BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allco Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allco Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allco Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 22, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Allison, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Allison, Owner
Business Category

Windows Windows - Repairing Gutters & Downspouts Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Delivery Issues
1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation was not made in color ordered. Rugged Canyon was ordered. The color installed does not match what was picked out from the sample Allco provided. Although the contract states that payment is made upon completion of work, ** ******* (6 months same as cash) funded the project on 4/4/13, before the job started. Company never obtained a permit from the City of Copperas Cove to install the siding as required by the city building code. Contractor did not clean up the job site daily as outlined in the contact. ***** had to spend many hours cleaning up after the workers. Company representative (*** ********) has made numerous arrangements to come out, and then not shown up throughout the project without a courtesy call. Owner (***** *******) was advised of the situation on 5/20/13 (by daughter, **** ********), yet as of today's date, we are still not satisfied with the job performed. Although the materials have been installed, the color is wrong and the workmanship on the wheelchair ramp in not acceptable. Large gaps in the material (not sure what it is, but it was very sharp) on the handrail are filled with caulk and painted and paint color is different, brush strokes are evident, the brackets were not painted and several nails on the posts and caps have begun to rust in less than a month. The representative "threw in" (not specified in contract) 4 shutters, however, the plastic screws are not holding and they are coming out. Therefore the shutters are not flush with the house and the screws are protruding.

Desired Settlement: We (****** and *****) are open to several options. 1. Complete the project as specified in the contract within 30 days (the correct color and quality) 2. Negotiate a price settlement for us to accept the color not ordered and complete the project to our satisfaction. 3. Refund the full contact amount so that we can find another contractor to do the complete work without Allco coming back out to home

Business Response: ***** signed completion (see attached)

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Allco Contractors on 3-25-2013 finalized contract to install new siding, soffit and fascia and gutters on ****** and ***** *****'s home. This agreement was reached after 3 meetings with the *****'s. The color was chosen by Mr. and Mrs. ***** after carefully looking at the samples. The color was discussed at length prior to any work beginning because Mrs. ***** explained that another company had installed the wrong color previously on their home. The work began on April 3, 2013. Allco's General manager was on the job site on April 4, 2013, met with Mrs. ***** and the job was proceeding smoothly and to her satisfaction. During the course of the project the General Manager went by daily to inspect job. He also spoke with Mr. ***** via telephone throughout the project. After the siding was installed the gutter crew came and installed the gutters. Allees general manager again went over job with both Mr. and Mrs, *****. Both expressed how great the home looked and both loved the new siding.

At this meeting, April 19, 2013 it was explained to both Mr, and Mrs. ***** that the wheelchair ramp would have to be first power-washed, then primed and then painted. Each stage would follow after wood had a chance to properly dry. On April 21, 2013 the General manager personally brought a man to the *****'s to power-wash the ramp. On April 22, 2013 the General Manager again brought a painter to prime the deck of the ramp. Mrs. ***** was not home during these visits but the manager spoke with her on the phone. Mrs. ***** did express that she wished she would have been home at the time the washing was done, but it was explained to
her that schedules had to be kept and she was not able to be home till after working hours.

Over the course of this project. Allco's general manager was at the *****'s home on April 4, 5,6, 8,9, 10,10,11, 13,14 19,21,23. May 5,9,12,21,22, June 4,9,10,15,21 25, Mr. and Mrs. ***** were advised that the shutters had to be special ordered and thus there would be a delay on installing shutters. Mr. ***** and Allco's General Manager have been in constant contact via telephone throughout this project. The number of telephone
conversations exceeds 32 to date.

There were technical difficulties with the metal wrapping attached to the handrails of the wheelchair ramp. To remedy this issues, a sealer was used to safely ensure where metal seams joined. This was custom work and Mrs. ***** expressed her satisfaction with said work many times over.  The color issue was discussed at length and Mrs. ***** was shown the EXACT SAME SAMPLE that she and MR. ***** chose BEFORE the project began. Mrs. ***** has installed on her home the color she chose. She was confused in her discussions with her daughter.

The owner of Allco Contractors spoke with the *****'s daughter on 5-20-13. He advised her at this time the shutters were on order. Never was the color mentioned during this conversation. The reason why is obvious. The
correct color was installed on the home.!

On June 25;2013 Allco's general manager met with Mrs. *****, her daughter and son-in-law. Mrs. ***** was again shown the sample color she had chosen,and compared it to the siding installed on the home. All parties AGREED that exactly the correct color was installed. The touch up paint used was discussed and again it was AGREED on by all parties that the colors were correct. A short punch list was discussed and completed. Allco provided numerous extras on this job ncluding but not limited to : special order shutters, custom made hooks for Christmas decorations,new electical fixtures to replace old fixtures that were inoperative due to age and neglect.

Mr. and Mr. ***** are fully satisfied with Allco Contractors performance and feel that they have a top quality job.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Allco Contractors
**** ******* ***** **** ***
Austin, Texas 78756

Re: ****** and ***** *****
**** **** *** ***
******** ***** ***** *****

Allco Contractors on 3-25-2013 finalized contract to install new siding, soffit and fascia and gutters on ****** and ***** ******* home. This agreement was reached after 3 meetings with the *****'s. The color was chosen by Mr. and Mrs. ***** after carefully looking at the samples. The color was discussed at length prior to any work beginning because Mrs. ***** explained that another company had installed the wrong color previously on their home. The work began on April 3, 2013. Allco's General manager was on the job site on April 4, 2013, met with Mrs. ***** and the job was proceeding smoothly and to her
satisfaction. During the course of the project the General Manager went by daily to inspect job. He also spoke with Mr. ***** via telephone throughout the project. After the siding was installed the gutter crew came and installed the gutters. Allees general manager again went over job with both Mr. and Mrs, *****. Both expressed how great the home looked and both loved the new siding.

At this meeting, April 19, 2013 it was explained to both Mr, and Mrs. ***** that the wheelchair ramp would have to be first power-washed, then primed and then painted. Each stage would follow after wood had a chance to properly dry. On April 21, 2013 the General manager personally brought a man to the ******* to power-wash the ramp. On April 22, 2013 the General Manager again brought a painter to prime
the deck of the ramp. Mrs. ***** was not home during these visits but the manager spoke with her on the phone. Mrs. ***** did express that she wished she would have been home at the time the washing was done, but it was explained to her that schedules had to be kept and she was not able to be home till after working hours.

Over the course of this project. Allco's general manager was at the ******* home on April 4, 5,6, 8,9, 10,10,11, 13,14 19,21,23. May 5,9,12,21,22, June 4,9,10,15,21 25, Mr. and Mrs. ***** were advised that the
shutters had to be special ordered and thus there would be a delay on installing shutters. Mr. ***** and Allco's General Manager have been in constant contact via telephone throughout this project. The number of telephone conversations exceeds 32 to date.

There were technical difficulties with the metal wrapping attached to the handrails of the wheelchair ramp. To remedy this issues, a sealer was used to safely ensure where metal seams joined. This was custom work and Mrs. ***** expressed her satisfaction with said work many times over. The color issue was discussed at length and Mrs. ***** was shown the EXACT SAME SAMPLE that she and MR. ***** chose BEFORE the project began. Mrs. ***** has installed on her home the color she chose. She was confused in her discussions with her daughter.

The owner of Allco Contractors spoke with the ******* daughter on 5-20-13. He advised her at this time the shutters were on order. Never was the color mentioned during this conversation. The reason why is obvious. The correct color was installed on the home.!

On June 25;2013 Allco's general manager met with Mrs. *****, her daughter and son-in-law. Mrs. ***** was again shown the sample color she had chosen,and compared it to the siding installed on the home. All parties AGREED that exactly the correct color was installed. The touch up paint used was discussed and again it was AGREED on by all parties that the colors were correct. A short punch list was discussed
and completed. Allco provided numerous extras on this job ncluding but not limited to : special order shutters, custom made hooks for Christmas decorations,new electical fixtures to replace old fixtures that were
inoperative due to age and neglect.

Mr. and Mr. ***** are fully satisfied with Allco Contractors performance and feel that they have a top quality job.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Although the work as been completed, I have spoken with Allco to obtain warranty infomation on the installed materials.

The contract lists a "lifetime transferable warranty" but does not indicate the "factory producing the material"

I received information by mail on a ****** siding warranty, but nothing in the paperwork sent or on the contract itself indicates that this is the material that was in fact installed on the home of ****** *****, **** **** *** ***, ******** ***** ******* (the paperwork only lists  "new vinyl siding - ruggged canyon"). 

I called ****** siding (Ply Gem) to see what would be needed in the event that there was a claim on the warranty.  They stated that a statement from the contractor would suffice in the event the material is not listed on the original paperwork (which it is not).  He further stated that it would be best if they indicated what supplier it was purchased from as contractors do not direct purchase from the manufacturer.

I tried to email Allco today for this information but the email came back as "undeliverable" "mailfolder is full".




Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: TO BBB

The Warranty That We sent to the Customer States the name Of The vinyl Siding which is ******.
The Supply Company is *** ******. Located in Nolanville, Texas.
**** ******* ****.
The Computer System was Down for a Few Days. It's up and Running
Now. She must have tried to Email at that time.
Thanks to the BBB for Providing Their Service.

ALLCO CONTRACTORS Serving Central Texas For Over 35 Years.
Proud to Be A+ Rated By BBB Of Central Texas.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In my original complaint I stated that Allco installed the wrong color. My sales contract states that I ordered "Rugged Canyon".

On Friday, 6/28/13 *** ******** met us at the house to look at the color and incomplete work (at that time). He brought out samples of the siding. ***** stated that they were not those that she originally chosen from. *** stated that it was all he had. He showed us a "book" with a siding sample marked "Rugged Canyon" on the book, (the siding itself was an insert). ***** again said it wasn't what she looked at and asked "how do I know you didn't change the sample?" He stated "I wouldn't do that" and was very emphatic that she had been mistaken and the siding installed was the color she had chosen.

Since we were at an impasse we had no further discussion on the color issue during this visit, but went on to discuss the incomplete work.

When *** returned to the house to complete work the July 3rd, he stated that the manufacturer was "PlyGem/****** Siding".  ***** signed off on the completion of the work based on the falsified color information provided by Allco.

We called ****** Siding for a color chart.  After receiving the manufacturer’s color chart we verified that the siding color installed on our home was Pebblestone Clay and not Rugged Canyon.

We called PlyGem/****** Siding a 2nd time to make sure there had been no color changes within their line of products.   They stated the colors have not changed and are consistent.

Since we did not have any proof of the warranty or the product manufacturer, we requested this information from Allco.  Upon confirmation of the product installed, we have verification that the wrong color was installed on our home.  

Allco should make full restitution for not only installing the wrong color on our home, but for the unethical and purposely deceptive manner in which we were  made to believe that we were the ones mistaken .   


Regards,

****** *****

Consumer Response: ****,

As discussed, attached is a copy of the Allco-Moore contract and the pictures of what was installed (Pebblestone Clay) vs. what was ordered (Rugged Canyon).

Please let me know if we can provide anything else.

Thank you,

****

Business Response: To BBB,

IN KEEPING WITH OUR CUSTOMER GOODWILL SPIRIT. ALLCO CONTRACTORS WILL REPLACE THE EXTERIOR WALL VINYL SIDING ON ***** HOUSE IN COPPERAS COVE WITH THE COLOR OF THEIR CHOICE.

THANK YOU

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me with the following provisions.

We would like the original color selected, (Mastic) Rugged Canyon as stated in our contract, installed on our home. 

 

The following items were installed/painted on our home by Allco in “Pebblestone Clay” or a color designed to match and need to be replaced:

 

·       Siding

·       Fascia (on house and inside of porch)

·       Porch posts

·       Gutters with gutter screens

·       Downspouts

·       Shutters

·       Handicapped ramp to include:

o   Posts and caps

o   Handrails

o   Ramp decking (painted with matching anti-slip paint)

o   Metal plate (painted)

·       Metal door plate at front door (painted)

 

Allco will also:

 

·       Attain a building permit as required by the City of Copperas Cove

·       Use only galvanized nails and screws

·       Clean up of work-site on a daily basis

·       Replace the light clips as currently installed (evenly on the front and back of home 10” apart)

 

 

All communication from here on out will only be made through **** ******** ***** ******** (or the BBB website) who has full legal power of attorney to act on behalf of both **** and ***** *****. 

 

I expect scheduled installation dates that will be dedicated to this job to be completed in an agreed upon timeframe (i.e. 3 days, 1 week, etc).  I expect advance notice (phone call or text message) the day prior to a scheduled installation/work day if Allco is not able to keep a scheduled appointment. I will be traveling 150 miles round trip and cannot come into town for no-shows or partial work days (less than 6 hours). 



Regards,
****** *****/**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 4th of April,i signed an agreement with said entity,for Vinyl siding to be put on my home of residence. The work started a week or so later,delays that i felt were excessive as i was told that the materials were in the warehouse and ready to go,regardless,they started,and finished,they left and said they would come back to complete the punch list ,as well as the guttering with screens,that was 10 days ago,and i'm still getting the runaround,that it will take a week to get something repaired on the gutter machine,then i get the excuse that they ordered the wrong parts for the gutter machine,all the time,i felt that they have bypassed me to take care of issues up in ****,Tx..I have yet to have the punch list completed as well as the gutters done,also no one has come in to pick up all of the nails,screws etc,that may puncture my riding lawn mower tires,as well as my truck tires.I have paid for the job,and the job hasn't been completed

Desired Settlement: If i have to do the work myself,i expect a monetary reimbursement to take care of supplies,as well as hourly wage.If they come back and do the work to my satisfaction that would be fine,i do expect something for my having to wait excessively for the job completion though.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sirs: I would like to say in regards to allco corporations work,it is outstanding,and professional,the problem is that they haven't completed the punch list as well as the guttering,i understand there is a problem with the gutter making machine,i was told that they are coming on thursday,May 23rd to complete this job,also i stated that i have paid for the job of the amount of ******,well,i owe the money to the finance company,and Allco has received their money,i have paid back to the lending institution ****** of the ******,therefore i would like to resend my previous complaint of the company,and wait and see what they'll do come the 23rd of this month.This is *************************


Regards,

****** *****




















Business Response: Allco Contractors and Mr. ***** signed contract to install siding and soffitt/facia on April 4, 2011 The work began on April 11, 2013 as planned. Mr. ***** was the next job in line. The work proceeded and was completed on April 27, 2013.
In the course of doing the project it was determined by contractor that homeowners gutter were not salvageable due to neglect and improper care by homeowner. When this problem was discovered. ALLCO CONTRACTORS OFFERRED TO INSTALL NEW GUTTERS AND LEAF SCREEN AT NO CHARGE TO HOMEOWNER!!!
It was explained to Mr. ***** at this time that gutter material would be ordered and that to match color this would take 10 days and because Mr. ***** required oversized gutters, to properly meet needs that a different part for gutter machine had also to be ordered. ALLOF THESE ISSUES WERE DISCUSSED WITH AND AGREED UPON BETWEEN MR. ***** AND ALLCO CONTRACTORS.
IT WAS ALSO EXPLAINED TO MR, ***** THAT ALLCO CONTRACTORS WAS SENDING ALL AVAILABLE CREWS TO ****, TEXAS TO ASSIST PREVIOUS CUSTOMERS THAT HAD SUSTAINED DEVASTATING DAMAGE TO THEIR HOMES AFTER THE EXPLOSION WHICH TOOK PLACE IN ****.
As was scheduled, the gutters were installed on Mr. ******* home on May 23, 2013 and the punch out list was completed.
Mr. ***** has asked the Better Business Bureau to withdraw his complaint because he is TOTALLY SATISFIED, but the policy of the BBB does not allow withdrawal, even when said complaint was made in error.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 14, 2013 I met with ***** ********, owner of Allco Contractors and signed a contract for $7960.00 which reads: Custom Build and Install White Vinyl SIMONTON windows for 13 openings,.....etc. VISTA windows were installed. The installation was poorly done. There has been no explaination of the "switch". Another curious action was that I was asked to make my check to ***** ******* instead of Allco Construction.

Desired Settlement: Simonton window replacement and improved installation.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Delivery Issues
2/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1