Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions

Phone: (254) 699-2383 Fax: (254) 699-2385 4110 E Veterans Memorial Blvd, Killeen, TX 76543 http://www.aamcokilleen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 12/08/1978 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathy Younkers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Younkers, Owner
Related Businesses
AAMCO Transmissions
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Air Conditioning Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Radiators - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
MK Younker, Inc
Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 4110 E Veterans Memorial Blvd

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-2383

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle serviced on four different occasions and the problem was not corrected. I feel I was duped into returning for service and that the charges were extremely high. I was charged a total of $1,400.77, including labor. I went to another auto mechanic and he installed a new spark plug at no charge and the problem was corrected. I meant to state that the "check engine" light kept coming on repeatedly alerting me that they had not fixed my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: A refund of all charges as the work charged for did not resolve the problem.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******** has been to our center on several occasions. Following is a detail of each visit:

 

On 4/15/2014 Mrs. ******** contacted our business with a concern that her check engine light was on. Upon diagnosis, it was found that the vehicle low on motor oil, low on coolant, and the check engine light was on. The code, P0301, was for a cylinder 1 misfire detected, however the engine was running and idling smoothly at the time. We recommended diagnostic time to determine the cause of the code and she declined further diagnostics at that time. As there was no current misfire condition, the check engine light was cleared. Mrs. ******** incurred no charges for the services provided.

 

On 6/2/2014 Mrs. ******** returned to our business with a concern that her check engine light was on. The code, P0300, was for a random cylinder misfire detected. We recommended diagnostic time to determine cause of the code and she declined further diagnostics once again. As there was no current misfire condition, the check engine light was cleared. Mrs. ******** incurred no charges for the services provided.

 

On 06/10/2014 Mrs. ******** returned due to a check engine light back on. The codes found were:  P0303 – cylinder 3 misfire detected, P1469 low A/C cycling period, and B1352 Ignition key-In circuit fault. Mrs. ******** approved 1 hour of diagnostics to determine cause of P0303 code. Technician’s notes stated that he checked the spark plugs, wires, and injection plugs – he added dielectric grease to all connectors. At no time during diagnostics did the engine misfire. The vehicle was taken on a 7 mile road test and at no time did the check engine light return and no misfire was detected. Mrs. ******** was charged $89.00 for the diagnostic time.

 

On 06/19/2014 Mrs. ******** to have the low cycling code diagnosed and have the engine oil level checked. The codes present were: P0301 – cylinder 1 misfire detected, P1469 – low A/C cycling period. During the diagnostics the technician also found that alternator wire was melted which was not related to the check engine light. The technician further found that the a/c system was low on Freon and causing the low cycling code – as Freon is a colorless gas, no leak was determined at the time. As is common with small Freon leaks, Mrs. ******** was advised to return if the problem returned. No cylinder misfire was detected. With Mrs. ********’s approval, we replaced the faulty cable and recharged her a/c system with a dye enhanced Freon. At this time we spoke with Mrs. ******** about spark plugs. She stated the plugs had been replaced within past year at a different shop. As no misfire condition was found at the time, the codes were cleared. Mrs. ******** was charged $266.12 to replace the cable and recharge the A/C system.

 

On 6/24/2014 Mrs. ******** returned with a check engine light on.  At this time there were trouble codes found, however the misfire could be seen on the scanner moving between cylinder 1 and cylinder 3. As customer had previously paid for diagnostics, we did not charge her diagnostic time. During diagnostics the technician found that the ignition coil was faulty. Mrs. ******** authorized the replacement of the faulty coil. Mrs. ******** was charged $188.35 for the coil replacement.

 

On 7/1/2014 Mrs. ******** returned with a check engine light on and a/c not working correctly. The codes were P301 – cylinder 1 misfire detected, P1469 – Low A/C cycling period. The technician found an A/C leak at the high side schrader valve and the #1 spark plug was covered with coolant. Additionally, the technician found that the intake crossover was leaking & causing coolant to fill the plug area. The A/C leak was repaired at no charge to the customer. The customer approved the intake manifold replacement and was charged $857.30.

 

During September Mrs. ******** called stating her check engine light was on. We stated that we would check the code at no charge. She chose to take the car elsewhere and came to tell us she had a cylinder 2 misfire detected and that they had repaired it with a spark plug. Mrs. ******** insisted all the repairs done at our center were unnecessary and she requested a refund of all services. We advised Mrs. ******** that this was a new code and at no time had we ever found a cylinder 2 code. We again offered to check the car at no charge.

 

Clearly none of the charges incurred were related to a cylinder 2 misfire. We had suggested spark plug replacements at an earlier date and were told by Mrs. ******** that the plugs had already been replaced. Mrs. ******** refused to return to our center to check the check engine light. We do not find any correlation between the claim of a cylinder 2 code and the repairs that we have done. We are not willing to refund any moneys at this time.

 

Thank You,

 

***** *******

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I thought I responded that AAMCO did not fix the problem I was having with my vehicle and I had to go to another mechanic to have the issue resolved.  AAMCO insists that they did as I requested but never resolved the issue.

 

There was a delay in my receiving your message apparently due to a computer problem.  ******** ********

 


Regards,

******** ********

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2010 ***** RX-8 to AAMCO on the 25th of September with a 'clutch issue'. I had already taken it to ***** ******* ***** of ******* and was not satisfied with their diagnosis. My spouse suggested I take it to AAMCO to get an estimate. I did on the 24th of September. AAMCO seemed to know what they were doing and I 'trusted' them to do the right thing. First off they quoted me $1324.00 dollars to replace the clutch assembly without the 'flywheel' being messed up. Then they quoted me 1858.61 for the flywheel being bad. The owner ***** told me the car would be done on the 26th of September. She called me at 1630 to tell me that the flywheel was indeed bad and they would have to order a new one. I accepted this and told her to do it. On Thursday 25 September 14, I applied for and received a loan from AER (**** Emergency Relief) for $1500.00. I received a phone call from ***** on Friday 26 September 14 On Monday saying that the flywheel was bad and they had tried to get me a 'used' one. I did NOT authorize them to get me a used one. So, because the 'used flywheel' was also 'not good', she then had to order me a new one. She said the care would NOT be done until Monday 29 September 14. I figured I could cover the other 300.00, so I authorized her to order a new flywheel. She promised the car being completed on Wednesday 30 September 14. Again, she called me at 1400 on 1 October 14 to tell me that they had 'ressembled' the car and that they had now discovered that the 'clutch master cylinder' was bad and they would have to order a 'NEW" one. Again, I was disappointed, because the new amount she quoted me was $2200.00. I did not have that much money, as I had only taken out a loan to cover the $1800.00. I was furious. But took out another loan to cover the $2200.00. Again, she said the car would be done by lunch on Thursday 2 October 14. Then on 2 October 14 she called me at 1115 to tell me that the car would not be done now, due to she ordered the 'wrong' clutch master cylinder'. She said she ordered the aftermarket one and had no idea that it wouldn't fit or work. So, now she would have to order from ***** to get the part. She told me the care would now not be done until Tuesday or Wednesday (October 7th or 8th) I was furious! First off she again 'tried' to save me money only to have it backfire. I was NOT informed that she was trying to take a cheap route and that upsets me to no end. This is absolutely unacceptable. And I feel that I have been used unfairly. I will never ever take my car back to them again, and I regret ever taking it there. I told her I wanted some kind of discount or reimbursement. As a Soldier I need my car as my wife works in ****** ***** and needs her car. This has really stressed me out and made things hard on me mentally and financially. I expected more from them and they severely disappointed me. I feel that this business should NOT be in business as they do not take respect their customers. The city of ******* and the Ft Hood area need to know about this type of shady business.

Desired Settlement: I want a reimbursement of some type and an apology. Also, the car had better work 'top notch' because if it does not then I'm holding ******* AAMCO completely responsible. ***** the the owner really needs to understand that IF she wants to 'delay' the repairs on someone's transportation then she had better make 100% sure they understand how long and what she is trying to accomplish on their behalf. This is a complete failure on their part. Now I have NO transportation for over a week.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

I would like to thank you again for bringing your vehicle to our center for your recent repairs. I know that you chose our business because you felt confident in the services that we could provide to you. It is clear from your complaint to the BBB that I had failed to meet your expectations. I apologize again for not being clear about the parts option and time for delivery associated with those options. As we have discussed, I will strive to better clarify these options in the future. 

I am so glad that we were able to turn your experience with AAMCO around and that you are clearly happy with the results of the repairs and services. I really appreciate you taking time call me and express how happy you are with the work that we've completed on your car. Furthermore, thank you for taking your time to write such a gracious review on yelp. 

I wish you many happy years with your RX-8!

Sincerely, 
***** *******

10/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues