Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions of North Austin

Phone: (512) 458-6115 Fax: (512) 458-4165 8417 Burnet Rd, Austin, TX 78757 http://www.aamco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions of North Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions of North Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions of North Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 2007 Business started: 08/19/1993 Business started locally: 08/19/1993 Business incorporated 08/19/1993 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Allan Nurenberg, Owner Mr. Jose Berenguel, Store Manager Mr. Greg Clouse, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Clouse, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Allan Nurenberg, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service

Alternate Business Names
Alamar Austin, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 8417 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 458-6115

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December my 2006 Hyndai Elantra was over heating. I read great reviews online about Aamco, especially this location, so I decided to take it in. Almost $800 later I had my car back and it seemed to be working fine. I had to pay for several hoses to be replaces, along with a belt, and a thermostat because **** told me they get damaged when a car over heated. (I originally had left him a 5 star review while I was in the shop.) On January 21st, my car overheated again while I was in ******. When I had left the shop last time **** told me, I had a full year warranty on both the parts and labor, so I called him and he told me to take it to an Aamco there in ******. $1500 later I find out that my gaskets had failed and resulted in my head warping. Luckily the head didn't crack or I would have been really screwed. The mechanic explained that the damage resulted from improper diagnostics the first time my car overheated. Had it been caught then I wouldn't have a warped head because the gaskets were weakened the first time the car overheated and then slowly wore down until they exploded. Today I went into the Aamco here in ******, and spoke with ****. I explained what I was told about why the damage occurred and offered to settle the matter by him covering the damage caused by the negligence of him and his staff. He refused, which I understood and said I would take it up with corporate and leave another review. **** then threatened to sue me if I did. This is unacceptable. It is unbelievable that an owner of a shop would threaten to sue his clients for leaving a review when he cases $1500 worth of damage after being paid almost $800 to fix the problem. I will never be taking my car back here and will be telling everyone I know that they should avoid ****'s shop like the plague. I will continue to use Aamco provided they resolve this matter, because I was pleased with the shop in ****** and all my family uses Aamco.

Desired Settlement: I want Aamco to provide me a full refund along with compensation for being stranded in ******, ** for 3 days.

Business Response: A formal investigation into the service and diagnostics done
on ******* ********’s 2006 Hyundai Elantra was performed. Reference #******

12/2/14 ******* ******** brought his 2006 Hyundai Elantra to
the AAMCO Transmissions ****
****** **** ******, ** *****.
He stated that his car was leaking coolant and overheated. He also requested
that we check his brakes.

A multi-point inspection was performed on his vehicle. The
radiator hoses were worn and leaking coolant, the air conditioner belt was worn
and the brakes were also worn.

When an internal combustion engine is overheated it stresses
all components in the engine. Therefore it is our practice to perform a leak
down test on any engine that has overheated. The leak down test introduces a
chemical into the coolant while the engine is running to check for carbon
monoxide.

******* ******** approved the work for the items that needed
to be replaced.

1/21/15 ******* ******** called **** at the AAMCO
Transmissions **** ****** ****
******, ** *****. He stated that his car was
overheating again. **** instructed him to take it to the nearest AAMCO
Transmissions and told him that the work we did has a 12 month/ 12,000 mile
warranty. That center would call us for any warranty work needed.

1/26/15 ******* ******** came to the AAMCO Transmissions **** ****** **** ******,
** *****
with a receipt for work done at the other AAMCO. He stated that they told him
that we must have missed the problem with head and wanted a refund.

During my investigation I called that AAMCO and was told
that they did not notify us because our work was done properly and there was a
different problem.

Had we found that ******* ********’s vehicle needed head
work we would have recommended it. I’m sure the cost would have been in line
with what he paid the other AAMCO.

We apologize for the problems he had with his vehicle,
however all the repairs were needed. Though both problems didn’t occur at the
same time the cost would have been the same.

******* ******** also called AAMCO Transmission Corporate Office.
They conducted their own investigation and came up with the same results.

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******, *** ****** road location. I took my Toyota Tundra in June, he first quoted me $2,500 (I understood if more needed to be done, I get that). They called me the next day to let me know that the radiator needed to be replaced because it was leaking into my transmission and the whole thing needed to be rebuilt. A bit of a shock, but I was told by three different places that AAMCO was the place to go, so I said OK to the now $4,700 new quote. A week later they called to tell me it was done, I got a great handshake and Jose told me everything had been done and under warranty. I was happy even though I just dropped a good chunk of change. Three weeks later I was back again because the exact same shuttering was going on. Jose called me the next day and said they put the wrong transmission lube in and that's why it was shuttering again. It was ready a week later, to put in lube. A month and a half later, it's back. The shuttering is even worse and I'm am just over the top mad. So I take it in again and Jose calls me the next day to tell me they needed to replace the torque converter because they put in the wrong lube but all of it was going to be covered under warranty (which just makes it all OK). So another week goes by before I can pick up my truck. (If the same shuttering was occurring each time then why did they rebuild my transmission when they could have put in a new torque converter for $379.00 on the bill). Side note: (I would not have a problem if all of this would have been done right the first time. When you spend almost $5,0000, you want it done right the first time). Now it's been over a week since I got a call from ****** supervisor, **** ***** (who said he would be following up with me soon). I've tried calling the 800 number but I have only been called back once while I was teaching and I can't seem to get a hold of anyone after leaving over five different voicemails with three different people. To make a long story long, this is the first time I have ever written something online about anything related to service, but I can not get service so I'm putting it out there. This will definitely be posted on as many sites I can put it on. Bottom line, don't go to AAMCO even if people recommend it to you, there is a reason you are reading this. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I spent a total of three weeks trying to find rides and ways to get around for the same repair. The repair was not done right several times and possibly has done more damage to the vehicle over the time it should have been done right the first time. I'm still not clear as to why, just the torque converter could have been replaced and only cost me $379 plus instillation. Now that I'm trying to get some type of answer and justification from higher management, I can not receive any customer service after many attempts. I would like a full refund for the time spent trying to find rides, inconvenience of continuous repairs for the same problem and wasting my time when it should have been done right from the beginning. Like I said before, if it was done the first time and no issues, I would not be here right now wasting more time and a happy customer with future recommendations. Thank you.

Business Response: A formal investigation is being conducted to gather the facts of what actually happened with the transmission. We value our customers and take pride in being the worlds largest transmission specialist for over 50 years. Statements have been taken from all technicians as well as the center manager. I have spoke with Mr. **** and gone over the details of the research being done. He has my cell phone now and I will notify him this week when I receive the results of the investigation.
We seldom have these types of complications and have taken care of all work under warranty. Every effort will be made to make sure that Mr. ****** transmission concerns are resolved and he gets a good, long life out of the transmission.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: i am only told they are still investigating the problem with the old torqe converter but the issue is still the service not being done right the first time and lack of communication. I understand that everything was covered under warranty and it has, but lack of communication and reliable timely service was not upheld. I still am unclear wether the transmission should have been rebuilt only that the torqe converter needed to be replaced for $375. I was granted an extended warranty but with that, I dont want to spend time again in the future dealing with the same issues I have already encountered. I would rather take my business elsewhere. Ever since my complaint I have received follow up calls saying that they are continueing to investigate.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: Test results show that the torque converter did fail as a result of improper lubrication. I was hoping that the vendor would be able to refund some of our labor so I could pass that on to Mr. ****. Unfortunately that did not happen.
Mr. **** did state that the transmission is now working correctly. A refund is out of the question. I did double the factory warranty for Mr. **** at no expense to him for customer satisfaction.
I did careful research into the 2006 Toyota 4.0L with an automatic transmission. The internet has numerous counts of the problems with the transmission. I had a service adviser at 2 local Toyota dealers tell me that even though they install factory remanufactured transmissions they come back at times with issues.
Warranty work was never denied Mr. **** and every effort was made to make sure the problem was corrected.
There is nothing further I can do for Mr. **** except honor the doubled warranty.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

"Test results show that the torque converter did fail as a result of improper lubrication." Which cost me several weeks and time spent trying to find rides when the problem could have been done correctly the first time. If the vendor could not refund at expense of parts and labor (since a new torque converter had to be installed and labor to install it) which cost you time and money, why is this not a big deal to you? And are you still doing business with this vendor? 


"There is nothing further I can do for Mr. **** except honor the doubled warranty." Please find someone who can better assist me in addressing the problem. There has been minimal communication over the phone which included the same "we are still investigating" conversations. The majority of our communication has been through this site.

Please let me know, I am currently looking in to a small claims case and seeking legal advise.  


Regards,

******* ****

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "I thought you wanted the remanufactured transmission." He said it was an honest mistake and that I was partially to blame because I didn't specify what I wanted done the day of drop off. I replied that I thought we were in agreement that they would do the rebuild instead of installing a remanufactured transmission the night before when we spoke on the phone, I told you that I wanted you to rebuild my transmission at AAMCO and stated that I would drop the car off the next day. He said that he didn't recall the details of our phone conversation. I asked him why he didn't ask for clarification on the day I dropped off the car and better yet why wasn't I offered the opportunity to sign off the work they were going to do? He replied, "if it makes you feel any better, when we removed the pan from your original transmission the fluid looked like Pepto, indicating that your radiator leaked fluid into your transmission and damaged it." He said that it would have cost just as much to rebuild my transmission as it did to install a remanufactured transmission. I told him that I had a hard time believing that the my fluid was frothy and pink because he told me after inspecting my car on 1/22/14 that my transmission fluid was brown. He called his general manager and then called me back saying that he was authorized to refund $150, the difference of the cost of a remanufactured transmission and the amount they believe it would have cost to rebuild my transmission. I said that was unacceptable. I told him that I didn't believe that I could not understand how they could estimate the cost of the transmission repairs based on pulling the pan off. I asked him where my old transmission was and he stated that they already shipped it back to the vendor that supplied my remanufactured transmission. ***************** I told **** on 1/31/14 that I didn't authorize a remanufactured transmission and a new Radiator and I wanted to speak to ****. He said **** had left for the day and I told him to have him call me as soon as possible so we could discuss the mix up. I waited all day on 2/3/14 for **** to call. I called around 3:30pm and he said he couldn't make out the note **** left him. I reminded **** that I did not authorize a remanufactured transmission and new radiator and he stated that from our conversation over the phone on 1/23/14 he thought I wanted him to purchase and install a factory remanufactured transmission instead of having AAMCO rebuild my transmission. I reminded him that I only asked **** to price what it would cost to install a remanufactured transmission. When **** called me on 1/23/14 to tell me what it would cost he requested authorization. I stated that I didn't want to invest the $5200 quoted because of the age and high mileage of my car and told him I wanted them to rebuild my transmission in-house. He said the basic rebuild would be $2000, "worse case $4000, if we find other problems." He then told me that he has a car just like mine and he had his transmission rebuilt and he hasn't had any problems. During our conversation on 2/3/14 he stated that "if it made me feel any better, when they removed the pan from my original transmission the fluid looked like Pepto, indicating that your radiator leaked fluid into your transmission and damaged it." He said that it would have cost just as much to rebuild my transmission as it did to install a remanufactured transmission. I told him that I had a hard time believing that the my fluid was frothy and pink because he told me after inspecting my car on 1/22/14 that my transmission fluid was brown. He called his general manager and then called me back saying that he was authorized to refund $150, the difference of the cost of a remanufactured transmission and the amount they believe it would have cost to rebuild my transmission. I said that was unacceptable. I told him that I didn't believe that I could not understand how they could estimate the cost of the transmission repairs based on pulling the pan off. I asked him where my old transmission was and he stated that they already shipped it back to the vendor that supplied my remanufactured transmission. I told him that I would be bringing the car back in soon because the transmission shutters when shifting for 2nd to 3rd gear.

Desired Settlement: I think it would be fair to receive the difference in the price I paid for the unauthorized purchase and installation of the remanufactured transmission and the "worse case" estimate given to me of $4,000 for a substantial rebuilding of my transmission at their shop. If they will not accept those terms then I would like my old transmission reinstalled at no cost and I will have the repairs completed at another shop.

Business Response: Customer service is very important to us, here at AAMCO Transmissions. I have done an investigation into this matter. When Mr. ****** first came in the warranty was the most important thing to him. So I can understand the confusion when he authorized the repair without being clear that he wanted the in house rebuild with a 12 month /12,000 mile warranty. In an effort to make things right with Mr. ****** I am willing to work with him. The original job with tax and radiator was $5672.09. Had we rebuilt it in house, the transmission would have been $4000, the radiator with coolant would have been $600, tax would have been $363.69. The total would have come to $4963.69. That would mean a refund of $706.40. Should Mr. ****** agree to this we would need him to return to AAMCO so we could issue new paper work with the 12 month /12,000 mile warranty instead of the 3 year/ 50,000 warranty.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

1. I never stated that the warranty was my salient concern. I merely asked for an estimate of how much a remanufactured transmission with a 3 year/50,000 mile warranty would be. I was called the next day and told it would be around $5,200 as apposed to $2000 for them to rebuild the transmission; possibly $4,000 if they had to replace hard parts and the valve body. I clearly stated that I did NOT want the remanufactured transmission because it was too expensive. My receipt shows that I authorized "Hard Parts & other components $4800" on 1/29/2014 at 3:12:14 PM, however I was not contacted by, nor contacted Aamco on that day. I don't understand why I should endure the cost of a transmission I did not authorize them to purchase and install. I feel like Aamco is trying shift the blame on me. 

2. Aamco is saying that my transmission would have cost $4,000 to rebuild. I do not understand how they know it would cost more than the "basic" rebuild price of $2,000 if they didn't disassemble and inspect the transmission. 

3. I don't understand why I am responsible for the cost of a radiator that I did not authorize them to purchase and install. My receipt shows that I authorized "Radiator, Coolant, and Labor to replace radiator" on 1/29/2014 at 15:5, however I was not contacted by, nor contacted Aamco on that day.

4. I took my car yesterday, 2/13/14, because my transmission is shuddering between 2nd and 3rd gear. A technician took the car out for a drive and confirmed that their
 was a problem. The manager stated that he thinks Aamco is going to replace the newly installed transmission with a another one.   I would rather Aamco reinstall my original transmission and radiator and refund my money in-full. 

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

During the removal of the transmission we removed the pan on the transmission and found coolant from the engine mixed with the transmission fluid and metal fragments from failed parts inside the transmission. The radiator had failed internally allowing the coolant from the engine to get into the transmission. The coolant had damaged the valve body, an electronic controller for the shifting of the transmission. The transmission had major failure of hard parts, it needed a valve body and the radiator that cools the engine and transmission replaced.
The transmission has already been installed and the old transmission has gone to the transmission remanufacturing facility. Installing the old, damaged transmission is not an option at this point. However, the offer still stands to refund the difference I had offered and reduce the warranty to 12 month/ 12,000 miles. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I authorized AAMCO to rebuild my transmission for $2,000. I did not authorize AAMCO to purchase and install a remanufactured transmission and new radiator. I am familiar with faulty Nissan radiators leaking coolant into the transmission, however I had that ruled out prior to bringing my car to AAMCO. The transmission fluid was brown not pink and frothy like the sales person at AAMCO told me after I called to complain about the fact that I did not authorize the purchase of a remanufactured transmission and radiator. As a matter of fact that same person told me that the transmission fluid was brown (when I first brought my car in for them to diagnosis the problem), which indicated excessive wear. Next time I have an expensive repair I will make sure I receive a written estimate, so that if the repair shop goes over their estimate by 10% they must contact me for authorization. I was denied the right to make an informed decision about the repair of my vehicle. 

I will procede with filing a complaint with small claims court since I do not think we are going to agree on a resolution. I've already filed a complaint with the Attorney General in case this was more than just an honest mistake on the part of AAMCO. 

Regards,

***** ******

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our Daughters car in because the engine overheated. they advertise that they will diagnose for free as long as they get to fix it. This was my first flag, they told us the car did not qualify for the free dianostic and was going to charge 100.00 to diagnose the issue. **** called me on the phone to tell me the issues with the car and the repairs needed, he told me that the car needed a tune up and I told him just to fix the hose and gasket. He told me that he would just clean the spark plugs and around that area because of the oil leak, they were soaked in oil, I agreed. When looked over the bill a few days later, as he did not show me the bill, the day I paid, he handed the bill to my daughter. I saw that he charged us $151.38 for spark plugs and $400.00 labor charges. I am not complaining about the gasket replacement,as we agreed on that part. I am disputing the fact that he told me he only cleaned the old spark plugs, but charged me for spark plugs and the excessive labor charges. I believe he took advantage of us, the labor charges were $800.00. The total bill was #1687.00 The other issue, the ohose came off the car from over heating, the charge to reattach the existing hose was 150.00, excessive to tighten a hose clamp. Did not replace the hose. I paid in three installments, I put a stop payment on the last installment of $443.50 after i read the bill and realized he charged me for work, that was not done.

Desired Settlement: I believe I have paid him fairly for the work done and do not owe Aamco any more money. I have paid them $1243.50. The $443.50 is what I would like to not have to pay. I believe he overcharged for the work done and he was well overpaid. The spark plugs he did not put in the car total was $151.38 and labor 400.00. that total alone is $551.38. I would like for him to either complete the tune up with no more charges or accept the payments already paid and we will call it even.

Business Response: I apologize for not responding sooner. We value customer service and a formal investigation was conducted regarding this matter. 1/13/2014 ****** ******* brought her 2003 Mitsubishi Galant into AAMCO Transmissions **** ****** ***** ******* ***** ***** complaining that her car was overheating, she heard a pop and then steam came from the engine. The engine did stall and lost electrical power. The diagnostics results found the cooling system full of rust, the condenser fan, that cools the radiator, was not working. The engine had several oil leaks, the engine was soaked in oil. The timing belt had excessive wear and needed to be replaced.
****, the center manager, explained the diagnostic findings and Ms ******* did authorize the cooling system repairs and the oil leak on the valve cover to be repaired with the spark plugs. **** recommended replacing the spark plug wires due to being oil soaked, she declined. He agreed to clean them off and reuse the spark plug wires. Ms. ******* did also authorize an hour advanced diagnostic service. When diagnostics requires special testing that requires much more labor it is charged.
I confirmed that the spark plugs were replaced by the ASE master technician that did the work and the receipt from our supplier where they were purchased. Ms. ******* is welcome to take her car to any of the ****** area AAMCO Transmissions to have them pull the spark plugs and verify this.
The investigation found that Ms. ******* services were performed and she was billed correctly. However, once the check issue has cleared we are willing to reimburse $100 for good faith.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
We will take the Galant To The Aamco to have them show us the spark plugs were changed. We can go the the business on Saturday,  March 1st around noon. My understanding of the situation is, he told me and my daughter,  that they only clean them because they were soaked in oil. I told him I could not afford that job to be done at this time. That is when he said they would wipe them off, because they were soaked in oil. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service