This business is not BBB accredited.

Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

Phone: (512) 436-0744 Fax: (512) 243-8608 View Additional Phone Numbers 2009 Ranch Road 620 N Ste 340, Lakeway, TX 78734 http://www.affordableairconditioningandplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2012 Business started: 07/15/1993 in TX Business started locally: 07/15/1993 Business incorporated 07/15/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Craig, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Craig, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Craig Family Limited Partnership
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2009 Ranch Road 620 N Ste 340

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (512) 436-0744

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid AHSP in November of 2013 a $585 fee for a year of home warranty services and they never informed me that they were going out of business until April 4, 2014. Know they claim that I have to agree to cancel the warranty contract, so that they can prorate my fee.

Desired Settlement: Full payment of the $585.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They ran a water line approximately 1200' from the water meter. They were supposed to burry the line to a depth of 12" from the top of the pipe. They were also supposed to backfill with sand. I've learned that these were not done when I had to dig up an area to repair a broken pipe. After many unreturned calls, I finally had them send someone to repair. They sent another plumbing service to repair at no cost to me. This was in line with the warranty they gave me. I now have another problem - the pressure reducer valve they installed is not working and the water pressure is too high. This is also covered under the warranty they gave me. When I called them, they told me they sold the company but after talking to a former employee, I learned that the sale never went through. When I mentioned this to the company, they told me well, that does not matter because we dissolved the plumbing part of the company and only kept the home warranty part. They do not want to honor their warranty commitment. I paid over $8000 for the water line to be run, and when I was concerned about the quality of the work during the project, ****, the plumber told me it came with a warranty so I had nothing to worry about. I feel I have been scammed and they are trying to get out of their legal commitments. I have to turn off the water at the water main due to the high pressure, and also because I am afraid the line will freeze as they did not bury it to the full 12" agreed.

Desired Settlement: I want them to first of all replace the pressure reducer valve at no cost to me. However, as I cannot wait for water any longer, I have contacted a third party to do this. I would like for them to therefore pay for the third party. As the line was not properly backfilled with sand and was not to the depth per local building code, I want a refund unless they can resolve this some magical way. The company is not trust worthy and should not have an A+ rating.

Business Response:

****:

I am not sure where you emailed complaint #*******, but we did not receive it until you sent a follow up email to us.  I contacted Mr. ********* today regarding his complaint and explained to him that we had sold the air conditioning and plumbing company to **** ********* DBA “****** ********** *** ************ *** ********” the early part of August.  Although ****** company name is similar to our company name, it was not our company that contracted with Mr. *********.  The money Mr. ********* paid went to ****’s company – not ours.  I explained to him how he could contact **** ********* and ****** ******, the Master Plumber that was the license holder for the job.  I explained that I felt sure they would help him resolve his problems.  Mr. ********* said he understood and appreciated my help, and that he would withdraw this complaint against our company.

Thanks

***** *****

Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I did receive a call from the owns.  He way very polite and his summary of our discussion is accurate.  However, although he mentioned he did not receive a payment from me, I checked and confirmed with my credit card company that two payments were made to his company, and not to the 'new' company which went out of business.  I called the plumber under whose license the work was done, and he was also polite and offered to help, although he said that he did not feel like he was responsible as the new company is no longer in business.  The plumber called a few days later to take a look at the problems, but I was not able to meet him as I was out of town.  I offered to meet him next week, but have not yet heard back.  I called the owner and gave him an update on my conversation with the master plumber as well as that there were two payments to his company.  He previously looked for one payment for the full amount, so explained this is why he may have not noticed it.  He was going to need some help to look into this, and was to get back to me yesterday.  I disputed the charges with my credit card company a few weeks ago, as I was unable to get my problems fixed, and the 5 year warranty was not being honor only a few months after the installation.  I was uncomfortable with the quality of work during the installation, and with two problems in a few months concerned that I will continue to have issues.  I have to keep the water turned off when I am not in town and when the temperature falls below 32 degrees, due to the water pressure and incorrect depth of the pipe installed.  I should not have to do this after spending so much money and paying additional for extra high quality pipe.  If the owner agreed to the dispute raised by the credit card company, I will find another plumber to solve the problems and agree to close this complaint.  I am tired of waiting for a solution and plan to eventually hire another plumber to help.   I have been given the run around for many months, and think all would agree having water is very important.  I am frustrated that I had to contact the BBB and do a credit dispute to finally get some attention.  I look forward to resolution, whether it be the owner agree to the credit dispute or somehow repair the problems and offer me at least a 5 year warranty from his current company.  My trust level is low right now on any such warranty due to my experience with the previously promised 5 year warranty, so my preference would be I get the money back and start over.  I would have allowed more time for the owner and master plumber to get back to me next week, but I explained 4 days ago to the owner that I have a limited time to respond to the BBB before this complaint is considered resolved.  Thus, I am documenting where we are as of now, and would like to keep this open as it is not yet resolved.

Regards,

***** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)