This business is not BBB accredited.

Alfaro Tree Sales, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 622-9875 Fax: (210) 622-5186 10835 Pearsall Rd, Atascosa, TX 78002 http://www.alfarotreesales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 12/18/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1E. In its relationship with BBB:
    • meet all applicable standards within this Code of Business Practices
    • cooperate with BBB's activities and efforts to promote voluntary self-regulation within the business' industry
    • honor any settlements, agreements or decisions reached as an outcome of a BBB dispute resolution process
    • complete the required application and pay all monetary obligations to BBB in a timely manner
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Alfaro Tree Sales, Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Alfaro Tree Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alfaro Tree Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 09/16/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Erasmo "EJ" Alfaro, General Manager Lucio Garcia, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Erasmo "EJ" Alfaro, General Manager
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Transplant Nurseries - Plants, Trees Plants - Retail Plants - Wholesale Landscape Contractors

Industry Tips
Advice on choosing a lawn care company Landscaping tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10755 Pearsall Rd

    Atascosa, TX 78002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10835 Pearsall Rd

    Atascosa, TX 78002 (210) 622-9875

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an oak tree from Alfaro Tree on 9/25/2012. The tree had a warranty for one year. Last year 3/19/13 I spoke with ***** the sales person about the tree looking sick. He said we should wait to see if the tree will be ok. I contacted him again in the summer in or around 6/11/13 to get a replacement because I felt the tree was dead. The tree had no leaves when it should have been in full show. Lucio stated we should wait and see if the comes back next season. My property management company homesweethomeboerne(** ******** has been trying to get the tree warrantied for the past 4-5 months from Alfaro. Lucio did not return calls or respond in any way until Jul 15, 2014. ***** is now stating his company will not warranty the tree because it is out of the warranty period. Lucio would not warranty the tree during the warranty period because he wanted to wait to see if it was still alive. Now we know it is dead and the warranty should be honored as he would not warranty it last year because Alfaro wanted to wait and see if the tree might still be alive. The price I paid for the tree was $8109.38. Now I have this huge DEAD tree directly in front of my house.

Desired Settlement: I want Alfaro to replace my tree.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business owner? and his employee brought 2..... 5" caliber cedar elm trees to our home. we had asked for one. he kept trying to get us to buy the other as well and when we wouldn't he got mad, planted the tree and left the root ball covered in burlap and wire. i called Austin Agricultural who referred me to Medina County Ag at **********, who had yet to have a master gardner until july 1, 2014, so they referred me to Bexar County Master Gardner named ***** i believe at **********. I asked if the reason our tree was not growing as fast as Alfaro Tree Sales,Inc had said it would to shade the west side of our house was because when he planted it he left the burlap and wire on the root ball. She said absolutely YES, hence the girdling of the roots, 90 degree angle roots, and a dead tree. I have attempted multiple calls with no returns so I am hoping you can help. Also when he brought the trees and realized we were not going to take two and to pick out the one we wanted, when he went to plant the tree he took the one that didn't look as healthy. He delivered the tree, used our dirt that we had on the side since he didn't bring any and wanted to build it up. My husband who now has brain cancer and I myself with physical issues from a spinal tumor are trying to take it out of the ground with much difficulty and that is how we found out how he planted it. Everything he did points to incompetence and vindictiveness.

Desired Settlement: The reason I am asking for cash is so that I can go out and purchase from a more reliable source or a cashiers check. For someone in the tree business he should very well know how to plant a tree. thank you

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

I received the e-mail in regards to the mentioned complaint no. ********. After review of the complainants invoice, Alfaro Tree Sales, Inc. can not be held responsible for the loss of the cedar elm the complainant is claiming. This purchase was made on January 2, 2010 and the 1 year warranty is good for one year from the date of the invoice. Had the complainant made a claim within the one year time frame (January 2, 2010 through January 2, 2011) Alfaro Tree Sales, Inc. would have sent out a replacement tree.

In regards to the sale and our employee who made the sale, I received no complaint from either party at the time.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we hired alfaro trees because we wanted to make sure the job was done right and they were in good standings with the BBB. we have planted small trees out of a bucket but this was an expensive tree in a rootball with wire and burlap beyond our knowledge. also with our health issues and having no family out here to help, bc after serving 20+ yrs in the military we decided to settle down in TX. We always wondered why the tree didn't take off growing after a year as he stated bc after speaking to the Bexar County Master Gardner *****, she adamantly said NEVER leave the wire on the root ball. He knew it would die and it would take more than one year to present the obvious signs. to me he intentionally planted it that way after my wife and I refused the 2nd tree he also brought with him even though we paid for just one. To think we let him walk our property and offered him some trees since we have so many.  he also wanted some of our neighbors trees as well but they refused his request.  the one tree he wanted from us we declined due to its unique look. we are glad now bc we found out later why he was so interested in it. many people like this tree and it is expensive. we were also told he probably would have killed it by due to the age of it by a local nursery bc this tree does not transplant well. we have now been left to remove this dead tree and the rootball that still remains with 90 degree roots all around. it NEVER stood a chance of growing and i truly believe he knew what he was doing especially being in the tree business and offering to plant them as well for a fee.

Regards,

***** ****