Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Renewal by Andersen of Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Renewal by Andersen of Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Renewal by Andersen of Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 2011 Business started: 10/01/2010 Business started locally: 10/01/2010 Business incorporated 08/20/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Lamb, Director of Marketing
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Windows

Alternate Business Names
C.L.Cashion Enterprises LLC
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Renewal by Andersen of Austin has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2100 Kramer Ln Ste 600

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 834-8383 (512) 835-1500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I bought over $64,000 of replacement windows/doors. The company refuses to provide information we need to apply for an energy tax credit. On 7/8/2014, my wife and I contracted with Andersen for replacement windows and doors in our home. The total cost was over $64,000. From my perspective the benefit of the installation was the ability to apply for a federal income tax residential energy savings tax credit. Upon beginning this year's tax process I learned that the tax credit is based ONLY upon the products (windows and doors) cost, without regard to installation costs, etc. The contract we signed listed ONLY a final total cost, in excess of $64,000, with no item breakdown. I was put in touch with the ******** *******, ******* ****** out of Austin, TX., by one of the Renewal of Andersen representatives and I advised him by email on 2/4/2015 that I needed the total product price for the windows and for the doors installed in my house. I provided him with my name, address, the job number and installation date. The response I received on 2/6/2015 follows: "Regarding your question about the tax implication of your purchase from Renewal by Andersen. The contract you signed for the installation of your windows is a package price all inclusive of materials, labor advertising, marketing and corporate overhead etc. Our pricing methodology does not account for a breakdown by individual category of cost to you. Additionally you were not charged any sales tax. At the end of 2014 President Obama extended the Residential Energy Tax Credit act. Renewal by Andersen of Dallas does not offer tax advice. You should seek counsel from your tax adviser or legal counsel to determine if you qualify for this Tax credit. We have included a link with additional detail that you find helpful. I trust this answers your questions and concerns. **********************************************************************. ******* * ****** ** Sent from my iPhone" In short, *** ****** refused to supply me with the information I needed. While Andersen's "pricing methodology" did not allow for the breakdown of the contract price into "materials, labor advertising, marketing and corporate overhead etc., although materials-windows and doors was all I needed, it certainly provided for the aggregation of the contract price to include materials, labor advertising, marketing and corporate overhead, etc., for a contract cost exceeding $64,000.00. Additionally, if, as suggested by *** ******, I had consulted with a tax expert, he would have advised me, as Andersen well knew, that I needed to know the product cost for the windows and the product cost for the doors to correctly fill out the required IRS form and determine if I qualified for an energy tax credit. And the reason that we know what Anderson well knew, is that in the "link with additional detail that I might find helpful" which *** ****** so kindly included in his email, is a link to an Andersen website. Front and center in that link is language included below: "LIMITATIONS Tax credit is for the cost of the product only. The credit does not include installation costs." It is deceptive advertising to claim that one's product qualifies for a credit that the company knows requires information which they refuse to provide. It is just as deceptive to refuse to provide such information behind a claim of a "pricing methodology" which has no problem building a contract price out of various criteria-materials, labor advertising, marketing and corporate overhead etc.,-but is claimed to be equally incapable of providing any of the components of its total. But if that is to be believed, It only follows that NOT ONE customer of Andersen Corporation has ever legally claimed a federal energy savings tax credit, because by their own admission the taxpayer would lack the information required to complete the form-the materials cost information-due to Andersen's "pricing methodology," Yet, somehow, Andersen continues to be permitted to tout in their products advertising and on their Internet site, energy savings ability and tax credit availability.

Desired Settlement: I need the total cost of the product, without installation, overhead, profit, etc., as per the IRS, for all of the Windows (just one sum) and for the two doors (just one sum) that my wife and I purchased from Andersen for a total contract price of over $64,000. The two separate prices for the product are necessary because the IRS form requires that the total cost of the windows be put on one line and the total cost of the doors be put on another. I don't need their cost to Andersen, the profit they made-just the price that they charged me for the windows and the price they charged me for the doors.

Business Response: We contacted *** ******** the week we received the notification from BBB. We were able to provide him with the requested information and apologized for the communication challenge in getting it to him more timely.

Consumer Response: I filed a BBB Complaint against Andersen at their corporate headquarters in Minnesota, the Regional office for Renewal by Andersen in Austin, Texas and also their Dallas, Texas office. I WAS NOT AND HAVE NEVER BEEN CONTACTED BY ANYONE FROM ANDERSEN BY PHONE, BY EMAIL, OR BY REGULAR MAIL. NOR HAVE I EVER BEEN PROVIDED WITH ANY OF THE INFORMATION I HAVE REQUESTED. The response by Andersen is a LIE. As a result of the intentional action by Andersen my wife and I were forced to forego claiming the federal energy tax credit on our tax return to which we were entitled. If I EVER do get the information to which we are entitled, because of their willful and intentional fraudulent business practices, I will have to go through the time, trouble and expense of filing an Amended Federal Tax Return.

