Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sweetwater Home Services

Phone: (512) 837-2488 Fax: (512) 873-2698 10139 Metropolitan Dr, Austin, TX 78758

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


From top-of-the-line water purification systems to whole house air purifiers, we offer an educational approach to it all, with additional services such as Bathroom Remodeling and plumbing.  Contact Sweetwater Home Services in Austin, TX, 512-837-2488 to ask about our products and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sweetwater Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

171 Customer Reviews on Sweetwater Home Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 171
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 171

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1987 Business started: 02/04/1987 in TX Business started locally: 02/04/1987 Business incorporated 02/04/1987 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Richard Brouse, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Brouse, Owner
Business Category

Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Bathroom Remodeling Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies

Products & Services

Sweetwater Home Services sells the following brand(s): RainSoft, CleanStart

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sweetwater Home Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10139 Metropolitan Dr

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 837-2488


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sweet water repeatedly calls me with a fake survey despite repeated requests by me to be removed from their call list. The fake survey is an obvious attempt to solicit business.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, sweetwater will stop unsolicited phone calls - even under the name of fake surveys.

Business Response:


Our company did contact ******* ********* as a new homeowner in the Austin area and conducted a short survey. We then called him a second time to offer a complimentary water analysis along with a $20 Home Depot gift card to thank him for his time. He was obviously offended by the call and filed a complaint.

As a result, we have deleted his number from our database and will be sending him the $20 gift card to make up for any inconvenience.

Thank You,


******* * ******

Sweetwater Home Services


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

it has been far more than two calls.  After the first call and again after each additional call, I asked that they never call again and I am on both the Texas and Federal No Call Lists.


******* *********

11/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed an agreement/contract for financing with a six-month deferment and an installation of a water softener system on Thursday, October 29. On Monday, November 2 we were informed that the agreement we signed will be voided and we would have to agree to the new terms or return the water softener. Our garage was retrofitted with plumbing and our shrubs have been cut out to accommodate the plumbing.

Desired Settlement: We would like to keep the system and our original agreement that we signed on Thursday without penalty and further damages to either party or offer us a better financing deal than we signed; no increase in percentages or payments.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was/am in the market for a water softener and I was told by one of my neighbors that Home Depot offered a free in-home consultation. I called my local store and left my info with their plumbing department and was able to schedule a visit that same day. I was told that it would take 30-40 mins tops and that my wife would need to be present as well, which i found to be odd. I later realized that this was solely because they wanted to make sure all parties involved in the decision would be present so they could try and pressure us into a sale. The sweet water sales man showed up on time and proceeded to conduct test after test after test. I was under the impression that they would come, check out the current configuration of my plumbing, test the water hardness and provide a recommendation. This so called 30 min consultation lasted over 2 and a half hours. For two and a half hours, my wife and I had to sit and listen to the most salesy sales pitch I have ever heard. I am in sales and it was very uncomfortable. By the second test, I got the picture. My water was horrible, unsafe, and unclean. No matter what I said, the sales man continued to barrage me with more and more useless info and continue to hard close me. I called to get info on a water softener and ended up spending all night hearing about a dechlorinator, reverse osmosis filtration system, etc. They told me it would take 30-45 minutes, however the salesman stayed for almost 2 and a half hours. It was close to 10pm at night when he finally left! My wife had to put our baby daughter to bed and the salesman refused to go through all the test without her there. As bad and uncomfortable the meeting was, I was still interested in the product. The salesman closed extremely hard for the sale once again. No matter how hard i tried telling him that I needed time to review the info, it was in one ear out the other. I'm not sure about other people, but I am definitely not one to make a big dollar purchase, especially $6,500, without doing my homework on the company and the product. He offered a bunch of their soap products as a promotion to get us to sign. When I declined to sign, his whole mood changed. It seemed as if he was shocked that I wasn't going to buy right there. He quietly packed up he stuff, didn't say a word, shook my hand and headed right for the door. I stopped him and asked him for a card. His response? "You aren't going to buy." He literally refused to give me his card because I wouldn't buy on the spot. Are you kidding me? I was shocked! I just wanted to cross my T's and dot my I's and make sure I made a smart educated purchase, and this is how I should be treated? He then told me if he wanted the number to "google it". Wow. I have never felt so disrespected in my whole life. I will never do business with this company and I suggest all who read this review to avoid doing so as well. I will buy a water treatment system, but not from them. I will inform Home Depot about my experience. This whole thing was no different than a time share pitch.

Desired Settlement: My main desired outcome is to inform the BBB and all those who search the BBB for information about this company and their practices, but I also would like an apology. I was forced to sit through a 2 and a half hour presentation and the sales rep unprofessionally refused to leave his information so I could follow up. I feel extremely disrespected and feel that Streetwater wasted 2 1/2 hours of my life.

Business Response: Mr. **** ** ******

**** ****** ***** **** ***** ***** ** *****      


Dear Mr. ******,

I would like to thank you and your family for the
opportunity to visit with us regarding our products and services. Further, I
would like to formally apologize for our representative’s behavior in your home
and to say we sincerely appreciate bringing this matter to our attention.

Sweetwater Home Services has been in business in Austin and
members of the BBB since 1987. We regard customer service as well as treating
our customers with respect as hallmarks for longevity in the marketplace.
However in visiting your family, we fell extremely short. Our standard water
test is a very basic sink demonstration followed by asking for permission to present
our products. It is in asking for the extra time to present our products that
extends the presentation beyond the 30 to 40 minute time frame. It appears in
your case we over-extended our welcome tremendously. Again I apologize for our

We have counseled the representative on the importance of
treating potential customers or anyone for that matter with respect. He has also
been written up and will be reprimanded. Sweetwater does not to tolerate this
behavior. In fact I was appalled and wholly disappointed when I read your

In light of all of this I would like to offer you and your
family a $100 gift card to the store of your choice. While this may not change what
has transpired, hopefully it will attest to our sincerity and willingness to
provide you with an apology and the respect you and your family deserve.

Once again, we thank you for allowing us in your home and
giving us the opportunity to apologize for falling short. Please call me if I may
be of service to you.



**** ****

******* *******

Sweetwater Home Services5


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

171 Customer Reviews on Sweetwater Home Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart