Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 1996 Business started: 07/12/1996 Business started locally: 07/12/1996 Business incorporated 04/07/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Dominguez, Service Manager Mr. Chris Mundahl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Dominguez, Service Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Wind Energy Systems Propane Gas Plumbing Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
A C Distribution, Inc. Advantage Air Conditioning Co. Air Pro Mechanical Bodine-Scott Plumbing Mr. K Wiggins Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5638 Bear Ln

    Corpus Christi, TX 78405 (361) 653-2407 (361) 883-1900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We thought we had chose wisely about replacing our whole air conditioner and furnace unit, and did research and chose Bodine Scott in Corpus Christi, Tx. They were super nice and answered calls when wanting our business with no issues, but when mistakes were made which we consider major (1) being cutting a major structure of our attic support and considering it a oops and almost doing it again in another room (2) this time breaking a lighting system and the response i received was I guess I didn't cut through wire because I didn't get shocked. Ha Ha The problem is he never told anyone about these issues. I overheard the electrical issues and then he told me about the structural one. We tried talking to Bodine Scott and showed them how to fix the attic issues, but to our surprise they sent the same gentleman that did the damage and still did not fix it correctly and really were not concerned about the electrical mistake. So I received a call from there customer service rep. turning our warranty over to another company and said she would not be contacting me again. WOW I have voicemails and texts to back up these issues. Please Please check out companies more, our mistake we thought we did, don't let it be yours.

Desired Settlement: read above statement, We are having to pay what your company did to our home and we believe we should be reimburse for money out of pocket that your company did. That is structural damage and your employee was going to leave it as is. What type of people do you hire, they hid mistakes that could've been fixed but did not.

Business Response: On 5/6/2016, a site visit was made to evaluate and take a few pictures of the job based on the customers concerns. Noticed the original supply ducting needed to be sealed with mastic at the supply plenum. A 12X12 original supply vent was disturbed during the install that caused the grill in the living room to come loose and hang. Both of these items were addressed immediately with the customer present. Another issue that was diagnosed is the light in the pantry area. The light fixture was taken apart to test for current and voltage coming from the light switch. Voltage was verified, at this point i mentioned to the customer it appears that the problem is in the light bulbs that burned while the ceiling was being worked on to install a supply duct. On a recorded phone call, the customer had mentioned not to worry about replacing light bulbs. He found a problem with the light switch he had installed. The final concern was that a major ceiling joist was cut during the install of a vent. Looking in the attic area, this joist does not appear to load bearing or has any roof braces on it. (Photo is available upon request) An attempt to repair or splice the 2X4 joist was made using a 2X6 piece of wood. Owner (customer) did not agree with repair. A second attempt was requested by using the same size 2X4, but a much longer piece to sit on top of the wall plate. Being that the customer doesn't arrive home till after 19:30, by 20:30 he asked the worker to leave because he needed to get some rest.                                                                                                               On 5/13/2016, at about 21:34 the customer called to inform me that he was not satisfied with any attempts. His request which he repeated three times, I'm done with Bodine Scott, send me my warranty information and he'll fix the ceiling joist. Customer said not to worry about the light; it was only a bad switch. (Second time) By %/19/2016, on a recorded conversation for clarification, the customer stated to our customer relations personnel again, don't worry about the light it was only a bad switch. its already been fix. As for the joist, didn't like the repair made, he will get someone else to fix it.  Don't worry about it. Our customer relations personnel asked and offered help once again. Also if he would like for us to help him reqister the equipment warranty for an additional 5 years at no cost. the customer just wanted to be done with Bodine Scott.                         As a company in operations for many years, we do make every effort and attempt to keep customers satisfied with a long term business relationship.                      Regards, Service Dept. / Customer Relations

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
First Off, They Never Offered a 5 Year warranty,2nd when the light quit the young man told my wife i did not do anything because if i would have cut the wire he would have been shocked.and we better have it checked so the house would not catch on fire.3rd the rafter in the ceiling is a important item or they would not have them.4th when the problem was discovered i talked to ********** no luck talked to *** he came out and took pictures, they did strap up the duct work properly that time still did not check the light *** then told ********** to go to home depot and buy boards and light bulbs and he would be here by 7:30 P.M he did not arrive until 8:30 P.M He and i were in the attic his Phone Kept going Off and I asked him is that your wife and he replied yes at that time i told him go home to your wife and we would do it later.after that no response from Them i did text *** at 7:42 on may 13 asking him to call me still no response it is now June the 10th Text ********** on May the 12th Still no response.Yes the light was just a light switch. and the rafter still has not been fixed.if when the lady from bodine Scott called she said she would like to keep us as a customer but she never offered anything at all.i did tell her i was fed up up with them because they where trying to pacifie me she said she was not. i told her i wanted my warranty she said OK she then left a voice mail on my wife's phone stating she would mail the warranty information and she would not be calling us again. i asked them to have the owner call me and no response, Does this sound like someone who is trying to work with me. she stated she has a Recording of me I have a Text from her employee stating all there employees are Basically idiots and if it gets done right he has to do it. So i'am Just saying They are not Telling the Truth. 

 

Regards,

***** ***** 

Business Response: Mr. *****, your equipment already comes with a 5 year warranty. We were offering to register your equipment for an additional 5 years on parts. The information was given to you, and the registration form is on the last page of the equipment booklet. There is a registration period of 90 days from the installation date. As for the ceiling joist, no one said it wasn't important. This particular section is not load bearing, meaning it is not shouldering or supporting the structural weight of the roof. The light fixture in the pantry area was checked and taken apart to verify proper voltage going into the ballast and coming out. The wiring coming from the attic is two black wires, tied with two red wire connectors. When voltage was confirmed, the fixture was ruled in good working order. As we demonstrated this to Mrs *****, she said just leave the switch off with the blue tape over it so no one would turn it on until the light bulbs were replaced. Mentioned to her if the fixture was damaged, we were prepared to replace it. Ultimately, it was only your switch. For our customer relations department to say we would like to keep you as a customer is true, only you kept repeating, " I am done with Bodine Scott." In closing, " Pacify " yes we were doing our best to keep you calm, and to restore peace in a civilize manner. As stated previously we do make every effort and attempt to keep customers satisfied with a long term business relationship.        Service Dept. / Customer relations  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was told the unit had a 10 year parts warranty by the sales person when the unit was purchased nothing was ever said it was only 5 years and you all would add 5 more.you say you have a recording of me you never said this call may be recorded I believe that is deceptive and against the law without informing me i would like for you to send me the recording in full. i understand the rafter may not be a major structure, but at the same time your company was going to try and hide it until your employee thought he made another structural mistake and told my wife. so if you think your company is in the right your wrong i have asked for the Owner to call me and he has not even tried to get the real story.and also you are deceiving customers when they tell you it has a ten year warranty and now you are telling me its only 5 Years.also trying to pacify a customer is not the way to make a customer happy to do so make it right what ever problems exist again you have not done so.

Regards,

***** ***

7/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called for air conditioning service at a second residence, a condo, @ **** ******** in Corpus Christi. On 3/25/16 a tech informed me that the dryer unit which was still under warranty, needed to be replaced. I paid an $85.00 diagnostic fee for this service call. On 4/4/16 (10 days later) the dryer was installed at a different location and the system was flushed with nitrogen and coolant was added. I paid another $775,00 On 5/21/16 I went to the condo to see if the unit was still working OK and found the temperature to be 83 inside the condo.This was on Saturday and I had to wait till Monday to call ************. On 5/24/16 a tech came back to the condo, charged me another diagnostic fee of $85.00 and informed me there was a leak in the system and all of the coolant had gone out. And, he was not scheduled to do any repairs on the unit and would be back the next day. On 5/25/16, the tech came back repaired the leak, again, refilled with coolant and I paid 2 hr. labor @ $115.00 and coolant @ $180.00 for a total of $410.00. I sent ************ a letter on May 26th and to date have gotten no response from them. I do not think I should have been charged for the second diagnostic fee or the labor and coolant charges. I was told that the leak had been repaired when the tech made the first completed repairs. When I had to call again for the second leak, that was still an issue from the first visit. How many visits will I have to pay for if the leaks continue each month ? The fact that ************ did not respond to my letter shows that they are not concerned as they were paid by way of an American Express Card. This is now way to express good customer/business relationship.

Desired Settlement: I want my diagnostic fee of $85.00 and invoice fee of $410.00 to be re-imbursed.

Business Response: In response to your letter, dated May 26, 2016. The service department received your letter and placed it on my desk May 30, 2016. Being that my job also requires me to work out in the field, i did not see it until Monday June 13th after arriving from a two week leave of absence. As i performed my investigation on the situation at hand, i had already granted a refund towards the last service call on June 17, 2016. unfortunately this news didn't reach you on time before going to this level. Please allow a few days while the accountant sends you a refund either by check or credit to your account. Thank you for your patients. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
When I get the refund, as promised, I will let you know. 
Regards,

****** *************

Business Response: Sir, we understand your reason for rejecting our response. I am holding a confirmation ticket showing your american express account was refunded. Due to the personal information, i will not post this. A copy of this receipt can be given to you in person. Once again, we thank you for your patience. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
My refund was deposited back to my credit card by ************.  Thank you for helping me resolve this matter.  If I need to do anything else to finalize this, please let me know.
Regards,

****** *************

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ***** installed/maintained the AC systems at our residence for 25 years plus. A few years ago they installed a new cooling system. The installation was shoddy and repair work did not remedy the problems. Problems: AC unit shut down because the condensed water did not drain. Technicians tried at least twice unsuccessfully fix this problem. Tonight water is dripping from the ceiling. A bucket filled up in less than two hours. In my opinion there are two problems with this installation: 1. The UNSUPPORTED plastic drain pipe (approximately 10 to 12 ft. long) with cover has sagged beyond redemption preventing drainage. 2. The P-Trap is not over the drain pan

Desired Settlement: Install the system properly.

Business Response:

In response to case # ********, ******* 411 Naples Str.                                                                         August

18,2012 Mr. ******* purchased an evaporator coil and condensing unit, during the install we adapted to the existing ducting, refrigerant lines, and drain lines as noted on the agreement. On October 12, 2012, the system stopped cooling due to a clogged drain line. A repair was made at no cost to the customer for this service. A service call for a water leak was called in on November 03, 2014. By November 21, 2014 Mr. ******* purchased a gas furnace from us and adapted to all existing equipment. June 14,2015 a water leak was called in, being a Sunday afternoon I had no information of any history in front of me. Technician stated that the customer was very upset, a decision was made to do a repair at a discounted rate. Not having all the materials needed for this job, I instructed the tech to pick up 10 feet of pvc sch-40 pipe. Retail cost per foot is $7.05 x 10' = $70.05. looking on the invoice we only charged for 1 foot of pvc pipe. Out of the entire time spent on the job I advised the tech to only charge 1 hour of labor ( $115.00) and not the full amount that would have been from 12:12 - 15:00, over three hours. Reasonably since the unit was installed in 2012, and the previous leak on 11/3/14, we had to collect the discounted amount that is on the invoice. Mr. ******* has been a customer of ours for a long time, as he stated for over 25 years. We know now how old the original piping or plumbing is. The problem we had on this day, the technician noted that the original drain line was bent due to the extreme heat in the attic (124 degrees). A picture was taken of the pipe while in its original location with a thermometer next to it. Attics do get very hot, but at this temperature I can understand pvc becoming flexible. We are not sure how old the home is, but if any changes have been made in the past such as changing the roof from a wood shingle to composition, this may cause the attic temp to rise. We do not specialize in roofing, I would recommend seeking the advice of a roofer if the attic ventilation is adequate. Please review the invoice attached and take in consideration the disputed amount of $300.00 was already granted at the time of service. Thank you.

Your message is ready to be sent with the following file or link attachments:

Service_Report_*********************

Business Response:

Mr. *******,

On the signed agreement, we do not assume any duty to repair or replace any existing problems, which are not specifically listed as work and services to be performed. We assume no duty to discover any concealed conditions or unknown physical conditions, which are not exposed and are not readily available for visual inspection. Specifically, we assume no responsibility for problems with non- replaced ductwork, non-replaced equipment, condensation drains lines, mold or mildew, unless specifically contracted and paid for these services. The plumbing section of the proposal is clearly marked rework existing drain. The electrical section is also clearly marked rework existing . Ductwork is marked, adapt to existing, none of these sections were agreed or selected at the time of sale for you to contract us to provide: All new drains, and ducting. All new electrical which we are not license for.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             On any service call a service / diagnosis fee is always applied. This is not labor, the old pipe that you brought into our lobby appeared to be 10 feet. The technician who was reimbursed for buying the pvc pipe out of his own pocket also confirmed the length was 10 feet. Sir the invoice still shows one foot of pipe. I am no expert on roofing, out of the 27 years I have in this industry I have witnessed excessive heat causing pipes to bend on a few occasions. The cause was changes within the structure such as not enough ventilation in the attic. I am not trying to shift blame, but only trying to come up with a thought to prevent this from happening again. Going back and forth is not resolving anything . what I can do is offer you a one year maintenance contract at no charge. We want to make sure after replacing the existing pipe, your system will continue to run without having this same issue.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Thank you.   

*** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I agree going back and forth is not resolving anything.  Regrettably, I have been stating my case with your company since the issue arose. I lament that the Bodine-Scott that provided me great service for 25 + years, is no more. 


Regards,

******* *******

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new A/C unit installed in our home. 1.5 years later the unit flooded the attic and water drained through the ceiling into the kitchen and pantry. We did not get an extended warranty and thus only had the 1 year warranty. I'm fine with this, we refused the offer and took our chances. So we paid $1000's for the repair to the attic, sheetrock, paint, replaced float switches etc. to fix the unit. Less than 8 months later the same thing happened again. ******-***** refused to pay for the damage. Refused to pay for the repair of the float switch and when we had a alternate company look at the work they did they found the float switches, which are supposed to shut the unit down for a specific case like this were improperly installed. *****-***** still refuses to pay for damages. Additionally they would not come to repair the unit for a week, with water leaking through the ceiling into light fixtures we told this was unacceptable. They still would not send a technician for a week. Terrible company. Terrible service. They were act reputable when I paid them to install the unit, repair the unit, however when it broke again they still refuse to admit any wrong doing. A/C systems, especially newly install and repaired should not flood your attic. The company has not responded to multiple phone calls and attempts by myself and my wife to rectify the situation

Desired Settlement: I would like ******-***** to cover the new damaged and repair to the unit. Additionally I desire re-imbursment for the first set of damages, since the system still did not operate properly once repair was completed. The unit was never properly installed. My Bills for the first repair ****** has on fill. I have the paper-work for the contractor who replaced the ceiling. I also have the bills for the new repair and have a contractor schedule to begin work this week

Business Response:

I have included a copy of my report from  9/17/2014, when the call came in as water damage. The system that was installed on 1/15/2013 was already out of its first year warranty. During my visual inspection and interview with the renter, I have reason to believe the results from the damage is a combination of lack of maintenance and keeping the system at a very low temperature (68-70) with a dirty filter. I understand another A/C company may have said it was a bad install, that would be the opinion of a competitor. The install guide from the manufacture is left with the equipment. Also a permit was purchased from the City of ********** on 1/15/2013. I have explained these concerns with ***.

****** by phone while I was on site at the time of service from the said date of my report. Gave customer a reasonable price to repair internal damage to the equipment, and recommended a license company to perform all service and maintenance.

Service Mgr. ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The receipt provided was a result of the 1st episode the A/C unit caused the damage to the house.  ****** ***** was hired to perform all A/C maintenance at the time.  I do not recall ever having received this invoice prior to seeing it in here.  
 
The complaint is in regard to a 2nd failure of the overflow switch which ****** ***** installed(Which the provided invoice indicates).   ****** ***** would not come down to look at our unit that was draining through the ceiling into kitchen for a week.  We then got a 2nd licensed company to come out the day of, to prevent further damage.  The work performed was due to the failure of the overflow sensor that should stop the unit from running.    

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

**. ******,

I’ve included the only two service calls trans scrip’s as the calls came in.  Neither one of these calls were we hired to do any maintenance at the time of service. Most likely the reason you haven’t seen these invoices is probably because the only billing address we have on file is *** *. ******. The original proposal also has this same address as well. Currently to this day we do not have your physical address. With ******* consent, while holding my camera, I mentioned to him as I mentioned to ***. ****** on the phone that I would be documenting my findings to determine the cause of the damage as stated on the second work order. During my interview with the Renter *******, I asked how he cleaned the drain out, he said with a wire brush. ******* mentioned he blew air down the drain line, when I asked what method did he use, he said by placing his mouth on it. While we were in the attic I tested the safety switch in front of *******, the switch works. Immediately the unit shut off. We noticed that the reservoir for the safety switch was dry and not holding water. The water is blowing out of the pan due to the dirty filter causing the static pressure to rise above operating standers as stated on page 10 of the install guide. As a result the inner liner became saturated which then caused the water to flow into the return duct and onto the ceiling. ******* also mentioned at one point the safety switch did trip turning the unit off.                                                                                                                                                         The reason for us refusing to go out a third time is because no repairs were ever approved as quoted on the previous invoice. We would have came out with the same diagnosis. The difference between the two damages, the first was only in the pantry area (ceiling), now draining through the kitchen ceiling. (For a week) Once again our switch did not fail, we know for a fact the switch did shut the unit off even when tested. We also know your renter has been tampering or servicing the equipment.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Maintenance: You as the owner or other authorized party are responsible for adequate maintenance of your air conditioning system, including the regular cleaning of the filters, coils, and duct system. Your air conditioning system removes water vapor from the air, dehumidifying the air as part of the air conditioning process. During the water removal process, drains, evaporator coils, drain lines, as well as your homes plumbing can become blocked, break, or malfunction causing water to stand or spill.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Regards, ***  

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October the fifth I called Bodine Scott to come repair my home a/c unit. It was not cooling. The serviceman came out and checked the unit without ever turning it on. He told me the evaporator coils were dirty and would have to be cleaned. He stated that they would have to make an appointment to do that, billed me $85.00 and left. I did not hear back from them the next morning so I called another a/c repair company to come repair it. Annaville Air Conditioning, Inc. came out and looked the unit over and turned it on. They then told me the fan capicator was bad and the unit was a little low on freon. They repaired the unit in about an hour and I was happy with them. I contacted Bodine Scott's service manager and requested my $85.00 back as they had not done the job properly. The manager said he would check on it and get back to me. After he had not contacted me for a week I called back and he said he had to check some more and would get back to me. To date he has not contacted me.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the money paid and a note in their file of the way they do business.

Business Response:

On 10/5/2014 (Sunday) at 9:39 AM our after hours dispatcher received a call from ******* ******* and stated his unit is not cooling, it has been freezing up. All customers who call in for service are notified of the service fee. Confirmation of payment is asked with the options of cash, check, or credit card. Knowing that the call came in as unit has been freezing up, the technician did not automatically turn the system on. Upon a visual inspection of the evaporator coils, technician noted on the report 70% restricted coils. Due to the high volume of calls after hours, technicians on call would need to notify dispatch and log on there report to have this schedule. To pull and thoroughly  clean the evaporator coils would most likely take three to four hours. During this time a new liquid line drier will be installed. When I first talked to Mr. ******, he mentioned to me that the technician never went outside to check the condenser unit or turn it on. I strongly believed the technician did, otherwise we would not have the model and serial numbers recorded on the service invoice or the operating refrigerant pressures. Contributing factors for units freezing up; any restriction of air flow, dirty filters, or restriction in the refrigerant circuit. On the consumer’s original complaint: I contacted Bodine Scott’s service manager and requested my $85.00 back as they had not done the job properly.   

                                                                                       Our technician had noted on a signed invoice; Customer needs to know if we can schedule him for tomorrow (Monday) if not he will find a company that will. Unfortunately our service schedule was full throughout this same week therefore we were unable to schedule an evaporator pull and clean that will take 3 to 4 hours especially on a Monday. In response to “ they had not done the job properly”, Bodine Scott was not given the opportunity to do the job. A diagnosis/service fee of $85.00 was applied and approved by Mr. ******.  Respectfully  the requested refund for the diagnosis/service was declined. I am requesting an extension on this complaint so that I may gather other supporting evidence.  Thank You.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I did not say the technician had not gone outside, I said he had not turned the unit on.  If he had turned the unit on hopefully he would have seen the blower was not working.  He could have replaced the capacitor and added the necessary freon to the unit and I would not be out the expense of a second service call. 
The repairs only took about forty minutes, and I would have been spared a hot sleepless night.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:    It is our company policy to collect a diagnosis / service fee on all service calls. Other services such as prices for parts, maintenance, pull and clean will follow afterwards. Once again Bodine Scott was not given the opportunity to do the job. It appears that the customer Mr. ****** did not want the repairs rescheduled due to the statement noted on the invoice; if we can not schedule him for tomorrow (Monday) he will find  another company that will. Had we done the evaporator coil pull and clean with other repairs needed, then of coarse a negotiated price adjustment would have been discussed. Please note this is our first time doing any business with Mr. ******, no other history was found in our records. The other supporting records that we are looking into is our GPS logs. This is only to verify the  time spent on the job.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I know it is a small amount of money, but the bottom line is the technician made a bad diagnosis and the company refuses to acknowledge this, leaving me to pay for their mistake.  The injustice of this really irks me.

 

 

Best Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE CARRIER AC THAT WAS INSTALLED IN THE BEGINNING HAD A MAJOR FLAW WHICH HAS RESULTED IN HAVING TO REPLACE THE COMPRESSOR TWICE ONCE ON 8/30/2010 AND AGAIN ON 4/7/14. ORIGINALLY PURCHASED ON 4/17/2006. THE FIRST REPLACEMENT WAS TOTALLY COVERED. THE SECOND REPLACEMENT COST $605 FOR PURON REFRIGERANT. THAT WAS AFTER A SERVICE CALL AND REFIGERANT $195 A WEEK BEFORE. ALSO WHEN THE INFINITY THERMOSTAT FIRST BROKE IN 2008 THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME $550 FOR A NEW THERMOSTAT, CLAIMING THAT I HAD NO WARRANTY(WHICH I HAD PAID FOR). THAT'S ANOTHER STORY-THEY CLAIMED I NEVER PURCHASED IT, BUT WHEN I SHOWED THEM MY ORIGINAL PURCHASE CONTRACT, THEY BACKED DOWN. IN MY OPINION, THIS IS ONE OF WORST COMPANIES WITH WHICH TO DO BUSINESS.

Desired Settlement: I WON'T HOLD MY BREATH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response:

****,

 

We are currently working with the manufacturer to get this issue resolved. **** ******* our contact that received the email has been on vacation, When I tried to input the information, everything is grayed out and I see no way to respond.

 

Please advise! 

 

Thank you,

 

********* *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are not addressing my nissues.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: While researching the customer's complaint further, I found the following information.  Mr. ******* did have some issues with his system, which sometimes happens with mechanical equipment. The issues have all been repaired at no charge to Mr. ******* under his 10 year Parts & Labor Warranty.  Mr. ******* has also had SEVERAL Maintenance Checks throughout the years, in which no mechanical issues were found. On several of the inspections, the technicians noted that the condenser coils had to be washed. I cannot tell you what was restricting the outdoor unit. It could have been dirt, grass or possibly a dryer vent located in the vicinity of the condenser.  These issues would fall under "homeowner maintenance."  In August of 2010, we replaced Mr. *******'s compressor and, even though his system was more than 4 years old, and as a THANK YOU for being a loyal customer, we did not charge him for the refrigerant, which is not covered under a 10 Year Parts and Labor Warranty.  

In April of 2011, we performed a maintenance check on the system and all was well. In March of 2012, we performed another maintenance check and corrected some standard issues with a system that is 7 years old. The technician noted some possible issues that might need attention and also recommended Mr. ******* purchase a Smart 1 Maintenance Agreement, which he did not. In April of 2012, the FACTORY Hard Start kit was replaced at no charge other than the $85.24 Diagnostic fee. In March of 2013, we performed a maintenance check on the system and the system was in proper working condition.  

In April of 2014, we received a call that the compressor was "too noisy", at no time was it mentioned that the unit was not cooling.  We did charge the unit with 2 lbs of 410-A Refrigerant. We went ahead and replaced the compressor at no charge, even though warranty does not apply for noise because that is subjective to each individual.  Mr. ******* was charged only for the refrigerant, which as mentioned above, is not covered under a 10 year Parts & Labor Warranty. 

We feel that we have done everything possible to ensure that Mr. *******'s unit is performing according to manufacturer's specifications.  While we feel that the amount we charged Mr. ******* is appropriate and normal pricing for refrigerant, we will offer a refund of $211.75, which is a 35% discount, in appreciation for his being a loyal client in the past.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart