUS CLAIM.

**** ** ** ******
Cedar Park Heating and Air Conditioning
Service, Inc.

***********

10









******* * * *** ******** ****** ********** ********* ******** ****** ********** ************************* ******* *** ******* *********** ***** ****** *** ******* ** ****** ****** *** ** ******* ******* **** ******** ** **** ****** ***** **** *** ******** ******** ** ***** ******** ***** *** * *** ***** ***** ******* *** ***** ******* ***** *** ** ** *** ************ ******* **** *** ******** ***** ** ******* ********* **** ****** **** ******* ** ****** ****** ** ******** ******* ****** ******** ***** **** ** ** **** ** **** * ****** **** * **** ***** ******** *** ********* ******* ****** ****** ******** ******* ******* * ****** **** ***** **** ***** *** * ** **** ********* * *** ******* ****** **************** ***** **** ***** *** ***   ** ** ** ***** **** *** ** ********* ** ***** * ********** **** ** *** * ****** * *** ******* ** *** ************ ****** *** *** ** **** *** ***** ****** ******* * * ***** *********** ** ********** ***** ******** ***** *** *** **** ********* *********** ** ************* ***** ***** ** ***** ***** *** ************** ********** ****** ******** *************** *********** ******* ***** **** ********** **** *** *** *** *** ** ** *** ******* ***** ****** ****** ********** ******** ************ ***** ** *** ********** **** ********** ****************

Consumer Response:

To: Better Business Bureau                                                                        July 15, 2014

From: ***** ******

Attn: **** **** — Complaint #********

Dear *** ****,

There are many statements in **** *'s rebuttal that are not only inaccurate, but misleading. First, the unit called in for service was not the one he refers to, but the one they installed on the other side of the house. There was a distinct odor coming from the ducts that I asked them to investigate. ****** ** opened up the blower unit in the attic and discovered mold around the blower. He sprayed the unit with a fungicide and removed, cut off, some mold growing on the rubber insulation on the panel. He then sealed the removable panel with metal duct tape.

When he had finished checking that unit, I asked him if he had time to check the other unit to make sure it was cooling as effectively as possible. That unit was working, was cooling, but wondered if it could be improved.

After opening the outside case, he noticed that the start capacitor was leaking a small amount of electrolyte. He seemed surprised that this unit had one, and asked if it had been added by the installer. I responded that it had come from the factory that way, as had the unit that he had installed on the other side. He stated that it wasn't needed and removed it. I wasn't on board with not replacing it, especially since it was factory installed. He said it would be fine. He then checked the pressure readings on the outside unit. Initial pressure readings were L-135, H-240 with outside temperature of 82 degrees F and inside temperature of 70 degrees F. He stated he added approximately 5 lbs. of refrigerant, but stopped before the pressures on the factory charging chart were reached. His gauges were reading pressures of L-142, H-280 when he stopped, as noted on the invoice. ****** seemed surprised that gauges did not measure more. The outside unit cover was reattached. Service completed. I then turned off the unit because inside temperature was much cooler than needed. I didn't need a/c at that point.

The next evening, I restarted the unit only to shut it off because of a pounding noise coming from the outside unit. I called Cedar Park the next day and they scheduled another tech, ****, to come out. When he arrived the next day, I asked if removing the start capacitor could have affected the unit. I never asked him to re-install the leaking capacitor. He installed a generic capacitor instead, with a different relay switch than the OEM installed one. **** stated in his rebuttal that the generic start assist had a rating very close to the factory one. Wrong! It was over twice the rating. The original capacitor had a rating of 88-106 MFD. The one **** installed was rated 189-227 MFD. I asked **** if that was a problem. He said "it's the one they use for this sized unit." An attempt was made to start the compressor but it did not start. End of service call.

In the top paragraph of page 4 of rebuttal, **** mentions that "routine maintenance would have discovered a shortage of refrigerant" and "I didn't make a big point of the lack of a checkup or routine maintenance so as not to embarrass him or cause him to think he was being blamed for the failure." This is laughable. I was never asked if maintenance had been performed on this unit. It had been, by his company as well as the original installer, **** **

The next day, I contacted **** ** and explained what had transpired with the compressor. He came out to check the unit himself and confirmed that the compressor had seized. He was surprised to learn that the start capacitor was initially removed and that it was replaced with a much larger one, along with a


different relay switch. I had **** replace the larger generic once installed by **** with the correct OEM capacitor for that model. He did not have the original relay to replace as **** had taken it. **** stated that the original relay was necessary with the original OEM capacitor. He did not have a new one or he would have replaced that also. I called Cedar Park and **** returned original relay switch the next day.

The next inaccuracy is on ****'s May 13 paragraphs. **** came out to check the unit himself. After opening the outside unit, he commented that I had replaced his generic capacitor with a new OEM capacitor. I explained that **** ** had checked the compressor as well and replaced his generic one with the correct sized OEM capacitor. He also tested the original capacitor and it was still functioning. I never requested that **** install the original capacitor, only replace the original relay switch that was removed by ****. That was completed and we tried to start the compressor again. Unit would not operate. End of service.

For almost a month, I waited while **** *. researched the compressor and coil issue. **** responded to my calls during that time period by stating that he was still waiting to hear back from *****. **** had stated several times that a ***** representative would contact me. It never happened. I'm still trying to find answers. Talking to a ***** representative would have surely helped. **** states on page 6 that I "have refused to accept his explanation either through ignorance or stubbornness". I find these comments to be greatly offensive. I have questioned what was done because of the sudden failure after being serviced. I have researched the compressor/coil issue and waited for a month for **** to come up with a solution. I was waiting to find out if the coil would need replacing as well and what type of replacement was available. It would not make sense to replace the compressor and then several weeks later, replace the coil. Hence the delay. **** agreed.

On page 8, **** states that the compressor is suspected to have been running with a shortage of refrigerant for perhaps longer than 2 years. How did he come up with this? The unit had been maintained and checked not only by his company, but also by **** ** In his conclusion on page 9, **** states in #4 "that we responded to the customer's request for service as quickly as we could and certainly within a time period which is considered to be appropriate for the a/c service sector." A one month wait surely is not appropriate. I did not authorize the repairs because I was still waiting to hear back from **** about the compressor/coil issues. His final comment that I "hoped to find someone else to pay for the new compressor" is equally insulting. I'm trying to find out the truth, whatever that may be.

Since filing my complaint, the compressor has been replaced. Before doing so, the refrigerant had to be removed from the system. **** *, another a/c provider, removed approximately 20 lbs. of refrigerant from the unit that is supposed to hold between 12-13 lbs., approximately 40% more than required. Could the 5 lbs. or more of refrigerant added by ****** combined with the removal of the start capacitor have caused the compressor to lock up? I sent **** an email regarding this but did not receive a response. I'm still trying to find answers. **** is apparently satisfied with his and therefore decided that I should take my business elsewhere. So much for trying to satisfy their customers.

On page 7 of ****'s rebuttal, he writes under "What could cause the compressor to have trouble starting?", that a compressor start assist is needed. If that start assist is removed and the unit is also over charged, could that cause the compressor to seize? I guess that's my "ignorance" showing through again, but I don't have an answer for that, yet. I'm still researching it.


Bottom line, I had a working, cooling unit. Immediately after servicing by Cedar Park, the compressor seized. Considering the fact that 20 lbs. of refrigerant was removed, it appears that ****** overcharged the system. Could this have caused the compressor to seize? Several contractors have said yes. **** would not respond. Contrary to what **** says, I'm not trying to "find someone to pay for my

compressor". As stated in an ****ier email, if it's a manufacturer's problem, so be it. If it's a servicing issue, so be it. I'm just trying to find out the truth. Some people have a hard time with that.


*********** Print Message                                                         **********************************************

Print                                                                                            Close

Cedar Park AC Service

From: ***** ****** *********************)
Sent: Sun 5/25/14 9:52 PM

To:    **** ***** *********************)

****,

I've waited patiently for over a month while you explored reasons for my compressor failure. I've also looked into the coil issue in terms of replacement and whether even staying with ***** or changing to another manufacturer is the best option. I find it disconcerting that your solution is to suggest that I now find someone else to deal with my air conditioning problem. What caused the compressor failure is what I'm trying to find out. Was it a manufactured problem? Was it an instillation problem? Was it a service problem? I don't know yet. I do know that I had a working system prior to it being serviced by your company. Immediately after the service, 10-15 min. of run time, it quit working. I'd be a fool not to consider the service as a reason for the failure. If you were in my place, would you not consider this also?

Was it overcharged? Did removing the start capacitor effect the compressor? Was it an instillation problem? These are the questions I'm trying to answer. I had hoped that speaking with a ***** representative would answer some questions. Instead, you've just created more.

If you had a mechanic service your car and the next time you drove it the engine seized, you would most certainly question what had been done by the mechanic first, but also explore any problems associated with the

manufacturer. This is all that I've done in this case. If you felt threatened by my questions or by the sudden failure of the A/C unit, I would think you would want a representative from the manufacturer to speak to me to help clarify your position.

I don't have an answer yet to the sudden failure of the compressor. I'm waiting to get as much information as possible, especially from those in that field, help explain that failure. If the answers point towards a manufacturer problem, then so be it. If it points towards an instillation problem, then so be it? If it points towards a servicing issue, then so be it. The facts are cl****y not in yet. I would think that as a business ***** you would want to know the cause of the problem. Withdrawing because your company's work was questioned is the easy way to distance yourself from the problem, but not the correc. way. You've been in business long enough to know that.

I don't have an answer yet for the system failure. I know *****, as well as

of 2                                                                                                                                07/02/2014 09:58 AM


********** Print Message                                                        *********************************************

other manufacturers, are having coil issues related to the R- 410 A, but am unsure yet of other contributing factors. I'm appalled that a company that prides itself in customer service has decided to abandon a client before all the answers are in.

Sincerely, ***** ******

From: **** ***** *********************)

Sent: Fri 5/23/14 5:58 PM

To: * *****************

Cc: ******************* **********************

Dear *****,

The ***** field tech. support man, **** is forbidden to speak with customers who are looking to place blame for their equipment failure.

I thought up until yesterday that I was helping you with your problem with equipment installed by someone other than us. I enjoy helping our customers with their problems and spend much of my time doing just that. Yesterday, it finally dawned on me that you are looking to place blame on us for your

equipment failure. It would appear that I was thinking I was helping you and it turns out that I was just helping you to place the blame on us.

I am deeply disappointed that I was not able to help you understand that nothing we did could have caused your problem.

Our company spent a lot of time and expense trying to help you, and what we got for that is your blaming us for your compressor problem.

It is with regret that I must inform you that we are no longer interested in you as a customer, and we suggest you call someone else for assistance with your heating and air conditioning problems and service.

Yours truly,

**** ****** *****

Cedar Park AC Service

TX ac License ******

We are regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.

**** *** ****** ****** *** ***** ***** ********* ***** ********

 

2 of 2                                                                                                                               07/02/2014 09:38 AM


Print                                                                                                                           Close

Compressor

***** ** ****** ** ******************* ***** *** ******* ***** ** *** ******************** **** ** **** ** ***** *** ******* **** ** ****** ***** ***** ** ********** *** *** *********** * ******* *** ****** ** ******** ** **** ***** **** *** ******** ** ***** ***** **** ******* ***** ******* ****** ******* **** **** *** *** *** **** *********** ** ********** ***** ******** ************ ********* *   **** ** ******* ***** *** * * **** ****** ****** **** *************** **** **** ** ** ** * ****** * ****** * ** ******   ********** *** ****** ** **** **** *** * **** ****   **** ** *** ** ********* * ********************** ******** ***** ***** *** ********* * ******** **** ***** ****** ***** **** ****** * **** ****** ****** ****** ********   *********** ** *****     ********** **** * **** *** **** * ******* ********** ** **** *********   * * *********** ***** *** *** * * ** * * *******   **** ** ** ********* *** *** * **** * * * ********** **** ***** ** *** **** ********** **** *******   ******** ***   ******** ** *****     ****** *** ** ** * * * ** * ***************** **** ******** * ********** * * *** * *** ********** ********* ******* ****   ******** ****   ******** **** *****         *** ************** * * **** **** ********* *** **************** ******* ******   ** ******** ****   ******** **** ****   * *********     ******** **** ** ****   ******** ******   ******* **** ****           * * * * * ********     ******** **** ** ******   ******* ******   ******** *** ****       **   * * * * *********     ** ****   ******** ********   ******** ****** *****   * ******     ******* *****   ***** *****   ******* ****           * * * * * *** * ********     ******* *****   ***** ********   ******* ****   ** *********** * ******* ************ ***** * ********   ******* **** *********   **** **** ******   * **   * ******* **** ********   *** **** **** *****           * * * *********** ** **** ********* ******** *********   ******* ** ***** *****   ******** **** *****     ****** * *     * * * * ** ***** * * *********** ************ ***** ************ ******* * ******** ******* *****   ******** ************   ******* *** ****   ******** ******* ********   ******** *****   ******** *** *****     ******* * *     * * *** * * * ******* ***** ** ****** *********** * *** **** **** ** * ** * ******* ********* * * *** * *** ****** * *** *** ******** *** *********   ******** *****   ******** ******   *****     * * *   ******* ** ******** **********   ******* *******   ******** ****   ******** ******   *****   ******** **   ***** ********* * * * * **** *** ***** ****** ******** ****   ********   ******** ***   ******** **********   *********   ******** *****   **** ***** **** ****** * ** ** * *** *** ** ***** * *************************** ************** * ** * ***** **********   *** *****   * ** * ** ********************************** *** **** ** *     ***** * ** * ** * * *** * **** * ******** * ** * **** ** * * * *** ***** * ******** ** * * ** * ***** * *******   ********   *******     ********   ********         * * * * ***** * * * * * **     * **** *** *     *******             * * ***************     *******       ********* * ********* ** ********* *** ******* *** **** ***** * * **** ** * * **** ** * ** ****** *     ********       ***** ******* **** * * ** * * * * ***** ********* * * * ***** ***** * * * ****** ********* *** ********** ***** *** ********* *** ********* ** *** ************** ** ********** ******* ******** ***** *** ***** ************* ** *** ***** ***** ******* ** ********* *** ** **** ** ** ********* * * ********* ** ******** *** ***** ****** ******* ***** ** ***** *********** ******* ** ******** *** *** ****** ** *********** *** *** ********** ** **** *** **** ********** ** ****** ** ***** ***** ******** ********** ******* * * * ****** ********* *** ***** **** ** ** **** ** ** ******* *** ******* ****** ** ** ****** **** *** ** *** **** ****** ***** ** *** ********* ** ******** ********* ***** ******** ******* *** **** ***** ** ********** ** *** **** ** ******* *** ****** *** *** ***** ** ****** ********* *** ******** ******* ***** **** *********** *** *** ******* ********* **** *** ******* ** ********* ****** ****** * * *** * * * * ******* ******** * ******** * ******* ***** * * ** **** * *** * ****** ***** ******** ********* ****    

Business Response: August 9, 2014
Better Business Bureau
**** ** ****** ***  ******* ** *****
Re: Customers Additional concerns, DATED July 15, 2014 
Complaint ID ********
Attn: **** **** 
Dear *** ****,
First of all, I would like to apologize to *** ****** for offending him. For clarification, my definition of the word "ignorance e" is: lacking in subject knowledge,
information or training. Certainly I did not mean to imply he was in any way stupid.
In fact he seems to me to be above average intelligence.
Secondly, by saying he was stubborn, I meant, that in my opinion, he was refusing to
accept any other explanation which did not match his opinion. I believe that both ignorance of subject and stubbornness are not defects of character but merely characteristics of the human race.
I will attempt to answer *** ******'s concerns by following his letter to you dated July 15, 2014.
Para 2- Customers letter dated July 15, 2014.
'First, the unit called in for service was not the one he refers to, but the one they Installed on the other side of the house. There was a distinct odor coming from the ducts that I asked them to investigate, ****** **.. .and discovered mold around the blower. He sprayed the unit with a fungicide and removed, cut off, some mold growing on the rubber insulation on the panel. He then sealed the removable panel with metal duct tape. When he had finished checking that unit, I asked him if he had time to check the other unit to make sure it was cooling as effectively as possible. That unit was working, was cooling, but wondered if It could be improved'
Contractor response: The customer keeps repeating that it was not the unit that failed that we were called to look at. I do not
understand why he is so adamant that everyone understand that we 
were not called out to look at the unit that failed, except that he may 
be trying to minimize the fact that the unit which failed, was indeed 
having problems cooling. As he stated when he filed his Initial 
complaint June 17, 2014:
"Asked them to check another unit on same house because of 
cooling issues. Unit in question cooled but not as well as I thought It 
should'.
suspect *** ****** is trying to make it seem as if he ask us check the
1
 
AUG-10-2014 17:06 FROM:CEDAR PARK AC *********** TO:********** P.4/13
 
Cedar Park
Air Conditioning Service
August 9, 2014 
BBB ID ********
 
unit in question just "as a second hand thought, Just because we 
were already there, when in reality he really wanted it checked 
because, as he has stated ****ier, the unit was not cooling as well as 
he thought it should.
I ask you, the reader, if the ***** says the unit is not 
cooling as expected, then don't you think there might 
something with it?
Para. 3 -Customers letter dated July 15, 2014
"After opening the outside case, he ******* noticed that the start capacitor was leaking a small amount of electrolyte, He (our Tech. *** ****** *****) seemed surprised that this unit had one, and) asked lilt had been added by the Installer. I responded that it had come from the factory that way, as had the unit that he had installed on the other side, He stated that it wasn't needed and removed It. wasn't on board with not replacing It, especially since it was factory installed. He said It would be fine.
Contractor response: Our Tech did the right thing in removing the start capacitor. Defective capacitors can and do frequently explode and catch fire. Please refer to our original response totter dated July 5, 2014 —EXHIBIT III.
Please refer to attached EXHIBIT I in which ******** states:
"*Note: Hard- Start kits do not reduce starting current nor do they offer any 
protection for themselves or the compressor."
Generally, hard start kits are not required on ******** ****** *********** and are generally not furnished with the unit from the ***** factory. When they are, it is usually because the compressor failed the RHEEIvi factory compressor start-up test perimeters during assembly, and that is when a unit becomes equipped with a hard start kit, which is mounted in the factory.
Hard Start kits are purely electrical in nature and work to increase the starting current thru a relay and capacitor. The hard start kit is energized for less than 1/4 of a second. Please refer to EXHIBIT IV in our first response dated July 5, 2014, graphic depiction of the time the start assist kit is energized during compressor start-up.
2
 
AUG-10-2014 17:07 FROM:CEDAR PARK AC *********** 10:********** P.5'13
Cedar Park
Air Conditioning Service
August 9, 2014 
BBB ID ********
It is unreasonable to assume a working hard start kit could damage a compressor since it supplies current to the compressor for less than 34 of a second. Even the Generic higher rated micro farad hard start kit which our Tech installed, could not have done any damage to the compressor because the kit relay was installed incorrectly. Because of this, the start assist did not work and did not allow the capacitor to discharge or provide electrical power to the compressor to help it start. That is why the compressor did not start after **** installed the generic hard start kit. Incidentally, the difference of micro farad ratings between the generic and factory start kit (88 factory vs 189 generic) 101 millionths of a farad, a very, very, small amount especially when it is applied to the compressor motor windings for less than %. second.
*** ******'s accusation that the start assist kit caused the compressor to lock up is simply wrong.
A start assist kit, even a very big one of the wrong size, cannot cause a compressor to lock-up. It can damage the compressor motor windings if used over a significant period of time, but it is impossible for it to cause lock-up.
Para. 3 -Customers letter dated July IS, 2014
He (our man ******) then checked the pressure readings on the outside unit Initial pressure readings were 1.-135, H-240 with outside temperature of 82 degrees F and Inside temperature of 70 degrees V. He stated he added approximately 5 lbs. of refrigerant, but stopped before the pressures on the factory charging chart were reached. His gauges were reading pressures of L-142, H-280 when he stopped, as noted on the invoice. ****** seemed surprised that gauges did not measure more. The outside unit cover was reattached."
Contractor response: As discussed ****ier in this report, during the trouble shooting of the complaint the unit was not cooling as expected, the tech noticed a leaking start capacitor and it was removed.
3
 
AUG-10-2014 17:07 FROM:CEDAR PARK AC *********** TO:********** P.6/13
 
Cedar Park
Air Conditioning Service
 
August 9, 2014 
BBB ID ********
Therefore, no starting assist was in operation during the period of time beginning when ****** started the unit to add
refrigerant, through the time period when **** installed 
generic start assist (which did not work).
During this period of time, (the next day) *** ****** was able to
start the unit without the start assist. When it started, he 
stated it started making started a large pounding noise.
Back to the customer complaint. AS per *** ******, "The unit was not cooling as he expected". Our Tech., suspecting the system might be low on refrigerant charge, measured and recorded initial operating pressures of: Low Side= 135psi and High Side=280. He compared these pressures to the factory charging chart. The factory recommends charging to operating pressures of: Low Side=135psi and High Side= 302psi. When the outdoor temperature is 82 degrees F. Please refer to attached EXHIBIT III, for the factory charging chart Our tech proceeded to add refrigerant until the factory recommended approximated. They were Low Side= 142psi and High side 280 psi. Outdoor temperature was about 82 degrees F.
Para. 5 -Customers letter dated July 15, 2014
"In the top paragraph of rebuttal, **** mentions that
*************************** ***********  **********
mentions that "routine maintenance would have "routine maintenance would have discovered a shortage of refrigerant" and "I didn't make a big point of the lack of a checkup or routine maintenance BO as not to embarrass him or cause him to think he was being blamed for the failure." This is laughable. I was never asked if maintenance had been performed on this unit. It had been, by his company as well as the original installer, **** S
 
Contractor response: We do not have a record of routine service to either unit since 2010. If *** ****** will produce an invoice from either us or anyone else showing routine maintenance has been performed on the unit in question, we will stand corrected.
Para. 7 -Customers letter dated July 15, 2014
"The nest inaccuracy is on ****'s May 13 paragraphs. Dnug came out to check the unit himself. After opening the outside unit, he commented that I had replaced his generic capacitor with a new OEM capacitor. I explained that **** ** had checked the compressor as wall and replaced his generic one with the correct sized OEM capacitor, He also tested the original capacitor and it was still functioning. I never requested that **** install the original capacitor, only replace the original relay switch that was removed by ****. That was completed and we tried to start the compressor again. Unit would not operate. "
Contractor response; *** ******'s memory of my visit is incorrect. I describe my only visit to his home in connection with this problem, in great detail in our first response letter to you, Dated July 5, 2014, Paragraph beginning: May 13, 2014 (My best remembrance).
As stated ****ier, I found the hard start kit which our Tech. **** had mounted ****ier, still mounted on the unit, but the relay was mounted incorrectly which caused the hard start kit not to function. *** ****** provided a hard start kit which I mounted and the unit was started. The compressor ran for less than an minute before the compressor began making loud metal to metal contact noise, and shortly thereafter, seized (stopped).
This is how I know the compressor seized because it happened right before my eyes and ears. The compressor drew 71 amps when it stopped. The metal to metal noise seemed to me to be originating from the upper part of the compressor.
 
To me, the noise the compressor made sounded as if the upper and lower scrolls were coming in contact with each other. If this is the case, a lubrication failure of the upper bushing or trust bearing would allow that to happen. ******** ****** *********** are continuously being redesigned and I am mostly ignorant of exactly what components make up each compressor model and how each component is lubricated.
Exactly what caused the compressor failure is only interesting to me because we investigate as best we can, what caused the failure. If it was caused by something we can control and correct before installing the new equipment we will do so. Compressor failures caused by installation improper procedure and poor practice are common. Examples are: acid in the piping system (usually caused by inadequate cleaning of the components and piping system which were reused when the system was installed and converted to use refrigerant R4108, or poorly designed piping system causing inadequate oil return, or electrical issues.
Even though somewhat unreliable, preforming an acid test is a good idea.
Installing high quality refrigerant filters when installing a new compressor is mandatory and returning shortly after the installation to remove the filters is required by the compressor manufacturer.
Para. 10 -Customers letter dated July 15, 2014
"Since filing my complaint, the compressor has been replaced. Before doing so, the refrigerant had to be removed from the system. **** ** another a/c provider, removed approximately20 lbs. of refrigerant from the unit that is supposed to hold between 12-13 lbs„ approximately 40% mgtie than required. Could the 5 lbs or more of refrigerant added by ****** combined with the removal of the start capacitor have caused the compressor to lock up? I sent **** on email regarding this but did not receive a response. I'm tiii
6
 
AUG-10 2014 17:08 FROM:CEDAR PARK AC *********** T0:********** P.9/13
Cedar Park
Air Conditioning Service
August 9, 2014 
81313 TD ********
trying to find answers. **** is apparently satisfied with his and therefore 
decided that I should take my business elsewhere, So much for trying to 
satisfy their customers
Contractor response: *** ******'s estimate of system refrigerant capacity of 12 -13 lbs. is probably close. If a total of 20 lbs. of refrigerant was recovered, and the 5 lbs. ****** added is subtracted, that makes the system holding about 3 lbs. too much.
Conclusion:
In my opinion, the compressor was already operating with a damaged and compromised component, which I suspect was the cause of the customer's complaint that the unit was cooling but not as well as he thought it should.
When the refrigerant was added, load was placed on the already compromised component and the component failed.
I do not know what compromised the compressor internal component and caused the compressor to lock-up, but it could not be electrically related. It had to have been a lubrication issue or a manufacturing issue.
Electrical problems will not cause a compressor to lock-up. They cause issues like tripped breakers, motor winding failure, explosions and fires.
As far as our response to his problem, we responded to all of his requests for service, he was able to reach us by phone easily, including speaking with me on my private line
several times. We always attempted to answer his 
questions, always honestly.
He never stated to me that he thought we caused the
problem and should fix it for free. And we never refused to fix the problem, until we ask that he not be a customer any longer.
7
 
AUG-10-2014 17:08 FROM:CEDAR PARK AC *********** TO: ********** P. 10'13
 
Cedar Park
Air Conditioning Service
August 9, 2014 
BBB ID ********
 
Up until then, at all times, we were ready to fix his unit. It was *** ****** who did not authorize the repair. So if it took a long time for his unit to be repaired, it is because *** ****** was dragging it out, not us.
I don't know if *** ****** as attempted to speak with 
********, ***** or the Vendor, Gemaire.
I do know that I ask our vendors' field technical rep for both this area and North Texas to speak with our customer and they both refused, stating it was against company policy. ask for but was not given the contact information of the RHEE1v1 technical rep. for our area.
I feel I did all I could do to put him in touch with someone 
with technical knowledge of the ******** compressor but 
was not able to do so
did speak with our regional technical rep., *** **** T. and honestly described in detail and in entirety, the situation with *** ******'s failure. I was assured by *** **** T. that we did nothing wrong, could have done nothing different, did everything we could and did nothing to cause the failure of his compressor.
I also feel we have no fault in this matter and I am in hopes 
you will agree.
Tha you for your consideration.
y
**** ** ** *******
Cedar Pa k AC Servic , Inc. 
***** ** ******* ***** *
 

 

Consumer Response: TO: **** **** - Austin BBB
FROM: ***** ******
SUBJECT: # ********

    This letter is in response to **** *'s rebuttal dated 8/9/14. First, I find it very unprofessional for a business ***** to make comments concerning a customers level of intelligence. This is the second time he's done this. Second, he seems to be able to read and understand my thoughts. Amazing! He states that I'm "trying to make it seem as if he asked us to check the unit in question as a second hand thought, just because we were already there, when in reality he really wanted it checked because the unit was not cooling as well as he thought it should." His company was called because of an odor issue on the unit they had installed. Contrary to ****'s mind-reading ability, it was indeed a second thought to have them check it while they were here. The unit was functioning and cooling. I just wanted to be sure it was operating as efficiently as possible. Since Cedar Park was here, and ****** had the time, I asked them to check it.
   Several inconsistencies still exist in his second response. I've never insisted that removing the start capacitor caused the compressor to fail, only questioned whether removing it might have contributed to the failure. This is a question I would have asked the ***** representative had **** followed through and had one contact me. Second, **** never re-installed the hard start kit, only the original relay switch that had been removed by **** and later asked to return. The larger capacitor had already been replaced with the correct OEM capacitor by **** ** prior to ****'s visit. **** couldn't install the correct relay because it hadn't been returned by **** yet. I asked **** *. to re-install the switch, which he did. The unit again failed to start. Third, **** stated ****ier that he felt the unit was running low on refrigerant for years, thus contributing to the failure. When the compressor was replaced (by **** *.), approx. 20 lbs. of refrigerant was removed. It appears that the unit was already charged or slightly above the required pressures before ****** added approx. 5 lbs. more. Did adding the extra refrigerant, about 40 % more than required, cause the sudden failure ? I don't know. I don't have the knowledge and expertise to answer that
question. I had hoped to ask a ***** representative, but again, I wasn't given that opportunity. 
   Finally, **** *. states that "it was *** ****** who did not authorize the repair. So if it took a long time for his unit to be repaired, it is because *** ****** was dragging it out, not us." When **** visited to check the unit, he provided information about the problems associated with the R-410-A and the copper coils in the unit - formacary corrosion. He stated that *****, as well as other manufacturers, had been working on replacement coils but wasn't sure if they had one for my unit. We discussed whether replacing the compressor now was a good idea, especially if the coil would need replacing also. We both agreed to wait until **** could explore the issue with *****. **** said he would get back to me after talking with a ***** representative. Over the next month, I made several calls to **** only to be told he hadn't haerd back from the representative. On one of my later calls, I asked **** if he had mentioned to ***** about whether removing the start capacitor was a problem. It was shortly after that question that I received an email from **** saying I needed to take my business elsewhere.
   I still have questions. **** seems to sidestep the issue of 20 lbs. of refrigerant in the system. Did overcharging the system contribute to its failure? Did removing the start capacitor contribute to the failure? Did the unit fail for other reasons? I don't know. Someone with more expertise is needed to answer these questions. Two other A/C providers have said that overcharging the system by that amount probably caused the compressor failure.
   I had a working, functioning system prior to it being serviced. After servicing, there was an immediate failure of the compressor. If Cedar Park is responsible, they should reimburse for repairs. If they're not responsible, the unit is already repaired. I've never felt that anything was intentionally or deliberately done to damage the unit, just doing what any homeowner would do when a contractor abandons a client.

Sincerely, ***** ******