BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Discount Vacuum & Appliance

Phone: (254) 756-1738 View Additional Phone Numbers 3421 Bosque Blvd, Waco, TX 76710 http://www.vcdiscounter.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers major appliances, vacuum cleaners, and television sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Vacuum & Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Vacuum & Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 10, 1977 Business started: 09/01/1977 Business started locally: 09/01/1977 Business incorporated: 05/02/1983 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Pat Jones, General Manager Mr. Ronnie Deaver, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ronnie Deaver, Manager
Principal: Pat Jones, General Manager
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers Vacuum Cleaners - Supplies & Parts Vacuum Cleaning Systems Vacuum Equipment & Systems Appliances - Major - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Brazos Distributors, Inc VCDiscounters

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3421 Bosque Blvd

    Waco, TX 76710 (254) 756-1738 (866) 737-8524

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 388-1738(Phone)
  • (866) 737-8524(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.discountvacuumappliancewaco.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013 I took my ******* carpet shampooer to this company for repair. I told them I thought the tube where the solution came out was stopped up. In November they told me that the problem was the pump, which I told them to go ahead and replace. They finally got the part in over a month later, put it on and discovered that wasn't the problem after all. It was the tube and it was crimped. Then several weeks went by and finally they told me they could not get the tube from *******. Finally in February I went in and told them to take the new pump off, since that wasn't the problem, put my pump back on and I would pick it up. At that time I was shown my shampooer and it was in pieces in a cardboard box. I went in the following weak to pick up the shampooer and the company could not find it. That was on a Thursday and I was told to come back the next day and they would have located it. I went back on Friday and they said they had found it and brought out a shampooer to me. It was not mine. Mine is gray in color, this one was purple. Finally they told me that apparently they had thrown mine away. They offered to see me a ****** shampooer for one-half price which I declined. If I had received my shampooer back I would have taken it some place else for repair. I asked the repairman there why they could get a piece of tubing from ***** or **** ***** and fix it and he said they could but they never did.

Desired Settlement: I feel like they should replace my shampooer that they threw away. The man at the store said they were going to charge me $69.00 anyway to fix mine so he would give me one-half off on another shampooer. I was not going to pay the $69.00 as the problem was not the pump, which they admitted, and I was intent on picking up my shampooer. By the way this was only the third time I had used the machine.

Business Response: I am sorry we were unable to repair the customers ******* steam machine. After several attempts to obtain parts the manufacturer informed us that the part needed was no longer available. Parts from the hardware store were not compatible and there was no way to repair the unit. The last communication via telephone was with one of our ******** **** ******* and he said at that time the customer advised us to dispose of the unit. Some time after that the customer came to the store and with her unit being gone the owner offered to replace hers with a similar unit for just what the original repair estimate would have been. The customer refused and we are left without any other option from our position. We will not be replacing her broken obsolete unit with a new one free of charge but our original offer to settle the dispute remains. Should the customer want to pursue that she can contact the owner ****** ********** here at the store.
Thank you
*** *****

?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I was never contacted about disposing of my shampooer. That is an outright lie and now I know what kind of company they are. I had told them in the shop to remove the new pump since that turned out not to be problems anyway and put my pump back on and I would pick it up.  Then when I went to pick it up it was gone.  Also the shampooer was not obsolete.
Regards,I h
****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UNTIL NOW THE COMPANY PUT ADVERTISING THE hOOVER FH591400-900 IS BRAND NEW SO I ODERED ITWHEN I RECEIVED WAS SCRATCHES THE TANK AND DIRTY THE SECOND THE MOTOR WAS STAINED.THE PACKAGED NO BUBBLE WRAP FOR PROTECTION AND NO MANUAL.I WAS SEND THEM EMAIL AND PICTURESOF THE ITEMS BUT THE BLAME HOOVER COMPANY, I SAID TO THEM I BOUGHT IT FROM YOUR COMPANY BUTYOU HAVE TO SEND ME BRAND NEW ITEM IT LOOKS LIKE THEY DON'T WANT RESPONSIBLE.iF I SHIP IT BACKI HAVE TO PAY RESTOCKING FEE FOR 10% AND SHIPMENT FEE.THIS COMPANY NEED TO REVOKE HIS LICENCEBECAUSE THEY ARE CHEATING TO american people .PLS TAKE ACTION FOR THIS COMPANY BECAUSE SO GREEDY.IF YOU NEED THE PICTURES IM MORE THAN HAPPY TO SEND AS EVIDENCE.THank YOU.luser

Desired Settlement: NEED FULL REFUND WITHOUT ANY RESTOCKING FEE AND SHIPPMENT HIS RESPONSIBLE.OR TO SEND ME BRAND NEW ITEM .

Business Response: We're sorry that Mr. ***** believes he was sent a used item but he is mistaken.

We receive these to our warehouse directly from the manufacturer, TTI FloorCare, Inc. and put a label on the box for UPS to pick the item up.  We don't know why Mr. ***** assumes there must be bubble wrap in a package to prove that it is new but this is also in error and was his only complaint when he first contacted us claiming that the item he received was not new.

To illustrate that the item he received, in the condition he received it is, in fact, the new, factory fresh condition that they are all packaged and shipped, we have attached pictures taken 10-29-2013 at our warehouse of another brand new model F5914-900.

Further, we recommended that if Mr. ***** has any more doubts about the new condition of his merchandise that he could freely call Hoover directly and, using the serial number off the unit, confirm that the unit is, in fact, new, as well as confirming that Hoover does not use bubble wrap in the packaging of this model at this time.  Since he is now claiming the manual was missing as well, this he should request from Hoover during that phone call and they will gladly send him a new manual packet, something we cannot do since we don't package this or any other product.

We have issued a return authorization for Mr. ***** if he would like to return the product under the conditions of our return policy but since the item was as he ordered, he will be responsible for shipping costs and the restocking fee.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:the company was lying he took pictures the new one is not base on his send to me
if the company send me like his pictures I didn't complaint.
Because I report to BBB so he try to hide his bad image that's all.i send the items and fee shippingusd32
I need my money back with my shipping fee because he cheating customer and the evidence is very enough to prove.



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a floor polisher from this company that I was very unhappy with due to poor performance & wished to return. I contacted them regarding getting a RMA # since their refund policy stated I needed one prior to returning. I never got a response so I contacted them again & was given a RMA # finally. I had to pay over $23.00 out of pocket to ship the item back to them plus the over $120.00 I paid for the item. Since I had so much money involved I purchased tracking through ****. The item was delivered to VCDiscounter on September 19, 2013. I have not received a refund & have contacted them twice regarding the status of my refund & received no response.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a refund of the money I paid for the item.

Business Response: The only correspondence we can find regarding this order is one email on 8-27-13 requesting an RMA# to return the order and claiming to have not received a reply to a prior email.  We never received a prior email nor any since.

We sent the RMA# and it is still in our RMA folder pending receipt of the product.  To date, our records do not show that the product was received.

Please provide the tracking proof of delivery for this return and we will promptly process the refund per our return policy.



Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

I will accept the resolution once I receive my refund. The **** tracking number for the item is **** **** **** **** **** **. It was delivered September 19, 2013, which is plenty of time for them to process the return & refund my money. They selectively answer emails & now refuse to issue a refund when one is due. I won't drop this issue until I receive a refund. It cost me nearly $30 just to ship this piece of garbage back to them. 

Regards,

******** *********

Business Response: We do NOT selectively respond to emails.  We respond to emails we actually receive.  We did NOT refuse to issue the refund.  We requested proof of delivery since it was never reported to our department from receiving.  That is only prudent and that is the ONLY reason this credit was not already processed.  If the RMA# was not included on the shipping label, as instructed, might explain why it did not get reported to our department.  Now that we have proof of delivery, as requested, we will issue the refund in accordance with our return policy as promised and agreed to when we issued the RMA in the first place.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The RMA # WAS included on the label so NOW what's the excuse going to be?? Of course this "business"is going to make excuses for the BBB as to why they FRAUDULENTLY keep patrons money even though they've received a returned item OVER A MONTH AGO. I still have every email sent saved in my outbox showing as successfully sent as proof that they SELECTIVELY respond to them. Perhaps they should learn a little about customer service. I'll accept their response when I ACTUALLY RECEIVE the refund. Thank you. 

Regards,

******** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a vacuum from VCDiscounters. Vacuum arrived, and was defective - overheating motor and short circuiting. The company was extremely slow to return calls, or often didn't return them at all - resulting in my having to continuously call back. Eventually, one of the engineers asked me several question about the vacuum, and determined it was indeed defective. Then, they told me to package it up, and return it, at which point, I would be issued a complete refund. I did so that day. Even though they received the vacuum on 9/3/13, I had not received any discount, nor further communication from VCDiscounters. I called back on 9/20/13 inquiring about my refund. *****, who I had spoken with several times throughout the process, told me that they received the vacuum on 9/3/13 and assured me that a full refund would be issued on 9/23/13. As on 9/26/13, I still had not received a refund or further communication from VCDiscounters, I called them again. ***** did return my call, but left no information about the refund. When I called them back (this morning, 9/27/13/), ***** claimed that the vacuum was not defective and said that I would be issued a refund minus restocking and shipping fees. I said that was unacceptable - that they had promised a refund if I returned the vacuum, and they owed me $200.95. Then, he said I wouldn't get any refund at all, but rather a store credit - once again changing their story within the seconds. I have no desire to purchase anything from VCDiscounters as they provide defective merchandise along with some of the poorest customer service and communication I have ever experienced. I think they hoped I would forget about the refund they promised and pocket the money. But when I did pursue the promised refund, they have changed the story several times. Now, they are trying to wear me down and so that I'm just too tired to pursue them. They now have both the vacuum AND the money I paid for it ($200.95). This is terrible business practice, an abuse of power, unethical and immoral. Please note - on next page, I didn't fill out the initial problem date (early August - first time I used my vacuum) as I wasn't exactly sure of the date. The same with - complaint dates because there were many more than three - several throughout the month of August.

Desired Settlement: VCDiscounters will refund my credit card in full, $200.95, as promised.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The freezer was purchased on 3-6-2012. Before we had a chance to load it with food, there appeared to be an air leak in the door. Discount sent a repair company out(******) to take a look at it. The repairman tried heating to expand the seal so it would form a better seal. That did not work. Called them out again and it was decided to order another door and seal for it. It came in and was installed. Over a couple of months period, it will freeze up excessively and require defrosting. After a couple of times of doing this we called ****** out again to look at it. They still could not find anything wrong with it. ****** calls ********** to ask what can be done for us. They can not think of anything else to check. We have to live with it. the man said it was not over stocked with food or anything else wrong. I call ********** myself and they give another company to call.it is ******* *********. They look at it and say that it has to much food in it. Don't even put a meter to it to check anything on it. They recommend selling it ourselves and buying another one.My question is who is accountable for this mess. I made several calls to try and resolve the issue. no one will accept the responsibility of the problem freezer. I can be reached at ************ or by e-mail at ***************************.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I would like another freezer. We feel that is only right since we have gone through so much to make this one work. I even offered to pay part of the cost of another one. They said no.Let me know what can be done.

Business Response:  Factory service is the final authority on the disposition of any appliance that does not meet the expectations of a customer.  There are many factors that play a part in the amount of frost a manual defrost freezer accumulates. Location humidity contents and how often you open the door all play a part in that. Frost building quickly arount the top edge is expected. Here is section from the customer guide on ********** Freezers. "It is important to defrost and clean freezer when ¼ to ½ inch of frost has accumulated.
Frost may tend to accumulate faster on upper part of the freezer due to warm, moist air
entering the freezer when the door is opened. Remove food and leave the door open
when defrosting the freezer." If service has determined there is no air leak then some of the other variables would be the cause of the frost accumulation and those are not something that would be a defect in the product. In this case we would be more than happy to work with the manufacturer in any way they decide to proceede ********** will have to decide what to do from here on.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:This past week-end my wife and I was visiting friends. They have two ********** freezers that they keep meat in. They are kept in the garage where the temperature gets hot. They said that it has been 16 months since they were defrosted. The freezers have minimal build up of ice on the shelves compared to ours which is kept in the house under controlled environment. Our friends open and close their freezers 3 to 4 times a week to remove food from them.

My wife and I cannot understand why ours has a build up problem on it. We do not open and close our unit anymore than our friends do. We feel for seeing the two units that have not been defrosted as often as ours, we should be able to get a replacement. We should not have to defrost ours every couple of months.

Ours has had work done to it as stated in earlier correspondence. This work should have fixed the problem but it did not. It is time for a replacement!!! 

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues