Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bernard Watch Co.

Phone: (512) 342-2229 Fax: (512) 342-2822 3834 Spicewood Springs Rd Ste 201, Austin, TX 78759 http://www.bernardwatch.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company buys and sells new and preowned watches, primarily Swiss and German mechanical watches.  


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bernard Watch Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bernard Watch Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Bernard Watch Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 12
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1999 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Bernard, Owner Mr. Philip Ingenito, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Bernard, Owner
Business Category

Watches - Dealers Internet Shopping Jewelers - Retail

Products & Services

Bernard Watch Co. sells the following brand(s): Ball, Bell & Ross, Breitling, Cartier, Chopard, Concord, Fortis, Glashutte Original, Graham, Hamilton, IWC, Jaeger-LeCoultre, Longines, Omega, Oris, Panerai, Roger Dubuis, Rolex, Romain Jerome, TAG Heuer, Tudor, Ulysse Nardin, Zenith

Bernard Watch Co. offers the following product(s): Watches

Alternate Business Names
Avier Watch Co.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bernard Watch Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3834 Spicewood Springs Rd Ste 201

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 342-2229

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this business to inquire as to whether they would be interested in purchasing a watch that I have. I don't know much about the watch because it belongs to my boyfriend, and was inquiring on his behalf. Because I was ignorant of all the details about the watch, they accused me of stealing the watch, but asked me for more information. I gave them the additional information, and again, they accused me of stealing it. Here is what they said: " Thanks for your watch offering, however we need more information to bid it. Where did you get the watch? You do not seem to know much about. Do you have legal authority to sell it? We have to fill out a police report to buy it" My reply: " It's actually my boyfriend's watch. He found it at a city pool, which is why there is no box or papers. He works odd hours, so he had me call around and inquire for him. He didn't leave me with all of the information he had about the watch, however last night, he wrote down additional information. It is an Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean with a diver's extension on the band. It has an automatic chronometer, and the dial and face are both black. I mistook the blue glare from the crystal covering as the face being blue, but it is actually black. I did send four pictures, as well. I can send them again, if you didn't receive them." Their response: " Sorry, we have no interest in the watch. If we buy it and police department calls asking for the watch because someone reported it stolen, we would have to forfeit it, tell them who we bought it from and chase you for our money back. Sorry, I am out."

Desired Settlement: I would like that man to email me an apology for assuming I am a thief because I didn't have all of the facts until my boyfriend gave them to me after my initial inquiry. If he had any customer service skills, he would have simply stated that he was not interested in bidding on my watch, rather than accusing me of stealing it multiple times.

Business Response: I feel this complaint is completely without merit.  I do not feel it would be fair for this misunderstanding to go on our good record.

This ************ * ************************ emailed me: "I'll be sure to write the better business bureau and transcribe this
conversation where you repeatedly accuse me of being a thief, instead of just saying you aren't interested. Is it because of my african-american first name, or my middle eastern last name? Either way, I am lodging a complaint against you with them for being extremely rude for no reason at all, unless you're just racist with no concept of customer service."
and ... "I filed the complaint, so you should be hearing from them soon. If you think every watch without a case or papers is stolen, why are you selling the exact watch that I have, with no box or papers? Maybe I should report it to the police so that they can see if that's stolen. I spoke with you on the phone yesterday, and you had no problem with the  fact that I had no papers. I ought to report you to a civil rights group so that they can have a field day with you."

I wrote to her: 1.  I never accused you of stealing it.  You said it was found at a city pool.  I was saying that I am afraid whoever lost it might have reported it to the police.  Even though you and boyfriend might have tried to find the person who lost it.
2.  I am Insulted that you are implying I am racist.  Your name had nothing to do with my comments.  I do not recall talking to you so that did not come into play.
3.  Please rescind any negative reports you have made.  This is obviously a misunderstanding.  I was merely trying to explain to you why I did not want to buy it.  I regret doing so.

... then: I am sorry for the misunderstanding.   Kind regards, **** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 Instead of accepting responsibility for the situation, the business owner decided to try to get out of the complaint. All he did was insult me by lying, and tried to make me look bad by sending you an email about how he didn't think my claim was valid.

Regards,

***** ***********

Business Response: You did not have the legal right to sell the watch you offered us.  Found property does not become your property.  That watch has a rightful owner and the watch would be considered stolen property as soon as the rightful owner reported it missing.  It becomes stolen property because by selling it, you have denied the rightful owner right to their property.  

So it is not that you are a thief or that you stole the watch, but at the point you sell a watch that you do not have legal rights to sell, you become a thief as you have denied the rightful owner their property. 

Following a report by the rightful owner, our business would be responsible for returning the stolen goods and then you would be prosecuted. 

We are required by law to reject items where the provenance is suspect.  Your statement that the watch was found is why we rejected it.  

The watch lacking the box and papers is not a reason to reject it, many people lose the box and papers and yes, we interrogate them about their legal right to sell the watch as is our responsibility. 

You read quite a bit into our response that was not written and your accusations of racism are without merit.  

If we sounded upset, it is because it is an upsetting situation.  You were attempting to sell something that doesn't belong to you and that upsets us.  It upsets us because somewhere is a person who is missing that watch, maybe it was a gift from a loved one, maybe they saved up for it.  You are denying them their right to it by trying to sell it.   How would you feel if someone found your nice watch and didn't report it and instead tried to sell it?

If our apology for the poor communication is insufficient, then we are done. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 He still is acting like he isn't sorry for accusing me of being a thief. 

Regards,

***** ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

12 Customer Reviews on Bernard Watch Co.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart