Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions

Phone: (254) 699-2383 Fax: (254) 699-2385 4110 E Veterans Memorial Blvd, Killeen, TX 76543

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 12/08/1978 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Kathy Younkers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Younkers, Owner
Related Businesses
AAMCO Transmissions
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Air Conditioning Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Radiators - Automotive

Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4110 E Veterans Memorial Blvd

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-2383


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 15, 2014 I took my 2006 Ford Escape into Aamco in Chester, Virginia for mechanical issues. I was told that the transmission in my truck needed to be replaced. I purchased a Reconditioned Rebuilt Transmission, Torque Converter, Transmission Fluid, a Transmission Cooler and a 36 month/36,000 mile warranty. Since that initial purchase/repair I have had to return my truck into Aamco 4 additional times for continued Transmission issues. On 08/07/14 it was returned to the Chester, Virginia Aamco for Transmission Repair Assembly Kit #B Selnoid Pack. Not a full week later on 08/13/14 I turned my truck into Killeen, Texas Aamco for repair getting a Re-manufactured Transmission, Torque Converter, Transmission Fluid and I was required to pay for an Output Speed Sensor at that time as well. Less than two years later; 07/05/16 I returned my truck to Killeen, Texas Aamco for transmission issues and was given a GPS Transmission and was required to purchase for the second time an External Transmission Cooler. Ten days later on 07/25/16 I returned my truck again to Killeen Aamco for transmission repair where it is currently located and has been awaiting a new transmission. My complaint is that Aamco continues to provide me with Lemon Transmissions a fact based on me receiving the 4 transmission in my truck in 2 years from AAMCO as well the comments made by the AAMCO staff in reference to how poorly rebuilt the transmissions are that they are putting in my truck. Making comments like; you shouldn’t have any trouble out of this transmission because we have changed suppliers and the hold supplier was horrible and I wish you would have gotten your first transmission from us at the Killeen location because we get our transmission from a better supplier. I have made attempts to resolve my complaints with all parties involved at Aamco but have yet to get a definite resolve from anyone and currently have not heard from any Aamco representative on my concerns since Friday July 29, 2016. The Aamco in Killeen office manager Ms. **** offered at this present time to supply me with a loner car but the car that was to be loaned to me I was informed has mechanical issues so I would be limited in my driving and must continue to check it due to an oil leak. Aamco in Chester Owner Shawn offered to extend the miles of my current warranty to 50,000 but not extend the 12 month time left on the warranty; although I have used less than 30,000 miles in 2 years. The Corporate representative Mr. ****** suggested that I get a rental car and forward the receipts to him to address it with the supplier but no guarantee that I would be reimburse; as he was out of his office on Friday July 29, 2016 but to date has not gotten back with me. I have been stranded for hours on the highway; I am a Retired Veteran under continued medical care and have had to cancel medical appointments due to last minute car issues, which resulted in out-of-pocket expenses for towing’s and rental cars. I purchased vehicle warranty protection from AAMCO back in July 2014 which is due to expire in less than 12 months/9,000 miles. Of the five transmissions I have received from AAMCO, neither has lasted the full 3 year 36,000 miles as warranted. In addition to the cost of the warranty, each time I brought the car in for service, I was charged for “additional” parts and labor. I was told that additional parts were necessary in order for the transmission to work properly; at times getting the same parts and services that were previously done and should have still been warranty covered.

Desired Settlement: At this point I am not confident or comfortable with any work AAMCO performs on my vehicle. I am asking for a new 3 year 36,000 mile warranty, plus rental car coverage if/when the car needs to be serviced in the future by AAMCO in relation to the transmission.

Business Response: In response to a complaint ID # ******** from Ms. ******* ******, we do understand the frustration Ms. ****** has experienced. At our location in Killeen, TX, we have done all we can to help her. By her own admission, she only made this complaint against our location as she did not receive response from our corporate office in a timely manner regarding her complaint with them.  We do feel we have done satisfactory work for Ms. ****** and any action taken toward her complaint must happen at our corporate level with whom she has been in contact.

To address the specific complaints made by Ms. ******, she has had several transmissions installed. Our initial work for Ms. ****** was done August 13, 2014. She had transmission work done previously at an AAMCO location in Virginia. When the vehicle arrived at our location, the transmission was replaced under warranty – the AAMCO store in Virginia was responsible for the warranty and they had a transmission sent to us to be installed. This transmission was sent from a rebuild supplier contracted through AAMCO corporate. At that time, we did find a defective output speed sensor for which Ms. ****** agreed to pay $49.20. This is not an internal transmission component, so was not under warranty. All other costs were paid by the original AAMCO location in Virginia. The vehicle was picked up August 21, 2014.

Ms. ****** then brought her vehicle to us July 5, 2016. Again, she was in need of a transmission and according to her original warranty received from the VA location; the transmission was within the warranty period. As before, the original Virginia AAMCO location is responsible for the warranty, so they had another transmission shipped to us to be installed. Ms. ****** picked up her vehicle July 15, 2016. We did recommend an external transmission cooler with this replacement for which Ms. ****** approved and paid $242.62. All other costs to replace transmission were paid by AAMCO corporate.    

On July 25, 2016, after driving 485 miles, Ms. ****** had her vehicle again towed to us. There was a problem with the transmission we had installed 10 days earlier. As we did not rebuild this transmission initially, we had to call for another transmission to be delivered.  Again, the same procedure was followed to order a replacement transmission from the corporate rebuild contractor. The transmission did arrive, was installed, and the customer picked up her vehicle August 4, 2016. We did install a CV axle for Ms. ****** at no charge. There was a small tear in a CV boot on the old axle. As the axle had been out twice and we do not know if the boot was torn when it arrived, we replaced the CV axle.

In response to the other claims / comments made by Ms. ******, I would like to clarify a few points. Part of our frustration in this situation is that we have to wait on decisions from others involved. We did NOT originally build the transmission at our location so we are not able to pull the transmission and rebuild it here on property for her. As it is, we have to wait for transmissions to be sent under her original warranty agreement. AAMCO Corporate did tell us that between 2014 and 2016 they changed suppliers to improve the quality of the transmissions. I did pass along this information to Ms. ******. I did also try to explain to her that we prefer to build our transmissions here in Killeen as we know the quality of our work here. Sometimes it’s hard to know the quality of others’ work. But as her transmission was not built by us initially, we had to wait for transmissions to be shipped to us under her warranty agreement.  For the final repair (July 25th invoice), Ms. ****** was told a transmission was shipped and should arrive July 29th. If that happened, we would try to have it installed that same day so she could have the car over the weekend. She was in touch with AAMCO corporate office during that time. We did not receive the transmission until Monday August 1st, 2016. Due to the delay in shipping, I had offered a personal vehicle of mine to Ms. ****** on July 29th. I did tell her the vehicle had an oil leak, but otherwise was a good car to drive. I told her it would be fine for her to get around town as long as she was not leaving the area and would check the oil for me. She stated they had another vehicle, just needed a car for her and a child to get out of the house over the weekend. She accepted initially, but after speaking with her husband, called back and declined the use of my car. 

In terms of her warranty, all warranty coverage is based on the initial repair in which the service was paid – in this case her invoice in 2014 from Virginia AAMCO. We have been providing services to Ms. ****** based on her warranty, and feel that we have taken the best possible care of her vehicle given the limitations we have in waiting on others in this situation. We have called her when necessary and taken reasonable time in all the repairs (8-10 days which have included weekends and shipping times). The last repair she was not charged “additional” parts or labor and we provided a CV axle to no charge to her.   

While we do understand her frustration, we do not feel we are responsible for that frustration and hope that she will continue to work with AAMCO corporate office on any consideration she is requesting for an extension of the warranty coverage. It is simply not an issue we can resolve for her. The warranty did not come from us and we cannot extend it.

**** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The fact that I was required to pay for an External Transmission Cooler from AAMCO on two separate occasions has not been addressed.  From what I was explained by Ms. **** and the mechanic when my automobile was in for service on July 5, 2016 was that my automobile was in need of an External Transmission Cooler as she stated in her response here. It was not something that I had an option to get as I was told if I did not get the External Cooler the transmission would not work effectively and the transmission warranty would be voided with AAMCO so I approved the installation of the part. However when I looked back into my records from AAMCO I previously paid for a Transmission Cooler on July 15, 2014. Not to mention when I returned my automobile back to AAMCO on July 25, 2016 due to another transmission failure I was told by Ms. **** that there were again other additional automotive repairs I may be subjected to in order for the new transmission installed to properly function; however after I contacted corporate the talks of additional repairs ceased. 


Shawana ******

Business Response: During the July 5, 2016 installation of the transmission in Ms. ******'s vehicle, we were unable to flush the cooling system and therefore recommended the replacement of the transmission cooler. A clogged cooling system would not allow the transmission to cool properly and would therefore cause future damages. The external cooler purchased in 2014 had a 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty, which ever came first. Therefore we did not charge her for an item that was under warranty.

During the July 25, 2016 replacement of the transmission I was notified that the technician identified a leaking axle boot. Since axles are disturbed during transmission replacements, and we had installed two replacement transmissions into Ms. ******'s vehicle within a 30 day period, I made a decision to replace the failed axle at no charge to Ms. ******. At no time was Ms. ****** asked to pay the axle and at no time was the axle replacement discussed with corporate offices.

I am sorry that Ms. ****** is not satisfied with the service provide by my AAMCO center. Lori, the technicians, and myself have done our best to provide Ms. ****** with the best professional and courteous service we could within the constraints of repairing her vehicle under the original warranty. We have not erroneously charged Ms. ****** for any items and therefore there are no refunds to offer.

Kathy Younker  

Consumer Response: Complaint: 11609747

I am rejecting this response because: It was NOT stated that the Transmission Cooler I had was not working properly it was said that I had NO External Transmission Cooler and need one for my truck to work properly when replacing the Transmission. It was not until after I had to return the truck again that I began to look at my previous AAMCO invoices and saw that an External. Transmission Cooler had been purchased and installed in 2014. I have a Voicemail on my Cellphone from July 7th 2016 10:11am from Ms. **** explaining the need for an External Transmission Cooler not explaining that the one I have is clogged and needs replacement. At this point I dont' even have the External Cooler to verify what they are claiming today that it was clogged which had NEVER been stated to me. Even when i went to pick up the Truck Ms. **** had the mechanic show my significant other the External Cooler that they installed and explained the function of it but NEVER stated anything about the previous Cooler that was there and anything about it being clogged and needing replaced. Ms. **** even attemped to suggest he get an External Cooler for his truck stating that Nissan doesnt put them in all their automobiles. 


******* ******

8/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle serviced on four different occasions and the problem was not corrected. I feel I was duped into returning for service and that the charges were extremely high. I was charged a total of $1,400.77, including labor. I went to another auto mechanic and he installed a new spark plug at no charge and the problem was corrected. I meant to state that the "check engine" light kept coming on repeatedly alerting me that they had not fixed my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: A refund of all charges as the work charged for did not resolve the problem.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******** has been to our center on several occasions. Following is a detail of each visit:


On 4/15/2014 Mrs. ******** contacted our business with a concern that her check engine light was on. Upon diagnosis, it was found that the vehicle low on motor oil, low on coolant, and the check engine light was on. The code, P0301, was for a cylinder 1 misfire detected, however the engine was running and idling smoothly at the time. We recommended diagnostic time to determine the cause of the code and she declined further diagnostics at that time. As there was no current misfire condition, the check engine light was cleared. Mrs. ******** incurred no charges for the services provided.


On 6/2/2014 Mrs. ******** returned to our business with a concern that her check engine light was on. The code, P0300, was for a random cylinder misfire detected. We recommended diagnostic time to determine cause of the code and she declined further diagnostics once again. As there was no current misfire condition, the check engine light was cleared. Mrs. ******** incurred no charges for the services provided.


On 06/10/2014 Mrs. ******** returned due to a check engine light back on. The codes found were:  P0303 – cylinder 3 misfire detected, P1469 low A/C cycling period, and B1352 Ignition key-In circuit fault. Mrs. ******** approved 1 hour of diagnostics to determine cause of P0303 code. Technician’s notes stated that he checked the spark plugs, wires, and injection plugs – he added dielectric grease to all connectors. At no time during diagnostics did the engine misfire. The vehicle was taken on a 7 mile road test and at no time did the check engine light return and no misfire was detected. Mrs. ******** was charged $89.00 for the diagnostic time.


On 06/19/2014 Mrs. ******** to have the low cycling code diagnosed and have the engine oil level checked. The codes present were: P0301 – cylinder 1 misfire detected, P1469 – low A/C cycling period. During the diagnostics the technician also found that alternator wire was melted which was not related to the check engine light. The technician further found that the a/c system was low on Freon and causing the low cycling code – as Freon is a colorless gas, no leak was determined at the time. As is common with small Freon leaks, Mrs. ******** was advised to return if the problem returned. No cylinder misfire was detected. With Mrs. ********’s approval, we replaced the faulty cable and recharged her a/c system with a dye enhanced Freon. At this time we spoke with Mrs. ******** about spark plugs. She stated the plugs had been replaced within past year at a different shop. As no misfire condition was found at the time, the codes were cleared. Mrs. ******** was charged $266.12 to replace the cable and recharge the A/C system.


On 6/24/2014 Mrs. ******** returned with a check engine light on.  At this time there were trouble codes found, however the misfire could be seen on the scanner moving between cylinder 1 and cylinder 3. As customer had previously paid for diagnostics, we did not charge her diagnostic time. During diagnostics the technician found that the ignition coil was faulty. Mrs. ******** authorized the replacement of the faulty coil. Mrs. ******** was charged $188.35 for the coil replacement.


On 7/1/2014 Mrs. ******** returned with a check engine light on and a/c not working correctly. The codes were P301 – cylinder 1 misfire detected, P1469 – Low A/C cycling period. The technician found an A/C leak at the high side schrader valve and the #1 spark plug was covered with coolant. Additionally, the technician found that the intake crossover was leaking & causing coolant to fill the plug area. The A/C leak was repaired at no charge to the customer. The customer approved the intake manifold replacement and was charged $857.30.


During September Mrs. ******** called stating her check engine light was on. We stated that we would check the code at no charge. She chose to take the car elsewhere and came to tell us she had a cylinder 2 misfire detected and that they had repaired it with a spark plug. Mrs. ******** insisted all the repairs done at our center were unnecessary and she requested a refund of all services. We advised Mrs. ******** that this was a new code and at no time had we ever found a cylinder 2 code. We again offered to check the car at no charge.


Clearly none of the charges incurred were related to a cylinder 2 misfire. We had suggested spark plug replacements at an earlier date and were told by Mrs. ******** that the plugs had already been replaced. Mrs. ******** refused to return to our center to check the check engine light. We do not find any correlation between the claim of a cylinder 2 code and the repairs that we have done. We are not willing to refund any moneys at this time.


Thank You,


***** *******


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I thought I responded that AAMCO did not fix the problem I was having with my vehicle and I had to go to another mechanic to have the issue resolved.  AAMCO insists that they did as I requested but never resolved the issue.


There was a delay in my receiving your message apparently due to a computer problem.  ******** ********



******** ********

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2010 ***** RX-8 to AAMCO on the 25th of September with a 'clutch issue'. I had already taken it to ***** ******* ***** of ******* and was not satisfied with their diagnosis. My spouse suggested I take it to AAMCO to get an estimate. I did on the 24th of September. AAMCO seemed to know what they were doing and I 'trusted' them to do the right thing. First off they quoted me $1324.00 dollars to replace the clutch assembly without the 'flywheel' being messed up. Then they quoted me 1858.61 for the flywheel being bad. The owner ***** told me the car would be done on the 26th of September. She called me at 1630 to tell me that the flywheel was indeed bad and they would have to order a new one. I accepted this and told her to do it. On Thursday 25 September 14, I applied for and received a loan from AER (**** Emergency Relief) for $1500.00. I received a phone call from ***** on Friday 26 September 14 On Monday saying that the flywheel was bad and they had tried to get me a 'used' one. I did NOT authorize them to get me a used one. So, because the 'used flywheel' was also 'not good', she then had to order me a new one. She said the care would NOT be done until Monday 29 September 14. I figured I could cover the other 300.00, so I authorized her to order a new flywheel. She promised the car being completed on Wednesday 30 September 14. Again, she called me at 1400 on 1 October 14 to tell me that they had 'ressembled' the car and that they had now discovered that the 'clutch master cylinder' was bad and they would have to order a 'NEW" one. Again, I was disappointed, because the new amount she quoted me was $2200.00. I did not have that much money, as I had only taken out a loan to cover the $1800.00. I was furious. But took out another loan to cover the $2200.00. Again, she said the car would be done by lunch on Thursday 2 October 14. Then on 2 October 14 she called me at 1115 to tell me that the car would not be done now, due to she ordered the 'wrong' clutch master cylinder'. She said she ordered the aftermarket one and had no idea that it wouldn't fit or work. So, now she would have to order from ***** to get the part. She told me the care would now not be done until Tuesday or Wednesday (October 7th or 8th) I was furious! First off she again 'tried' to save me money only to have it backfire. I was NOT informed that she was trying to take a cheap route and that upsets me to no end. This is absolutely unacceptable. And I feel that I have been used unfairly. I will never ever take my car back to them again, and I regret ever taking it there. I told her I wanted some kind of discount or reimbursement. As a Soldier I need my car as my wife works in ****** ***** and needs her car. This has really stressed me out and made things hard on me mentally and financially. I expected more from them and they severely disappointed me. I feel that this business should NOT be in business as they do not take respect their customers. The city of ******* and the Ft Hood area need to know about this type of shady business.

Desired Settlement: I want a reimbursement of some type and an apology. Also, the car had better work 'top notch' because if it does not then I'm holding ******* AAMCO completely responsible. ***** the the owner really needs to understand that IF she wants to 'delay' the repairs on someone's transportation then she had better make 100% sure they understand how long and what she is trying to accomplish on their behalf. This is a complete failure on their part. Now I have NO transportation for over a week.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

I would like to thank you again for bringing your vehicle to our center for your recent repairs. I know that you chose our business because you felt confident in the services that we could provide to you. It is clear from your complaint to the BBB that I had failed to meet your expectations. I apologize again for not being clear about the parts option and time for delivery associated with those options. As we have discussed, I will strive to better clarify these options in the future. 

I am so glad that we were able to turn your experience with AAMCO around and that you are clearly happy with the results of the repairs and services. I really appreciate you taking time call me and express how happy you are with the work that we've completed on your car. Furthermore, thank you for taking your time to write such a gracious review on yelp. 

I wish you many happy years with your RX-8!

***** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)