BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bodine-Scott Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 12, 1996 Business started: 07/12/1996 Business started locally: 07/12/1996 Business incorporated: 04/07/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mark Collins, Operations Mr. Chris Mundahl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Collins, Operations
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Wind Energy Systems

Alternate Business Names
A C Distribution, Inc. Advantage Air Conditioning Co. Air Pro Mechanical Bodine-Scott Plumbing Mr. K Wiggins Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 5638 Bear Ln

    Corpus Christi, TX 78405 (361) 653-2407 (361) 883-1900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (361) 653-2407(Phone)
  • (361) 806-2665(Phone)
  • (361) 857-5656(Phone)
  • (361) 882-2931(Phone)
  • (361) 883-9900(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE CARRIER AC THAT WAS INSTALLED IN THE BEGINNING HAD A MAJOR FLAW WHICH HAS RESULTED IN HAVING TO REPLACE THE COMPRESSOR TWICE ONCE ON 8/30/2010 AND AGAIN ON 4/7/14. ORIGINALLY PURCHASED ON 4/17/2006. THE FIRST REPLACEMENT WAS TOTALLY COVERED. THE SECOND REPLACEMENT COST $605 FOR PURON REFRIGERANT. THAT WAS AFTER A SERVICE CALL AND REFIGERANT $195 A WEEK BEFORE. ALSO WHEN THE INFINITY THERMOSTAT FIRST BROKE IN 2008 THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME $550 FOR A NEW THERMOSTAT, CLAIMING THAT I HAD NO WARRANTY(WHICH I HAD PAID FOR). THAT'S ANOTHER STORY-THEY CLAIMED I NEVER PURCHASED IT, BUT WHEN I SHOWED THEM MY ORIGINAL PURCHASE CONTRACT, THEY BACKED DOWN. IN MY OPINION, THIS IS ONE OF WORST COMPANIES WITH WHICH TO DO BUSINESS.

Desired Settlement: I WON'T HOLD MY BREATH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response:

****,

 

We are currently working with the manufacturer to get this issue resolved. **** ******* our contact that received the email has been on vacation, When I tried to input the information, everything is grayed out and I see no way to respond.

 

Please advise! 

 

Thank you,

 

********* *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are not addressing my nissues.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: While researching the customer's complaint further, I found the following information.  Mr. ******* did have some issues with his system, which sometimes happens with mechanical equipment. The issues have all been repaired at no charge to Mr. ******* under his 10 year Parts & Labor Warranty.  Mr. ******* has also had SEVERAL Maintenance Checks throughout the years, in which no mechanical issues were found. On several of the inspections, the technicians noted that the condenser coils had to be washed. I cannot tell you what was restricting the outdoor unit. It could have been dirt, grass or possibly a dryer vent located in the vicinity of the condenser.  These issues would fall under "homeowner maintenance."  In August of 2010, we replaced Mr. *******'s compressor and, even though his system was more than 4 years old, and as a THANK YOU for being a loyal customer, we did not charge him for the refrigerant, which is not covered under a 10 Year Parts and Labor Warranty.  

In April of 2011, we performed a maintenance check on the system and all was well. In March of 2012, we performed another maintenance check and corrected some standard issues with a system that is 7 years old. The technician noted some possible issues that might need attention and also recommended Mr. ******* purchase a Smart 1 Maintenance Agreement, which he did not. In April of 2012, the FACTORY Hard Start kit was replaced at no charge other than the $85.24 Diagnostic fee. In March of 2013, we performed a maintenance check on the system and the system was in proper working condition.  

In April of 2014, we received a call that the compressor was "too noisy", at no time was it mentioned that the unit was not cooling.  We did charge the unit with 2 lbs of 410-A Refrigerant. We went ahead and replaced the compressor at no charge, even though warranty does not apply for noise because that is subjective to each individual.  Mr. ******* was charged only for the refrigerant, which as mentioned above, is not covered under a 10 year Parts & Labor Warranty. 

We feel that we have done everything possible to ensure that Mr. *******'s unit is performing according to manufacturer's specifications.  While we feel that the amount we charged Mr. ******* is appropriate and normal pricing for refrigerant, we will offer a refund of $211.75, which is a 35% discount, in appreciation for his being a loyal client in the past.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/16/13 I purchased a ***** Air Conditioning Unit for $3,385.00 from Bodine-Scott A/C Co. with new coils installed. On 7/28/13 the air conditioning ceased to work. Bodine Scott sent a repair person and he stated that the sheeting they made to adapt to existing duct work collapsed and the coils froze. It was fixed. On 7/31/13 my air conditioning during the early and mid afternoon was blowing warm air. The thermostat was set on 77 and it was 82 degrees in the house and we were hot. They came to fix it and said they couldn't find anything wrong, but changed the filter. At 5:00 pm it started to cool off again. On 8/10/13 I had the same problem at the same time of day with the thermostat being set at 77 then 75 and the room temperature would not measure below 82. Again the same service person came, checked and said he couldn't find anything wrong and left when it was reading 82. I had a birthday party and the guests left because they were too hot. I was told the owner would call me and he never did. on 8/13/13 the same problem occurred the same time of day. Set up service call, still waiting, left message for owner and he never called back.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the service repair to find the problem and fix it or replace a defective unit.

Business Response: We had been actively attempting to contact the homeowner to schedule an evaluation of the system in order to determine what repairs, if any, need to be made.  It is my understanding that the attempts were successful and we are scheduled to be there today.  The initial "freezing" of the system was due to the collapse of the homeowners original duct work, which we repaired free of charge as a courtesy.  Once we receive the report on the operation of the system, we will make a determination on how to proceed.  Bodine-Scott has made a commitment to the homeowner and we will deliver upon that commitment.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The service manager came out took temperatures of different rooms and said he would get back with me.  That was over a week ago. They have not corrected the situation after wasting many hours of my time to be home when they sent people out four different times.  The first two times the technician (same person) said he didn't know what w.as wrong and left with the house at 82 degrees.  The service manager never got back with me after taking readings of different rooms

Regards,
 
**** *****

Business Response: I have included the report from the Residential Service Manager *** *********.

        "On August 13,
2013 a service tech responded to customers request of the A/C system not
keeping up in the heat of the day. Technician had found the original return air
plenum restricted above the filter area. Top section had fallen in blocking
airflow causing system to ice up. Attic insulation is old and depleted. Having
an attic temp of over 110 degrees will cause heat to penetrate into living
space. Customer **** ***** had furnace model # **************** replaced under
her home owners insurance prior to having us replace the evaporator coils and
condensing unit only. Signed agreement does state to adapt to existing ductwork
and copper. Blower compartment of furnace(Not installed by Bodine Scott)
 does not come insulated from factory,surface can reach the same air temperature
as the attic. (126 degrees), (102 degrees in shaded patio)  

        August 13, 2013
technician responds to a service call, system not keeping up and finds and
removes another blockage at the return air plenum. Tech cut the inner duct
board off to allow more airflow in return. August 28, 2013 I (Service Mgr.)
went out to evaluate the situation and the house. During this time system
performance was tested used Alnor flow hood to check for proper air flow.
Noticed hole and wires behind thermostat (original) were not sealed. This can
cause thermostat to read higher than normal. Sealed wires to help eliminate
false reading. Also noticed on some areas of the air ducts are leaking air into
attic. Before leaving set temperatures sensors throughout the  house.
After several days of recording data of temperature, and humidity as well as
cycles, a capacity check was performed using the information from the sensors.
The system is running at the correct capacity based on the tonnage. Customer
(**** *****) had stated that she has not been in the house very long.
Bodine-Scott was called out to give an estimate to replace the evaporator coils
and condenser unit. No other service calls prior to replacement were in file.

        In conclusion the
contributing factors that are affecting the performance of the air conditioning
system are; air leaks in the duct system, uneven temperatures in the house,
depleting attic insulation that allows high attic temp to pass through
sheetrock. In order to quantify improvements to the air barrier between the
attic and the living space, attic insulation will be needed. Weatherization,
all air leaks if any around doors and windows must be caulked or sealed.
Noticed back door does not close properly, deadbolt lock has to be engaged or
door will open. The un-insulated blower compartment also allows the air to warm
up as air passes through. When system has cycled off blower cabinet is heating
up to the same temp as the attic. Photos of all findings and temperatures will
be on file."

It is apparent that there are numerous issues contributing to **** *****s's discomfort: insulation, weatherization of the structure, and a blower cabinet that is uninsulated by design(not installed by Bodine Scott) none of which are due to the installation of the equipment that was installed by Bodine Scott.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Bodine Scott is exaggerating and giving excuses.  The Previous A/C system was the same tonage and did not have this problem.  They wasted several hours of my time waiting for them and being home while they sent people who did not know what they are doing to try to fix the problem.  When I got the quote, I should have been told that the new units were not as effective as the old units.  Nobody in this company communicates with each other.  Each service person did not know the extensive history of what was going on and I was telling the story over and over again.  Nothing was in the notes.  Extremely poor service for what I was promised.  When I got the quote, I asked for the complete job cost.  These problems should have been discovered before I decided to use them. 

If these problems mentioned are the reason, why did the old air conditioner have no problem keeping the temperature cool on hot days.  I don't set the thermostat at lover than 78 degrees.  That is not too much to ask from a new unit.

Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service