BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austintatious Blinds and Shutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austintatious Blinds and Shutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austintatious Blinds and Shutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated: 02/28/2003 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Tracey Hopkins, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tracey Hopkins, Co-Owner
Business Category

Window Shades Window Shades - Equipment & Supplies Window Tinting & Coating - Residential Window Tinting & Coating - Commercial Shutters Vertical Blinds Blinds

Alternate Business Names
Austin-tatious Blinds & Shutters

Additional Locations

  • 12918 Shops Pkwy Ste 700

    Austin, TX 78738

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They installed what they claimed was high quality window-tinting throughout our house, that was supposed to be backed by a warranty. But within a few months the tinting was bubbling and looked terrible. So my wife called them to request that they repair the defective window tinting, but they said that ***** must approve and she will call back. Another week passed with no call from them. So then I called them, and they gave me the same lame excuse that there is only one person that can respond to my request (*****), and she wasn't available, and they would give her the message again. Then 2 more weeks passed, and STILL no call from ***** or anyone from their company. So I called again... they gave me the same run around and claimed that they were really busy and ***** wouldn't be available for another 10 days... What! We have been given the run around for over a month, and now you are telling me that it will be another 10 days before I will even possible get a return phone call?!! Do NOT buy anything from this company. Clearly after a month of giving us the run-around, they have no intentions of backing the warranty or correcting their defective window tinting. There are numerous online reviews from other customers that experienced the same run-around from this company... they have a history of no honoring their committments.

Desired Settlement: Either replace the defective window tinting in a timely manner (within the next week) or give us a refund.

Business Response: We originally met with this client on 6-11-2013, the client purchased the window film on 6-18-2013 and we installed on 6-20-2013.  We followed up with the client after the installation and the client stated that everything looked good and they were happy with the product and service.

We received a call from the client's wife on 4-29-2014, stating that the film had bubbles in the film.  Our business owner called back on 4-30-2014, to try to set up an appointment to examine the film.  (when validating a warranty claim, each manufacturer requires the proprietor of the business or the acting general manager of the business to perform a site visit and take pictures of the film in order to make a warranty claim).  The owner left a voicemail for the client on 4-30-2014, as she was unable to get a hold of anyone to schedule the site visit.  On 5-6-2014, the owner went on the only vacation that she takes a year, which was out of the country and returned on 5-21-2014.  The client called on 5-9-2014, stating that he had not heard from anyone, had called multiple times and was not happy.  The employee that answered the phone explained that the person that needed to validate the warranty claim was returning from vacation 10-11 days and would return his call and schedule a time to take pictures of the film and address all of the issues at that time.  Apparently that day, the client logged a complaint to the BBB stating that our company does not have any intention of backing the warranty of the film, that they had been trying to get in touch with us for over a month with no return phone calls.  The owner returned to work on 5-21-2014, found the notification in our customer management system stating that the client had called on 5-9-2014 and was upset, does not think we have returned any calls.  The owner called the wife on the morning on 5-21-2014 and left a voicemail asking for her husband's phone number.  The wife called back, gave us her husband's phone number and the owner called and left a message again on 5-21-2014.  On the afternoon of 6-3-2014, we received a notification from the BBB stating that this client had lodged a complaint against our company.  We contacted the client that afternoon on 6-3-2014, was finally able to get a hold of him and scheduled the site visit for 6-4-2014 at 9:30am.  This site visit was performed, pictures were taken of the film and is currently being processed with the film manufacturer as a warranty repair. 

We are following up with the client on 6-6-2014 regarding the progress of the claim that was submitted to the manufacturer and once it is all approved the film will be removed and new film will be applied. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  

 
I disagree with the details of the vendors timeline of activity.   The goal isn't to give excuses and justify why this issue has been lingering for so long and still hasn't been resolved... the goal is to get an acceptable, timely resolution to the issue.  It is an improvement to see that once the vendor received this BBB complaint, the vendor has now responded, but the issue has not be successfully addressed yet.  The vendor came to my home today and took pictures of the defective work, and said that once the issue had been reviewed with the film manufacturer, they will get back to me.  While this step is a good first step, the issue is far from resolved at this point.   I will not consider this issue to be fully resolved until the vendor does get back to me with a timely positive response that addresses the defect, and sends someone to my home to fix the defective work with window film that is installed to acceptable quality standard.  Therefore, I request that this issue be kept open and in a pending status, until these actions are completed and the vendor performs the work.  

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.