Consumer Response: On April 29, 2015, approximately 4 months after I first attempted to obtain pricing information from Renewal by Andersen, necessary for my wife and I to properly file our Federal Income Tax return and claim a Residential Energy Credit, I finally received cost of materials information that I had been told in an email from a ******** ****** for Renewal by Andersen was not available because their "pricing methodology did not account for a breakdown by individual category of cost to me. Using this previously "unavailable" information my wife and I were finally able to file an Amended Federal Income Tax return. We very much appreciate the assistance of the Better Business Bureau in the resolution of this matter

6/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 windows plus installation on or about 2 April, 2014 from Renewal by Anderson of Austin. I paid $600 down and financed $2,699 through a 18 month offer through their finance offer for a total of $3,299. The finance Co. was GreenSky of Atlanta, GA, and was "no interest" if I paid the $2,699 in 18 months. Windows were installed and very satisfactory. I received a statement and made my first payment of $165 on 13 May, 2014. I received a second statement from GeenSky And found to my dismay that Renwal by Anderson of Austin, TX had added an additional $2,699 charge to my account on 20 May, 2014. When I contacted the company they had no explanation for this action but did not take any corrective action and told me they had to talk to an unnamed salesman. According to GreenSky Financing, I now owe the additional $.2,699. I made a second payment of $170 to GreenSky on 14 June, 2014. ******* E **** LCOL, USAF, Retired

Desired Settlement: I would like an immediate adjustment to my account and a phone call from Renewal of apology and explanation.

Business Response: On Monday June 16, following a call from Mr. ****, a letter was mailed to him via USPS outlining his financial transactions. On Tuesday, Renewal by Andersen received another call from Mr. ****, where we gathered his email address to provide him with the content from the letter via email as well.

 
The contract dated April 2, 2014 listed the window replacement project as having a total cost of $5,998 for the replacement of gliding windows.  A check for $600 was received by Renewal by Andersen at the time of contract, which left a balance of $5,398 to be charged to GreenSky on an 18-month same as cash plan. GreenSky released half of the financed amount to Renewal by Andersen prior to the installation, with the remaining $2,699 to be released to RBA once installation was completed. As the new gliding windows were installed on May 14, 2014, the project was completed as agreed, and Mr. **** authorized the balance to be processed on his GreenSky account to RBA.
 

Mr. **** was unable to locate his contract, so additional copies have been sent to him for his reference. *** ******, Sales Manager, called him again on June 19, 2014 offering to come out to his home and review the work we performed, to go over his paperwork with him, and to answer any additional questions he may have. Mr. **** did not answer, so a voicemail was left, including ***’s office number and personal cell phone number, and as of today, June 20, 2014, he has not returned the call. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

1/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Comment: Dear Sir or Madam, I entered into a contract with Renewal by Anderson on 10-9-13 for replacement of three (3) builder-grade windows to their premium product. This was to be a trial of their service with the expectation to replace all of our home's windows. A deposit of $2000 was given at that time with a balance of $3950 to be paid on installation. Renewal by Anderson came out and measured said windows on 10-15-13 and a date of 11-8-13 was set for install of above windows. I received a courtesy reminder call on 11-7-13 and was told someone would be contacting me between 8:30 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. with information about when the installers would show up at my home. At 10:29 a.m., a representative from Renewal by Anderson called informing me that the installers were on their way and would arrive between 10:00 and 11:00 a.m.. At approximately 11:45 a.m., I called Renewal by Anderson to find out where the installers were located and how long it would be. I was informed at that time that the installers "did not show up" and that "case was being handled by the production manager". I informed that person that I was waiting for a call-back from the person who sold me the windows and to put the installation on hold until I heard from him. I also told that person that I would have appreciated a call to inform me of the status of my install. I received a call from an installer at 12:22 p.m. telling me that he would be available to install my windows after he completed another job but that he did not know what time that would be (but he guaranteed it would be today) and I also received a call from the general manager in ******* ****** at 12:28 p.m. telling me that he had someone standing by and ready to install my windows and that, when questioned about installation time and lack of a updating call, he responded with "we're human beings and everybody makes mistakes". Bottom line is that I'm not comfortable with this company and don't want them installing anything in my home.

Desired Settlement: . A satisfactory resolution to this matter would be that this company keep the $2000 deposit and agree in writing not to put a contractor lien upon my home.

Business Response:

Dear ***** ****, 

 

I’m very sorry about your experience with Renewal by Anderson of ***.  

 

Because the order was processed and manufactured to your specific measurements, under the contract by canceling at this time the deposit of $2000 will be forfeited.  *******, will not require the remainder of the balance, $3950, which was to be paid at time of Installation. In addition, we will not put a lien on the residence. 

 

We will be donating the windows to Habitat for Humanity and would like to donate them in your name if that is ok with you.  This way, you can at least have the option of a donation tax credit. 

 

Again, I’m sincerely sorry we didn’t live up to the RBA standards we hold ourselves to and will work diligently to do so in the future. 

 

 

Kind regards,

 

****** ******

Director of Marketing

AUSTIN | DALLAS | FORT WORTH | OKLAHOMA CITY | TULSA

*********************

************

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We asked for a quote from Renew by Anderson Windows in response to a door-to door solicitation. We made an appointment, but after researching the product, changed our mind and called to cancel the appointment. We received uncountably many calls from them. A few times I answered and asked them not to call back, but the calls continued. Then they came to the door again and I asked them not to contact us again. This is a Sunday morning and they have called again. These people do not take no for an answer! I will never use their product in the future.

Desired Settlement: Stop Contacting Me

Business Response: My Apologies for the multiple calls. I'm not sure why they weren't taken out of the call system. This has been fixed and this person will not be contacted again. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience. 

Kind regards,


****** ******
******** ** *********


11/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues