BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Air Busters of San Antonio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Air Busters of San Antonio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Air Busters of San Antonio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 2008 Business started: 09/06/2006 Business started locally: 09/06/2006 Business incorporated: 02/26/2013 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Darin Adams, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darin Adams, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Air Busters of San Antonio, Inc
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air Busters (who were subcontracted by First American Home Warranty, “FAHW”) failed to 1) properly diagnose the initial problem, 2) turn in FAHW's required paperwork in order to have the necessary repair completed by them or in order to authorize a cashout for the condensor coil, and 3) have the necessary repair performed in a timely fashion. I have lost several thousands in rental income due to this negligence. FAHW was contacted in early April regarding initial problem with the A/C not cooling. I assumed the problem had been fixed properly after Air Busters came out this time. But I was wrong, they had failed to do anymore than place a temporary bandaid on the problem (a rusted condenser coil) by just adding freon. Then I get another call from my property management company on April 12th saying the A/C was out again. I contacted FAHW and they said they would contact Air Busters and that someone should be in contact with me from Air Busters by Monday. Monday afternoon after not hearing from them I called them and had to leave a voicemail. A service tech finally called me on Tuesday the 15th finally to tell me that he had found the rusted condenser coil and was going to be sending paperwork in to have it authorized by FAHW for the replacement condensor. Thursday the 17th he calls me again as I'm about to leave the country and says that it will be x amount for the labor to replace the condensor and set it up AND that the earliest they would have the part to do the install would be on the 21st. I then called FAHW as I'm leaving the country on the 17th and told them that is ridiculous that they (Air Busters) weren't going to be able to get it repaired/replaced any quicker and that they hadn't even been out to do the repair for 3 days after I called FAHW this time. FAHW responded that I could do a cashout for the value of the condenser and use the contractor of my choice after they got their required paperwork back from Air Busters. They were going to try to get it that day. I then asked them to email me the info as I was going to be out of the country until late on the 21st. Once I got to my destination, I called internationally to FAHW again as I still had not received the requested email. This time I asked for a manager. 35 minutes later on an international call dealing with these people, I again am told that this will be put thru to another guy and that I would receive his contact info via email right after the call and that they still did not have the report from the tech. I never received his email. I got back the evening of the 21st and still no word. I contacted them the next day (22nd) and still they did not have the paperwork from Air Busters to authorize repair of the unit or authorize replacement. I continued speaking with this guy **** Walters they put in touch with me every other day or so and still the same game - no paperwork, no repair, no cashout. In the meantime, I authorized the property management company to go ahead and send out their a/c person to get the repair taken care of and they replaced the condensor coil and had it billed to my account. May 2nd, I spoke to **** and he once again tells me that the paperwork has not been filed by the tech at Air Busters and that he's been let go. Now and only now did they offer to send another tech from Air Busters to the condo to diagnose the problem so that he could complete the paperwork to again supposedly allow them to repair the condensor coil or allow for a cashout. To which I then let them know that I went ahead and had someone else repair it as this had gone on way too long and that this was ridiculous. I had already told him that: 1. I was missing out on many days of rental income, 2. told of costs associated with international call to them , etc. Then **** wanted to me to send him a copy of the repairs via email which I did. I received no response back from them until May 5th and now he wanted an invoice bothering me rather than getting their report from Air Busters initially. Both companies are a sham!

Desired Settlement: Initially, I would have liked for them to have fixed the problem in the first place by diagnosing the problem correctly the first time rather than placing a bandaid on it and putting freon in the unit but not indicating that the compressor coil had rusted out and needed to be replaced. Later, when I requested service again on April 12th, I would have been happy if they had contacted me right away and fixed the problem correctly right away. Now though after having to deal with them and all the excuses and the time that it took and still no resolution, I want them to pay the entire cost of the other a/c repair company's charges to come out, diagnose and repair/replace the problem. Additionally, I want reimburesment for all the lost rental income that was due to the unit not being rentable for 17 days. Air Busters and FAHW had multiple opportunities to correct this problem much earlier. For Air Busters to sit back and blame it all on a service tech who did not turn in his reports because he was undergiong personal issues is inexcusable. Supposedly somewhere in there, FAHW told me the owner of Air Busters was going to drive from San Antonio to Corpus Christi to get the paperwork. Then the next time I spoke with **** at FAHW, he says they still don't have the paperwork and that the tech has been fired and that they now (May 2nd - 20 days after the request for the 2nd service call) want to send another tech from Air Busters out to be able to write up the problem. At which point, I told him that I'd had the unit repaired as this was ridiculous. The next day (May 3rd - 3 wks later) a service tech from Air Busters calls me and tells me he's on his way to the condo. I told him that it had already been taken care of at this time. I have already sent copy of the work orders from the condo property management company to FAHW and will gladly do the same for Air Busters. Also, I will be happy to forward a letter from the property management company showing the lost days and lost income. Lastly, I want a formal written apology.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

   This
is in response to BBB complaint number ********, regarding the property located at **** *** ***,
unit number ***, **** *******, Tx, *****. We received a work order from First
American Home buyer’s protection regarding the air conditioning unit not
working properly at the above residence. Our technician ***, went out at found
that the unit was slightly low on refrigerant. Protocol is that if a unit is
more than 5 lbs low on refrigerant that we need to do a leak test. At the time
of service the unit was only 1.5 lbs low of refrigerant. Upon a visual inspection
there was no evidence of a leak at the time. Once the unit was charged the tech
waited to make sure that there was no additional indicators of a leak, no were
found. The internet portal in which we update all our jobs was updated and the
information sent to First American. As a subcontractor for First American, it
should be noted that we have no control over, when or how long it takes for the
equipment or parts to be ordered. In addition, we are required to attempt to
fix the unit rather than replace, if replacement is not mandatory at the time
of service. We received a recall notice from FA to go back out to the home.  At this point we sent out a different tech who
told us the condensing coils needed to be replaced as he did find a leak. (It
should be noted that **** ******* is located on the beach, so most every
condensing unit looks rusted, even if it is only a year or two old as a result
of the salt in the air) Once the tech left the residence the information was
then forwarded to First American. Once again, we have no control over when, how
or if FA approves and/or orders equipment. I am speechless that Mr. ******
wants us to pay for the repair of his air conditioning unit and the loss of the
revenue from his rental property, as if we are the ones who broke it in the
first place. I am also uncertain at this point if there was a lack of maintenance
associated with the failure of the unit. Units in areas near the beach have to
be serviced at least twice a year, and since this unit is on the roof, we are
not sure if that was accomplished. I am sorry for Mr. ******’s experience,
however, we did not break his air conditioning unit, nor are we responsible for
how FA responded. We are simply the middle man.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Either Air Busters or First American is not telling the truth on sending or receiving the required info for processing the repair. First American repeatedly said that they were waiting for 2+ weeks on the required paperwork from Air Busters to allow for the required repair from them or another company of my choosing. Supposedly the owner of Air Busters went (several weeks after April 12th) from San Antonio to Corpus Christi to look for the report from their service tech that did not return it to them for processing. Apparently he did not find the report as they said they still had not received it. It wasn't until May 3rd (21 days after the second call to First American about having the A/C repaired)  that Air Busters called and said that that another tech was on his way to re-evaluate the problem to see about getting the paperwork to First American for repair processing. They could have easily sent another tech out to write up the problem and send it to First American right away rather than 18 days after the tech finally arrived on April 15th. Incredulous that Air Busters won' stand up and take responsibility for it's employees and owners for dropping the ball. I want a formal written apology from this company and as I stated before, I want reimbursement for all the charges incurred by having to use another company to get the repair done and I want reimbursement for lost rental income during this period due to the unacceptable delays and poor management and customer service.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our house in May 2013 and purchased a home warranty extension. My husband was up in the attic where the A/C unit is located and noticed that there was water and some rust in the drain pan and that it needed to be addressed before the problem escalated. We called the Home Warranty Company and were assigned to Air Busters for them to come out and assess the problem. They spent a total of about 10 to 15 minutes on location and stated that it was an air leak and there is nothing to worry about and the rust is normal. With this they left and the weather in San Antonio turned colder and the A/C was not needed until a week later. We turned on the A/C and heard water running and saw that there was water coming out of the ceiling and the air vent. We immediately turned off the water as well as the A/C unit to prevent further damage. There is now noticeable water damage to the ceiling and a musty smell coming from the bathroom. We immediately called the Home Warranty Company to report the problem and contact the Air Busters Company to report that their lack of service caused damage to our home. We attempted to contact the company for over a month and when we finally got a hold of someone they stated that they were told in their report that it was a “air leak” not a water leak, which there are original documents from the Home Warranty Company and the Air Busters company that state we told them there was a water leak and this was the reason for the initial visit. We had the company back out to the home and assess the situation and after even more attempts to contact them they finally sent a new person out to just tell us that it was going to cost us $2,000 to fix the problem with an additional $1,400 to access the air unit and fix it thus totaling $3,400 of fees that could have been prevented if the company would have done their job initially. This leads me to believe that the Air Busters Company does not care about their customers or the work that they claim to do. A lot of frustration and anxiety could have been prevented if they would have only have done their job and do is awful considering that the problem could have been prevented if the A/C company would have done a better job at assessing the initial complaint rather than blowing off the customer. Now we have a water damaged ceiling and a broken A/C unit which we are now required to fix due to the company not caring about their customer.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to acknowledge their mistake and fix our ceiling and the A/C unit free of charge due to them not assessing the problem appropriately the first time.

Business Response:  Air Busters was dispatched to this home from the home warranty company, with a check all failures work order.  We checked the unit to see if there were failures but found no mechanical failures at that time. The home owner did admit that they had not ran their unit in more than a week prior to the second event (the actual water leak). Air Busters also has on our invoices we are not liable for water damage to ceilings, due to water leaks because we can not control whether someone changes their filters or if particles can clog the drain lines after it is inspected. In addition, it should be noted that the home owner had decided they only wanted the cash in lieu of services from their home warranty company, and we feel at this point the home owner is simply trying to get additional money.  We did not note any failures that could have caused the water damage while doing our inspection. We do not feel that we need to pay for the cost of these repairs as there was no indication that a leak was present.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air Busters visited my home 11/6/13 and examined air conditioning system. They said that it needed several parts including an evaporator. His work was done under my home maintenance policy. That company allowed Air Busters to order the parts which occurred according home maintenance company on 11/12/13. I've not heard from Air Busters since the 6th despite several calls asking them to contact me. They also indicated on the 6th that additional work not covered under the maintenance agreement would be required. They were unwilling to give me an estimate of these costs.

Desired Settlement: I would like an estimate of the cost not covered by the maintenance agreement and would like the work completed.

Business Response:

Good Morning, 


   I am sorry for the delay. It appears that the BBB has changed their format in which to respond to a complaint by the BBB. So I am hoping that by just responding to your email directly that it will also get taken care of properly. I received the email stating that we did not give an estimate for the cost of the repairs to their system, in addition to having Air Busters order the parts etc for their central heating and air conditioning system. I wanted to first say that when we do work for the Home warranty companies that the home warranty company is always the ones that order the larger equipment ( like evap coils). We only provide the smaller components to the systems. Secondly both our office as well as their home warranty company called and confirmed the non covered costs associated with changing out one of the major components to the operating system which was the evap coil. The Non-covered costs are $1041. This was told to the home owner and the home owner did not agree to pay this amount. As a result, the claim was placed on hold. The Home owner called our office and told us that the NCC were going to be $263, as they said that this was the quote given to them by their home warranty company. We once again called the home warranty company and the home warranty company said that was false and once again the true amount was $1041. This was confirmed again on 12/20/13. Once the home owner agrees to pay the NCC and pays with either a cashiers check, cash or money order, we will move forward with installing the new equipment for them. Should you have any additional questions please call our office at ************. Please find attached a copy of the work order stating the equipment that was ordered by the home warranty company is ready for us to pick up.


Thank you

 

 

****** *****
Co-Owner/Treasurer



Air Busters Of San Antonio
************
********************


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The technician came to repair through the home warranty company and said that he needed to move the AC unit away from the wall and charged me to 125 dls to "reconnect" the AC. I paid and it turns out that he just pushed it away, there are no signs of new connection. I have called and left numerous messages with no reply from the company. Also I had to call again a month later because the equipment had leakages all over and lost all the gas. Something he should have noticed before he put gas in it.

Desired Settlement: I want the full refund of the amount paid to this company. Including the 60 dls copay because they did such a terrible job that I had to call another contractor and pay again.

Business Response: Complaint has been resolved with the Home owner and you should receive confirmation of that from the Home owner.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air Buster's was at our home four different days trying to repair our AC. They took parts with them, said some were under warranty, some were not. They advised that modifications would be required, but did not know the charges. The day they had the replacement part (a coil and a few other items which they said were to make modifications to the system), they told me to write them a check for $485.00. I told them I would not write a check without seeing an invoice with a breakdown of charges. The repairman, upon arrival (Wed 14), wrote down some figures on a paper. I told him I was not going to pay him from a paper; I required a breakdown of the charges on company stationary. Parts were exchanged at the ******* AC store and we were charged restocking fees. I asked for the receipt and/or paperwork from ******* detailing the charges and what exact parts were replaced and/or purchased. He told me yes, then when it came time to give me a copy a few hours later, he could not produce a copy and his tone changed with me (he also said it had been sent directly to ***** *******). He told me that if we didn't give him a check, he wouldn't fix the unit. He said they ran out of stationary. I told him to call his office and have them email me an invoice. What their office sent was an email with abbreviated information - not an invoice. We paid because we wanted the unit fixed. I could not reach our home warranty company (***** *******) so I could not verify if the charges were usual and customary, nor could I confirm that ***** ******* had a copy had a copy from the ******* store. They said they were finished with the repair and all was working properly. When I asked him to please wait and be sure that cold air was blowing out of the vents, he got irate and told me it was finished and they were leaving (after 5:00pm). The house was still not cooling and the fan never kicked on. I called Air Busters and the technician's cell phone the next morning to advise it still was not fixed. I also called ***** ******* to see what they knew. I was surprised when I spoke to ***** ******* that they did not receive any paperwork from Air Busters either - just a verbal on what they did. I told ***** ******* that I called Air Busters and the cell phones of the repairmen and left messages to that effect. ***** ******* tried calling their offices, too, and was told that they were not taking any calls for the remainder of the week because they were moving. ***** ******* dispatched a second AC company who came this morning (Aug 15), *******. The man from ******* asked me for the paperwork on what had just been done. I showed him the email that Air Busters had sent. The gentleman from ******* says there is no restocking fee charged (we were charged $100), and that the line modifications that I was charged for were not necessary - and if they were - they would be covered under the warranty (charged $179 for each modification). He also said that the 2.5 ton condenser that they say was replaced under warranty is incorrect as the condenser is in the AC unit outside. What Air Busters replaced was a large metal piece from the attic. I described this to the gentleman from ******* and he said that it was the coil. Air Busters did tell me that the coil was defective. It is unclear why they said they replaced the condenser. The gentleman from ******* reiterated that I should not have been charged for any of these things - and actually the problem was the fan motor. I told him I would try to cancel the check I gave Air Busters. He agreed that was the correct course of action. I also asked him what would be the best places to file a compliant so that this does not happen to other people. He suggested the State, the BBB and ******* list. We still have not heard back from anyone at Air Busters.

Desired Settlement: Our desired outcome is twofold. 1) We want our money back. We did put a stop payment on the check, which we wrote on the 14th. Our bank has issued the stop payment, but says it is not guaranteed until the next day. If the check does not present tonight, then we are okay on this count. If the check does present tonight, it will be paid. If that does occur, we would like our money refunded. 2) We would like an official complain filed against them for unethical business practices. We want to do what ever we can do to prevent someone else from having to deal with the same issues.

Business Response: BBB Complaint # *******

On August the 7th we received a work order from ***** ******** **** buyers protection. We sent out our technician to the home. While at the home the tech found a leak in the coil. This was evident by the oil that had leaked out. The tech then called and found that the unit was still under warranty.  At that point he then called into ** which we are required to do and give them a report on our findings. This is always done over the phone with ** as their office is located in California.  When we called in our findings we listed the items that need to be taken care of. Drain line modifications because no two units ever go back in perfectly lined up, so we then have to modify the piping to make sure everything lines up and drains properly, as well as the line set modifications. So as a result of the newer coils going into other air handlers or fitting correctly they need to be modified.  In regards to the restocking fee, every ******* supply in San Antonio now charges a restocking fee on all return equipment. The restocking fee is something that is standard, and for ******* or any other company to say there is not one, has obliviously not dealt with ******* often.  As with any company we keep receipts for all our purchases, however also with any company who is doing business they are not going to share with their clients the cost of the parts. We do not give out copies of the receipts for the parts or equipment that we purchase because the rates are going to be different for retail verses wholesale. This is a standard practice for anyone who has been in business longer than a day. Once the tech replaced the evap coil inside, the fan went out on the outside condensing unit. This is two separate issues. Again we know that there was a leak in the coil because of the refrigerant levels being low and the oil on the coil proving the Freon was leaking out. So it was very
necessary to replace it. We are also required to collect any not covered costs prior to installing new equipment as part of our agreement with **. Next I have attached a copy of the email that we sent to the home owner with the breakdown of the not covered costs. As you can see we did not abbreviate the list.  It should also be noted that we replaced the evap coil inside the house and did not replace the condensing unit outside, which is where the fan failed. So how can it be incorrect if we did not replace the condensing unit only the coil in the house? Next, whoever told the home owner that the correct course of action would be to cancel the check actually was giving them bad advice. When canceling a check, the person who performs the work, actually has the legal right to file theft of services charges against the person whom they have done the work for. When someone does work for you if they do not do it to your satisfaction the proper course of action would be small claims court. However, the home owner did put a stop payment on the check. We received notification of that several days later. Finally, we had advised ** of our move approximately 2 weeks prior to moving. We had then been asked for them to hold all new work orders for 4 days while we moved and transferred our phone services, etc. Our phones lines were down during this time, which is why we did not receive the calls from the home owner. Again this is something that the home warranty company was fully aware of. In the mean time, ** sent out another company who then found the motor had burnt out. It is unfortunate that it worked out that way, however I believe that had we not been moving at the time, we could have resolved this matter quickly and easily. It should also be noted that as an owner, we have made it a standard practice to make sure that our clients are taken care of. We do run into a lot of other companies that have very unethical work practices, however we believe that what goes around comes around. We have no problem correcting any issues that we may make, however it is evident that the issues have all been resolved.

Non covered cost breakdown

Hide Details

From

·        ***** *****

·       

To

·        *********************

Hello this email is for the property on:

****** *******s
***** ******* ****
*** ** ******

Work order #*********.

Drain line modification $179

Line set modification $179

Restocking fee $100        

Total $458.00

Work performed:

Install 2 1/12 ton condenser
TXV
New drain pan
Recharge with 410A - 7lbs

Tech - *****
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Since I only have the option in your system to "accept" and "do not accept" the response, I cannot accept because the response made by Air Busters contains a few inaccuracies which I wish to address:

1)   Concerning the invoice:  My request was to receive a legitimate invoice on company letterhead/form which clearly stated the work that was done and what was replaced.  The email that was sent was not on a company form and did not accurately reflect the items which were replaced.  Mr. *****, in his response to the BBB, even states that it was the coil that was replaced and not the 2 ½ ton condenser.

2)   Concerning the payment:   Air Busters did not fix the AC problem, therefore, they did not complete the work for which they were dispatched.   I was not 100% convinced that the charges were usual and customary or accurate and that is why I questioned the charges and subsequently placed a stop payment on the check.   I explained this to Mr. ***** on the phone when he called me the afternoon of the 16th after he read the complaint on the BBB website.  I told him that I appreciated him calling me and wanting to resolve the issue.  After I explained my experience to him in more detail, he did mention that they would have liked to have taken care of the situation and his main concern was that we have our AC working.  He did tell me that ** should never have dispatched them to the job since they were moving . He also mentioned that they had never had a complaint against their company or their workers.  They were good Christians.  He said that he had noticed that there was something up with **** that past week and he would talk to him to see what was the matter.   I told him that I had intended on reporting this issue on Angie’s List and to the State licensing board, but I had to leave to take my daughter to her doctor’s appointment, so I didn’t have a chance to do that. I advised that since he was willing to work with me on this issue that I didn’t see the need to file any further complaints.  I also told him that we were willing to pay for what was usual and customary and for work that was actually performed and necessary.  As I understood it, he was going to call me back after he had the opportunity to talk to **** and after the dust settled with their move.  I have not received further communications from Mr. ***** until this response.

3)   Notes on the repair:

a)    To quote Mr. ***** from his response: 

Once the tech replaced the evap coil inside, the fan went out on the outside condensing unit. This is two separate issues.”  To our knowledge, the fan on the outside condensing unit did not go out.  And, if the technician noticed that the fan went out as a result of replacing the coil in the attic, then he should have advised us of this and taken steps to correct the issue.  But, as I said, the fan outside was/is working so it is not clear why the technician and Mr. ***** are saying that it went out.

b)   On August 14th, when the tech said he was done, I asked him to verify that the unit was in fact cooling and that the fans were blowing (inside). He abruptly answered that it was fixed and he was done.   Within an hour of the technician leaving the house on Wednesday , August 14th, there still was no cold air blowing through the vents and the house was still registering temps in the low 90’s.

c)    On the morning of April 15th, it was still in the 90’s, even overnight.  We checked the unit outside and noticed that the condenser had ice on it.  We turned the unit off so that it would be thawed by the time the next AC repairman would look at it.  Obviously there was still a problem and it is hard to believe that if it was fixed (as the Air Busters Technician - ****- claims) at approximately 5-5:30 the night of the 14th that it would then all of the sudden freeze up again and still not be cooling.

1)   Note on the actual repair that corrected our AC issue:  The tech from ******* tested the fan motor in the attic and determined that the fan motor was the problem.  He took it with him, and it was replaced under warranty.  We were not charged a restocking fee.  It also appeared the freon had been overfilled by the Air Buster technician.  While the ******* technician was still at the house, the temperature had already come down a few degrees and we could feel cool air coming from the vents.  We have not had any issues since he repaired the unit.

2)   Finally, we appreciate that Mr. ***** says that he has no problem correcting any issues that they make.  We invite Mr. ***** to come by and look for himself what work was completed and if at that time he determines that charges are due to Air Busters, we will have no problem writing him a new check.

 Regards,


****** *******

Consumer Response: Dear ****:

In my response (Aug 30) to Mr. *****' response last week, I invited him to come and look at the work in question and we advised that we were actually waiting to hear back from him.  Since we did not hear from Mr. ***** since August 30th, we decided to call him. After leaving messages yesterday and trying again today, my husband was able to reach Mr. ***** on his cell phone.  My husband told Mr. ***** that we wanted to resolve this and did he want to come by and look at what was done.  Mr. ***** told my husband that work was done by his team. My husband replied that we understand that they were there several times and did something, but to understand our point that even after they left, the AC was still not working.  My husband reiterated our intention to take care of this and come to an agreement on what was owed.  Mr. ***** stated that at this point, he was just going to let it go.  And, it was left at that.

We would like to close out this complaint.  Please let me know if there is anything further that we need to do in order to do so.

Many thanks,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1