Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TurnKey Vacation Rentals

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 512-0498 Fax: (267) 295-8024 View Additional Phone Numbers 4544 S. Lamar Blvd Ste G300, Austin, TX 78745 http://www.turnkeyvr.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TurnKey Vacation Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TurnKey Vacation Rentals include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

23 Customer Reviews on TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 10
Total Customer Reviews 23

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2012 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/2012 Business incorporated 10/22/2012 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Banczak, Chairman Mr. T.J. Clark, CEO Mr. Stefan Hollands, President Ms. Beverly Gilbreath, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Banczak, Chairman
Principal: Mr. T.J. Clark, CEO
Principal: Mr. Stefan Hollands, President
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Property Management

Alternate Business Names
TurnKey Vacation Rentals LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TurnKey Vacation Rentals has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We arrived at the home we had rented for 2 nights for my sons wedding in the area. When we arrived the house was very hot no A/C had been turned on, the house was filthy. Beds looked like someone had just crawled out of them, bugs everywhere, trash on kitchen counter, the whole house was so dirty. There was a cover over a pilot light on the oven that had been removed or fallen off, therefore the flame of visible and dangerous for our 1 year old to be around. I have many pictures it you would like to see them. We were told the owners had stayed the home last and did not call for a cleaning. I'm not sure how many weeks they go before checking it before a guest checks in, but it had to have been a very long time. There were cob webs everywhere, even in the bathroom sink. We did get our money back, but that didn't help that we had to go find a hotel that had 4 rooms available. Very disappointing trip!

Desired Settlement: There was not a desired outcome. We were inconvenienced with having to go find a hotel that had 4 rooms available on a holiday weekend.

Business Response: We are very sorry about the condition of the home and the problems that we caused you.  98% of our reviews on sites like **** and ******** are 4-5 stars, most of the time things go very well at the rentals.  Clearly we made mistakes and it is our fault this was not one of those situations.  In this case a series of issues caused these problems and everyone at TurnKey feels terrible about it.  Thank you for being an understanding guest and treating this situation so professionally.  We are putting more steps in place to make sure this doesn't happen again and want to apologize again.

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 30, 2015, we booked a vacation rental property for 4 nights (Dec 18 to 22). We paid $4,508.52 in full. Due to my grandmother's death, we couldn't go on our vacation. TurnKey did not allow us to stay at the property another time. They also did not refund our money. Instead, they offered 15% off if we book this property in the future.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for a full refund or be able to stay at this property another time.

Business Response: We were sorry to hear about this guest's loss, however the facts in this complaint are untrue.  We gave the guest the option to book other dates at this property and they did not want to do so.  Unfortunately vacation rentals are non-refundable - we were only notified six days before the guests check-in, for a reservation over the peak weekend before Christmas that they wished to cancel, making it virtually impossible to re-book this unit.  As unfortunate it is for the guest, it is also unfair for a home owner, who has booked these dates for a guest, to have to absorb the monetary loss.  Travel insurance is available and recommended for these types of occurrences.  The owner was willing to re-book the trip for a later date, but the guest was not interested. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The business said on this response:

"We gave the guest the option to book other dates at this property and they did not want to do so."

"The owner was willing to re-book the trip for a later date, but the guest was not interested."

We would be very happy to re-book this property on another date.

The option given to us by the business dated Jan 29 is:

"We can give you up to 15% off on any dates you choose to book at our 4BR Luxury Truckee Home or if you book the home 3 nights or more during off season times, Late

April, May, or October your last night will be free."

We did not see this option working for us. This option meant we would pay another $4000 to stay 4 nights. And we still did not get any refund for the originally paid $4500. 

 


Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Thanks for responding, as we mentioned we offered several alternatives for a stay, thank you for confirming that.  Unfortunately our owners only have so many open times a year and we giving several different months for a stay seemed very reasonable.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We are willing to work with the business on a suitable date for a future stay with no additional fees. We have already paid $4500 in full. 

Regards,

***** ****

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I book a house with them 2 1/2 months ago and they sent me an email cancelling the reservation and refunding my 10% deposit they have been holding.

Desired Settlement: They need to find an equivalent replacement house for the same price

Business Response: We are very sorry to have to cancel this booking.  Unfortunately the property that was booked is no longer using TurnKey.  The home owner has reported the property as being sold.  Thankfully the booking was not scheduled to check-in for several months and we expect the guests have plenty of time to book a new property.  Although this type of cancellation is not common, from time-to-time homes do get sold or owners decide to do something else with the home.  We make sure to make that clear in our guest terms and in the unlikely case that a situation like this occurs, we promptly refund all payments that were made.

6/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe Turnkey is trying to steal $1500 from me. We stayed in a rental on April 16 - 19th, 2015. We paid a security deposit of $1500 that we were told multiple times would be refunded after the stay. The house was in good or better shape when my family and I left it and had a cleaning crew still come in to clean, so no plausible way any damages were done. I have now sent approximately two dozen emails, called at least triple that amount - the # that is on the emails from them ***** ******** - sometimes works, sometimes doesn't (not sure if they are still in business - is off this morning) and either way no answer is given. Just want some resolution and hopefully to warn others before they consider using Turnkey.

Desired Settlement: $1500

Business Response:

I apologize for the late reply to this complaint - I just got it this morning, but it looks like it was filed a month ago?  I have attached a copy of the refund receipt - it can take a month to show up on your statement, I expect it was there by now?  As for the emailing us two dozen times, I apologize if our reservation team did not get back to you.  Our system tracks every email sent in by a guest - the only emails I see from you are pasted in below, including the reply we sent on 5/5.  Were you sending to us from a different email address?

 

Either way - it should all be solved now.  Please let me know if you have not received this yet.

 

6/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to an accident that has put my husband in the hospital and a rehab facility, we had to cancel our reservation for a rental property that we reserved for 8/18/15 thru 8/21/15. After talking with Turnkey via e-mail and phone, I am being told that our deposit will not be refunded because we did not cancel within 72 hours. I called today to talk to a manager to explain the situation but was told that I would not be transferred to that person. My phone number was taken and I was told someone would return my call. As of the writing of this complaint, I still have not heard from anyone. Since my husband will have to use all of his vacation time while he is off with this injury, we will not be able to go on this trip.

Desired Settlement: I feel Turnkey should take into account the situation and refund my deposit. They have over 2 months to re-rent the property.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear about your husband's injury.  Our deposit and cancellations policies are among the most lenient in the business.  We only require a 10% deposit on a booking, you have three full days after booking to cancel without penalty if you change your mind, and travel insurance is always available to protect against unfortunate issues like this.  Our policies are very clear when booking - our 10% deposit goes to the owner in cases like this where we hold a unit off the market for multiple weeks.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I feel the company should take into consideration the reason for the cancellation.  Also, the owner of the property has OVER 2 MONTHS to rebook the property.  Our reservations were not until August 18th.

Regards,

******* ********

12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Let me start by saying that I’ve never given a bad review. However, my unfortunate experience with Turnkey Vacation Rentals in Austin, Tx (http://www.turnkeyvr.com/) was worth sharing. My wife and I used TurnKey Vacation Rentals (http://www.turnkeyvr.com/) to find an Austin rental property for the weekend. We were impressed with the website. It appeared that the houses they were renting were clean and represented accurately. Upon arriving with our 4 kids and unloading the luggage, we headed out to shop for groceries, grab dinner, and enjoy Austin. We returned later that evening, and after unpacking and getting all the kids in bed, my exhausted wife and I headed to bed at about midnight. When my wife pulled back the sheets to climb into bed, she noticed that the sheets had not been washed. Worse, there were blood and mascara mixed with pubic hair throughout the bed. We immediately called Turnkey and left messages informing them that the sheets had not been washed and that we’d be calling the next day. That night, we didn’t get much sleep due to the fact that we had to share the only non-twin bed with our child. The next morning, a Turnkey representative called to apologize, saying they thought the place had been cleaned and they were sending over new sheets. We told Turnkey at that time that we were too grossed out from the experience and wanted to move to a different place. Although we gave Turnkey Vacation Rentals the opportunity to relocate us to another Turnkey Austin Rental property, the only two options available were not comparable properties in terms of location and size. We then told them that we wanted a refund and would find another place to stay. We contacted **************** and within two hours, we checked into a beautiful home with pristine, fresh sheets. Although Turnkey’s initial position was that they were willing give us a refund for only one night, they later called back and agreed to refund the entire amount because they did not want us to have a negative impression of the company. When I received my credit card statement this week, I realized that they had issued a refund for only one night. Thinking this was surely a mistake, I called to let them know. I spoke with *******, a Turnkey account manager. She informed me that their policy requires a 30-day cancellation. I explained to her that the Turnkey website also promises clean properties with sheets free of hair and body fluid stains, and that after discovering that in our bed, we were not comfortable staying there. Unapologetically, ******* said she was sorry for the miscommunication. After repeated attempts to speak with the owner and or manager of Turnkey Vacation Rentals I received an email from *** *******, ******** ** ********** for TurnKey Vacation Rentals who said, “Please note that at no time did we state you would be getting a full refund on your stay at this property.” I asked *** ******* to please reconsider and refund the entire amount and have yet to hear back from them.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the remaining balance on my credit card which is $713.35

Business Response:
Thank you for giving us some feedback ***.  We are sorry that you did not
enjoy the stay.  We are surprised to see your negative reviews though.
 Unfortunately there are several inaccuracies.  In your communication to us, you
had primarily mentioned that you were unhappy there was only one bathroom along
with a couple of other small items.  The home was advertised as only having one
bathroom and the photographs depicted that when you made your booking.  You had
mentioned that you were not the person who made the booking, so you were unaware
of this, but that is clearly something beyond our control.  
 
In your communication to us about the sheets to us you mentioned one small
stain.  You did not mention anything else.  We take guest issues seriously and
immediately came to deliver new sheets to replace the ones you complained about,
however we were surprised to find that your child was the only one present and
at the home alone, and that you had locked the bedroom door so we had no way to
look at the sheets or replace them.  
 
Later that day you again mentioned the disappointment that the home had one
bathroom and there were other things like "too few outlets", which is typical of
older, centrally-located downtown Austin homes so close to everything Austin.
 We've had several other folks stay at the property and have never had issues
with it, in fact it is a very popular rental for us.  We also do not understand the complaints
about the photos which were taken by a local professional photography firm only
a week prior.  The photos were recent and accurately depict the
home.
 
At that point later
in the day you informed us on your decision to vacate the property for the
remainder of your reservation.  We informed you that we would offer you a refund
of one night since you were unsatisfied with the property, not something that we
typically do.  We sent that to you in writing, and your replied in writing
thanking us.  At no time did anyone at TurnKey offer a full refund, nor
would it have been fair to the owners who have had a track record of happy
renters and held this space for you on a busy weekend.  We brought you new
sheets as soon as we heard you were unhappy with them and did everything we
could to enable you to have a good stay for the remaining nights of your
reservation.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Thanks for your response.  Given your company’s egregious behavior, it’s hard for me to understand why you are surprised that we have given you a negative review.  First, let
me reiterate that I have never written a negative review.  Contrary to what you say in your response, there are no inaccuracies in my online reviews of your company or in this complaint with the BBB. 

I am a longtime business owner and have built several national service businesses listed on the Inc. 500 list of fastest growing privately held companies.   Putting profits before customers is not only shortsighted, but it’s a horrible way to run a company. Companies that refuse to accept responsibility for their missteps and/or treat their customers poorly
do not stay in business.

Your response is inaccurate and contains many false statements.

Our dissatisfaction with Turnkey Vacation Rentals has nothing to do with the home having one bathroom, nor was it the basis for our refund.  The negative reviews and this subsequent complaint with the BBB was solely based on the fact that the home we rented from Turnkey was not clean.  Surely Turnkey intends to offer clean rentals with bed sheets that are free of hair and body fluid stains.  As I mentioned, when my wife pulled back the sheets to climb into bed, she noticed that the sheets had not been washed. Worse, there were blood and mascara mixed with pubic hair throughout the bed.

No one said there was “one small stain”.  In fact, we sent pictures of the stains, which were all over the bed sheets. 

You are also being untruthful about your “immediate response.” The sheets arrived the following day, after we’d had to sleep that night 3 to a bed. 

Your claim that we “locked” the bedroom door is also false.  As you know, the bedroom you are talking about is the garage that was converted into a bedroom.  That was the room that contained the bed with the stained sheets.  Not surprisingly, we never slept in that room.  Additionally, the sheets were not locked in that room but rather were in the main house bathroom.  The person that dropped off the sheets did not look in the bathroom but rather dropped the sheets off with our son. 

As my wife told you when she called, we were willing to move to another Turnkey property but the only two properties that Turnkey offered would not accommodate our family, nor was the location comparable.  Why would your staff offer to relocate us if the situation wasn’t inexcusable?  The truth is that you knew the situation was deplorable and tried to offer a remedy by sending us to another Turnkey property. When we declined and chose a property rented through a competitor, you reversed your position.

I also respectfully disagree that it would be “unfair to offer a full refund”.  Refunding the entire amount I the only fair thing to do considering your company’s failure to provide a bed that was free from pubic hair, mascara and blood stains.   Seeing this was a horrible experience only to be made worse by how you have handled our request for a refund.

 
To recap:  Upon arriving with our 4 kids and unloading the luggage, we headed out to shop for groceries, grab dinner, and enjoy Austin.  We returned later that evening, and after
unpacking and getting all the kids in bed, my exhausted wife and I headed to bed at about midnight.   When my wife pulled back the sheets to climb into bed, she noticed that the sheets had not been washed.  Worse, there were blood and mascara mixed with pubic hair throughout the bed. 

We immediately called Turnkey and left messages informing them that the sheets had not been washed and that we’d be calling the next day.   That night, we didn’t get much sleep due to the fact that we had to share the only non-twin bed with our child.  The next morning, a Turnkey representative called to apologize, saying they thought the place had been cleaned and they were sending over new sheets.   We told Turnkey at that time that we were too grossed out from the experience and wanted to move to a different place.  

Although we gave Turnkey Vacation Rentals the opportunity to relocate us to another Turnkey Austin Rental property, the only two options available were not comparable
properties in terms of location and size.  We then told them that we wanted a refund and would find another place to stay.   We contacted **************** and within two
hours, we checked into a beautiful home with pristine, fresh sheets.  
 
Although your initial position was that they Turnkey was willing give us a refund for only one night, your office called back and agreed to refund the entire amount because they did not want us to have a negative impression of the company.
 
When I received my credit card statement this week, I realized that they had issued a refund for only one night.   Thinking this was surely a mistake, I called to let them know.  I spoke with ******* Varner, a Turnkey account manager.   She informed me that their policy requires a 30-day cancellation.  I explained to her that the Turnkey website also promises clean properties with sheets free of hair and body fluid stains, and that after discovering that in our bed, we were not comfortable staying at that home.  


We respectfully ask you to reconsider and refund the remaining $713.35 immediately.

Regards,

*** ********

Business Response: I'm sorry ***, we disagree with your side of the story.  We do not believe your version of this situation to be correct.  We stand by the written communication we have with you regarding the one-night refund we offered you that you replied to and thanked us for.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The business charged my credit card even after i left the property because of horrible product and service.  The home they rented us was unclean.  The bed had extensive pubic hair, body fluids and blood stains.  We called and they did not show up until the following day after the damage was done.  This was a horrible customers experience and I demand a full-refund.

Regards,

*** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

23 Customer Reviews on TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart