Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Home Solutions

Phone: (512) 450-1980 Fax: (512) 454-8391 2116 White Horse Trail, Austin, TX 78757 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aplusac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Home Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Home Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Home Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1972 Business started: 02/01/1972 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1972 Business incorporated 04/26/1977 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Yamin, President Mr. Josh Yamin, Home Solutions Ms. Sharon Yamin, Vice President Ms. Debi Mayes, Administrator Mr. David Shinn, Dispatcher
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Yamin, President
Principal: Mr. Josh Yamin, Home Solutions
Principal: Ms. Sharon Yamin, Vice President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - Insulation Deck - Repair Deck Builder Weatherization Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Home Repair & Maintenance Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Energy Conservation Products & Services Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Christmas Lights & Decorations Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Air Balancing

Products & Services

A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Home Solutions sells the following brand(s): Carrier, Honeywell, Lennox

A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Home Solutions offers the following product(s): Central Air Conditioning & Heating systems, filters, thermostats

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
We accept MasterCard, Visa & Discover.  Personal checks, or cash.
Alternate Business Names
A-Plus Air Conditioning & Heating A-Plus Energy Management A-Plus Energy Management & Air Conditioning A-Plus Energy Management Air Conditioning & Heating A-Plus Energy Management, A/C & Heating Austin A-Plus Services, Inc.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2116 White Horse Trail

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 450-1980

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a very expensive ($11,000) air conditioning filter system from this company based on what the owner (****) advised. The purchase included an extended service warranty. There were numerous problems with the company's brand new top-of-the-line product—it broke down repeatedly and had to have numerous repairs. The owner has always been extremely unhelpful and it is through my persistence that the problems ever got resolved. The latest problem involves our service contract. The company failed to properly service the unit and replace the specialized air conditioning filter we purchased from them—they told us that only they could provide the needed filter and we could not purchase it directly so were at their mercy. This lack of proper servicing resulted in undue wear and tear on the new AC unit which will translate into a shorter lifespan. This was brought to my attention when their service technician came out to service the unit and told me that the filter was supposed to have been changed during the last inspection and may have resulted in permanent and expensive damage to the unit. When I called to find out why this had not been done, the owner ****, told me that it was overlooked in a very rude an unapologetic manner and told me it was not his responsibility although we have a service contract with him. A-plus then installed a new filter and I wanted to deduct the filter cost off the cost of our maintenance agreement—the agreement had not been fulfilled because A-plus did not properly service the unit we purchased from them and caused damage. I spoke to the owner about this and he said he would get back to me. We have not received a bill with the service cost deducted as of yet but their accounting department has called and I have explained the situation to them and it still has not been resolved.

Desired Settlement: We would settle for a billing adjustment with the service cost deducted from the filter cost and would appreciate an apology from the owner.

Business Response: I am aware of the customers concerns and they have been
addressed, however not to her satisfaction. 
The letter that was sent to her is attached.

 

To better understand her concerns, we should go back to
2010.  The AC system and air purifying
system that was sold to her was at her behest. 
Typically, I do not encourage 2 stage compressor systems, nor do I
encourage any air purifying systems.  She
wanted top of the line ****** and that is what my proposal for her included.  When I reviewed my original notes from 2009,
I had noted she wanted a 2 stage system and not what I was offering at the
time.  In addition, the original proposal
did not include the pure air cleaning system; she added that when we did the
job a year later.  ****** was running a
promotion and there were rebates for the top of the line system, thermostat and
pure air system.  We gave her what she
asked for, not what we would have offered. 
We were also supposed to do some duct wrapping, insulation, and other
energy conservation work that was modified because she had someone else do the
work outside the Austin energy program.   She did not want us to do the insulation
because we felt she needed other attic openings to do a good job wrapping the
ducts and blowing the insulation so she got someone else to do the
insulation.  This compromised our duct
sealing job, but we did the best we could and it passed the Austin energy
inspection.  She had airflow issues we
told her we could not address because she had metal ducts and the roof pitch
was too low.  The only attic access was
in a closet next to the unit and there was no reasonable access to address any
issues in the attic.  There is a copy of office
emails from that date regarding the above information that will also be
attached.

 

Shortly after the installation, the customer called with a
complaint that the unit did not cool well in the afternoons.   She was informed that if it was due to
insulation or duct wrapping that we could not help her because someone else had
done the insulation. Since they did it before we did the duct work, we could
only do the best we could under the circumstances that was left us.  After several visits, it turned out to be a
bad txv (expansion valve) and we replaced it under warranty.  Then, there were possible thermostat issues,
and after several visits to correct the problem, we found it necessary to have
****** send ****, their field representative to check out the new system.  He missed the first appointment, but made it
when we rescheduled.  He commented the
return air was too small, but we had addressed this with the homeowner and she
did not want to do what we suggested.   Mind you, to this point, none of the issues
have been due to poor installation, and in all cases we responded and continued
to pursue what needed to be done to fix the problem.

 

In May, 2011 there was a free cooling check up, and on
January, 2012 there was a heating checkup. We had included the two free
checkups with our original proposal as a bonus incentive.  The supply air plenum was still leaking some
air and this was repaired under warranty as well.  There was no cooling check up done in the
spring of 2012.  However, in the fall of
2012 she invested in an annual maintenance agreement and the first checkup we
did for that was for the heater.  In
February, 2013 she called the office with a no cooling call.  We went out, checked the circuit board and
refrigerant pressures.  The switch on the
board was re-set and the pressures checked out fine.  At this time, she was told her filter was
dirty and needed replacing.   She asked
*****, our dispatcher, for the cost of the replacement filter and he quoted her
$256 if she installed it and additional if we did.  She asked us to order the filter kit and
bring it to her when we did her prepaid check up that was still due.  Homeowner was to install the filter kit
herself.   As it turned out, after performing the prepaid
check-up, the tech helped her install it and did not even charge her for his
time.  At this time she refused to pay
for the filter and told us it was our fault for not reminding her it needed to
be done, that we should have automatically brought it, and now her unit is
probably dirty because of us, and she refused to pay us.  She wanted us to admit it was our fault and
give her credit for the service call that locked out the control board.  I refused. 


 

In conclusion, I would like to add (also stated in my letter
to her), as a courtesy to our customers, we send two to four reminders a year
regarding spring and fall checkups.  We
also send a first quarter newsletter.  In
not one single case has any of her mail been returned to us.  I cannot take responsibility for her not
taking care of her own equipment.  We do
not call and remind customers to change filters.  With a customer base in the five figures, we consider
ourselves fortunate that we are able to send post card reminders.  I think if she would check around, she would
find out that we more than exceed what our competitors do by sending multiple
mailings, and not just one.  I cannot, in
good conscience, apologize for something that I feel we are not responsible for.  The customer ought to take responsibility for
her own actions, or lack of.  From what I
can tell looking back at the invoices in her file, in all cases the issues have
been addressed in a timely manner and that none of them have had anything to do
with a poor installation.  The problems
were from parts that failed.  This has
nothing to do with our work and we have always been responsive and not charged
for any of the calls. The owner would like to be credited the cost of the
annual maintenance agreement where all of the work has been performed.   We do not see the validity of that, but I am
open to arbitration and will abide by the BBB decisions.  

**** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


The things he said are untrue.  He cannot provide one bit of evidence because everything he said is deceitful and he runs a deceitful business.

Regards,

***** *****





























5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They installed a new AC system for me in july 2010, in order to make the drain pan for the system fit they bent it around a gas pipe. They did not tell me that they did this and that I may want a plumber to consider moving the gas pipe. They did not test the drain pan by filling it with water to assure that the modified product would still function to trigger the float switch and turn the system off to prevent flooding of the attic. Three years later when a home inspector notified me of the modified drain pan I asked the company to come look at their installation and do the test on the drain pan they should have originally done. They now want to charge me a diagnostic charge and service charge to do what they should have done correctly the 1st time. I am also upset that no proper documentation was done. If they had notified me originally and documented it in my paperwork then they never would have had to make the return service call visit.

Desired Settlement: No charge on the return service call and documentation of the diagnostics done showing the drain pan and float switch are functioning sufficiently in their current state for me to provide to the purchaser of my home.

Business Response: We installed anew AC sy-tem (HVAC) and did a full weatherization job in 2010. The total of just under $12,000 includ= both the weatherization and HVAC system. The entire job passed the final inspection with ******* ****** inspectors. Since that time, 3 years have passed and the customer has had no problams that we know of. The unit installed was installed properly or it would not have passed inection.Every job weinstall is dirent. Installing an HVAC system is not like plugging in a new refrigerator. There are trimly components that need to be put together. That's why it's so important to have a company who knows how to install them properly.
Each house we go to is configured differently, and each system is modified accordingly. We don't find it necessary to make notes like that in a Lie because each job is different. After each installation, as part of the job, we blow out the drain line and water test the drain pan. At that time, the float switched worked fine. There have been no problems that we know of since the installation which was alsoconfirmed by the homeowner.
When the customer listed the house for sale, and the home inspector made a note that there"was an improper install", the customer called us about it. There were no notes in the file because it wasn't necessary, there was nothing unusual about the job. We pulled the file and explained to the homeowner that the job passed the final inspection and as far as we knew (homeowner agreed) everything was working properly. Therefore, we didn't need to come out and test anything or check that ou job was installed correctly. The homeowner insisted we send a technician to check that our job.If there had been a  problem, we would have corrected it as a warranty call at no charge, even. now, 3 years later. The trachnician verified that the unit was working properly. However, we still have to pay a technician ID come out there and spend time going over the system to see that there was no problem. When the technician went out, he tested the drain line and filled the pan with water. He also fixed leak in one of the ducts. The original charge was $181, and was discounted to$120.00. (rot sure where the $125 came from).The homeowner should  already have paperwork from us after the install showing that it passed inspection. That should be enough, in addition to the fact that she's had no service on the unit for the last 3 years. Or, we she can pay us for theservice provided and we will write something for her to give the purcluEier ofthe home. In addition, we ask that the homeowner retract all of the bad reviewsplaced on social media like **** & ******* ****.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

To say that I have never serviced the unit is ridiculous.  They have serviced it themselves twice (I even had a service agreement with them) and I also just had it serviced again in preparation for the sale.  I also used this company for years when the home was a rental, so I have given them business many times and would have continued to do so and even written good reviews online if I felt they were doing the right thing.
The technician said to my husband "I never would have installed it like that"  and the paperwork they gave me afterwords says nothing about filling the pan with water to check the float switch and showing that it works.  
The paperwork I received says: "Found gas line bending secondary pan.  The gas line needs to be repaired by a plumber, then the secondary pan will be good.  When the gas line is repaired we need to come back and bend secondary pan back but it is good though.  Also sealed some ductwork that was missed during the install."
In their reply to my online complaint of another site they claim they filled the pan with water on initial install to check it, but during a conversation with the owner he told me personally that the bent pan had never been tested in this manor prior and that they just do a customary test of the float switch.  Therefore admitting there was no way to know 100% before coming to my house this time that the bent pan would function properly when filled with water.
They refuse to meet any of my demands and counter propose a demand of their own.....
Regards,

******** ********

Business Response: I am not sure what the customer wants besides a no charge visit.  We have done preventative maintenance several times and have never had a problem that has warranted servicing a repair.  This is what we meant by her not having the unit serviced.   True the pan was bent.  true the gas line caused the bending.  true a plumber must move any gas lines by code (however not required at this time).  true there is no problem.  The pan was tested, although not noted in writing but verbalized.  True the overflow switch was tested.  It  worked perfectly.  The owner has lived there and has never had to call for any water issues.  Ducts were leak tested when done through the city and there was less than 10% leakage in order to pass the city inspection.  It appears ***** went over and above to seal other leaks he found when he was sent to test the drain pan.  we commend his good work.  these were not missed at installation, this just made a good job better.  If the pipe was illegal, or if the pan was not proper, or if the air leaks were a problem, the job would not have passed inspection.  that is why we pull permits and do everything to code.   I hope this better explains our position.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I would like in writing that the pan and float switch were tested in their current condition, how they were tested and that they are functioning.
i would like the service fee dropped, but it seems the company is unwilling to do this under any circumstances.  To resolve this complaint, at a minimum, I would like the requested documentation.  If they prefer I will pay the fee due and retain my right to express my opinion on the situation anywhere else I like.

Regards,

******** ********