BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

Phone: (512) 436-0744 Fax: (512) 243-8608 View Additional Phone Numbers 2009 Ranch Road 620 N Ste 340, Lakeway, TX 78734 http://www.affordableairconditioningandplumbing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 2012 Business started: 07/15/1993 in TX Business started locally: 07/15/1993 Business incorporated: 07/15/1993 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Craig, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Craig, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Craig Family Limited Partnership
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2009 Ranch Road 620 N Ste 340

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (512) 436-0744

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 263-3764(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid AHSP in November of 2013 a $585 fee for a year of home warranty services and they never informed me that they were going out of business until April 4, 2014. Know they claim that I have to agree to cancel the warranty contract, so that they can prorate my fee.

Desired Settlement: Full payment of the $585.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 28, ***** from Affordable responded to call for air conditioning service He determined possibility that air conditioning system would need to be replaced; he would come out on Sat to make Energy Load evaluation to recommend system. We agreed that ***** would obtain additional information before final decision on Mon, July 1. I did not hear from ***** until Tues, decision and go ahead on what systems to install. I asked specifically whether system could be installed July 3 and July 5. ***** promised and committed that both systems would be installed July 3 with a 4 man crew. I old ***** that I was placing my trust on his analysis , configuration of systems and service of installation. Today is July 10 and still no working systems, only pieces of work done. Before the upper air conditioning was working. Now neither upper or new downstairs air conditioning is working. *****, the service manager promised that all would be completed today and we both would walk thru and inspect all items. I called and requested that ***** come over to see the situation. he said he needed to check with his crew before coming over and would call me back in 10 minutes. No call was received. I called again, no answer, left message. This company overcommitted what they could do in a reasonable time frame. It has now been 14 days since initial contact. This is unacceptable and hot. What they say now is not creditable. We have been placed in a continuous wait loop.

Desired Settlement: Complete job in a healthy correct manner, repair any damage or errors. Insulation that was disrupted has caused some breathing problems. Establish air conditioning ASAP to acceptable level. Provide acceptable discount.

Business Response:

On July 10th Affordable had not completed installing the units as promised due to numerous uncontrollable circumstances from customer not answering phone calls on day of service, also due to rescheduling constraints because of inclement weather and freight
damaged equipment.  When attempting to schedule an appointment, Ms. ****** spoke to the General Manager who made adjustments to the schedule to have someone out on a Saturday morning.  Ms. ****** was very pleasant and patient and worked out a time with the General Manager who worked out a complete list of items concerning Ms. ******.  Some items included picking up boxes, a defective damper board from manufacture was replaced. Last items before completing services were to relocate downstairs thermostat to help balance temperatures in house.

Affordable completed service and provided Ms. ****** with adequate discounts of $620 from invoice to compensate for her troubles and accepted.  All services have been paid in full to date.  It is disappointing to know that Ms. ****** had to go as far as writing a complaint to the BBB but we do understand. All during this ordeal Ms. ****** was very pleasant and patient with us.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Progress has been made but there is still one outstanding item.

Response:
For work that was scheduled to begin July 3 and be done in two days with a crew of four; it has taken an elapsed time of approximately 6 weeks with the last visit on Mon Aug 12, 2013.

What prompted this grievance was the request that one of the replacement air conditioning units would be working completely before replacing the remainder on July 10/July 11, 2013.  This was not the case and this caused all areas of the home to be hot.  When I called and requested the appropriate party to come and inspect the situation; it was not honored.   A neighbor came over to assist as to what might
be causing the system to not work, i.e.  thermostat, etc.  He found that there had been a complete gap left between some of the major components and cold air that should have come into the house was leaking into the attic.
 
Serious work on resolving the issues did not really begin until I received a call from the General Manager as a result of filing complaint with BBB and I provided a list of approximately 11 to 12 items that had been identified.
 
The Affordable Air Conditioning crew were always courteous but there appeared to be times of miscommunication and not having the right person(s) that could identify and resolve the problem(s).
Progress has been made and most of home is cooling correctly to the thermostat setting and I have a two year warranty that will allow
for any needed followups this winter and next year.
 
However, there is still an outstanding item. (1) the upstairs bathroom air cooling solution.  This has
Been an issue since July 18 and I am still waiting for a solution.





Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: To whom this may concern;

The complaint issued by Ms. ******* ******: “ there is still an outstanding item. (1) the upstairs bathroom air cooling solution.  This has Been an issue since July 18 and I am still waiting for a solution.”

Although the upstairs bathroom was not completed. A plan was put in place that may help with cooling down that specific bathroom. Ms. ****** and our Sales person (****) agreed on a plan to install an exhaust fan and a pass thru grill in which the exhaust fan would draw cooler air from the conditioned space outside of the bathroom.

While at the jobsite it was clearly communicated that because where the bathroom. There was never a duct run in the bathroom to begin with. Upon reviewing the situation it was discovered that a duct run could not be installed to space restrictions, no access above ceiling to run a duct.

While the proposal for the systems was being drawn the bathroom situation was not included due to no access to run ducts. Ms ****** completely understood we would have no way to install a duct. However, Our salesperson offered to try a solution at no charge to attempt to get airflow in to the bathroom by installing and pass thru grill and a new exhaust fan. However will not resolve her problems with airflow in bathroom. The homeowner will be required to sign a waiver of responsibility or liabilities relieving Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing before the installation of the exhaust fan. Which is scheduled to take place on 8/29/13.

On 8/29/13 our service manager arrived at Ms Forrer’s house to discuss options that could be done to improve airflow in the upstairs bathroom. Ms. ****** was well aware of the structural obstacles why a duct and duct grill could not be installed because of the house frame in the bathroom, also the customer was well aware the additional airflow to the bathroom was not part of the original contract. Service Manager and Ms. ****** discussed the pass thru gate would not be sufficient to provide airflow. Ms ****** then told our Service Manager that she had orders a full length louvered door and felt that would be sufficient to provide better airflow and it was agreed upon that no further work from Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing was to be done. Other options would be to run a duct into the wall and would be exposed and would have to build a fir down to hide the duct. Ms. ****** declined the offer and is going with the Full Length Louvered door instead. No further action was taken and job completed.

Thank you.

**** *********
General Manager
Affordable Air Conditioning and Plumbing

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1